Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Battle Normanhurst Court Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Battle > Battle Normanhurst Court Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Battle Normanhurst Court Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Stevens Crouch
Battle
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN33 9LR
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 133
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 56 Reviews
                8/10 from 56 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jadsett 48 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a couple of nights on this site.

This is a quiet site where the pitches are largely surrounded by mature trees. Facilities are well up to the standard you come to expect from a CC site. Staff are friendly and welcoming

Pitches are laid out in 'bays' and we opted for 'the stables' where we had a hard-standing on what was obviously the old stable yard. Some pitches require a longer hook-up cable - so be prepared!

The dog walk is adequate and leads on to access to established footpaths. One such leads to the village of Catsfield and the 25 minute walk is rewarded by a visit to the White Hart, an establishment with a wide selection of ales and a fairly traditional 'pub grub' menu. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CDOD 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a lovely visit to this site. The wardens very friendly, but what really impressed me were the new toilet/washing up blocks. Both new and spotlessly clean and lovely and warm. Plenty of hard standing areas to choose from. A great site to visit in the winter months. Lots to do in the area. Easy access to Eastbourne and Hastings. Loved the layout of the site too. Tiered and level, with lots of cul-d-sacs which added more character to the site. The play area seemed to be well used and the site was happy for children to use scooters and bikes. Will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Matt94 28 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite in our touring caravan for 3 night.

This site was the normal excellent standard that you would expect from a caravan club site.

The wardens were very cheerfull and helpful.

The shower block was always kept clean, it did seem new, the washing up area was enclosed and centeral heated making it nice and warm, I liked the piped background music which gave you somthing to listen too while washing up.

This is an excellent laid out site and very quiet which we will be using again.

One word of warning, when you get near to the site, do NOT use your sat nav, as it takes you down a very narrow single track lane (for no reason) as the camp site is not even down there, follow the instructions in the caravan club hand book. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CHILTERN TURNER 3 reviews from this member

 Again we stayed at Battle/Normanhurst, we arrived on it's first day open for the season after a 'refurb' of the toilet blocks. All very well, BUT if your in the lower block late at night the lights are/were on a timer, rather awkward if your sitting and the lights go out. But let this not detract you from visiting this wonderful site, it's one of our favourites. It was nice to see the 'Daffs' in bloom on the verges at the side of the approach road, these being the ones that us and others planted several years a go at the end of the season. With regard to the lights cutting out I'm sure this will or has already been rectified, do take a stick to activate the lights if your caught out there though. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Swannyspur 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 3 day stay here and highly recommend it if you want a peaceful break with spotless facilities. Very helpful and friendly wardens, spotless toilets and showers very warm and roomy. I'm going back in May when the Rhododendrons will be in full bloom and should give a spectacular display. Papers Milk and fresh local bread available from reception along with eggs etc although fresh bread and papers must be ordered in advance (papers you also need to pay when placing order) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PADFA 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent two nights at Normanhurst as a family with young children and two dogs.

It is a reasonably peaceful site but we deliberately pitched near to the play parks and dog walk entrance. The play park is better than many other sites and our children spent ages on the frames.

The ball park is on the small side and can only really be used by two to three small groups at a time. It is near caravans and only protected by a 15' fence so balls from older children occasionally fly over, not good.

On the other hand if they go over the other side it disappears into the woods and a bit of scrabbling is to be had. :)

The dog walk is off site and not a great one in my opinion. The dog poo bin is at the entrance gate which is good for dogs but not for kids or nearby campers as it is next to the play park and pitches. Dogs are asked to be kept on a lead on the 1066 public footpath and with good reason. One of our neighbours at the site found an animal trap in the woods which would bring about a nasty vets bill for your rover!

Shower blocks are reasonably clean but could do with a lick of paint. I never understand why club sites are poorly decorated when the have so much money in the account. Paint out of season every year please. Also the showers are okay, good flow of hot water, if you are under 5'10' as this is the height of the head. People are taller these days so please put the fixed head higher. The cubicles aren't over roomy either.

Overall would I go back, probably no. It is not a bad site but for the price I think it is 2-3/night more than it should be for what it offers. The dog walk is not a dog walk but a restricted path and my dogs need a good 60mins of running a day.

I would recommend it if you are under 5'9' and slim build with a lead based dog and children who are under 9 years old. Also if you are happy to drive for everything you need.

There is no shop on site to support local produce so you have to go to Battle, which has a lovely abbey ( kids get to run around too ) but little parking. Also take some blocks as the grass pitches can be on quite a slope.

Ps. Chip van does lovely chips and the visiting ice cream van was cheap. Also you will need a booster aerial if you like the goggle box. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: M+M Tours 32 reviews from this member

 Visited the site & area for the first time in early June.A large site with many cul-de-sacs hence you have to park your outfit first & walk around to find a suitable pitch. Ok on a nice day, but having to do this on a wet day after a long drive. Not so sure?

Lots of very different areas to pitch so chose carefully. A lot of arrivals were walking round when we got there, so it was whoever got back to the warden quickest, got the pitch I think?

Some road noise on the higher levels, but not too bad.Toilets were clean but looking dated, but overall a nice & 'different' site to what we have used before, quiet mid-week, but a lot noisier when the weekenders arrived with their little cherubs !

Lots to see & do, Hastings looked tired but the cliff top country park was nice. Eastbourne looked nice on the front but the cliff walk at Beachy head & then the seven sisters country park was excellent.

Top NT places to visit are Scotney castle, Batemans & Bodium castle. Wouldn't rush back, but a very nice week. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Murano 7 reviews from this member

 Just came back from a bank holiday weekend here, we have used this site last year and the same as last year we were not disappointed.Yes is was full but always managed to use the facilities, which are clean and tidy,always friendly staff, tv reception isn't great but that's made clear on the sites website.

Lovely area for walking your dog, the actual ground of the site are lovely, lots of trees and greenery, peaceful, nice roomy pitches, a short drive into Battle and a bit further on Hastings and Rye always worth a visit,

We are booked to go back in august and cannot wait. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Spannaz 17 reviews from this member

 Well, a year later and a return visit to Normanhurst. On first appearances things hadn't changed much.

However, at the children's playpark end, there was an awful foul smell of sewage, and can be real off putting if your down wind of it. According to the wardens this is nothing to do with the site, yet contradicted by another warden saying it is but they didn't notice it? Was there last year, but only faint and as you walked to the 1066 walk, but had grown far worse.

Children's play park is slowly becoming less and less 'child' friendly, reflected by in our opinion, less than friendly attitude towards those with either dogs or children. Those who walk their dogs off the lead off site, may find themselves on the wrong end of the wardens that patrol these woods.

Due to the mentioned dead ends by previous reviews, yes you may find yourself looking around for sometime for the right space, and can find someone already beat you too it. Never have really figured out why they ask you for outfit details then suggest pitches you'll never get into?

Seems the new Caravan Club approach to enforcing club rules and site rules has been noted here. Pity as its more the people that make the site than just good facilities.

Fish and chip van is on site on friday's but is NOT cheap, better off popping into Battle, better portions and better value.

Due to the less than child friendly approach, we won't return, however if your the type seeking a quiet retreat, rarely use the on site facilities, happy to be snug in bed by 9pm, don't have children, don't have a dog, then I am sure you'd be greeted well. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rickym34 27 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site over the Royal Wedding weekend as we wanted to spend time at the local English Heritage site, Battle Abbey. This was a great day out and highly recommend it. It is a shame that we cannot say exactly the same about this Caravan Club site.

When you first arrive, you park up and walk around the site to find your preferred pitch as there are lots of pitches in cul-de-sacs. A hint here: find at least 3 as by the time you return to the office someone may already have picked the one you have chosen.

We chose right opposite the play area, which is a fair size and was not too noisy in the evening either. There is also quite a large fenced 'tennis-court' sized area where the kids can kick a ball around too.

The toilet areas are very clean but the one we used was a little old but had all the usual Caravan Club wash cubicles and showers, and the site is pleasant to explore, with some tiered areas. There is a dog walk which takes you into one of the near villages which was very nice, however you must have your dog on a lead at all times.

However, whilst we were there we had lovely weather and hot temperatures, and a very foul smell wafted over from the play area, which managed to come into the caravan and stink it out. I investigated and saw that it was a pool of stagnant water which looked like a waste pipe in an area off to the right of the footpath. I informed the wardens, who, rather than pleased to assist when told of a problem, criticised me for wandering into private property (even though there is no sign saying as much) and informed me in an unpleasant manner that the pipe was not Caravan Club responsibility. I was so annoyed at the way that I had been treated that I wrote to CC Head Office, who apologised for the Wardens behaviour and advised that they would be looking into repairing the pipe and remedying the problem.

With the Wardens manner and how they behaved, we will not be returning to this site - shame as Battle was lovely ! 


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Battle Normanhurst Court Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Battle Normanhurst Court Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Battle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4458 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement