Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cakes And Ale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Theberton > Cakes And Ale Holiday Park > Reviews

Cakes And Ale Holiday Park
Abbey Lane
Theberton
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP16 4TE
Tel: 01728 831655
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
                9/10 from 54 Reviews

Photos (19)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 
 Electric Car Charging Point

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Barry Dearsley 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean, friendly site, really good size pitches and the facilities

Are spot on and kept spotlessly clean.

Really love all the dog walks, and the on site bar, and places to visit.

Definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: SteveJune1963 4 reviews from this member

 Long weekend away as competition winner writing a blog during stay in on site lodge. Cosy warm comfortable lodge, weather was wet and windy but lodge was welcoming and relaxing.

Local shops are some 3 miles away by car in Saxmunden, local coastal towns of Aldburgh and Southwold worth a visit although in better weather, each location had plenty of cafes and bars plus fish mongers selling locally caught crabs and fish.

We found most places allowed dogs which was good to see as we had our little Pomeranian Rossi with us. We went to the Ship Inn at Dulwich for Sunday roast which was worth the visit and booked ahead, parking was tricky as access to beach close by and area is with nature reserve with narrow forest single track roads. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ghentjo 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed at the site for 6 nights mid September '19. The entrance and checking in was easy and pleasant.

Choose your own pitch, which are all fully serviced and flat. Awning pitching is easy on well maintained grass.

The park is beautifully kept and pretty much silent.

The birdsong was lovely including the local Owl which was great to hear.

Locally there is a Tesco and Waitrose supermarket.

There are some great places to explore within 15 miles or so.

Do not miss Snape Maltings, really good quality shops and good eating.

We would not hesitate to return. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Hillbilly78 4 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site and facilities, clean, spacious and great local places to visit.

We love it here and have been now a number of times.

The Tennis courts and play equipment is fab with lot's of room for the kids to have fun in a safe and friendly environment. 💯 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lucie66 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Cean and tidy. Nice and quiet in the evenings. Family recreation area for kids to let off steam.

Small bar area but didn't use it. Shower, toilet and wash room facilities were central so where ever your pitch was you didn't have far to go.

Used the site as a base to visit Minsmere, Dunwich, Snape Maltings and Framlinglham. Would definitely recommend 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lorndria 3 reviews from this member

 Cakes and Ale is a lovely peaceful holiday park. There are 5 shower rooms that have sink, toilet and shower. And also a room that has, I think, 3 showers. There are also 7 toilet rooms so plenty of facilities. Didn't have to wait once for a shower, even when the site was full. There is a washing up area and a launderette that we didn't use.

No problem with WiFi. Don't use a TV so can't comment on that. The lady in reception told us we could walk through the fields opposite to reach Leiston one way and the Abbey the other. Both were lovely walks with the dog.

The dog area on the site is also good. The play areas are great but very underused. Think this is more that there is not much in the area for children. Not the sites fault.

Loved the villages around and about and was surprised by how foodie the area is. Had 2 lovely meals at The One Legged Eel. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robbie_redcote 11 reviews from this member

 We were here for 4 nights over the August bank holiday and were extremely impressed with this site.

This site lives up to all the very positive reviews on this forum. Booking very easy and when I explained we might arrive late this also was no problem and arrangements made to accommodate our timing. (Thank you Abbie). Check in easy, quick and straightforward. Designated pitch large, flat, level, clean and very spacious. Water and electric immediately behind caravan.

Toilet / shower block very clean (cleaned daily), well appointed and large enough to be described as wet rooms.

Bar very clean, tidy and well served by the staff who were friendly and helpful.

Quiz on the Sunday night well supported and fun to take part in with the lady reading the questions very comical in her approach, a great evenings entertainment. (Winning it was also a plus point of course).

True, this site is a mile from anywhere, nearest town being Leiston, (where believe it or not you cannot get fish and chips after 8:30 even on a Friday night), but Thorpeness, Aldeburgh are just 5 miles away, both well worth a visit. Framlingham, Walberswick, Southwold also just 20 mins away so plenty of choice for days out.

I have rated the site location as a 10 because we knew where it was and it's remoteness was part of our reason for choosing it.

We did not have children with us so cannot comment as to how the young would view this site.

We will certainly be back to this site and recommend it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Coquelicot 10 reviews from this member

 This site is ok but over-priced. The office doubles as a small shop between 9-5 selling basics. You can apparently order newspapers but we weren't informed of this when we booked in. The pitches are all fully-serviced hardstanding with a long concrete base for your caravan and car and you have to put your awning on grass. The EHU is only 10 amp and we tripped ours.

The pitches are long and narrow and quite close together with no hedging to provide any privacy or to delineate whose pitch is whose. The amenities block is clean and the washing machines and tumble dryers were huge and very cheap. The showers leave no room for clothes to hang without getting wet. There are only two individual bathrooms with shower, toilet and wash hand basin. The on-site bar was open at the weekend and had a good range of spirits and beers. It has a nice patio area but the bar itself is drab and soulless.

The Wi-Fi is free across the site but hopeless. It kept dropping out, and was weak and unreliable, especially when everyone was trying to use it in the evening. The TV reception is good but there was a very limited amount of Freeview channels. But that is rural Suffolk for you, not the campsite's fault. Great site for dogs with a large recreation ground opposite the site.

The site is not walking distance to anywhere. It is situated about a mile outside Leiston along narrow, winding, country lanes. Leiston itself has a good range of shops, takeways and Fish and Chip shops. The Co-Op in Leiston is a fantastic store where you can get just about anything.

As I have said, I think the site is over-priced for what you get and I would not go there again. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Duncanamps 6 reviews from this member

 What a superb site this is.

I stayed here over the weekend on a solo motorcycle trip with a tent. Booking being carried out by email was quick, and trouble free. Finding the site is easy on the satnav and it occupies part of the old RAF Leiston airbase, used by the USAF in World War 2.

The pitch I was allocated was quite large (it looks like they all are) and all seem to have drinking water, grey water drain and an electric post. A tarmacadam hard standing was flanked on the right by a large grass area. The grass area itself was flat and unworn, quite a surprise considering this is the end of the summer season. During the couple of heavy downpours that happened while I was there, the ground drained instantly so I don't think there's any danger of a flooded pitch.

As for the toilet and shower block, this is a log cabin partitioned up into a number of smaller rooms and cubicles. All are modern, in tip top condition and clean. The dish washing and laundry area is indoors and there were a number of sinks spaced out with plenty of hot and cold water. Three 'spinning triangle' washing lines are at the side which you are invited to use for drying.

A small shop sells life's essentials doubling up with the reception area, I don't know what the opening hours are but it was always open when I walked in. A bar is open at weekends and sells a couple of keg lagers and Adnams bitter on a hand pump. For a small bar, there seemed to be a good selection of wines and other items in cans and bottles. The bar doesn't do food (other than crisps etc. ) so you will have to cook in your unit or eat out.

One of the selling points of the site is tranquillity - I was located in an Adults Only area and there is a site-wide noise curfew from 9PM through to 8AM. The only noise you hear at night or early morning is the wood pigeons or perhaps the odd barn owl.

This is not a cheap site; it's also priced per head rather than per pitch. Not withstanding that, it is excellent value for money as this is one of the best sites I've been on and I can safely say it's worth every penny. The staff are friendly and helpful, the site is roomy, clean and well kept.

I would not hesitate to return to this site at a future time. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravan79 17 reviews from this member

 Great staff. Lovely site and really good sized pitches. Only downside was not being able to take our dog in the bar, yes there is a room dogs are allowed in off the bar but not a nice place to sit and enjoy a drink. 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cakes And Ale Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cakes And Ale Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cakes And Ale Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Theberton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2830 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement