Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cakes And Ale Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Site Reviews

Cakes And Ale Holiday Park
Abbey Lane
Theberton
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP16 4TE
Tel: 01728 831655
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 50
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
                9/10 from 49 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lorndria 3 reviews from this member

Cakes and Ale is a lovely peaceful holiday park. There are 5 shower rooms that have sink, toilet and shower. And also a room that has, I think, 3 showers. There are also 7 toilet rooms so plenty of facilities. Didn't have to wait once for a shower, even when the site was full. There is a washing up area and a launderette that we didn't use. No problem with WiFi. Don't use a TV so can't comment on that. The lady in reception told us we could walk through the fields opposite to reach Leiston one way and the Abbey the other. Both were lovely walks with the dog. The dog area on the site is also good. The play areas are great but very underused. Think this is more that there is not much in the area for children. Not the sites fault. Loved the villages around and about and was surprised by how foodie the area is. Had 2 lovely meals at The One Legged Eel.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robbie_redcote 10 reviews from this member

We were here for 4 nights over the August bank holiday and were extremely impressed with this site.

This site lives up to all the very positive reviews on this forum. Booking very easy and when I explained we might arrive late this also was no problem and arrangements made to accommodate our timing. (Thank you Abbie). Check in easy, quick and straightforward. Designated pitch large, flat, level, clean and very spacious. Water and electric immediately behind caravan.

Toilet / shower block very clean (cleaned daily), well appointed and large enough to be described as wet rooms.

Bar very clean, tidy and well served by the staff who were friendly and helpful.

Quiz on the Sunday night well supported and fun to take part in with the lady reading the questions very comical in her approach, a great evenings entertainment. (Winning it was also a plus point of course).

True, this site is a mile from anywhere, nearest town being Leiston, (where believe it or not you cannot get fish and chips after 8:30 even on a Friday night), but Thorpeness, Aldeburgh are just 5 miles away, both well worth a visit. Framlingham, Walberswick, Southwold also just 20 mins away so plenty of choice for days out.

I have rated the site location as a 10 because we knew where it was and it's remoteness was part of our reason for choosing it.

We did not have children with us so cannot comment as to how the young would view this site.

We will certainly be back to this site and recommend it to anyone.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Coquelicot 9 reviews from this member

This site is ok but over-priced. The office doubles as a small shop between 9-5 selling basics. You can apparently order newspapers but we weren't informed of this when we booked in. The pitches are all fully-serviced hardstanding with a long concrete base for your caravan and car and you have to put your awning on grass. The EHU is only 10 amp and we tripped ours. The pitches are long and narrow and quite close together with no hedging to provide any privacy or to delineate whose pitch is whose. The amenities block is clean and the washing machines and tumble dryers were huge and very cheap. The showers leave no room for clothes to hang without getting wet. There are only two individual bathrooms with shower, toilet and wash hand basin. The on-site bar was open at the weekend and had a good range of spirits and beers. It has a nice patio area but the bar itself is drab and soulless.

The Wi-Fi is free across the site but hopeless. It kept dropping out, and was weak and unreliable, especially when everyone was trying to use it in the evening. The TV reception is good but there was a very limited amount of Freeview channels. But that is rural Suffolk for you, not the campsite's fault. Great site for dogs with a large recreation ground opposite the site.

The site is not walking distance to anywhere. It is situated about a mile outside Leiston along narrow, winding, country lanes. Leiston itself has a good range of shops, takeways and Fish and Chip shops. The Co-Op in Leiston is a fantastic store where you can get just about anything.

As I have said, I think the site is over-priced for what you get and I would not go there again.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Duncanamps 6 reviews from this member

What a superb site this is.

I stayed here over the weekend on a solo motorcycle trip with a tent. Booking being carried out by email was quick, and trouble free. Finding the site is easy on the satnav and it occupies part of the old RAF Leiston airbase, used by the USAF in World War 2.

The pitch I was allocated was quite large (it looks like they all are) and all seem to have drinking water, grey water drain and an electric post. A tarmacadam hard standing was flanked on the right by a large grass area. The grass area itself was flat and unworn, quite a surprise considering this is the end of the summer season. During the couple of heavy downpours that happened while I was there, the ground drained instantly so I don't think there's any danger of a flooded pitch.

As for the toilet and shower block, this is a log cabin partitioned up into a number of smaller rooms and cubicles. All are modern, in tip top condition and clean. The dish washing and laundry area is indoors and there were a number of sinks spaced out with plenty of hot and cold water. Three 'spinning triangle' washing lines are at the side which you are invited to use for drying.

A small shop sells life's essentials doubling up with the reception area, I don't know what the opening hours are but it was always open when I walked in. A bar is open at weekends and sells a couple of keg lagers and Adnams bitter on a hand pump. For a small bar, there seemed to be a good selection of wines and other items in cans and bottles. The bar doesn't do food (other than crisps etc. ) so you will have to cook in your unit or eat out.

One of the selling points of the site is tranquillity - I was located in an Adults Only area and there is a site-wide noise curfew from 9PM through to 8AM. The only noise you hear at night or early morning is the wood pigeons or perhaps the odd barn owl.

This is not a cheap site; it's also priced per head rather than per pitch. Not withstanding that, it is excellent value for money as this is one of the best sites I've been on and I can safely say it's worth every penny. The staff are friendly and helpful, the site is roomy, clean and well kept.

I would not hesitate to return to this site at a future time.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caravan79 17 reviews from this member

Great staff. Lovely site and really good sized pitches. Only downside was not being able to take our dog in the bar, yes there is a room dogs are allowed in off the bar but not a nice place to sit and enjoy a drink.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hilary C 30 reviews from this member

I was very much looking forward to staying here and was not disappointed. As we were two adults and dog we were put in the adults only area. There was plenty of space between pitches and each pitch is both hard standing and grass and has it's own water supply, electric and drain. The facilities block is central to all pitches and comprises of individual toilet and washbasin rooms which are huge with hooks for your hand towel or clothes if having a wash. There are also private bathrooms with shower, toilet, washbasin and hairdryer and again very roomy. There are also male and female showers which I didn't use because clothes have to be put on a communal bench outside of the shower which I didn't like. The dishwashing area is indoors and there is also a launderette and again everything was immaculate, even the elsan is spotless. The whole site is beautifully kept, there are two children's play areas, goal nets, tennis courts and a small driving range, you can borrow equipment for a deposit. The ladies in reception were very friendly as was the grounds man who helped my husband out with some off cuts of wood to put under our steps to stop them pushing through the groundsheet where the ground was soft after rain. There is a small shop in reception which stocks a few essentials and you can order your daily paper. The bar, open on Friday and Saturday evenings was reasonably priced and has a very nice patio. There is a no noise policy from 9pm to 8am. There is plenty of space to walk your dog and poo bins provided. We would definitely return.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jaynikalflou 1 review from this member

My wife and I and two dogs have just returned from 3 nights here and for us it was simply wonderful. Choice of pitch made that decision all the more difficult but decision finally made. We were mid week and outside school holidays so fairly quiet but that's what we wanted. Great area for dog exercising off lead but it is a shared space with humans with a climbing frame football goals a golf driving range and a couple of picnic benches so care needed when busy but we were only ones on field at anytime we went. Facility block immac all the time. Shop not very full but guess that reflected numbers of guests. Location great for all Suffolk coast and Saxmundham has two supermarkets and other individual shops. Is it expensive?. Not really just top end value for money. Layout of pitches with trees in middle very well thought out plus a small childs play area close enough for adult supervision from most pitches I guess. We had a great rest at a great peaceful clean well managed site. Will return definitely.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CorkyBrit 9 reviews from this member

Visited Cakes & Ale for the first time, and were pleasantly surprised at how nice this site is. It's very quiet and so well spaced out, with big gaps between pitches and a large empty lawned area in the centre, like a huge village green. There's an area for families with a good playground for kids, and also an adults only section for those who prefer it.

The shower block is immaculate with individual toilet rooms, and a couple of separate shower rooms as well as the usual shared shower rooms.

All the pitches are serviced with water, grey water drainage and electrical connection. Wi-Fi is available at a very low cost compared to some sites. Cakes and Ale is ideally situated for visiting Aldeburgh, Southwold and other coastal resorts, and many other places of interest. Thorpeness was our favourite, a beautiful village with a huge boating lake they call the Mere.

Cakes and Ale is kept very clean and tidy and the staff are friendly and helpful. We would definitely return. A gem of a site.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Choosycamper 3 reviews from this member

Overall a pleasant site, however a few things of note:

Site is expensive if you are a family, it's the most expensive site we have ever stayed on.

Site was very quiet, which was good, but it wasn't very busy.

Some of the toilet/shower rooms get very wet and didn't drain very well.

Wifi isn't free.

Narrow lane access off the main road.

The playgrounds were nice, however one is near the golf driving range.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LifesABreeze 1 review from this member

A very pleasant campsite - nice layout and landscaping, good facilities and very helpful staff.

I stayed at Cakes and Ale for a few days by myself recently.

Reception staff were very pleasant to talk to, the pitches and facilities immaculate, and generally things were going really well until a really heavy thunderstorm wreaked a fair amount of damage to my tent - the squall at the height of the storm broke both of my main 'hoop' GRP poles and the tent collaped, with several gallons of water ponding on the tent and then finding its way inside via the roof vents. Everything was soaked ! The campsite staff were on hand very soon afterwards offering assistance, alternative temporary overnight accomodation and bedding, plus tokens for the tumble driers. Whilst I did pack up and go home ( not that far away )at this point, their helpfulness and generosity is something I will remember.

If you are staying at the site, do visit the ruins of Leiston Abbey less that 1/2 mile away; One of the buildings still in good repair is used for a music academy and you can sometimes hear young musicians practicing - quite evocative as you tour the ruins, plus they hold concerts at the site. Their website is http://www. Procorda. Com.

Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2938 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019