Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cakes And Ale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Theberton > Cakes And Ale Holiday Park > Reviews

Cakes And Ale Holiday Park
Abbey Lane
Theberton
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP16 4TE
Tel: 01728 831655
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 55 Reviews
                9/10 from 55 Reviews

Photos (19)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Glampers Anonymous 2 reviews from this member

 This was my first camping excursion in about 30 years and was not disappointed!

Cakes and Ales is a great site, the staff were super friendly and helpful, the pitches and whole site is really well maintained.

The toilet and shower facilities, although a little dated, were clean and done exactly what they were meant to do. Plenty of hot water etc.

The bar was open on the Fri and Sat evening and is very welcoming - also a small games room with pool table and table tennis outside. There is a large playing field, a tennis court and driving range available for use too and we were offered racquets and clubs to borrow if we wanted them.

Ideally situated for Aldeburgh, Thorpeness and Southwold - we took the Adnams Brewery tour and can highly recommend it, if only for the free tasting (beer, wine and spirits!).

Overall a great weekend. Even if the heavens opened and we had a torrential downpour for a couple of hours. Our new Outwell Nevada M stood up to the rain just fine 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barsar 56 reviews from this member

 My wife and I stayed at this site for 11 days in June 2011. It is about 2 miles inland from the coast with many opportunities for walking and it is a bird lovers paradise.

We stayed on the 'Adults Only' area.

It is a level open site. Plenty of space and a huge playfield for children.

It is quiet and very relaxing.

The pitches are hardstanding each with power, water and drainage. There is also a TV outlet but this was analogue only.

The only real downside are the toilets and showers. As mentioned by other reviewers the toilet block is dated and in urgent need of refurbishment.

Upon arrival we were told that the toilet block would be closed from 10am the following day for a deep clean.

The showers were cleaned the toilets/washroom were not.

After a busy weekend the shower area was not cleaned again until Wednesday. We will not stay there again and would recommend anyone looking for toilet facilities on a par with those provided by the caravan club to look elsewhere.

Which is a pity given the location. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helgashannd1 2 reviews from this member

 We wanted somewhere quiet and within reach of the beach. In easy reach of Suffolk Coast and Minsmere. The internet search brought this one and after reading the reviews, etc phoned up and booked in for 2 nights. 10pppn electric included.

A level site with toilet/shower block in the centre (hot water but no paper towels). (one review over 2 yrs ago said they were making the ladies toilets accessible to disabled - still not done)

the washing block needs updating - old and tired looking. On arrival we were told that the club/restaurant is only open at half term!They have a small, pricey shop. The automatic gates close at midnight and reopen at 6am.

We camped at the adult end of the field. Quiet - apart from the traffic on the lane - it's used as a short cut by local traffic. The pitch we had was fine when we arrived and pitched up - 8 person tent - the adjacent drain cover was under 1' water by next morning and was quickly cleared - the pitch was wet.

Would we go again? No 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DanandSan 7 reviews from this member

 Booked this fairly late on for a half term week. Had not been to this site before. Really friendly people. We changed our booking 3 times Due to work commitments changing and they couldn't have been more helpful.

The site is perfectly laid out and very well maintained. Very level and has pitches that are hard standing, gravel and grass each of which has fully serviced 'posts' with electric and water / tv point & waste which was an added bonus.

Has an ample shop and a bar. There are loads of things for the children. Football pitch with goals, golf range, tennis courts, volleyball net - and a nice play area for smaller children, easy access to southwold which is excellent for crabbing to while away a few hours.

The site owners were helpful but also expected everyone to treat the site with respect, which was nice ( if you want the butlins style sites then this is not for you, if you want a well run and safe site for children and families then cakes and ale is the perfect choice.

Toilet blocks were clean if not super modern but certainly not shoddy by any means. Easy access for any length of touring van, and ideal for tents due to the level ground. A nice touch was the picnic table by our pitch

If I was to rate it I would say 8 out of 10. A swimming pool or shallow paddling pool would just finish it off a treat. Ps

Bring the kids bikes as there is ample space to cycle around the site to give an additional thing to keep the children entertained and the adults enjoying the peace and quiet ( and a glass of wine or beer) 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Robjflower 1 review from this member

 Booked for 3 nights with the intention of moving on to Norfolk but ended up staying for 8. Campsite is perfect for peace and quiet and very easy access to surrounding attractions.

Everything was very clean, tidy and well maintained, showers spacious and lots of hot water, toilets and washbasins always spotless, even washing machines in the gents as well as the ladies, so the owners are definitely not sexist! Large pitches with lots of space in the middle, area at one end reserved for 'adults only' if you wanted and a large open space kept in the middle of the site.

Separate area away from camping field allocated for games, tennis etc. Quiet bar, open most evenings, reasonable prices but no food. My only improvement would be a light above the washing up sinks. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alexandkatie 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this campsite for 3 nights in our tent. We were slightly concerned about the booking due to the fact that there were no recent reviews on this site, these concerns however were completely unfounded as the site is a fantastic place to stay to explore the surrounding area.

Firstly, the field itself. The touring field is the first you see on arrival (on the left), further along the road there is a large static site but this feels very separate.

The field itself is roughly circular with the shower / toilet block in the centre. The pitches are on the outside of the field with hard standing, water and electricity for each pitch.

It was also nice to see that they owners had not simply tried to cash-in and squeeze as many tents/caravans onto the field as possible. The centre of the field left as grass and therefore there was a nice sense of space. This also meant that the site was lovely and peaceful. We found the campsite to be excellently maintained, all the pitches were neat and tidy and the grass nicely kept.

The facilities- The block features: toilets, showers, elsan point, a dish washing room, outside dish washing, washing and drying machines.

The facilities themselves are not new but they are well maintained, clean and reliable. The showers were always hot (we had showers as late as 10pm and as early as about 8am) and we never had to queue.

The showers have taps, so you didn't have to push a button every 5 seconds for water. The site also offers free icepack freezing which we were very grateful for.

Location- The site itself is on the outskirts of Leiston. It isn't really possible to walk into Leiston however due to the country lanes. There is a lane which passes the left-side of the site but the traffic is minimal and although our tent was next to the road only a few cars passed during our stay.

The site is a nice central location to get to Lowestoft, Southwold, Snape Maltings and Aldeburgh and Saxmundham. Saxmundham has a Waitrose which is a nice local supermarket to have while you are camping.

All in all, a great site and highly recommended! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Butchers 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely stay at the campsite, the toilets were basic but were clean and had hot water. Although there were only 2 washing up sinks, they were clean and were not busy (site was not full - could have done with having a bin by the sinks and insect zappers in the toilets and showers as were quite a few daddy longlegs about.

There was a little play area with sandpits which was in a good location and our 2 year old loved it.

The pitches are of a good size and the site is well lit and nice and quiet.

We went to Heveningham hall county fare which was really good. Lots to do in a lovely location. We also went to Thorpeness which had a lovely beach and lake. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jenchris40 4 reviews from this member

 This was our first camping trip for over 20 years, our first ever as a family of 3 (mum with restricted mobility, Dad, and son of 9). So we decided on a weekend break to dip our toes in, so to speak, choosing this site because of its location (1.5 hours drive) and we chose well for our first short trip.

As others have said, the washing-up area is still in the open, though it does have a roof (no good in the wind!) and facilities were clean and well-kept, loo rolls replaced within a few hours etc. Having moderate to very restricted mobility, this site was ideal in many ways because it is so flat, even the grassy area in the middle, and well served with tarmac roads.

A drawback for me personally were the steps up to the ladies toilets, while the shower block was at ground level, but then the owner at time of booking admitted that disabled facilities might be a thing of the future on this site. Also the door to the ladies stuck from time to time, it was much easier to open from the inside, so a great big thank-you to all my fellow campers who took pity on me struggling with two sticks and the door handle!

The site itself is well thought out, with a large playing area including a small bark-covered playground with swings, slide and climbing frame for the more adventurous or social children to use. For those without children, there was a more wooded or shrubbed area away from the playing fields, but it looked a bit cosy when full from where we were staying on the opposite side. The grounds were extremely well kept, if very open to the elements in parts, and we only saw evidence of dog mess on our very last morning.

But realistically I can only give this site about 7/10. To lay on facilities for children, but then insist on charging a full adult price for them, suggests a somewhat ambivalent or ambiguous feeling towards actually having children on the site. A real shame, because had the pricing been more reasonable, this family with a very well behaved 9 year old, might have stuck it out for at least another week. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happyhippy 10 reviews from this member

 This site appeared well kept and if arriving late you were able to select your pitch and then pay in the morning. Bar on site, although we did not use this.

Just behind the campsite was a mobile home park which was fairly large and added a slight crowded feeling to the site.

The site was well lit and the staff friendly. Toilets and facilities clean and tidy.

There didn't seem to be many great dog walks within walking distance and so we often resorted to walking her on a lead around the edge of the site until we were ready to go out. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tents4us 3 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights at this site. Very friendly welcome and owner pointed out all free pitches and let us choose the one which we wanted. Hard standing next to each pitch with EHU & water tap. Tarmac roads winds around site (not all straight lines). Nice bar but appears to only be open weekends, we planned to have a last night drink on the Monday but it was closed.

Overall a nice site, but you need to drive whenever you go out as nowhere within easy walking distance. 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cakes And Ale Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cakes And Ale Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cakes And Ale Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Theberton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3070 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement