Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Battle Normanhurst Court Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Site Reviews

Battle Normanhurst Court Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Stevens Crouch
Battle
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN33 9LR
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 133
Open: 16/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 54 Reviews
                8/10 from 54 Reviews

Photos (6) and Video

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mikey1banana 15 reviews from this member

Overall this is a cracking site. While it is a large site there are plenty of nooks and crannies to hide away in which gives the feel of a small intimate site.

This isn't the first time my family and I have been here although previous visits have been later in the year. We were very unfortunate with the weather (solid rain for nearly five days) and it does seem this site struggles with water dispersal in rainy weather. Being a tiered site doesn't help but pitches flooding was common place across the whole site and the ground became very soft very quickly.

The wardens were very helpful, efficient and discreet which was quite nice.

The site facilities are up to the usual caravan club standards, spotlessly clean. My only criticism is that the shower cubicles and some of the lavatory stalls are a bit narrow.

The children's play area was perfect and kept my lads happy. Dog walk from site is easily accessible and follows the 1066 route in both directions. There are plenty of things to see and do in the area.

My biggest moan is regarding wi-fi access. Granted, on a sunnier week this probably wouldn't have caused any issues, but the only area that wi-fi can be accessed across the whole site is a 'hotspot' by the main reception for £2. 50 per day.

All in all a cracking site and we will be back.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JayneBerry 24 reviews from this member

Like all CMC sites this is immaculately clean and well maintained. It's also very attractive as the pitches are interspersed with many enormous trees and shrubs, but this did also make it feel slightly claustrophobic. The pitches are on several different levels as it's a sloping site, and some of the pitches themselves do slope a bit so either pick a level one, or make sure you have levelling blocks. If you have a dog it's not the best place because the dog walk consists of a track leading off site towards fields where animals are grazing, and therefore you can't let the dog off the lead - also the track gets extremely muddy in wet weather. Also, the site is located on a very busy road a couple of miles outside Battle and there are no footpaths on this road until you get near to Battle itself, so no dog-walking opportunities there either!

We did like Battle, it's a picturesque little town and obviously of immense historical significance. There are pubs and restaurants and a small independent supermarket plus a small Co-Op. We did our shopping at the nearby Asda on the road into Hastings. Hastings is worth a look around, especially the old town area which lies at the eastern end. We also took a trip to Dungeness on the Romney Hythe and Dymchurch heritage railway and that was fun, it's a unique landscape where not everyone would choose to live!

We enjoyed our stay but probably wouldn't use it again as it was not ideal for our 3 dogs.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Matt94 27 reviews from this member

We turned up at Normanhurst On Thursday 20th July and stayed 3 nights.

We have used this site a few times over the past 4 years, this time we stayed on Pitch 81 it was like a little circle that had 5 caravans in.

In the past we have always stayed on pitches around 115 to 120 right next to one of the shower blocks

We have never known this site to be so quiet, as in noise, it has never been a noisy site, but this outing is was extremely quiet even though the site was quite full, it was a lovely and relaxing few days, we are thinking of going back September or October.

On our last day we were told about a 1-1/2 mile walk to Cats field along a path through the woods where there was a pub that does food, so we will definitely try that next time.

The site was immaculate which we come to expect from CC site.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Monty the bongo 49 reviews from this member

Excellent site with really friendly staff. We stayed over Easter and had a pitch at the top of the site. There was some road noise but we were happy to put up with that for a sunny private pitch.

Footpath from site leads to Catsfield about a mile away with a pub and small shop. Pub was busy and you need to book a table. The same path continues to Battle and you can get directions/map from the site shop, we saw lots of pheasants and some deer while walking.

Only one question, there are signs saying no ball games etc between the caravan pitches but we were woken up one morning by teenagers practising their archery, how is this ok but ball games etc aren't?

Recommend the site.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonevin 2 reviews from this member

Loved staying at this spotlessly clean site. Large pitches which you can choose yourself- this is great for families that may want to be near the play area or someone that wants a more secluded spot. Set in a beautifully maintained site, with some outstanding trees and lots of wildlife. Staff friendly.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Gee06 5 reviews from this member

Unit: Folding Camper

Negatives:

1. If you pitch at the top of the site there is some road noise.

Positives:

1. Nice and clean showers and toilets.

2. There is a play park for young children and football pitch was a hit with my son.

3. Tidy well maintained site.

4. Being able to choose your own pitch, we chose by the play park.

We would return to this site.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Monty the bongo 49 reviews from this member

Nice site, close to home for a quick night away.

Friendly welcome on arrival. Not sure about having to walk around the site to find a empty pitch before setting up, would prefer to be told where the pitches are.

We found a nice hard standing pitch near the entrance to to dog walk. We found the dog walk to be good, access onto the 1066 footpath which leads to Catsfield or Battle.

Good facilities, always clean and tidy.

Liked this site and will be returning.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dinkum 7 reviews from this member

We visited for 5 nights in June. We tow a caravan with a campervan and had to book 2 pitches as this time we were using both units for sleeping. With the help of the wardens we found two adjacent pitches close to a toilet block. The pitches were very private being surrounded by Rhodedendrums and under large pine trees. The toilet block was spotless throughout our stay. All facilities were good and the site seemed to be well cared for. There is lots to do locally. Close to the town of Battle with it's Abbey and museum. Good olde worlde pubs, cafes and shops. Hastings is just 20 minutes or so away by car. Several National Trust properties within an hour or so by car. Quiet site and there was a playground for children. Sat Nav says that you have arrived about 500m before you do. Watch carefully for the Caravan Club sign or you will miss it. I would recommend this site.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hubber-bubs 1 review from this member

Myself and a friend stayed at this site out of season in October. I found it easy to get on to site and checking in was easy and quick. We were told to park up just inside the barriers and take a walk around the site find a pitch remember the number and then go back to the office to let them know which one we had picked. Pitches were a good size and didn't feel cramped. Its the type of site that has lots of different areas separated by walls or hedges which makes the site feel more intimate. The site was everything you expect from a caravan club site, the shower blocks where spotless and plentiful. Always warm and hot water on demand. Beautiful countryside and peace and quite. The washing up area was again spotless with automatic lights that come on when you enter which is handy when you've got your hands full with washing up. There is a small playground for the smaller children not much for the older ones. This site I feel is more for couples and people with smaller children. Out the back of the site is a bridle path that leads down to the White Hart Pub, which serves a good meal for a reasonable price. Please note however the walk is about 30 min depending on how fast you walk and its through fields and lovely countryside, great when its light but coming home in the dark is a different story. Definitely take a good torch not for the faint hearted but quite an adventure. I will be going back this year as I Loved it.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 119 reviews from this member

The site is located 3 miles West of Battle, just off the busy A271 in the grounds for the former Normanhurst manor. Unusual for a Caravan Club site as the topography of the landscaped gardens has not allowed the CC to introduce the ‘standard model’ one way road system. The site uses the former lawns, stables, paddocks and terraced areas of the former estate ground and is peppered with mature specimen trees.

The usual high standard of modern facilities with a reasonably stocked shop offering the basic provisions including daily papers. No Wi-Fi on this site but 3G coverage for the phone.

The site has direct access to the 1066 footpath route and part of this section can be cycled into Catsfield (1 ¼ mile from site) with access to the quieter lanes.

The NT Batemans Estate home off Rudyard Kipling is 10 miles from the site and a must visit. The coast and Bexhill on Sea is only 5 miles from the site and easily cycleable.

A good 10 mile circular walk can take you to the White Hart pub at Netherfield which provides very good reasonable priced food with fantastic views and alfresco dining (in dry weather).

Good location for touring this area, but very busy and narrow A roads to consider if cycling or walking.

Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in East Sussex   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1937 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019