Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Monmouthshire > Newport > Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Tredegar Park
Coedkernew, Newport
Newport
Monmouthshire   (Browse area)
NP10 8TW
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 85
Open: 01/01 To 01/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 51 to 59                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TracyJerram 16 reviews from this member

 This site is very conveniently placed for an overnight stop, just minutes from the M4. Having said that, you do hear the M4 drone in the background during the evening and night (especially if you leave your windows open). This however, did not by any means distract us from having a lovely time.

The site is tiered, with well laid out pitches, so that you are not overlooked. The toilet / shower facilities were good, although looking just a little dated now. They were spotlessly clean, but could do with a little more ventilation. The washing up area was very cramped, but served it's purpose well. The owners were non-intrusive.

We stayed only for two nights so that we could visit the Museum of Welsh Life at St. Fagans. Which was absolutely brilliant. We were there for over 5 hours and still didn't see everything and it was free entry just £2.50 for car park. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loopyjay 3 reviews from this member

 This place is wonderful!

The staff are friendly and helpful and the whole place is kept clean and tidy. Toilet blocks are spacious and immaculate.

My son had fun on the quiet road with his scooter, I felt safe there and happy for him to play.

The weather was mixed but we all enjoyed despite the relentless rain at times! The only down point of our trip was waking up with bites all over us! We must have been on an ants nest or something! So if you are taking a tent, just to be on the safe side take some cream too!

Thank you all at Tredegar House, we'll be back again soon! 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emmasea 2 reviews from this member

 Immaculate, well presented site with friendly helpful staff, inspiring campers to smile at each other - so relaxing! gorgeous toilet / shower block. This will be a firm favourite for us.
Tredegar Park is worth a visit by itself, a huge area to walk and play. We are eager to return to visit the 17th century house. Only drawback for tents is no electric hookup, but they are looking into it. 


Date of Visit: January 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigMona 97 reviews from this member

 We live about 30 minutes drive from Tredegar House CC Site, and always seem to visit in the winter months mainly to stretch the legs of our motorhome and also to keep it aired during the darkest months of the year. Saying that though, I would duly stay at this site at anytime. The facilities are top class, and the winter wardens that have been on site this year are the most friendliest wardens I have ever come across on any Caravan Club site. The site itself is close to the M4, ok there is a hum of traffic noise in the background but it must seem like being in the country if you were to compare it with the M25! The Dragonfly Pub is close, we walked it took about 10 minutes, and it open all day everyday. The food it great! Asda is also a 10 minute walk. All in all a wonderful site. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kipperkid 26 reviews from this member

 Attractive site with usual high CC standard of facilities. Convenient for visiting Newport and Cardiff.

Mix of hardstanding and grass pitches, some sloping.

Used the site for a one-night stopover, might do so again but wouldn't stay longer - the road noise where we were was definitely intrusive ( I live next door to the M25 and I think my garden is quieter than this site was!) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ulti-Mates 5 reviews from this member

 This site is typically well kept by the CC and has friendly, helpful wardens. Many of the pitches are hardstanding, but the overall appearance is softened by the mature trees and the undulating ground. Blocks/chocks are useful here as some of the pitches are sloping. The park outside the site is pleasant enough, popular with dog-walkers and offers loads of open space, a good play area and a lake (with rowing boats for hire).

We thought Tredegar House lacked appeal from the exterior, but in fact, the conducted tour turned out to be the highlight of our stay – well worth it.  There is half-price house entry for CC members and children go free – so it was £5.30 for the three of us, which was really good value.  Dr Who fans might enjoy this too as it boasts that it is the film location for several episodes.

Security and theft are perhaps a problem here.  There are various signs dotted around the site regarding security and all the facilities have coded locks.  High walls surround much of the site and where these are absent, tall steel railings surround the site and both the site and the park are securely gated.  If you don’t care for the constraints of a CC site, then be aware that the number of ‘please do/do not’ notices on this site are even greater than usual!

Beyond the site lays a mixture of industrial and business units, plus there is a large Asda store very near to Tredegar Park.  Further along the road, the landscape changes to that of a sprawling (local authority) housing estate. In May 2006, access to the site is slightly hampered by roadworks on the approach road.  However, temporary signs for the CC site have been placed for guidance.  Noise from the M4 was not especially noticeable, but there were noisy ‘tearaway’drivers on the adjacent road late at night and I suspect that the roadworks could be noisy during midweek working hours.

An excellent location for a short break or stopover; a little oasis in an otherwise uninspiring district.  I would happily choose it again – but not for longer stays. 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lonynant1 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with very clean facilities.Staff were very friendly. Quite near to M4 but apart from a slight hum it did not encroach on our consciousness! Very convenient for visiting places of interest.Tredegar House is well worth the conducted tour.Built in the 1600s we found it very interesting.  


Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 90 reviews from this member

 Spotless facilities on site, as one expects from the CC. Supermarket just round the corner. Site set in grounds of small country park, great for walking the dogs. Bit difficult to get in and out of site after dark.... 3 locked gated to negotiate.

Some pitches slope quite badly and are awkward to reverse onto, I can still smell my clutch now!! There is some road noise as it's very close the busy M4, but not too much of a problem.

Great for a weekend, but not sure I'd want to be there any longer. 


Date of Visit: July 2004 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Eddie e 3 reviews from this member

 Not too big, very friendly staff in beautiful surroundings. House and gardens are well worth looking around.
Expect a little bit of road noise if parked at the back of the site. All facilities are spotless.We arrived when the Eistedfodd (guessing the spelling!) was due to start and as such the childrens play area was out of bounds (would have been nice to have been told in advance if we had taken the kids!!).
Security barriers in place with swipe card to gain entry. Would visit again 8 1/2 out of 10. (road noise, and closure of some facilities)  


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 59     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Tredegar House Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Monmouthshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5754 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement