Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Shelford Nurseries Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Shelford Nurseries Caravan Park
Shelford Hill, Shelford
Radcliffe On Trent
Nottingham
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG12 1ED
Tel: 0115 933 3433  or  07989745631
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 23
Open: 01/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 50 Reviews
                8/10 from 50 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maggitent 3 reviews from this member

We visited Shelford Nurseries for a weekend in early September. Its a friendly little campsite set in an orchard. There are 2 camping areas for vans, motorhomes and tents either side of the shower and toilet block.Close-by is a sitting area and a shop selling all the essential things. Beer, wine, biscuits Etc. A paperback book exchange is available,too. EHU is available if needed.
Christine, the owner, warden and general dogsbody, was very humorous and chatty. The sleepy village is of soft red-brick cottages and bungalows, with a pub about 10 minutes walk down the road.Buses stop outside for Nottingham.
Footpaths to other villages and a riverside walk to pubs in the area. Just wish we'd had more time to explore. Made a lovely crumble from the apples in the orchard.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: S+Lontour 1 review from this member

Spent four nights on site. The owner (Christine) was extremely helpful & friendly. The site is well positioned for visiting Nottingham and we found it quiet and peaceful. The pitches are located within an orchard (there is probably a clue in the name!)and it has a wonderful 'step back in time' feel about it.
Our visit on this occasion was due to having to visit QMC, however we will return at some point to fully enjoy the relaxing atmosphere.This review is one of those classic quandaries -do we keep quiet and keep it to ourselves or do we share it? Its quite simple really -this site deserves to have a loyal following.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janx 116 reviews from this member

This is a nice little site, with very friendly owners. There is a small shop that sells the essentials and some local beers.

There are two hard standing pitches and the rest are grass.

The facilities, though dated are very clean functional and the shower was lovely and hot.

There is an area to wash the pots and an information room.

Buses run from the village into Nottingham but there is a more regular service from Radcliffe.

It is a lovely walk to Radcliffe which takes about thity five minutes, here there are quite a few shops, pubs and cafes. There are other walks round and about. We were there for an extended weekend and found plenty to do.

We enjoyed our stay and would visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Coffee Lady 2 reviews from this member

This site was one of the first we ever stayed on and I think it has probably spoiled us for anywhere else. The owner could not have been more helpful or more friendly; there was a little shop selling preserves and wine, etc, and a place for our freezer blocks to go.

As the site is an orchard, the owner told us which fruit was abundant and we woke up and ate sweet yellow plums with our breakfast each morning, fresh off the tree. Show me another site that offers that.

The facilities were basic but good, there was hot water to wash up with, the shower worked and was hot, the toilets were spacious enough for my daughter, who uses crutches, to use easily.

It was sheltered, quiet, and lovely.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bezavale@hotmail.co 1 review from this member

Our third camping trip, but first on this site. The campsite is very clean and the shower and toilet block was cleaned every day. The washing up area was superb too.
Christine was very helpful even helping us to erect our new tent, she also gave us lots of tips too! There are lots of lovely little villages to visit but far too many to cram into three days. So therefore we will return asap providing Robin has got rid of the stray cat.
The host made us feel part of the family allowing us to eat as many of the lovely damsons and pick the herbs for our bbq.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Diamondkim 1 review from this member

Visited for three nights August 2009. One ladies shower very clean, washing up room. Very nice welcome by the owner very helpful with the surrounding areas. Very quiet clean site great for chilling out, lovely apples from their own trees made a very nice hand picked blackberry and apple pudding with ice cream (also from their shop) yum yum. Sad to leave.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Belper21 1 review from this member

This was my first weekend away in my VW camper.

What a lovely peaceful site, with a very friendly and helpful owner. The toilet / shower facilities are basic but very clean and tidy. There is also a little shop selling the necessities, wine, beer and ice cream. Also for sale local jams and pickles.

Set in a small farming village with a pub serving food Fri evening, Saturday lunch and evening. We ate in the pub after a lovely walk into Radcliffe on Trent, small menu but the food was nice.

Would certainly visit the site again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: JaneH 63 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend at Shelford Nurseries testing out my sister's new VW camper. We chose this site as it is fairly local but with easy access to good walking countryside near the River Trent and in walking distance of a pub!

The site is a little gem - low key, well laid out, private and secure. The location is just on the edge of the village and access is secured by a gate with digilock (code provided) at night. There is the usual toilet / shower block and wash basins, all clean and tidy with ample hot water. There is a pot washing area, drying room (as in clothes line drying) and 'tourist' room with chairs, table and info for campers on wet days, these are all under cover.

Recycling is actively encouraged - paper, cans, bottles, cardboard etc with bins on site.

Also on site is a small shop selling basic provisions. It also sells local beers, wine, homemade pickles, chutneys, ice creams, some camping items. There are also books / mags for borrowing and a charity shelf with all sorts of utensils / crockery etc for a small donation.

Hookups are available, with 3 hardstandings for MHs/vans.

Christine, the owner is very friendly and helpful.

We did a lovely walk over to Radcliffe on Trent (good High street with lots of shops etc) and back by the Trent ending at the Earl of Chesterfield pub at the other end of the village. The pub does do sandwiches / jackets / traditional food but only on Friday night, Sat lunch (12-2) and Sat night. Drinks only at other times.

Does not open Mon, Tues or Wed lunchtimes.We ate there Sat lunchtime and had a lovely meal. Friendly staff too.

We will definitely put this on our list for sites to come back to.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mickjg 4 reviews from this member

Just spent 2 nights at this great campsite.

Was met by the owner who showed us the campsite and pitch.

Shower and toilet room was nice and clean. There is a good wash room and a info room as well. All very clean.

The pitch we had was very good and flat. Even after all the rain we had before during and after we was there the ground well drained and very solid.

The shop on site was not much it did have a good supply of wine and beer. But that its really not the normal things you need in a camp-site shop.

The village is great to have a look around there is one pub and they are very friendly. There are lots of walks to do around the village.

If the shop had a good stock of the everyday needs of a camper I would have rated it high. And yes I would go back again.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gem28 1 review from this member

Had a lovely bank holiday weekend at the site. The owners were very friendly and had lots of ideas for things to do in the area that was very useful. The facilities were very clean and the shop had the basics. Had a lovely meal at The Unicorn Pub, Gunthorpe. Would definitely recommend the site.

Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1997 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019