Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sacrewell Farm And Country Centre

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough > Sacrewell Farm And Country Centre > Reviews

Sacrewell Farm And Country Centre
Thornhaugh
Peterborough
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE8 6HJ
Tel: 01780 782254
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lucywil 3 reviews from this member

 We too also only live 10 minutes down the road (good job as I forgot the kettle!) and came her last year on our first ever camping trip, we came again this year to give the tent an airing before we go away in a couple of weeks.

The facilities are great for a relaxing weekend, although please be aware that the cold tap on the washing up sink is actually the hot tap and the showers are on a timer, I didn't know this and kept trying to turn it off!

We were very impressed by the group of boys from a school in Huntingdon, I think possibly doing their duke of Edinburgh and using the camp site as a base. I was a bit concerned to see about 20 teenage boys pitching tents and 3 teachers but they were very well behaved and a credit to their school. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Mum+2babes 5 reviews from this member

 Great site, we only live about 10 miles away but decided to stay here as wanted to go away but had a party to attend in Peterborough on Saturday afternoon.

We have been to the farm with the kids before but never camped so this was the first time on this site (& not the last) we will probably try to come every other month so our girls can visit the animals.

The pitches are a great size, showers & toilet nice & clean & modern, waste points good access, the only gripe would be that they need an extra dish wash sink (often quite a queue after meal times).

We were on pitch 1 as it was the last one available and although it was the pitch next to everything: carpark, toilets, showers etc it was no problem we could still chill out and it all went very quiet by approx 10.30pm (the swarm of beetles at about 10pm every evening caused a stir with everyone going to the toilets and being where we were it was quite amusing watching it= glad we were in an awning)

Staff were all friendly.

We didn't use the shop this time so cant comment.

Our girls are only 2yrs old and they love the indoor play area it is a very safe environment and they can get around it without us having to hold their hand all the time & they wear themselves out ready for bed, the outdoor play area is good with sandpit, swings, slides etc.

Must say if you have young children this site is well worth a visit because when you stay here access to the farm is included so you can have a wander, go back for a chillout & lunch etc, then wander around again, it more relaxing than when you visit for the day & you don't have to carry all the necessaries with you ie: bag, potty, drinks. You are only a 5min walk back to the site.

As our children are under 3 the price is very good however it could be quite expensive if you are a large party (over 3yrs old).

Location - as it is so close to the A1, it is only 10 mins away from Stamford, Peterborough & Oundle, pretty villages worth a visit, close by are Wansford, Yarwell, Nassington & Apethorpe, (if you visit Stamford (with kids) go to Burghley house - Garden of surprise, children can run in & out the water fountains so you will need a warm day & change of clothes for them but our kids love it. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jules1969 3 reviews from this member

 It was a good find! Toilets and shower block was very clean. The pitches were nice and big, although the pitch next to it had a family of a caravan and a trailer tent on the same pitch, so it was about 2 metres away from our tent! They only stayed for one night but still a bit annoying.

The staff were very friendly, they reserved us some very fresh eggs both mornings! The farm itself is super. We have 3 children age 10,5 and 2 and we spent both day's at the farm with loads to do (feeding the lambs and going on an egg hunt, which was very amusing to us adults!)

All in all we loved this site and will probably go again next Easter. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tentaddict7 18 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site on the Harvest Weekend, where the farm hosts a variety of events and entertainment in addition to the usual farm attractions.

We only wanted to stay one night, but were informed that a two night booking was the minimum on a special events weekend. We were told that we could just pay an extra adult and hookup charge to secure the pitch for the Friday night, and then arrive on the Saturday, which I thought was a reasonable policy.

On arriving at the site, we were impressed by the helpful and welcoming, friendly staff, who had our paperwork ready for us, and although the pitch they allocated was already occupied, they took us to another pitch, which was nearer all the facilities, so in fact suited us better!

The electric hook up point was too far for our lead to reach and the staff immediately provided us with an extension lead. The pitch was very large, with ample space for our Vango Colorado 800DLX, trailer and Land Rover.

The farm is very attractive with lots to see for animal lovers, our children loved it, and particularly in the small animal area, seeing a chick hatch from an egg was one of the highlights, they kept going back to see how it was getting on, and we are talking about an 11, 12 and a 16 year old here, so it is not just limited to smaller children, although they are well catered for also.

The attractions on the farm are numerous, there is plenty of space, play area, maze etc. And the catering facilities in the Mill House are very good, with cake, cream teas, and ice cream sundaes at very reasonable prices. The animals all seem very well cared for, and there are plenty of staff around who are, without exception, very approachable, knowledgeable, friendly, and willing to answer questions.

The special events and attractions laid on for Harvest Weekend are too numerous to list here but included Shire Horse parades, folk dancing, sheepdog duck herding, competitions, sideshows, and various events hosted by the organic farm next door, including a Tomato and spoon race and vegetable olympics!

There was also magic, storytelling, balloon modelling and face painting for children. Everything seemed to be very well organised.

The camping facilities are good, the toilet and shower blocks were spotless, the only criticism is that there is only one washing up sink, but I understand that the facilities for campers are being extended for next year, and hopefully this will be one of the improvements.

It would also be nice if there could be a slightly larger range of basic groceries in the shop, at present it is very limited, so I would advise anyone to take their own basics although there are very nice sausages, burgers and organic vegetables to buy, as well as butter, cheese, milk and a few other bits like ketchup. The drinks on sale are expensive, so again it is a good idea to take your own. Having said that, it is not primarily a campsite, so you would not expect to find a wide range of groceries on sale.

We felt that because there was a special event when we stayed, there was plenty to fill a weekend without leaving the site, but maybe on a normal weekend there would not be enough to do for two days, and you would need to go out on one of the days.

However the price does include admission to the farm on both days, which is exceptionally good value when you consider the normal admission price without camping.

In the evening when the farm visitors leave, it is a very peaceful campsite, despite being near to the A1, we could only hear very faint traffic noise, certainly not enough to disturb us.

All in all, this is a lovely spot for a weekend, we will most certainly return again, and would highly recommend the site for families wanting a peaceful and relaxing weekend. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Buttercupwafflepant 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed over a weekend-3 families/tents and had a great time with some negative points. Overall though a nice site, which may appeal more for a weekend visit than a holiday.

Free entry to the farm - the children really enjoyed feeding the animals and using the playground and it is really beautiful. Although the pitch costs are relatively expensive it is reasonable considering the farm only entry prices 19.50/family

Facilities were clean and kept so during our stay.

Enough space for the children to play ball games/run about near the tent.

Non eh pitches were not marked out - free within reason to pitch wherever.

A very long way to all the facilities from the camping area-especially for young children desperate for the toilet. There would be a much shorter trip but these gates were locked due to h&s requirements-campers cannot pass through the farm areas after closing.

Limited wash up facilities - one outside sink partially covered but you would definitely get wet using it in the rain.

Limited toilet/shower facilities - 4 ladies toilets/2 showers-similar for mens plus disabled/babychange.

Noise from the nearby A1 - although not too intrusive.

Sharing toilet facilities with wedding guests attending an evening function.

Cars travelling very fast on the track next to the camping area - think this was a track which led to Riverford Farm Shop so was used by people other than campers. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Deb7170 11 reviews from this member

 Part of a large group (5 tents & our 1st go in a campervan)we returned to this site after staying for the August Bank Holiday in 2008 and thinking it was one of the best places we'd ever stayed.

The main attractions drawing us back to it from 2008 were the fact that it was not crowded and the kids had constant easy access to the farm via the rear entrance so it felt really safe. Even in 2008 we were a bit concerned about the lack of facilities but it didn't matter too much then as it was much quieter.

This year everyone from last year must have thought the same as us - and told all their friends! - the site was really crowded (I know it was Bank Holiday weekend but we counted at least 100 tents) so the 4 ladies toilets (one with no lock on the door) and 2 showers really weren't up to the job. By Sunday I heard loads of women complaining about the massive queue for the showers - and it seemed that many just deicded not to bother - which then meant the washing facilities (4 sinks) were really crowded too.

Also, the rear entrance to the farm has been closed and whilst I understand why, it does detract massively from the site's attraction - as we were on the top triangle (furthest from the main entrance) it meant we then had a 10 minute walk 9with small kids) to get to the loo or into the farm. And as it was so crowded we felt we couldn't let the kids go alone for fear of them getting lost in vast tangle of tents and it also means they have to go via the public entrance and through the busy car park - not as safe as before.

And the play area, which is great, is in the farm too - so again, a long walk to it.

Some people complained about traffic noise from the A1 - personally it didn't bother me.

Good points:

There is a barrier to entry in the evenings which is good and they did fish & chip suppers Saturday & Sunday evenings - a great idea!

And there are low down sinks which is great for the kids.

I am really sorry to have to post negative feedback about this site as the farm is absolutely gorgeous - occupied our group of 3-8 yr olds briliantly for 3 days (pond dipping, lamb racing, small animal handling, shire horses, donkey grooming, tractor ride, treasure trails.) - and the staff are really helpful and friendly.

If there were extra facilities in the top field I'd definitely consider going back

If you do manage to go when it's quiet and get over the farm access problem - it's great value for money and I really can't praise the farm itself enough. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helbatt 3 reviews from this member

 I would agree with everyone's comments about this site, we stayed Saturday night only.

Our pitch was in the 'top field' and first impressions were very good. We wasn't advised where to pitch our tent in the field and felt it was a bit of a free for all. By late afternoon tents and cars were placed anywhere and tightly packed in, often with disregard for other campers.

There is also a track/road running along the top of the field. I don't think it is a through road but cars were hurtling along it. If you have small children, avoid pitching near it.

We really enjoyed having access to the farm and it was good value, however we wouldn't stay for any longer than 1 night as the shower/toilet/washing up facilities weren't really able to cope with the numbers using them. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tandc1966 1 review from this member

 We stayed for a Saturday night at the beginning and again at the end of August. Our pitch, both times, was on the East field and we found that we had plenty of room for our largish tent.

We found the toilet block to be clean but there was not sufficient showers or wash up when the site was full. There was always queues for both.

There is a garage opposite the entrance that sells all the basic essentials and has an off licence is you forget anything!

However having free entrance to the farm was excellent for our 3 year old and we would go back next year but only for one night. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Booma_mitch 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a weekend in July. We stayed in a tent with ehu. We had pitch number 7. The pitch was fairly spacious although the guys for our large tunnel tent went slightly over the markings. It didn't appear to be a problem though.

The site is very close to the A1, which has positives and negatives! The positive for us is that it was a short drive from the A1 but unfortunately there was some traffic noise at night.

The site was friendly and quiet after dark. It seemed to be full to capacity but plenty of space for the kids to play. There must be some sort of parachuting centre quite close as on the Saturday afternoon, we could see people skydiving into a field a short distance away.

The farm was nice, my 5 year old liked feeding the animals and playing in the playground.

If I have to have a negative on this site however, it would be the lack of facilities. There were four ladies toilets allocated for campers and as I understand it, two male toilets. There was also a baby change and disabled toilet. Most of the time there was no queue for the toilets but on the Saturday night there was a wedding in the barn and the toilets got very busy. Also, there are only two showers for each sex. There were often queues for the showers. I also feel that one washing up sink is inadequate for the number of people on the site that weekend.

However, we had a lovely time and would return if we were in the area again. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MightyAtom42 6 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a very enjoyable weekend here. The site is in a lovely setting, hard to believe it is so accessible from the A47/A1.

The pitches are very large, so even though it was busy it didn't feel squashed. There are plenty of toilets and 4 showers (2 male, 2 female) which were hot and spacious. As both are part of the main building, they are well lit and warm at night - quite a way from a lot of the pitches, but I preferred the walk as the nearer to the facilities you are, the nearer to the main car park you are too. Female showers queued quite a bit but it was a very hot weekend, so maybe this is not normally the case.

Personally, I felt the farm itself was great as part of the camping fee but limited for younger kids (unless they are real animal lovers). It is beautiful though and appeals to adults (cream teas by the mill pond etc). Also, the farm (including the small playground) is no longer open to campers after closing. I overheard that this is due to health and safety, but can confirm it is now gated off after the farm closes at 5:30pm.

On cleanliness, upkeep by the site is good, but other campers let it down a little - if you wash your feet in the sink (and I have no issue with this, I am not picky) you really should wash the sink down afterwards. It may have been one of the kids, but even so not very nice when you are needing to do teeth etc.

Finally, you may want to steer clear if you are not a fan of children - I didn't see anybody there who was not a family and there were loads of kids and big groups of families (us included). 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Sacrewell Farm And Country Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sacrewell Farm And Country Centre?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sacrewell Farm And Country Centre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Peterborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3839 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement