Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cakes And Ale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Theberton > Cakes And Ale Holiday Park > Reviews

Cakes And Ale Holiday Park
Abbey Lane
Theberton
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP16 4TE
Tel: 01728 831655
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 55 Reviews
                9/10 from 55 Reviews

Photos (19)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andtra 15 reviews from this member

 Absolute top park, pitches fully serviced and very generous which is really nice and refreshingly different!

Owners polite and very helpful, plenty of play equipment to keep little ones busy, great area for giving the dogs some excercise and on top of that a bar area that is open in the evenings.

Now it's not difficult to ascertain this sites best quality, it has the best toilet blocks we have ever come across, you get your own area with shower, toilet, sink, hair dryer etc. Etc. And very well looked after, simply stunning! You do pay a top price for a pitch at this site but you also get a fair bit for your money.

This is a site that hopefully we will be visiting regularly as long as the cost for a pitch does not rise too much more. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Podds 10 reviews from this member

 Five star site.

Just spent a few days at campsite spotlessly clean and good amenities fully serviced pitches well laid out everything thought of shower rooms floor did get a bit wet my husband commented poss needed a seat to sit on to dry yourself.

The bar only open Friday Saturday all day and Sunday lunch small shop we did feel that there needed to be more as people traveling from a fair way needed to be able to enjoy a drink and a meal as no public houses in the area close ie walking distance as was commented would like a drink with their meal so the driver could not drink.

Perhaps a list of pubs and restaurants given to visitors or taxis list or arrangements with discounts money off staying at site.

Would stay again very nice break. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RRoberts 18 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 8 nights in August. Had a wonderful time. The large playing field was perfect for playing with the kids and giving the dog a good run. Campsite was nice and quiet in the evenings. Staff very helpful. All the facilities were very clean and modern. Two well equipped play areas. Driving range, tennis courts. Pitches well spaced and there is lots of open space.

You are right out in the countryside so it was peaceful - but obviously no shops or pubs in walking distance.

We'll definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sool 16 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from our fourth stay at Cakes and Ale and are already looking forward to our next visit. I left a review in 2012 but feel compelled to provide an update.

Our earlier visits where back on the days when the facilities were based in a porta-cabin. This was replaced early last year with a smart and expensive facility block, which beats most sites hands down.

Each toilet is a spacious self-contained unit, replete with sink, shelf, mirror, shaver point, hand drier, fast flushing toilet, waste bin and loo brush. There are also some units which include their own shower and a hair dryer.

In addition to these, there are two independent gender specific shower rooms, with each containing three powerful hot showers located within very spacious cubicles, which are in turn located within a large room that has underfloor heating. The generous size of the individual cubicles means that you can easily keep things dry whilst showering, as long as you ensure that the adjustable shower-head is pointing downwards.

The facility block is ventilated through a system that reclaims the heat from the expelled air, which is then used to reheat the incoming air. A combination of all this heat, and the abundant hot water could possibly result in steamed up spectacles, but I'd rather have this than the wide open doors, drafty windows, and minimalistic luke-warm water that is common to so many other sites.

A dish-washing room lies elsewhere within the facility building as does a laundry room with sinks and token operated machines. A fenced off clothes drying area with washing lines is also available.

I suspect that the installation of this upmarket facility block may have created something of a learning curve for Fergus the owner, but he clearly wants it to be a success and knows what he is doing; hence I am confident that any minor niggles will be fully addressed in time.

Elsewhere, the pitches are very generous and consist of a hard standing tarmac with an adjacent large area of firm grass. The pitches are set out to angle away from each other, which greatly enhances privacy. Each pitch has 10 amp hook-up and its own water tap and drain. The is a children's playing area within the confines of the main site, and an additional adjacent recreation field containing another playground, football field, tennis courts and golfing facilities.

The shop sells all the likely basics and I noticed a Calor Gas cage near the entrance. There is a large Co-op amongst other shops, banks and takeaways in nearby Leistion. Nearby Saxmundham plays host to a similar variety of stores. These include Tesco, Waitrose and The Original Factory Shop, where I spotted basic camping supplies, including air beds.

Given that we were holidaying during the harvest season, we expected the neighbouring farmers to be busy gathering their crops. This can occasionally mean combine harvesters operating in the distance after dark, but only until the dew settles, which is usually before 10. 30PM.

There is plenty of places worth visiting the area, not least Southwold, Aldeburgh, Snape and Framlingham. Despite being devout atheists, last year we stumbled upon the Suffolk Churches website, which resulted in our discovering and exploring the many medieval churches in the area, and seeing for ourselves the vandalism caused by the puritans. We would highly recommend this hobby of 'church crawling' to anybody with the faintest interest in history. Start with St Mary, Dennington and you'll be hooked!

We will be back at Cakes and Ale next year, and hopefully for many years to come. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daisytent 14 reviews from this member

 A lot of money has gone into this site, and continues to do so.

Lots good about it, but some important things done wrong.

The toilet block is very swish, all toilets individual rooms with sink which is nice. The usual useless hand dryers! The door locks have a knack to them, not what you need when you've got your legs crossed!

Several rooms with toilet, sink and shower. Absolutely rubbish ceiling fan and no other ventilation, so those of us with specs can't see a thing through the whole shower.

The room with multiple showers was very odd. A panel screening the cubicles from the outside, with a wooden bench, then 3 cubicles. No drying area in the cubicle. So it seemed the options were to undress outside, then go in, or get in the shower fully dressed and get your clothes wet on the back of the door. I took a spare carrier bag to keep everything in. Very badly thought out.

All the shower rooms were wet rooms and we've yet to find a site with these where the plug hole is the lowest point in the floor and this was no exception.

Very good free hairdryers in the shower rooms.

We never saw the cleaners, but the facilities were always nice and clean.

Wi-if was very reasonable at £6 for 7 days and it was quite fast and reliable.

We were able to choose our own pitch, in the adult only area. The first pitch we chose was on a footpath through to the static site behind, so we moved and inadvertently pitched next to the road. It's not busy, but that side of the site is right next to it, so it's noisy when something does pass. The pitch was nice and flat and the ground not stony. Combined with not a breath of wind, one of the easiest pitches we've ever had!

The surrounding area was mainly wheat fields and it was harvest time when we went, so the noise of the combines was pretty constant, even during the night (I think that's what it was!)

There was also noise that sounded like low flying planes during the night.

The claims of immaculate grounds are right, but they don't keep themselves that way. A team of gardeners were out in force from 8. 30 each morning on mini tractor/ride on mowers or strimming. Not the peaceful wake up we prefer! On returning from a day out, you could see they'd been right up to the tent.

Behind us was a stream, about a metre down, so you'd think the ground would drain well. We had some heavy rain and you could feel the squelching underfoot from then till the end of the week, the ground was a state when we took the footprint up.

Having your own water and drainage was very convenient, saved going to wash up for little bits.

The washing up area is completely indoors and spacious and nicely done. Didn't use the laundry, but it looked good.

The biggest bug bear for us was the communal freezer. It's in the shop, which opens 9-5 most days, sometimes less. We only have a cool box so rely on being able to swap cool packs to keep things cold. So, unless we wanted to cut our days short and race back for 5 to get them from the shop, we'd have to go without, which is what we did. A lady in the shop was quite rude when I pointed out this wasn't a great arrangement. There wasn't much in the freezer and the site was mainly caravans, so maybe there's not much call for it, but a freezer in the food prep/washing up room would be much better.

The shop looked like it had most basics and was reasonably priced.

In the area, Aldeburgh, Snape Maltings, Southwold, Framlingham, Yoxford antiques, all worth a visit. The beach was lovely to walk along at Sizewell.

Cinema quaint at Lowestoft, nearest gas bottles at Esso garage on road out of Leiston to Saxmundham or Sizewell holiday park.

Nearest camping supplier we found when our air bed gave up, was in Ipswich.

Lovely area of the world to explore, and this probably one of the better of a small bunch of sites, though the price more than reflects this. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Graham Steele 3 reviews from this member

 Just spent a lovely four days as guests at the Cake & Ale camp site. We could not fault the generous layout of the pitches. The immaculate facility's and the 5star treatment we were given. It is very true that you usually get what you pay for and the Cake & Ale was no exception. Some people might think the charges are higher than most but when you see what is provided then it is worth every penny. I can highly recommend this site and look forward to returning before the end of the year. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kisser 2 reviews from this member

 Everything about this site is top notch! We had a very friendly welcome and could choose our own pitch. Newspapers can be ordered, there's a bar, good dog walking, and a lovely surrounding area to visit, even though we know it well. What's not to like?!? Shops not too far away, although not walking distance, but the site shop is well stocked in case of an emergency. The facilities looked extremely good ( we use our own ) and well kept and I particularly like the drying whirligigs at the laundry area. There's also a nice little play area together with tennis courts, pétanque and golf range. All in all, a lot of thought has gone into this site. We loved it and hope to return in the not too distant future! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Big Rig 15 reviews from this member

 A truly five star site and one of the very few that could accommodate our Fifth Wheel unit even with the tow truck still connected (46ft in total length)

All the pitches are fully service with carefully manicured grass areas giving lots of space for chairs and tables although most pitches had a wooden bench and picnic table provided.

The shower and toilet arrangement are somewhat quirky since the unisex toilets are individual rooms accessed by their own door from outside. The site is almost brand new and the showers were what you would expect in a top hotel save for the the fact that the cubicles are small so your clothes hanging on the door get a wash at the same time - providing a duck board at the back of the shower and something to protect the clothes would help.

At first sight we thought that there were quite a number of caravans on the site but most were stored and empty giving the vast flat site a sort of ghost town feel.

There is an adults-only area towards the back of the site but we opted for the main area - a big mistake when a tent appeared right next to our unit with the proverbial liberal-minded parents who didn't think it unusual for their two offspring to constantly shriek at each other rather than communicate as normal human beings do.

We were told to choose any pitch we wanted which in itself is unique but you would be wise to pick a site away from the road and closer to the adjoining static site - though the road is not that busy the traffic noise was apparent. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: MrsCamper 6 reviews from this member

 The only thing to say about this site is that you get what you pay for. It is expensive compared to other sites I have stayed on and it is irksome to have to pay for a 3 year old however the standard of the facilities and the care taken to maintain the site are exceptional. The toilet and shower rooms which are individual are clean and very user-friendly. The play ground for small children was lovely. I will definitely return, I am a regular visitor to Suffolk and this is the best site I have stayed on. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bilko2 5 reviews from this member

 Recently returned from a 2 week stay at C & A. What a lovely site and with great facilities. Lazy time for me, with all pitches being fully serviced.

Toilet block is brand new this year and Elsan point is excellent. Laundry also good. We used shower in van but cubicles in block were large and very clean.

Site was quiet but all pitches are large, so plenty of space even if it were busy.

Lots to do in the area. We were blessed with good weather, so did not travel further than 15 miles from the site any day. Aldburgh, Walberswick, Dunwich, Southwold, Minsmere RSPB and Snape Maltings all nearby. Also lots of pubs for grub and Adnams beer.

All in all - A* 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cakes And Ale Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cakes And Ale Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cakes And Ale Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Theberton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2677 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement