Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Battle Normanhurst Court Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Battle > Battle Normanhurst Court Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Battle Normanhurst Court Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Stevens Crouch
Battle
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN33 9LR
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 133
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 56 Reviews
                8/10 from 56 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sunnygunny 13 reviews from this member

 This site provides all the facilities expected from the Caravan Club and pitches are set in attractive separate areas; some terraced, some in small copses and one area that is totally hardstanding. Many pitches are affected by trees making it difficult to get a TV signal either by aerial or satellite. The grass pitches appear to be easily affected by rain and we were told by the wardens on arrival that they were out of service.

The layout of the site means there is no through road and numerous dead ends. You are asked to park then walk around to select a pitch. We appreciate why this system is used but it is time consuming, especially if the site is busy and pitch choices are limited, and you have to hope that a previous arrival hasn't just popped back to the office with your preferred pitch selection.

The walk to Catsfield is very attractive and on arriving too early for the bus we popped into the pub next to the bus stop for a quick cup of coffee (what a great 'bus shelter'). Battle Abbey was well worth the visit and we thoroughly enjoyed the audio tour around the Abbey and battle site.

We tucked into delicious fish and chips from the visiting van on Friday evening.

Good motor vehicle service point.

The time of year resulted many wasps around the site which is only to be expected. However something which could have be avoided were the wasps inside the ladies toilet block. The problem was caused by the proximity of dumper bins kept close to the ladies toilets, along with the toilet door being kept open and no fly screens on the windows.

This final section is a comment on Caravan Club procedures. Unfortunately the main road to the site was closed for resurfacing on the day we arrived meaning that just a few hundred yards from the site entrance we were suddenly diverted off the main road, had to make a hasty grab for the map and undertake a lengthy 7 mile diversion.

Obviously roadworks are out of the control of the Caravan Club but despite being aware of the closure they made no attempt to warn us despite the fact that we booked months previously. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Spannaz 17 reviews from this member

 Its true what they say about the Caravan Club standards being very high, and this was the case at Normahurst. The site is beautifully laid out, and quiet corners can be found everywhere, yes it is located some distance from any shops, but then this is ideal for those wanting some peace and quiet. Some may find the walk into the local village too much (about a mile if I recall correctly) but we never once heard our kids complain!

We opted for something near the kiddies play area, and found ourselves settled in perfectly. Kids loved the facilities, clean, safe and well maintained. Everyone observes the rules here, and those that don't stick out like a sore thumb, so dogs are kept on a lead, and people observe each others privacy.

The site has a lovely dog walk, and a fish and chip van turned up on the friday saving us a trip into Battle.

This is a lovely site, and one that we will be returning to more as it has everything we need for a pleasant weekend away! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HydraGirl 7 reviews from this member

 I was really looking forward to visiting this site as I had been unable to at the beginning of the year.

The grounds itself were very pleasant and quiet. Lovely areas that gave privacy and a good site to have a walk around. The site is perfectly situated for trips to Battle, Hastings and Eastbourne or anywhere else on the Sussex coast.

The toilet/showers were in the main clean, unless you went later on in the day and other campers had not tidied up after themselves. There were private sink cubicles and plenty of toilets in each of the two toilet blocks. I did however feel that three showers in each block was not adequate unless you went in the evening for a shower. On most days I had to queue for the showers and with not much space I was always in the thoroughfare for the exit.

Having looked forward to visiting this site my only disappointment from my week away was the abrupt and abrasive manner I was dealt with by one of the wardens.

Overall I nice site, good location and a peaceful retreat. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adambrown2499 31 reviews from this member

 I really like this site

Lovely location well kept site

The only complaint is that the wardens said that the electric points are a maximum of 25 metres away and my 25 metre electric cable didnt reach so I told them and they said they cant do anything about it. So had to go buy a longer one. Not very helpful wardens and other people had the same problem.

Area was good with lots to do and see

Caravan supplies is just a short drive away

Would return as nice area 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Madamcholet 2 reviews from this member

 We had a wonderful, relaxing three-night break at Normanhurst.

On arrival the very nice woman on the reception desk told us we could choose our own pitch and then advised us which ones were still available and their respective merits. She was really friendly and helpful.

The site is set in the most beautiful grounds and the pitches are well laid out. The playground was great, the toilet facilities were nice and the showers were free with lots of hot water.

They were dog friendly and had an excellent dog walk.

There was a small shop on site for essentials.

We had a lovely meal at the nearby Squirrel pub and enjoyed a trip into Battle and a day at Bexhill seafront.

Such an excellent mini-holiday that the children are badgering us to book up for next year. We don't need badgering, it is a certainty! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: R+HL 4 reviews from this member

 Having stayed at Normanhurst Court as a child it made sense we visited it for our first proper outing in our new van. The site has changed over the years but for the better - a new play area and activity area two very good additions.

We arrived the day after the site had opened for the year and before the foliage on the trees and plants had come out. Nevertheless the site was well presented, the toilet blocks warm, with plenty of hot water and kept clean and tidy and the wardens only to happy to help.

Being on the grounds of a demolished house (Normanhurst Court), we had some fun looking for clues as to its former purpose. The site is on a number of levels and, if you want a pitch with a view, try and get one near the lower toilet block, past the ha ha.

Battle, just down the road, is a lovely town with some good eateries (we would recommend the Pilgrim's Rest) and, of course, Battle Abbey. Hastings is not too much further and has a large shopping centre and a massive Tesco! If you want good beaches and free parking try Bexhill.

A good site, well maintained and friendly. Well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GailV 10 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site with landscaped gardens and pitching areas mainly in 'cul-de-sacs'. Be sure to arrive as early as you can to get a good choice.

It does take a while to walk round the site and try and find somewhere to pitch up. Some pitches are quite small and yet others are very spacious. We were very lucky to find a large pitch with woodland and rabbits behind us and a view across everyone else. But we needed every one of our levelling blocks and had to borrow more. So be sure to take plenty just in case.

Battle has lovely shops and restaurants. There are fish and chips on site, at 6pm on a Friday. Hastings 'Old Town' is well worth a visit (give the newer part of Hastings a miss), as is Cooden Beach near Bexhill.

The castle at Pevensey makes for a nice gentle stroll and there are a couple of pubs near the castle for refreshments. Supermarkets a few miles away in Battle and in Bexhill. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TheOnlyMaster 5 reviews from this member

 A superb site. The layout is in the form of lots of 'enclaves' spread over a large area and several terraces. Being in the gardens of an old country house (no longer exists) the whole site has lots of trees and bushes.

There are two toilet blocks, one on the top terrace and the other on the bottom terrace. Thank goodness for showers without push buttons.

Be warned the 'goods' at reception are not always available even in the morning. When we were there at least on one day there was no milk or bread in the morning and one elderly couple was told in a not very friendly manner they would have to wait for the following day or walk the 1 1/4 miles to Catsfield!

Talking of which, its a lovely walk to Catsfield along the 1066 walk besides beautiful bluebell woods which also have an abundance of still flowering primroses. What a beautiful site - carpets of bluebells with primroses on the fringes.

Catsfield is where you catch the bus to Battle (31 mins past the hour going and 23 mins past the hour from Battle). The village is very small with a Postoffice / well stocked village shop, a sausage and various meats shop, and a pub that does quite nice food.

Warning : the 'church' you first come across is not a church. Its been converted into a house. We made the mistake of opening the door and walking in to the hall and being confronted by the lady of the house! Whoops! 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Plastic pig 10 reviews from this member

 Just a short break to test the new big awning and the dog, as this site is only just down the road from where we live.

Site easy to miss from the main road as you are on top of the sign when you see it. As usual a lovely well kept CC site. Wardens were very friendly and chatty. Quite a big site to walk around to decide on your pitch, and there are lots of little nooks and crannies to choose from. Some areas are very secluded.

We chose near the play area and dog walk near the bottom of the site which we were very pleased with. Pitches at the top of the site (turn left from reception) are quite near the road which is busy so is probably noisy. We were on a nice level grass pitch in 'The Terrace'. Probably not a good idea if you don't have kids as its right next to the big play area, but we have 2 and a dog, and the woods and dog walk were close by.

We were also conveniently located to the lower shower block just down a few steps. There were only 3 showers each in the mens and ladies, with the same at the top of the site, which I would imagine get very busy when the site is full. As usual lovely hot showers and nice and clean.

The play area is quite new (updated since the photos on the website). There was a badminton net up and ping pong table to use (you can borrow / hire bats from reception). The fenced in playarea was plenty big enough for a big game of football or the like. There is no aerial point on the bollard so you need your own. Easily picked up digital with our silly caravan mounted aerial so we didn't get round to putting our big one up.

The dog walk takes you 1 1/4 miles to Catsfield and comes out between a pub, post office and sausage shop. Have to keep dogs on lead though. Bought some bits for bbq in sausage shop which were quite nice and not too dear. Didn't go in pub, but menu looked reasonable and there was a beer garden. The walk was well made up and suitable for buggies.

Nearby Battle High Street has a few shops to wander, and small supermarket. Fish and chips and chinese in market square which is off the roundabout approaching Battle from the campsite. Tesco Xpress / petrol station at the other end of high street. Battle Abbey, and Yesterdays World are worth a visit.

Eastbourne or Hastings are the nearest big towns. Crumbles retail park / harbour has big Asda, Boots, Matalan, Harvester and lots of others big named shops.

We will probably use again if we ever wanted to get away for a weekend but don't have much time to travel too far. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Calahondagolf 4 reviews from this member

 1st time Caravanners and can only say that I hope we haven't peaked too early with our choice of site!

This site was as I said the first we (two adults,two boys 7 & 5 yrs and one aged Labrador) had ever visited. Very impressed with the cleanliness and woodland style layout. The site was quiet with friendly and helpful staff. Had never towed or pitched before arrival and whilst we needed little help I felt confident the staff and other campers would help if necessary.

My boys adored playing in the play area and meeting other well behaved children. Though it was still the summer holidays there were not too many children around which even as a parent could put me off a little.

The facilities were as functional and clean as we could hope for, the water was nice and hot. Really they could only be faulted for their weak shower pressure.

Nice adjacent area to walk dogs in which as a dog owner I appreciated and suitably placed 'dog bins' ensured that the area was clean and not hazardous to children.

We learnt a valuable lesson in that we pitched in a fairly wooded area which on our pitch didn't allow for a great deal of sun or opportunity to erect our full awning. Next time would choose something on the open terrace areas perhaps.

If this is the standard of sites I can expect in the future I can't wait to pitch up somewhere again. Regardless, a very high benchmark has been set and anything less now would be a disappointment 


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Battle Normanhurst Court Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Battle Normanhurst Court Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Battle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2635 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement