Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Shelford Nurseries Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Shelford Nurseries Caravan Park
Shelford Hill, Shelford
Radcliffe On Trent
Nottingham
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG12 1ED
Tel: 0115 933 3433  or  07989745631
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 23
Open: 01/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 50 Reviews
                8/10 from 50 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cadge 1 review from this member

Well what a great start to the new season. First time out in new van and fell upon this campsite. Facilities spotlessly clean and site was very peaceful. Canít fault it. Owners were fantastic hosts and plenty of advice for walks with the dogs. Very convenient for getting in to Nottingham. Will be going back.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Unclebob 3 reviews from this member

Arrived yesterday on our way to Scotland. Greeted by owner who was very friendly and helpful and we were given all the information we needed to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. A delightful, well kept site with adequate facilities. The hardstands are gravel and our motorhome at 23 feet is probably as big as you would park comfortably. We were advised to fill our water tank before pitching but if you have long enough hose (we have) should be ok on pitch.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wfoster 3 reviews from this member

This is a gem of a site, situated in the beautiful village of Shelford, which has a wonderful pub serving excellent food. There is a play area with football nets and swings etc too. The site is small with separate areas for tents and caravans, it's nice and level too so after a long journey no messing levelling the van! The owner was very attentive offering us advice on places to visit and eat. It's in a good location for visiting Nottingham and Sherwood Forest and many other lovely places too. There is a men's and ladies toilet block with two showers with constant hot water which were kept immaculate. There are recycling facilities too. The only down side was bad 3g reception which didn't go down well with my teenage son and no ball games which didn't go down well with my younger son, but hey ho! We also didn't use our awning as we couldn't have the ground sheet down. I'm certain we will return to this site and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gemchris2013 1 review from this member

This park is perfectly situated to enjoy the quiet countryside. The site itself is for tents is the perfect size to accommodate many tents, but is closed in by trees all the way around so is lovely and private.

The shower block is close by and nice and clean. The shower was lovely and warm. The washing facilities were next to the shower block so again close by. The owner was always very helpful and friendly. The shop on site stocked pretty much anything you could need for a treat.

The local pub is less than half a mile away and the local towns were very close and had plenty of takeaway choice if needed. We will visit again for sure.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: CAD666 1 review from this member

Just got back from a weekend at this little oasis.

Having read the previous reviews all I can say is all the weeds are now gone, the owner says she waits until this late to benefit the wildlife and it works = we saw loads of butterflies, bees, birds and even bats.

Shower block basic but clean and it all worked.

Owner does not put the prices up in summer they stay the same all year so it seemed good value to me!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brown2368 6 reviews from this member

Visited this site for a two night stay. Firstly the plus points. 1 Very friendly welcome 2 Ground very level. 3 Area good for walking/cycling many small villages locally. Near to Nottingham.

Now the minus points. 1 Driveway full of weeds not good 1st impression. 2. Toilet block appears to be relatively clean however there are cobwebs when you look above your head. 2 The washing up area is under plastic roofing which does not appear to safe. 3 The area set aside for information has a settee in it that is very stained 4 Overall the facilities for toilets washing up and information needs money spent on it and the weeds around the site need to be sorted out. Would I return? only for a maximum of 2 nights With a little money spent on the facilities this could be a little gem

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mel1tin2 1 review from this member

Hi, new to caravanning and first review. Owner was very nice and helpful, told us all the places to go and not to go. The site was very quiet and grass was well kept. The shrubs were very overgrown all round the site and made manoeuvring difficult. Husband used the gents and said they were clean but basic. The shop on site was very sweet but closed most of the time. Overall a good basic site but no wifi and no tv signal.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Elfgiva 3 reviews from this member

This is becoming a regular haunt for us and the owners make excellent hosts. Facilities are small, but clean and well maintained, and there is now a small bar, located in an original WWII Nissen hut.

A short walk to the village pub, The Earl of Chesterfield with a good selection of real ales and some fine, locally produced food on the very varied menu. Fresh eggs for sale from the nearby farm along the road.

A peaceful location within a small and friendly campsite.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: H Javan 1 review from this member

We have just spent a very happy 10 days at this site. It is clean and friendly.

The site was well looked after, has flat pitches, some hard standing. The reception area also doubles up as a licensed bar where you can obtain drinks and ice cream and sit either inside or out.

The grass is kept in good condition and the cuttings are collected, not left on the ground for you to walk into your unit or tent.

Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for Christine, the owner, who we found very obliging.

The site is well situated for trips out to the city of Nottingham and also the many surrounding places of interest.

We have a dog who likes lots of walks, if you are in this category, this is the ideal place with plenty of bridleways. A walk across the fields to the rear of this site takes you into the village, where, if liked, a refreshing drink and food can be had at the local pub which is also dog friendly. A short walk through the pleasant village takes you back to the site.

We will be returning to this site in the near future.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: T25Rich 2 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed our stay on this campsite. The site was quiet when we stayed and the weather was a rare hot sunny weekend. The children loved the space to play around in and the owner was really lovely and friendly to the dog as well. The selection of local beer was excellent, a real treat although I didn't find them until the morning so I bought some home. I went to the cricket at Trent bridge so left the camper on site for the day and the owner was happy for me to do this, despite us not getting to the site until much later. Excellent we really enjoyed our stay and will return.

Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2879 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019