Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cakes And Ale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Theberton > Cakes And Ale Holiday Park > Reviews

Cakes And Ale Holiday Park
Abbey Lane
Theberton
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP16 4TE
Tel: 01728 831655
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 55 Reviews
                9/10 from 55 Reviews

Photos (19)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rippin 1 review from this member

 Great site, showers and toilet block fantastic and the site is run by some great staff, if you like tennis 2 out side courts, also a driving range for golfer s would go back to this camp site when we are in that area.

It's also a good place to take the kids, their is a adult area for caravans and campers if you like to get away from the kids.

The shop as all what you need, you can also put your order in the day before and order your news papers.

C you soon g. Rippin 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mim Clark 8 reviews from this member

 Very well cared for site. Very large pitches well layer out - the site was full when we visited but still plenty of room, no crowding and quiet.

Owners really look after you.

Toilet and facilities block perfect, very clean, brand new.

Playground, tennis courts and golf on site. Small club house where you are made to feel very well come.

The final approach road is quite narrow and the sign quite difficult to spot.

There are some lovely beaches very close, Sizewell is well worth a visit for a walk along the coast. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Map Nut 1 review from this member

 This is a well kept, lovely caravan and camping site. It has a brand new toilet shower block, which is really lovely? It felt like visiting the loos in Fenwicks or John Lewis. Immaculate.

Bin areas, washing up areas, somewhere to dry your washing if required. It has a golf practise area. Lovely tennis court, and children's play area. Lots of space it feels really quiet, and not busy when it is. The bar is smart, and very pleasant. The people that run this site really care about it. It is manicured and maintained to a high standard. All the touring pitches are serviced, and in addition has extra lighting around the site. Leiston which is around 3 miles away has a large Waitrose and Tescos. If you like Thai food the restaurant in the high street is great.

They keep a separate area for adults only, which is really nice.

We highly recommend this site, you will love it. Take your bike if you have one, lots of opportunity to use it.

Far superior to any Caravan Clubsite we have stayed at. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Sharon + Phil 11 reviews from this member

 We bought our static caravan in September last year at Cakes & Ale and have never regretted it. The site is kept in a superb condition and we love where our caravan is and our neighbours. At the May bank holiday, there is a memorial service and fly-past as this used to be a WWII airfield. This year, it was fantastic weather and we sat on the deck of our caravan and watched the display, which was really something! The owners and all the staff, are extremely helpful and very friendly. If you are thinking of buying a static caravan, we thoroughly recommend this site and having been 'tourers' previously, we have settled into this new lifestyle with ease; not having to erect an awning in the rain or wind, makes this worth every penny! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sool 16 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a short enjoyable holiday at Cakes and Ale, which we used as a base for discovering this delightful corner of Suffolk. We found all manner of things to see within a 20 mile radius of the site.

Cakes and Ale is aimed at the top end of the market, and we paid 12 per person per night. The site is licensed for 75 touring pitches but currently seems to utilise less than this. There is an associated 200 pitch static park immediately next door, but this is located behind tall hedging and is effectively a separate entity.

The touring pitches consist of a hard standing and associated grassy area to accommodate awnings/tents. They all have mains hook-up, water and drainage. TV points are also present, but the service is apparently dubious; hence these are deliberately not marketed. The electricity is advertised as being 6 amp, but appears to be 10 amp. Wi-fi is also available for a modest additional fee.

The pitches nearest to reception are located around a large children's recreation area and are deemed for families, whilst those further away are considered to be adult only.

The toilet facilities (which were clean, albeit a little cramped and showing their age), are to be demolished in October to be replaced with a modern block. Hopefully this will include some additional washing-up sinks, which are needed.

We found a good choice of takeaways in nearby Leiston along with a supermarket sized Co-op.

Our only grumble with Cakes and Ale related to Abbey Lane, which abuts the south-eastern perimeter of the site. This narrow lane serves as the Leiston by-pass and although generally quiet overnight, we were astonished by the intensity of the traffic it saw between dawn and dusk. We eventually relocated to a more central pitch, after which the noise was no longer a problem. Insomniacs planning to stay here in tents do need be aware of the situation though.

We will definitely return to Cakes and Ale. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Troels 4 reviews from this member

 We've just spent a fabulously relaxing week at this site and I'm already planning a return visit.

We received a very friendly but efficient welcome and were directed to a lovely pitch at the adults only end of the touring site. Every pitch has its own water and electric points and loads of space between pitches.

The showers and toilets were always clean and the showers were very hot and had loads of pressure!

Over all this is a great site and is very well situated for visits to Southwold, Aldeburgh, Snape, Thorpness and many other lovely Suffolk attractions. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fleetwoods 6 reviews from this member

 We find it very difficult to find touring sites with fully serviced pitches in Suffolk, that are not operated by large organisation, so it was a really fabulous surprise to find the Cake and Ale caravan site, and what a lovely treat it turned out to be.

Its a nicely designed site, with flower beds, landscaping, a small on site shop, a bar which opens at the weekend and is named after the Yoxford Boys who fought in WW2, stationed at nearby Leiston.

The pitches are fully serviced either grass or hardstandings, and designed to give plenty of space around your unit. There is a TV point on each pitch and we didn't encounter any problems with any of the services. Wifi was no problem and was easily accessed for a small fee.

We had a one week stay and its was beautifully peaceful. There is an adult only area section at the top end of the site, but we chose to stay near the bar end, and had a super pitch in a nice little cul-de-sac.

There are static vans on site, but they are hidden away on a separate area and you can't actually see them from the touring site. The owners are very welcoming, and ensure you are safely pitched and have everything you need.

The toilets were a little in need of attention, but they apparently have now been pulled down and are replaced with a brand new building, which I haven't seen yet, but was not able to return this May (2013) due to the building work taking place.

There is plenty of space for kids to play away from the vans, with a separate field provided plus sports facilities.

I liked this site. It was well designed, big spacious pitches, nice landscaping giving some privacy and separation around the site, and a warm welcome. Its a site I will definitely return to 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carts108 2 reviews from this member

 Truly a gem of a site. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we had a fantastic time.

We spent the second half of half term at the site after being welcomed, unbeknown to us at the time, by the site owner who booked us in and directed us to a plot which was perfectly placed.

The toilets and shower blocks were kept very clean with loads of hot water.

There was a very welcome quiet policy between 9pm and 8am which was adhered to by all.

The whole site was immaculately kept and well maintained, just a stones throw from Saxmundham with it Tesco and Waitrose.

The pitch was fully serviced and we experienced no problems whatsoever with this.

The club house was also very welcoming and the Adnams went down a treat.

Children are made very welcome with a well equipped play area site and a large adjacent field with tennis courts, driving range, football pitch and more play equipment.

This site has the good sense to section an adults area for those who wish to have a little more privacy. Our children had hours of fun.

All in all, this is very well run site with ample room between pitches. If you want a laid back break in the beautiful Suffolk countryside on the site of a WW2 airfield this is the one.

Would we return. Oh Yes! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Johnhub 5 reviews from this member

 Very spacious and nicely laid out site. Quite a lot of privacy because of the generous spacing between pitches.

The site is very handy for the RSPB reserve at Minsmere, and the countryside and coast are very attractive.

I only stayed the one night, and was charged a very reasonable 10 travelling on my own - I came here because the owner at the Lonely Farm site wanted to charge me literally double that.

Facilities, as other reviewers have said, are basic but clean, with no charge for showers.

I'll definitely come here again when I visit East Anglia. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gazjade1 1 review from this member

 Visited the site for a last min weekend away, very friendly reception staff and on arrival made the checking in procedure very easy.

Pitch was situated in the adults only end of the site, very large pitch with its own water and electric point.

Grass was well cut, ground was flat and soft and appeared well maintained.

The toilet block is situated in the centre of the site and has separate toilet and shower facilities. The facilities were functional and clean however not the most modern. Hot water was available all day and showers never appeared too busy.

Tennis courts, play area and large football type field looked nice but we never used it.

The site is built on an old World war two airfield and there is a small hut which acts as a museum which was open most days till 7pm, interesting if you like that kind of thing.

The site had a bar area which we never used, and a small shop which stocked all your camping essentials.

Large waitrose is located in Saxmunden which is approx 3 miles from the site.

Overall a good site and will be back in the future. 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cakes And Ale Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cakes And Ale Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cakes And Ale Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Theberton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3532 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement