Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sacrewell Farm And Country Centre

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough > Sacrewell Farm And Country Centre > Reviews

Sacrewell Farm And Country Centre
Thornhaugh
Peterborough
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE8 6HJ
Tel: 01780 782254
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 80
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blaze591 6 reviews from this member

 We visited this site as part of a group of 4 tents - my sisters, and my parents. We started in the top triangle, and we were very impressed with the site as a whole.

The farm itself is a working farm, with lots to do for the kids - there are several barns full of rabbits, goats, donkeys, newborn chicks, sheeps etc etc. There are mazes, and right down at the bottom of the farm is the Shire Horse Centre. All of the public areas were very clean, it was not too busy, and the staff were very helpful. Admittance was free for campers so we were able to take our children in on both days.

The cafe looked over a green area, and served reasonable food. We didn't try breakfast, but lunch was okay! There is a shop on site which sell the basics, plus some really nice looking burgers, sausages etc - ideal for a barbecue!

The toilets are pretty good - kept very clean. The showers were good - fairly large and free - but I guess they could have been cleaner - a minor point really. A second washing up sink would have been useful!

As for the camping field - it's flat, I reckon that it'd drain well, and the pitches are well spaced, and the view is very pleasant indeed! There is a road that runs up the north side of the site - but there are very few vehicles driving around over the weekend. The site is close - about 400m - to the A1 and there is some road noise from this - noticeably at night. Also, it's about 3 miles from RAF Wittering, and there was some aircraft noise when we arrived on Friday - but no flying on the weekend, so no problems there. Because of the facilities, and I guess also the price - the site was popular with families - great for us - and there were no problems with noise in the evening.

In summary, this is a super site, we had a great weekend, and we look forward to coming back soon. If you have young children, I doubt you will find a better site. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bedfordcampers 2 reviews from this member

 This is a great campsite which is local to us and friends and is very well maintained and peaceful. The shop stocks good food and drink and the facilities were good. The extra price you pay is worth it, access to the farm is included (worth a couple of hours entertainment for toddlers) and there is plenty of space to spread out your pitch. The nearest supermarket it quite a trip so next time we go we'll be stocking up in advance. We stayed when there was an American country music group staying (in a totally separate camping area) and even then it was very quiet, so don't be put of by any similar event in the future. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loisw 5 reviews from this member

 We camped here with friends and had a great time. The site is divided into four fields and we were in the top field. There was plenty of room even though it was a bank holiday weekend and the weather was very good. The real bonus of camping here is that you get free entry to the farm which is good if you have children as there is lots to do and they serve a very good cream tea in the Mill House. We also used the cafe for breakfast and lunch and the food was freshly prepared and very tasty.

The showers and toilets were very clean but it would be good to have an additional female / family shower room as it always seems to be the mums that shower the kids which can sometimes cause a bit of a hold up. An extra washing up sink would be a bonus too.

However, we would highly recommend this site and will certainly visit again. The setting was lovely and it is a good base for Rutland Water. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phil and Marian 8 reviews from this member

 We chose Sacrewell for our first camping expedition and it proved the perfect location despite the wet weather.

The camping field is very open with a road running around the perimeter going to an organic farm, so during the day there are one or two lorries trundling past and the odd car.

We were booked in on the Top Field which is the most open area. If we booked again we'd go for the North or South Triangle which is a small area with hedges on two sides, so it is a little more sheltered.

There were not more than a dozen tents on the site and the same number of caravans. Plenty of space for everyone. We suffered some noise from a group of people who arrived very late the first night, and who sat chatting and laughing until the early hours, but they were a good humoured lot and they were in bed before us the second night.

The farm is included in the price during their opening hours of 9.30am till 5pm and they have a shop selling some organic products and a cafe.

There is also a tea room in the Millhouse selling cream teas.

Our teenagers loved the farm, especially the lambs and the shire horses. Younger children also have a play area and an activity barn.

The toilets were clean. There was one enormous spider, but he was moved on by the cleaner in the morning. Its a bit of a trek with the children in the night to the toilets, as they are located in the entrance building to the farm park, but that added to the camping experience!

All in all a very enjoyable first camping trip and we will be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chuckar 2 reviews from this member

 Have camped at sacrewell farm and country centre years , 2001 2003 2004 2006 and 2008 with the cmc club. I found this to be a lovely site, with exellent toilets and showers there is a cafe on site who do lovely meals and a shop, dogs are welcome. There is a farm where you can take your children and see all the animals. On arrival you are made most welcome and I found the staff to be very helpful, we had a most enjoyable time and look forward to going back in the not to distant future. Peter chuckar. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ewo01 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here at end of May, beginning of June over a weekend. Arrived on the Friday morning at around 10, straight onto the site. If it's busy you can still go into the farm and pitch when there's space (after midday-ish).
There's marked out pitches for the ehus, but not for the rest. They ask you don't pitch within 6m of someone else which seems sensible. This really was quite a find. We're new to camping, but this will take some beating.
Lovely, modern shower block and toilet facilities. 4 powerful, hot, clean, spacious shower rooms. 4 doesn't sound alot, but it's plenty - no queueing all weekend. Toilets are spotless and the campers get there own facilities, although ofcourse you can use any number of toilets around the farm during opening hours. Wash up was limited to one bowl, but there's an endless supply of hot water when it is your turn . For some reason the hot water comes out of the 'C' tap!

The farm itself is beautiful, and worth the price to camp for this alone! The price you pay is for the farm admission on the 2 days when you camp overnight, or for us farm admission for 3 days as we stayed 2 nights - £50 very very well spent.

Restaurant on site (during farm opening hours), where you can get an english breakfast too if you can't be bothered . We didn't but looking at it, for about £4each you'll get a good feed.

A limited area of the farm stays accessible to campers after closing - the play park and some sheep enclosures, so you can let the kids run riot and feed some sheep when the day visitors have left - a real bonus.

If you like camping and like animals, this is the place to go. I can not speak highly enough of this. All I will add is that the field itself is just that, a field - the hedgerow lined field as described on the site, whilst not incorrect is a bit misleading. The field has an access road running along its perimiter and some vehicles do go a little too fast - camp away from it and it isn't an issue though.

If there's a group of you going try and book the top triangle - you'll be able to have a camp fire! We tried but they were a little disorganised and 'didn't know' if they had a group coming in that weekend? Apart from that wobbly moment the staff were excellent, and the farm hands were really chatty and not even my very picky wife could find fault with the way the animals were looked after. If you're wondering whether you should go or not . Stop wondering and book. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Missmally 27 reviews from this member

 We arrived at the Farm Park in the snow on Easter Sunday. My first time under canvas following years of motorhoming. With my new partner, his 2 children and my 2 boys we erected our very old 70's trailer tent, in the snow!

The children loved the farm park and were happily amused all day. Booking a pitch includes free admission for your stay which makes the slightly expensive camping fees well worth it. I was thankful of the warm cafe and very warm toilets (I spent lots of time here, especially at night when the temperature dipped below freezing!)

We pitched on our own under a tree and funnily enough nobody was on this part of the field, because it had no electric hook ups. There were, however, other campers and caravanners in another part of the field, all snuggly and hooked up to electricity!

I spent the coldest night of my life in that tent, fully clothed including coat, hat and gloves with 2 sleeping bags and 3 of us in the bed! It was an adventure and I love adventure but, unless forced, I will never pitch a tent in the snow again.

On the door step is a country park, Peterborough, Stamford and Uppingham. There is also a garage opposite the entrance for everyday essentials and petrol of course. It's conveniently located just off the A1 on the A47.

I feel this site is a great place for families with young children. Ours were 7,9,10 and 12 at the time and all had a great time (although the 12 year old wouldn't admit it). Even they found it a bit cold though. 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Linaloe 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site for 3 nights last weekend 2 adults & 1 child & would agree with all of the other reviews except the bit about the showers, there are only 2 of them & one smelled so bad that it couldn't be used, the remedy for this seemed to be propping open the door with a sweeping brush the other one had a broken lock on the outer door, mouldy tiles & grouting & rusty fittings, the floor was covered in dirt & hair which was floating about as it wasn't draining properly.

I did complain politely on Sunday before we left & said that it wasn't what I would expect for £23.50 a night, the manager replied, that was for all of you not each though she did agree to go & have a look. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sallyandalex 6 reviews from this member

 Visited this campsite as part of a group of 4 families over the Bank holiday weekend. What a gem! With 4 boys under 6 this was a perfect spot.
Camping fields spacious and well kept with plenty of room to play games and generally have fun. They limit the amount of bookings due to the restricted amount of showers/toilets and so it was as busy this weekend as it will ever be and there was lots of space.
Pitches level and grassy. !0 hook ups available.
†There are only 2 showers, but they are clean and always had hot water (electric showers) and they are suitable for the whole family to go in together as they each consist of an outer changing room and the shower room. Did occasionally have to queue, but for no more than 5/10 minutes. I was initially a bit fed up that there was no sink in the shower as it meant going elsewhere for teeth brushing, but in hindsight this does mean that people move out the showers quicker rather than loitering to shave etc in them.
Toilets immaculate and always had soap and loo roll. Currently nowhere for a hairdryer, but we used a plug in the corridor outside the loos. A member of staff saw my friend and commented on what a good idea it was and they ought to put up a mirror and shelf.So maybe!
Walk to showers and toilets well lit at night. Only one washing up point, which I feel is a bit of a problem. Often a queue and it is quite a trek with full bowls etc from the camping field.
Nice quiet site, with no noise disturbance, due to the space on the filed.Only the hum of the A! in the distance.
Fire pits look interesting, although I must say we were a little alarmed one night by the ferocity of one fire and the sparks flying close to their tents. These need to be looked after with a lot of care I feel.
The farm is wonderful for keeping young children entertained, animals, tractor rides, play park, and pedal tractors - heaven! Also Neane Valley railway only† minutes away.
Staff friendly and obliging. Shop interesting, but not really a campers shop, but supermarkets nearby. Didn't use the cafe.
I would recommend this as a perfect site for families. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andreo 12 reviews from this member

 I also stayed here in the first weekend of August, but on the lower field, which was somewhat quieter than the top field. Having attended a conference in Loughborough on the Saturday I wanted a quiet couple of days away from home to unwind and it did the trick. Once the day visitors have left, the site is very peaceful.

With regard to the washing facilities I would agree with the last two reviewers. The facilities are well maintained and are also fairly new. Although I didn't visit the farm, the cost per night (£8 for one person with a tent) was still reasonable.

This is not my first stay as I once attended a rally on the site, and I'll probably come back next time I'm in this part of the country. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Sacrewell Farm And Country Centre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sacrewell Farm And Country Centre?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sacrewell Farm And Country Centre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Peterborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3681 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement