Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Battle Normanhurst Court Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Battle > Battle Normanhurst Court Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Battle Normanhurst Court Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Stevens Crouch
Battle
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN33 9LR
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 133
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 56 Reviews
                8/10 from 56 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hubber-bubs 1 review from this member

 Myself and a friend stayed at this site out of season in October. I found it easy to get on to site and checking in was easy and quick. We were told to park up just inside the barriers and take a walk around the site find a pitch remember the number and then go back to the office to let them know which one we had picked. Pitches were a good size and didn't feel cramped.

Its the type of site that has lots of different areas separated by walls or hedges which makes the site feel more intimate. The site was everything you expect from a caravan club site, the shower blocks where spotless and plentiful. Always warm and hot water on demand. Beautiful countryside and peace and quite.

The washing up area was again spotless with automatic lights that come on when you enter which is handy when you've got your hands full with washing up. There is a small playground for the smaller children not much for the older ones.

This site I feel is more for couples and people with smaller children. Out the back of the site is a bridle path that leads down to the White Hart Pub, which serves a good meal for a reasonable price.

Please note however the walk is about 30 min depending on how fast you walk and its through fields and lovely countryside, great when its light but coming home in the dark is a different story. Definitely take a good torch not for the faint hearted but quite an adventure.

I will be going back this year as I Loved it. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 134 reviews from this member

 The site is located 3 miles West of Battle, just off the busy A271 in the grounds for the former Normanhurst manor. Unusual for a Caravan Club site as the topography of the landscaped gardens has not allowed the CC to introduce the ‘standard model’ one way road system. The site uses the former lawns, stables, paddocks and terraced areas of the former estate ground and is peppered with mature specimen trees.

The usual high standard of modern facilities with a reasonably stocked shop offering the basic provisions including daily papers. No Wi-Fi on this site but 3G coverage for the phone.

The site has direct access to the 1066 footpath route and part of this section can be cycled into Catsfield (1 ¼ mile from site) with access to the quieter lanes.

The NT Batemans Estate home off Rudyard Kipling is 10 miles from the site and a must visit. The coast and Bexhill on Sea is only 5 miles from the site and easily cycleable.

A good 10 mile circular walk can take you to the White Hart pub at Netherfield which provides very good reasonable priced food with fantastic views and alfresco dining (in dry weather).

Good location for touring this area, but very busy and narrow A roads to consider if cycling or walking. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Windybottom 3 reviews from this member

 First time we had been at this site. The wardens were extremely friendly and the toilets and facilities were the usual high Caravan club standard.

The pitch we selected was in a small area of four caravans, very peaceful and not far from any of the amenities. The area has some fantastic places to visit, Battle Abbey is a must,

Some nice eateries near by as well.

I would definitely recommend this site as an ideal location for exploring East Sussex with all its attachment to the history of 1066. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Osprey 17 reviews from this member

 Up to the usual Caravan Club standard of course and nicely landscaped. However, I would prefer to be told where the free pitches are, instead of traipsing round the whole site, trying to find the only one left on a Bank Holiday. When I asked the warden if he knew where the last hard standing pitch was, I found him to be arrogant and patronising 'It is not futile, its what everyone does' This was the only blemish on an otherwise pleasant stay. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adviserjenny 4 reviews from this member

 Firstly, the welcome from the staff was lovely and I could not fault them all the time we were there!

Facilities on this site are the usual high standard for the Caravan Club. The only thing I would say is that I am disabled and the only pitches available to us were at the bottom of the site. This put us very near a toilet block but it didn't have a disabled facility, that was right at the top of the site! I mentioned this to the lady warden and she very kindly said that I could take my car up there, but who wants to drive their car to the shower?

To their credit the Caravan club did have a shower with hand rails installed in the block near us but I couldn't get into it because of people with children using it because it was a bit larger than the others!

The pitch we had was lovely though and the site itself is very nice indeed. We were surrounded by Rhododendron bushes and both agreed that we should go back in May when they are flowering. There are also lovely trees on site and the site feels very spacious. We had intended to stay a week and actually stayed almost three!

The surrounding area is good with lots of places to visit although we were less than impressed with Hastings! Still, good gardens, in particular I would recommend Pashley Manor and Sissinghurst Castle but we also visited Bateman's and I was fascinated to see all the first editions of books such as Jungle Book and Kim.

To sum up: the site is lovely, the area is very beautiful and not as much traffic as in Surrey or nearer to Brighton. Very well worth the visit! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adambrown2499 31 reviews from this member

 Nice to be back! Have used this site for years and always enjoy going there. Site is on different levels and doesn't feel as big as it is. Toilet/shower block is spotless and lovely showers. Love the area lots to do and see. Nice pub up the road. Reception sells a few things which is every handy. There's a pathway from site to catsfield which has post office etc which is handy. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Icing lady 1 review from this member

 We stayed here the week before Easter, such a lovely site. From 8pm each might not a sound was heard even though there were many children. All the facilities are excellent and very clean. Staff were very cheerful and friendly. Lovely walk to the local pub our dog loved it too. We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Snowball33 17 reviews from this member

 We loved this campsite! I spent years working in Battle and it was lovely to return to the area as a tourist. Our pitch was near the playground and play area, which is superb. It is a lovely peaceful site with lots of little areas of pitches. Units are well-spaced and most people are respectful of others (some litter-droppers in the play area got my teacher's voice).

The only thing I would say is that I would like more flexibility for booking a suitable pitch. Arriving on a Saturday at 12. 00 I was disappointed to see that early arrivals had snapped up the best pitches or indeed very small vans. In our caravan we ended up being somewhere where we had to be towed in and out. I spent a good deal of time worrying how I would get out again but fortunately the site staff were brilliant.

So much to see in the area, Hastings, Battle and the lovely Bodiam Castle - we will be back sometime. Lovely clean facilities are the added bonus on a lovely site. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Campersmg 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed here as it was 1p for children for caravan club members. We were pleasantly surprised by how lovely the site was. We found a pitch near to the children's play area which our 7 year old enjoyed playing in and which is also close to the path which leads to the 1066 walk which was great for us with our dog. There is also a field for football/basketball etc. We did visit right at the end of the season and the site was very quiet giving us an enormous choice of pitches. The site probably would have felt quite different at a busier time of year but I feel this would probably only add to its atmosphere and charm.

The facilities were excellent. The toilets and showers were beautifully clean and modern with lots of hot water, hair dryers, mirrors, sink cubicles and music playing! I noticed there was also a family bathroom and two laundry rooms.

We walked to nearby catsfield a couple of times (about 30 minute walk along a traffic free country path) and used the convenience store there and ate at the white hart pub which is both children and dog friendly. The food was good and reasonably priced. We also ate at the squirrel pub nearby where the food was excellent.

We visited the science centre at nearby hurstmonceux which was well worth the visit and enjoyed by adults and children alike.

My only criticism is that there isn't really a shop on site as the reception only stock minimal products, but all in all this was an excellent, well looked after, picturesque caravan site with a good location and we can't wait to go back. A real find! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tonkarav 4 reviews from this member

 As has been said, quiet site, staff friendly, nice clean facilities. On the down side, about 1/2 (maybe more) of the site is either under trees or completely surrounded by trees. Nice when it's hot but not so good when cooler or raining. The location is good only about 3 miles outside Battle. We went to The Bull Inn in Battle for a meal, the food was good and plenty of it; good value for money. We also went to The White Hart in Catsfield, it was a bit pricey for regular pub grub but the food was well cooked and good and hot. Would we go back. Don't think so. 


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Battle Normanhurst Court Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Battle Normanhurst Court Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Battle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2568 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement