Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Shelford Nurseries Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Shelford Nurseries Caravan Park
Shelford Hill, Shelford
Radcliffe On Trent
Nottingham
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG12 1ED
Tel: 0115 933 3433  or  07989745631
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 23
Open: 01/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 50 Reviews
                8/10 from 50 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lesnorman 20 reviews from this member

Shelford Nurseries Caravan Park is a delightful small rural campsite, perfect for visiting Nottingham. Clean and tidy, the welcome is warm and almost uniquely the campsite has a bar in a shed which the locals like as much as the caller's. We enjoyed our stay there.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CEW3A 23 reviews from this member

We were welcomed on arrival by Christine, very friendly & she showed us around the facilities. A very quiet, sheltered site & (at night) very dark. (Apart from the lights above the toilet block, there is no outdoor lighting so a torch is a necessity!) Our grass pitch was in the former orchard & the ground was very soft, so it did tend to get muddy where the car tracks were. We were the only ones in that section, so it felt like we were in someone's garden! The facilities were basic - the toilet block is largely painted breezeblocks, with tiles around the sink & shower. There are a lot of cobwebs, dead flies, spiders etc & the occasional live one! In the ladies, (which is quite dark - put the light on & turn it off as you leave) there is 1 toilet cubicle, and a larger one presumably for disabled access, containing a small hand basin in addition. There is 1 shower cubicle, with a domestic electric shower, which worked fine. I would have appreciated a plastic stool or similar to sit on when getting dried & dressed. The sink (for which the hot water is provided by a domestic electric water heater) was in a separate area which could be curtained off for some privacy if getting washed. There was a waste bin there too, and an ineffective paper towel dispenser Ėon a roll. Maybe it was the quality of the paper, but it was impossible to tear off a single piece without it shredding & it was useless to try and dry my hands.

Around the side of the toilet block is a little room with some tourist info leaflets, a sofa & some plastic chairs if we wished to use them (we didnít). Round the corner was the washing up room. The hot water is provided by a domestic electric water heater & the cold water is also the drinking water tap for the site. There is a hose provided to hook up to fill water containers. A small washing up bowl was provided, but we didnít use as we brought our own larger bowl. There was also a useful, large draining rack for plates etc. It may be determined by the level of pipes etc, but I found that the height of the sink & drainer was too low. I am only 5ft 5ins tall, but I felt like I was stooping to use the sink. Further round the corner still was the chemical toilet waste disposal point.

The unusual feature of this site is the reception & bar in a converted Nissen hut! We didnít use the bar, but witnessed a few others sitting outside & keeping warm with a blazing fire in the fire pit. I understand some locals also visit, as well as campers, but it was never noisy. There was a friendly atmosphere.

This is a no-frills site; the facilities are basic and would be inadequate if the site was full. However during our stay I largely had the toilet block to myself.

The bonus which I didnít discover until our arrival was that free wifi was available, though it was only possible to get a signal outside the bar area.

We chose this site as a base from which to visit our daughter at Nottingham University; for a short stay, out of peak times, it was adequate, and we would consider staying here again.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Papatate 5 reviews from this member

Just spent 2 nights at this little gem of a site, be prepared for some quirkyness though, a bar in a WW2 nissen hut and a open fire pit. Facilities very basic but clean, household shower no pressing those annoying little buttons. Nice village with good pub food great but expensive. Take a trip to Gunthorpe. Definately would come back

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Purpleslurple 1 review from this member

Just spent 3 nights camping at this site; the owner is friendly and welcoming and our pitch was great. The toilet/shower block is very basic but it was clean and the washing up room was adequate. The site is pretty small and could do with a little TLC - lots of nettles everywhere which was a bit of a pain with a small child. On the first night there was 7 units on the site, the second night there was just one other unit in the other field and the last night we were completely alone. Whilst it was great not to have to worry about our toddler disturbing others, we did feel a little uncomfortable like we were camping in someone's garden and thought it was a bit odd for August.

Overall it was a pleasant stay, lovely area with great walks.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Grahame394 1 review from this member

Just returned after a 1 night stop off. Called ahead at short notice, staff could not have been any friendlier. The site facilities were basic but exceptionally clean. The bar had a wide selection and the everyone made welcome.

Would definitely recommend this camp site if your after some quiet time away from it all.

Well done and thanks.

Grahame & Lesley Smith.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Elfgiva 3 reviews from this member

We booked for Easter weekend, arriving Good Friday and were greeted by the campsite owner, Christine. Our pitch was nicely appointed. We were delighted by how private and secluded the campsite location is, although close to the main road through the village.

The campsite has a charming bar located in a refurbished WWII nissen hut. The atmosphere of the bar is much the same as the campsite - welcoming and friendly. We were able to mix with both locals and fellow campers.

The campsite facilities are smaller than larger, more commercial campsites, and this, we feel is reflected in the very reasonable pitch fee. The toilet/shower block is basic but well maintained and clean. There is also ample provision on site for waste disposal and recycling.

The campsite was fully booked over Easter and there was no shortage of children and dogs, as both are equally welcome. We did notice some noise from the dog in the neighbouring van, which was discreetly dealt with by Christine when we mentioned it to her. We really felt that, as far as Christine is concerned, nothing is too much trouble.

Local village amenities are limited to the pub, where food and drink prices are comparable to many we have visited. We were more put off by the overcrowding and bouncy castle at the pub on Bank Holiday Monday than anything else, but understand this is put up on special occasions such as bank holidays.

Shelford feels like it is in the middle of nowhere, when in fact it is no more than a 10 minute drive from Radcliffe-on-Trent, where there are cashpoints and a Co-op store (the pub in Shelford also offers cash back).

We highly recommend Shelford Nurseries Caravan Park and have already booked our return visit in July.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sponge Bob 7 reviews from this member

We were met by Chris on arrival who was very friendly and helpful; showed us around site facilities and gave info on local amenities. Site quite secluded & well maintained though facilities would benefit from modernisation, however, very clean. Great little bar on site in a re-fashioned army billet which leads for an interesting topic of conversation and a great way to meet other campers and locals.

Nearest pub is 10 mins walk, welcoming staff and delicious food. Site ideally located for walks; approx 4 miles along river to Radcliffe which is also accessible via road, approx 2. 5 miles but no footpaths or lighting.

The sign for the site could be better positioned and more of them; it can be seen when coming from Radcliffe but we almost missed it coming through the local village route.

The site welcomes dogs (and I'm all for this), but the noise created by several of them barking early in the morning wasn't appreciated! Whilst I realise this is the owner's responsibility maybe a gentle reminder from site owners would help.

In conclusion, I recommend this site for customer service and friendliness, location and value for money. We look forward to our next visit.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Emily plays 5 reviews from this member

Arrived Thursday afternoon for a 3 Night stay to a very warm welcome from Chris who quickly showed us the 2 sides of the site to see which pitch we would like set up on, all pitches have electric so it was down to our own preference. We chose the field behind the shower and toilet block as the pitch directly behind the block was well sheltered with the sun on the pitch all day, we have a Bay window VW camper-van and a fairly large Outwell drive away awning and pull a trailer, all fit on the pitch with ease. The site is well kept and spotlessly clean, the toilet and shower block are ageing but was always very clean, well stocked and the shower(free) was very good in both the Womens and the Mens, (tip) take a torch with you as the site is not lit at Night. Chris and her other half Duncan are very friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable about the history of the area and are excellent hosts, they run a small Bar on site which is a 1940 Air raid shelter turned into a Bar, the drinks are priced very reasonably they have a very good choice of beers, Lagers and spirits, the local villagers use the bar as well and are very friendly and welcoming, we had drinks both Friday and Saturday Nights and really did feel welcomed. The site is well placed for some very nice walks, our Dog Floyd (no charge for Dogs) enjoyed the walks to Radcliffe on Trent which has a good selection of Pubs and takeaways and also has a very nice park and memorial gardens(well worth a walk). There is also good dog walks around the village. There is a pub in Shelford the Earl of Chesterfield which is also a nice place for a drink and a meal, 10 minute walk from the site. Chris and Duncan have managed to keep the site traditional with simple clean and a very welcoming place to spend time chilling away from home. We will definitely use the site again.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ray Baines 9 reviews from this member

Stayed here for two nights this year. Found the site on the internet and booked over the phone but the lady wouldn't take a deposit. Said she was used to trusting people. Arrived late afternoon and were shown a pitch just inside the gate on the right. Showers were just across the road and all services were easy to access. Shower block was clean but could do with an update. Site itself was small but extremely clean and the owners were exceedingly helpful. TV reception was somewhat hit and miss but talk to the owners as they know which way to aim the aerial. All in all a great quiet site with an on site pub which closes when campers want to sleep. 10 out of 10 and we'll see you again.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Matthewjb 6 reviews from this member

Arrived late and the owner quickly checked us in and walked to show us the pitch. It was to the right of the home made bar and toilets on the back hedge. Very clean and level grass-owner ways out rolling it all weathers. The pitch was quite large And secluded only three on the row-only down side was no tv due to location. If you moved to other pitches on the other side then you would get it. On the far side was where all families and the socialising was. The bar was open all hours for both caravans and tents Long with locals who attended. Toilets and shower blocks basic but very clean with the shower the most powerful yet! The site is small and secluded but is set in a lovely village with a decent pub. Next village has an Italian and two pubs by the river where you can walk for ages. Set amongst boats and some locks was the best part of the break with the dog! Supermarkets 20mins away and all manners of takeaways. Owners very friendly and helpful and obviously take pride in the site which is aimed at people wanting a quiet break. If it wasn't for the poor tv reception then this site would have ticked all the boxes- good value!

Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1478 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!