Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Shelford Nurseries Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Shelford Nurseries Caravan Park
Shelford Hill, Shelford
Radcliffe On Trent
Nottingham
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG12 1ED
Tel: 0115 933 3433  or  07989745631
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 23
Open: 01/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 50 Reviews
                8/10 from 50 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 2ndchance 1 review from this member

Great little site, with adequate facilities. Quiet with little shop with essentials, (wine and beer and fresh veg) . Local walks and pub. Local villages offering superb food and walks. Nottingham / national water sports centre worth a visit.

Friendly proprietor.

Enjoyable weekend despite the weather.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mjjwalsh 4 reviews from this member

Must agree about how nice the owners are, put up with daughters constant questions and was very accommodating with her frequent visit to the shop!

You can get a bit of noise from the road but nothing bad. Walked along the road to gunsthorpe which is a lovely place to wind away an afternoon. Didn't really use any of the amenities as we had the van but I would describe them as functional and clean without setting the world alight.

Would go again but really you do need a car if staying here and I prefer to park up the van and not drive again unless absolutely necessary

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BuilderUK 2 reviews from this member

Well as promised l did return. And much to my surprise the site seemed to be more relaxing than my previous visit. This is mainly due to the owners Chris and Duncan who, to me, seem like some of the nicest people on the planet, and really makes one feel welcome. There was also a family camping across from me that come out with an expression that l have never heard before but sums up the atmosphere of this peaceful place. The comment was 'This place is great and l feel like a have just stepped onto the happy ladder' Happy ladder indeed. Thank you again Chris and Duncan, see you soon l will be back. To all those who are looking for a campsite that is peaceful, tranquil and harmonious Try this place you will not be dis-appointed, any budding authors need a place to write a book, try it. Want a quiet few days away, try it. One other thing you viewers with families should know, it is not that far from Alton Towers, half hour drive. Enjoy your stay, l always do

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phil+chris 1 review from this member

We visited the site with our 3 children and dog and were made to feel very welcome by the site owners Christine and Duncan. We got to pick our pitch as the site was not busy.

Facilities consist of toilets, showers and potwash area which were all basic but very clean, there was also a tourist room with leaflets ect on the local area. The site shop has some basic supplies (beer and wine) but does not sell any fresh produce (milk or bread) and the village has no shops so make sure you have everything before you arrive. There is a pub at the other end of the village (10 mins walk) which sells food and is a very nice walk.

The site has no play area for kids but there is a play park in the village. This is a small but wonderfull site with a famaly atmosphere and we enjoyed our stay here very much, we will return soon.

Special thank you to Christine and Duncan for the loan of the cups, see you again soon X

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mtfcboy 1 review from this member

This is a fantastic campsite, the owner Christine was very helpful. The walk down to Gunthorpe Bridge (over the river Trent) takes about 40 minutes, but I recommend the bus, because the road is narrow and no path to walk on. The bus stop is just outside the site, it runs every hour, well worth it. The Unicorn pub at Gunthorpe serves very good food. Back to the campsite it is small but very clean and tidy, and as I said before Christine was very helpful. We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: L adams 1 review from this member

This was a great site, very peaceful clean and tidy. Lovely idea the hedges between pitches, gave a bit of privacy.  Surrounded by lovely fruit trees.  Not far from Nottingham lots to do in the area if trying to amuse children. Beautiful area with lovely walks.  Ideal place to go for relaxing holiday.
Would certainly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Camp David 07 5 reviews from this member

Great site not far from Nottingham, but in a nice rural location. Pitches are good and the facilities are basic but very clean. The proprietor's are very friendly, helpful and run the site very professionally.
There are a variety walks close by if you enjoy walking, or have a dog. The village pub is about 10 minutes away. Radcliffe-on-Trent is about 8 minutes drive away. Here you will find a good selection of shops, takeaways and a Bank. If you wanted to visit Nottingham city centre I recommend taking the Train from Radcliffe, there is an hourly service.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vicky82 3 reviews from this member

We chose this campsite as a meeting point for friends. But when we first arrived it wasn't what we expected. After checking out the surrounding area we decided to stay and it was the best decision! The owners, Christine and Duncan, were so friendly it felt like we'd known them for ages! The field we were in was enclosed, perfect for our 18month old to run around in. Although there was a small shop on site I feel it lacked in a few things eg, toiletries. And it was only by chance we found they sold Newcastle Brown and various wines. The showers and toilets were very clean which I was happy about. We took a walk to Gunthorpe which was a nice place with 3 pubs by the river. Overall it was a lovely weekend and I would definitely go back there. Thank you to Christine and Duncan for being so nice. X

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BuilderUK 2 reviews from this member

This site is small, peaceful and very pleasant. The owners (Christine and Duncan) made me feel very welcome and the information they supplied with local points of interest and activities was invaluable. The village is quaint and tiny, the site itself houses the only (small but adequate) shop and the only pub is at the other end of the village. The locals themselves also make you feel welcome and the whole atmosphere is tranquil.
The site houses male and female ablution blocks and there are points scattered around the site to obtain drinking water. Great place for kids to play or for even authors to sit and write a book. If l was asked for a recommendation for this site the answer would be yes, will l return to his site in the future, most definitely.
My final comment would be to say a special thank to both Christine and Duncan, and watch out, l will return

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nicola Miller 5 reviews from this member

The owners are fantastic, very kind and really understanding, we spent the weekend at the campsite, and it rained both days, and I mean both days all day & night. Very clean and quite, ideal for a get away.
This is really a very quaint campsite with a little shop thats sells all you may run out of plus some home made produce, pickles, etc. the children loved the shop, as the owner 'Christine', sold Penny sweets, which to a 6yr old is unheard of.
Toilets clean and tidy, please bear in mind that this campsite is small and does not cater for the 100's, drinking water on site, shower in each toilet, tourist room, with maps and leaflets for everyone to take away, kids loved the area to play in and ride there bikes
 
Would go back soon

Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50     Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


730 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019