Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Shelford Nurseries Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Shelford Nurseries Caravan Park
Shelford Hill, Shelford
Radcliffe On Trent
Nottingham
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG12 1ED
Tel: 0115 933 3433  or  07989745631
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 23
Open: 01/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 50 Reviews
                8/10 from 50 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Floppyntinks 4 reviews from this member

We have just come back from Shelford. As usual the Easter bank holiday was a wash out but that did not stop us.

The site was well laid out and the owner was very friendly and helpful. We were part of a larger group and there were 2 tourers, 1 tent and 2 camper vans. We had a small field to ourselves which was great.

The dogs enjoyed the local walks. You can walk to Radcliffe from the site. The local Indian takeaway delivers and was good value.

There was a pub in the village which opened on Good Friday. We must recommend the Sunday lunch - its was very good value. Superb chef. Lovely atmosphere too.

All in all a lovely break at a lovely site.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janene381 1 review from this member

We used to have a tent but just up graded to a caravan so didn't want to go too far. Christine the owner was really helpful through out our stay.

The site is very basic but kept very clean, the shower was very good and powerful, (one of the best showers we have had)the pitches are flat and have ehu on most pitches, its in a really nice and quiet village

The recycling bins need to be bigger and marked clearer. Heater to be put into both ladies and gents toilet/shower room. Door to the tourist room needs to be replaced as handle not on the inside.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skipper66 2 reviews from this member

Pleasant site with toilets, a shower, a washing up sink. A Drying shelter, with lines up to dry your towels. A visitors room with magazines and local attractions pamphlets to use and look up for whats on locally.

A small site next to the owners home, very helpful and pleasant owners who help a much as humanly possible, even re froze our blocks for us.

A shop on site for gas, wine, some local beers, and as an added extra arrows for longbows, useful for a souvenir of a visit to Nottingham. And hand made. Also sell some locally made ice cream.

Pitches are flat, some hard standing for caravans, EHU available for tents as well as caravans. All surrounded by hedging to help keep the wind off.

The toilet blocks could do with a lick of paint, but they are cleaned everyday, so nit picking really.

Dog friendly with a round the village walk along the public footpath, or go down into the village and walk along the trent.

No shops locally in the village but Radcliffe is only 10 mins away in the car or a 40 min walk along the river. Plus other villages in easy reach.

All in all a really nice site

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Admk 2 reviews from this member

Rather disappointed with this site as it has a lot of potential that is not being fulfilled.

The entrance and driveway to the site could do with a good tidy up, first impressions are that this site is not cared for as it should be and that theme continues with the reception area of the site, functional but not tidy enough to give a good impression.

The abundance of corrugated plastic shacks, presented as facilities would be OK as temporary but it is obvious these have been a long-term addition.

The pitch we stayed on was rather tight, and I would consider our tent to be in the medium size range also considering caravan and tent units are much larger now days the site could do with loosing one or two pitches to address this. Our stay was in peek season and the site was only at half capacity so I could not see this causing any problems. There appear to be four hard standing pitches that are adequately roomy.

One pitch has a un-screened waste water pit right on its boundary!

The toilet and shower block is cleaned daily but not to a standard I would consider adequate. The shower tray is cleaned but the mat you step on to, to dry off and dress appears to have not been lifted and cleaned underneath this season, so possibly expect dirty feet after you shower.

The shower tray is so far off the floor and the ceiling low enough to make showering difficult for anyone over 5’10”. Stepping down off this tray was a little unnerving. There were cobwebs everywhere that had obviously been there sometime.

I found it strange to find a notice on the back of the WC door informing guests to depart by 12 noon!

There was also an intermittent foul smell that we thought could be fertiliser. When I returned home and checked on Google Earth I found Nottingham’s major sewer treatment works only a mile and a half west of the site. So if you have a good westerly wind blowing like we had, expect the same foul smell.

Other than these faults it’s a pretty site with a useful shop that the owner was happy to open up at any reasonable time for us and a small amount of books / cd’s to lend. The grass was well mown and all but one or two pitches are reasonably flat

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Madison2 1 review from this member

We stayed at this site as it was one of the closest to where a friend of ours was holding her 65th birthday. We had a great time - friendly owner with lots of local information on hand. It's a lovely rural location with a great circular walk from the camp site for a dog walk, and quiet at night. Small, informal and how camp sites used to be. Good value for money, too. We would definitely go again if we were in the area.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 174 reviews from this member

A quiet oasis in the middle of nowhere and being mid-week we were the only tourers there adding to the serenity. Excellent site for visiting Nottingham with an hourly bus stop just down the road and buses dropping off at the site entrance.

Owner extremely helpful,toilets a bit basic but clean with modern showers and plentiful, free hot water. Small site shop selling local micro brewed bottled ales which I thought was unusual.

Pub on the other side of the village was open during my stay but is currently up for sale,no food but a couple of nice real ales on. Paid £14.50/night for two with ehu.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Raccoon19 2 reviews from this member

Myself and my wife used Shelford nurseries for a stop off on our way back home from Norfolk. I am pleased we did. When in the site it was like a little Oasis.

Christine, the owner was there to greet us and walked around the site to show us the facilities and to let us choose our pitch, she is a very friendly host and gives you plenty of advice where to go and most importantly how to get there.

Facilities are up to a good clean standard and over the three days we were there I never found them in any condition other than clean. The showers did not have a timer on them so you had a shower that worked till you turned it off. Myself I feel that if the toilets are clean the rest of the site follows, and this was right.

Around the edges of the site there is a growth of weeds. They do not get in anyones way and are controlled by Christine. What they do is encourage wild life to visit more.

Its a good site that is centrally placed for visiting the area. I was not really a fan of Nottingham though and found it a very hard place to drive into and around to get a car parking space. This in no way detracts from the experience of the area. From the site you have walks to to river side and plenty of lanes if you like to use your bicycles.

Within a few miles of Shelford there are caravan centres who do sell accessories so if you need anything you don't need to travel far.

On the whole we found the site clean, a good size, friendly and easy to get to and will use it again next time we are down that way.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lpeedy 24 reviews from this member

The owners are very helpful and friendly. The lady was not there when we arrived but she made sure she came and introduced herself, which was nice. When booking she also gave us tips on the best way to travel there and the best places to eat out etc. Tom Browns in Gunthorpe was a very good recommendation from her.

The site itself is unfortunately in need of some TLC. When we were there, there were lots of weeds and nettles and you had to step over the long grass that had grown in the cracks on the way to the toilets / shower. The toilets / shower are very dated and could do with a bit of a spruce up.

The site is small and very quiet but you do feel like you are camping in someone's back garden. Due to the small size of the campsite there is a limit on the size of tent you can pitch - 3m.

The pub in the village apparently opens erratically but was not open at all during our time there. There is a nice pub in East Bridgford called the Reindeer - excellent food at really reasonable prices.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tashbash 1 review from this member

Just got back from a one night stay at this site. We had a great time. The atmosphere is very relaxing and peaceful!

The site is small but perfectly formed.

All facilities are clean and of a good standard. Christine (owner) was very helpful and even gave us useful camping tips, which we value as newcomers!

We will be coming back to this lovely and homely site.

Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nkawecki 2 reviews from this member

Great little site when we stayed for a long weekend with the family over the Easter bank holiday.

No frills but everything done adequate expect only one washing up sink with little hot water.

You can tell that this was once someone’s back garden and orchard but this just adds to the charm and character.

All in all small site but very peaceful with a laid back atmosphere! Be back when the cricket is on at Trent Bridge next summer.

Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


802 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019