Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cakes And Ale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Theberton > Cakes And Ale Holiday Park > Reviews

Cakes And Ale Holiday Park
Abbey Lane
Theberton
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP16 4TE
Tel: 01728 831655
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 55 Reviews
                9/10 from 55 Reviews

Photos (19)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravan79 17 reviews from this member

 Great staff. Lovely site and really good sized pitches. Only downside was not being able to take our dog in the bar, yes there is a room dogs are allowed in off the bar but not a nice place to sit and enjoy a drink. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hilary C 36 reviews from this member

 I was very much looking forward to staying here and was not disappointed. As we were two adults and dog we were put in the adults only area. There was plenty of space between pitches and each pitch is both hard standing and grass and has it's own water supply, electric and drain.

The facilities block is central to all pitches and comprises of individual toilet and washbasin rooms which are huge with hooks for your hand towel or clothes if having a wash. There are also private bathrooms with shower, toilet, washbasin and hairdryer and again very roomy.

There are also male and female showers which I didn't use because clothes have to be put on a communal bench outside of the shower which I didn't like. The dishwashing area is indoors and there is also a launderette and again everything was immaculate, even the elsan is spotless. The whole site is beautifully kept, there are two children's play areas, goal nets, tennis courts and a small driving range, you can borrow equipment for a deposit.

The ladies in reception were very friendly as was the grounds man who helped my husband out with some off cuts of wood to put under our steps to stop them pushing through the groundsheet where the ground was soft after rain.

There is a small shop in reception which stocks a few essentials and you can order your daily paper. The bar, open on Friday and Saturday evenings was reasonably priced and has a very nice patio. There is a no noise policy from 9pm to 8am.

There is plenty of space to walk your dog and poo bins provided. We would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jaynikalflou 4 reviews from this member

 My wife and I and two dogs have just returned from 3 nights here and for us it was simply wonderful.

Choice of pitch made that decision all the more difficult but decision finally made. We were mid week and outside school holidays so fairly quiet but that's what we wanted.

Great area for dog exercising off lead but it is a shared space with humans with a climbing frame football goals a golf driving range and a couple of picnic benches so care needed when busy but we were only ones on field at anytime we went. Facility block immac all the time.

Shop not very full but guess that reflected numbers of guests. Location great for all Suffolk coast and Saxmundham has two supermarkets and other individual shops. Is it expensive?. Not really just top end value for money.

Layout of pitches with trees in middle very well thought out plus a small childs play area close enough for adult supervision from most pitches I guess. We had a great rest at a great peaceful clean well managed site. Will return definitely. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CorkyBrit 11 reviews from this member

 Visited Cakes & Ale for the first time, and were pleasantly surprised at how nice this site is. It's very quiet and so well spaced out, with big gaps between pitches and a large empty lawned area in the centre, like a huge village green. There's an area for families with a good playground for kids, and also an adults only section for those who prefer it.

The shower block is immaculate with individual toilet rooms, and a couple of separate shower rooms as well as the usual shared shower rooms.

All the pitches are serviced with water, grey water drainage and electrical connection. Wi-Fi is available at a very low cost compared to some sites. Cakes and Ale is ideally situated for visiting Aldeburgh, Southwold and other coastal resorts, and many other places of interest. Thorpeness was our favourite, a beautiful village with a huge boating lake they call the Mere.

Cakes and Ale is kept very clean and tidy and the staff are friendly and helpful. We would definitely return. A gem of a site. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Choosycamper 3 reviews from this member

 Overall a pleasant site, however a few things of note:

Site is expensive if you are a family, it's the most expensive site we have ever stayed on.

Site was very quiet, which was good, but it wasn't very busy.

Some of the toilet/shower rooms get very wet and didn't drain very well.

Wifi isn't free.

Narrow lane access off the main road.

The playgrounds were nice, however one is near the golf driving range. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LifesABreeze 1 review from this member

 A very pleasant campsite - nice layout and landscaping, good facilities and very helpful staff.

I stayed at Cakes and Ale for a few days by myself recently.

Reception staff were very pleasant to talk to, the pitches and facilities immaculate, and generally things were going really well until a really heavy thunderstorm wreaked a fair amount of damage to my tent - the squall at the height of the storm broke both of my main 'hoop' GRP poles and the tent collaped, with several gallons of water ponding on the tent and then finding its way inside via the roof vents. Everything was soaked ! The campsite staff were on hand very soon afterwards offering assistance, alternative temporary overnight accomodation and bedding, plus tokens for the tumble driers. Whilst I did pack up and go home ( not that far away )at this point, their helpfulness and generosity is something I will remember.

If you are staying at the site, do visit the ruins of Leiston Abbey less that 1/2 mile away; One of the buildings still in good repair is used for a music academy and you can sometimes hear young musicians practicing - quite evocative as you tour the ruins, plus they hold concerts at the site. Their website is http://www. Procorda. Com. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fthom7 1 review from this member

 A fabulous site the pitches are an excellent size with privacy being a priority. Toilet/shower block is immaculate and cleaned to a very high standard as the food prep/washing up area.

Staff are very helpful but not intrusive.

A really great place to stay and we would not hesitate to go back. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rutland Belle 23 reviews from this member

 We booked a week at Cakes and Ale after reading the rave reviews and we weren't disappointed. The site is very well looked after, the toilet block immaculate, the dog area great and the staff are welcoming and very helpful. We joined in a St. George's Day afternoon tea and quiz night and met some of the people from the static caravan park (which is also outstanding).

We stayed in the adult only section and out of school holidays, so I can't comment on how peaceful it would be when very busy, but there are plenty of play areas for children well away from the adult section. There are also excellent play facilities, a golf driving range and tennis court in the big field which is used as the dog exercise area.

There are quite a few seasonal pitches and we are tempted to look at one of these in the future. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tap Retals 9 reviews from this member

 Cakes & Ale AND a bottle of the best champagne! This site is the TOPS! Reception staff are very informative & helpful. The site is so well laid out with very spacious pitches, long rather than wide but width is more than adequate, a very much better way as you have loads of space to park the car in front of your 'van.

The whole way the site is laid out is attractive with trees and shrubs throughout. There is an enormous dog walk & exercise area, as well as a huge children's play area. Plenty of space for everyone with lovely huge expanses of mown grass throughout.

The WC's/shower block is the very best we have come across. There are some single M/F toilets with hand basin, some M/F wet rooms with showers, handbasins & toilets and some single sex showers. There are loads of each - so no queuing! Also there is a laundry (2 washers & 2 dryers at very modest prices) and dish washing/veg. Prep area. All are immaculately clean. And the added bonus of drying are with 3 rotary dryers outside - you do not come across that very often! Daily papers are available to order from reception.

There is a very lovely bar open mostly weekends, which has outside seating areas too. Absolutely ideal. Just a short drive away are some fantastic villages and towns - all so picturesque, all with lovely pubs and eateries.

We will most definitely visit this wonderful site again. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chalky9 39 reviews from this member

 Cakes And Ale is, in my view, almost the ultimate in campsites. Pitches are level, of a good size and fully serviced, though there is little or no screening between most of them. The sanitary facilities are excellent, with individual toilets, some with washbasins, some also with showers, all immaculate, though as someone else said, a small seat would be a useful addition.

It is true that there is nowhere to eat within easy walking distance, but there are several take-aways in Leiston - only a mile or so away - and a pleasant bar on site is a luxury not many campsites offer. 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cakes And Ale Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cakes And Ale Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cakes And Ale Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Theberton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2483 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement