Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sacrewell Farm And Country Centre

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough > Sacrewell Farm And Country Centre > Reviews

Sacrewell Farm And Country Centre
Thornhaugh
Peterborough
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE8 6HJ
Tel: 01780 782254
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Toptrout 3 reviews from this member

 When we checked in we went to the check in at the reception as requested on the info sent when booking and were quite rudely told to join the back of the general queue for farm entry, which we had already been waiting in but moved when we noticed the camping reception, so went to the back of the long queue.

Was told our pitch number but not shown to it so upon inspecting the pitch area behind the pitch number, found it was on a steep hill. We queried this at reception & were told we could move pitch, which we did to more level pitch. We were just setting up & a gentleman advised us we were to pitch in front of the pitch numbers not the back so the original pitch would have been fine so we moved back as it was a little further away from reception as we preferred. This info about which side to pitch on would have been helpful in the first instance. However this now sorted the pitch was really good. The pitch was spotless, it was level with good ground & lovely views across the fields.

The site although expensive if just camping is fantastic if you make use of the farm facilities. Ive read some bad reviews about the farm but as a 'free' extra to the camping I thought it was brilliant. As well as numerous different animals it has a great indoor and outdoor play area, the first being accessible at all times.

The cafe is nice and quite good value.

After a long day (up early with the peacocks!) we enquired if there were any take aways nearby as we were too tired to cook & were told 'oh no we don't do take aways around here' (lol). We found a decent chippy, McDonald's and dominos pizza at bretton retail park.

Shop is more of a gift shop but is lovely. Not great if you need camping supplies though.

They are renovating a few areas at the moment, which I think will be lovely when complete. (House/bakery/gardens/watermill)

They have daily tractor rides, sheep racing, duck racing and a lovely picturesque area where your kids can paddle their feet in the stream & throw pooh sticks from the bridge.

I thought the toilets/showers although modern weren't the cleanest. They were cleaned daily but no cobwebs were dealt with in the toilets & the showers had mouldy ceilings and just felt a bit grubby. The washing up areas could be nicer too.

Although there is an 11pm noise curfew there was a large group of American musicians who played when we stayed for 4 nights and they played and sang into the early hours most nights. If I'd have been pitched closer to them I'd have complained about it having young children with me but it was bearable.

A group of peacocks woke us up at 5am the first morning we stayed. If this had happened on the 2nd night I wouldn't have stayed a third!

Lastly don't bother using the caravan connect wifi. (This is not managed by the site by the way) I had a nightmare trying to firstly find a signal and secondly get a refund after 4 days of back and forward emails establishing that the wifi doesn't cover the whole site. I was only the 6th pitch away from reception too.

As we are fully packed in our car we have to buy food when we arrive. The closest supermarkets we found were Sainsburys and Aldi at Bretton Retail park which was a 15min drive away.

Burghley House is within driving distance away as is the East of England showground which is what we used the site for.

Overall I liked the site and would return. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bjames839 15 reviews from this member

 We'd spent the previous week at the gloriously unspoilt and beautiful Glen Brittle on Skye before spending 2 days here to attend my sister's wedding at the nearby village of Castor. Our first experience on arrival was finding about half a pound of the previous occupants cooked macaroni which had been dumped on the pitch. There was a lot of small pieces of litter generally dotted around the top field where we were, excusable perhaps if it's windy, it wasn't. It's quite a long walk from the top field to the 'ablutions', and the toilets are in a different location altogether to the showers which wasn't ideal. There's plenty of villages nearby, and Peterborough and Stamford are close by and worth a visit if you need retail therapy. Upon returning from the wedding we found large parts of the site taken over by about 3 or 4 different groups of banner flying clubs of one sort or another and after Skye it was a massive disappointment. Plenty for kids to do with the farm on site with rides and so forth, but not our cup of tea. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Carpertone 2 reviews from this member

 Visited Sacrewell Farm over the Easter Weekend. On arrival we were warmly greeted given an introduction to the site and shown to our pitch. The pitch was massive, level and the grass was well mown. The entire site is clean and tidy which considering the amount of people that visited the farm this weekend was a job well done. The toilets are very clean as are the shower block - all very modern.

I feel that the site offers good value for money especially that you get free admission to the farm as often as you like. The farm itself is good for a day out if you do not want to travel to far from your pitch.

Overall a very good clean site offering good value for money 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Listlady 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site! we visited last summer as part of a large group in the bottom field, and couldn't believe how quiet the rest of the site was considering it was the summer holidays. The attached farm is brilliant for kids, it was great to be able to take the dog in the farm on a lead, the kids loved feeding the animals and really enjoyed playing in the park in the evenings with the other kids staying on the campsite. The indoor toilets were warm and clean. I wouldn't have been so keen on waiting for the showers outside if it had been raining, but they were clean and the water was nice and hot. The free freezer worked well so we could re freeze our ice blocks. The farm was popular during the day and the cars parked quite close to where we camped, but this wasn't a problem for us and then the kids had a massive space to run about in, in the evenings. The shop was a big hit with the kids, we liked the nice bread, and the kids liked the ice creams, but there was also a supermarket fairly close by in Peterborough for a bigger shop. Overall a great site, reasonably priced when taking into account the free entry to the farm, and we would recommend it. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jillhomeuk 21 reviews from this member

 Had an enjoyable stay over a very busy bank holiday weekend. Arrived to find that we had been moved from the pitch I had book back in January, to one a long walk from the toilets, and right next door to a wasp infested bin, that was not emptied during our 3 day stay.

Other than that though, a nice site, and I imagine, during quieter times of the year would be lovely. Kids spent a few hours in the farm park, but my 7 year old felt a little 'old' for it. If you have young children, or, are a big group, then this is the place for you.

The facilities, although inconvenient, were very modern, clean and warm, with the exception of the water in the 'top Field' washing up area.

We really enjoyed our visit to Flag Fen, a local bronze age site, and also Longthorpe tower, which was excellent. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Boo1 16 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a lovely weekend away with my sister, niece and nephew at this great little campsite and farm. The farm itself was great for the little ones, aged 2 and 6, but I would imagine in a couple of years the 6 year old would have grown out of most of the attractions.

There were plenty of activities including an excellent indoor adventure barn (soft play), a maze, a good outdoor play area and many organised activities such as pony grooming, duck racing, pond dipping and the 'Lamb National' (bit of a tip- George or Muffin won every time!).

The farm has an excellent licensed cafe which did good lunches and snacks, and the shop there sold the usual gifts but also camping basics too.

The campsite itself was well organised with good size pitches, well-kept grass and washing-up/water points dotted around the site. The toilets were clean and the water in the showers always hot. Others on here have commented on the high price, but if you are using the farm park then it is good value for a weekend, with no need to leave the site. We paid 100 for the four of us for 3 nights including electric and entry to the farm every day which I thought was a reasonable price when you add in all the activities.

Overall I would definitely recommend to anyone with children to entertain, the site was safe and all costs were covered, except the daily ice creams! We will certainly be returning 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mankymanning 5 reviews from this member

 We visited for the weekend at the end of July. It was a very quiet weekend with not many campers which was nice as there was a lot of room for the kids to play. Very easy to get to as it is just off the A1.

We had two pitches booked and they kindly agreed to let us move into the corner unoccupied pitches as it was a bit more cosy as long as we left for 12 on the Sunday. It was useful for us too as they were right next to the children's play area.

We were slightly concerned that our pitches were just next to the main car park of the farm but given it was a quiet weekend it turned out okay.

The staff were very nice and friendly and the farm park itself was a good day out for the kids.

There are four showers in total, two blocks of two. They were spacious and usually clean. They are separate to the toilets though which are a couple of minutes walk away. Not a great idea as I think judging from the smell I encountered in one of the showers on one day some people can't be bothered with the walk.

There seemed to be only a single sink for washing up too which meant waiting usually.

Overall though a nice campsite and I'd recommend it to others. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Julian W 3 reviews from this member

 Great place for the family to stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The visitors to the farm attraction didn't swamp the place and didn't detract from our stay. The farm attraction was well laid out and accessible. We didn't get much chance to explore the rest of the site as we were staying for a local family event but we did make time to look around the well stocked shop full of 'homemade' type items and the basic essentials for camping.

We camped at the bottom end of the field with electric hook up and that put us far enough away from the farm visitors but still close enough to all of the amenities and with plenty of space around our unit so that we didn't feel that we were tripping over our neighbours.

Very accessible from the A1 but with surprisingly little noise from the road during day or night. 


Date of Visit: December 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Simonleeann17 22 reviews from this member

 Our fifth visit as campers to the farm and yet again really enjoyed. Second weekend in December we were the only campers so all facilities to ourselves (showers, toilets, water and washing up etc. )

We have previously visited in December, November and summer in previous years and always found facilities adequate, well maintained and clean.

Towards the top of the site the pitches are pretty much level though the hook ups at the side nearest the entrance are slightly sloped though no problem and the lower pitches are level/slightly sloped.

Though a little more expensive than we would normally pay for a campsite you do get entry to the farm and with two young kids that is ideal - farm animals, tractor rides, water mill and play barn. Over the weekend we didn't need to leave the site. We also visited father Christmas.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

From the site, other than the farm, there are a number of good walking routes off towards Barnack, Castor or Wandsford. A drive away are Peterborough, Stamford, Nene Valley Railway.

An annual tradition for us to visit the site and would recommend to any one. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mitchpapes 6 reviews from this member

 At 30 per night for 3 adults with no electric hook up I thought this site was rather expensive for what you got.

Camping in the top field it was a hike to the toilets, but they were modern and clean.

There only seemed to be two showers which are situated outside the main entrance to the farm park, so I had some funny looks while I sat in my camping scruffs waiting! However, they were spacious and clean with plenty of hot water.

There was a washing up area in the top field, this got into a bit of a mud bath with all the rain and the hot water ran out

Can't comment on the shop as we didn't use it, they also advertise a 'campers breakfast' if you didn't want to cook

There were a lot of families with young children staying and there was plenty of room for them to play rounders and football and I'm sure if you were to make use of the free entrance to the farm it would make this site better value for money. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Sacrewell Farm And Country Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sacrewell Farm And Country Centre?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sacrewell Farm And Country Centre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Peterborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3781 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement