Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Shardlow > Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park > Reviews

Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park
London Road
Shardlow
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE72 2GL
Tel: 01332 792832
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/01/2023
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 48 Reviews
                7/10 from 48 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lordbill 1 review from this member

 We stayed at the Shardlow Marina the first week in July and the weather was great the site was very clean and tidy and the site wardens very nice.

We didn't use the shower facilities it was easier to use our Caravan shower these were a little bit away from the main site, but a portacabin toilet block was useful and spotless daily.

We did notice a new building taking shape this was the new shower block.

The bar on site was very good and reasonably priced as were the other bars in the area.

The only things we could find fault with was a lack of space (what we call rack em and stack em)at busy times and the other thing was that it was very noisy until the early hours on the weekend.

But saying all that we would go back again as the rest of the week was great 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cressy69 13 reviews from this member

 Just back from a weekend stay at shardlow its our 2nd time this year we had been there. It was very busy but luckily we where on pitch 31 on the back row and no one was on the pitch next to us as the people on the middle pitches looked very crammed together. The only downside to this great site is the toilets and the shower blocks! why to local council have turned planning permission for new ones I just can't figure out?as surly it would benefit the local region as it would bring more campers to the site. Like I said very busy the pub was packed Friday when we went across for food{which was great}there was a wedding on at the pub Saturday so we got the local takeaway to deliver us one to the caravan :) 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dawn01 2 reviews from this member

 This was our very first outing in our caravan.

We requested that if possible could we have an easy pitch as my partner has not done reversing of trailers or caravans and we struggle a lot at the moment but we will get it eventually.

The site we got was fantastic with a pub close by which wasn't a problem to us, infact it was great.

We struggled at first as we had to find the pitch and then the dreaded reverse which some campers just sat by and watched but a nice lady came out and helped and also showed us where everything was. (So glad she did) the pitch was great but we didn't use shower or toilet as we were only there for one night so we used our own toilet.

Marina was very good and lovely to watch and I would return for sure but for us their isn't much to do there except the pub so it will be another weekend trip for us but is is a lovely place with great view and pub 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DJMC 17 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a weekend at Shardlow Marina.

Friendly welcome from the shop/reception, and we paid 22. 00 per night which included the awning charge.

We were allocated one of the front pitches overlooking the Marina. There is very little space between these pitches, the people either side of us were literally sat right outside our caravan as it was a fine weather weekend.

The Porta Loo toilets were clean, but the showers are awful. You have to buy a token for 50p which gives you a 20 minute shower. There are 2 showers in the ladies, and they are the worst I have ever seen, both in terms of usability and cleanliness.

Having said this, the site is in a fantastic position with loads of pubs & walks in the close area, and we will return - but request a larger pitch (the middle rows seemed to have more space), and we would use our own shower. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: KeithChesterfield 12 reviews from this member

 The good points lovely position at the side of the Marina and River Trent. All grass pitches seemed reasonable size and flat. Dog walking fields stretch for about half a mile of flat grassland best we've ever seen on a campsite. Plenty of restaurants and takeaways within a couple of minutes drive. Reception gave us two bags for dog waste removal and map of where to take the dog walking. Chinese takeaway on main road had excellent food.

Not so good Reception hidden away behind business units.

Do not drive towards Reception with a large unit as turning around is extremely difficult in working boatyard.

Barrier card awkward to use unless you get out of vehicle.

Only a small toilet and shower block on site larger block about 200 yards but not very accessible unless desperate.

Bad points Smithy's Bar live entertainment stops at midnight but the clientele remained noisily outside until at least one am okay if you want to stay up all night but not if you don't.

Group of up to 30 people sat around a burning fire chatting and singing along to music until well after midnight see above.

Most dogs under control but some off lead and many barking dogs.

No Motorhome waste water (grey water) facility Reception Staff suggested I find a lay-by and put waste water down drain (Hmmm!)

We stayed for two booked nights and that was enough. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Magsem 5 reviews from this member

 First the good points. Flat grass pitches, some with good view over marina. Toilets immaculate, cleaned twice a day - hence 8/10 for facilities. Did not use shower (they were situated in another building, in static caravan area) so cannot comment. Easy to get to, but be aware, do not follow sign to office - it will be very tight to turn round, we 'parked' along the pub parking bays towards the touring field. Departure time on Sundays is 3pm - a nice touch for weekenders.

Now the not so good. The pub/restaurant is situated at one end of the touring field, so if you are allocated a pitch at that end of the field be prepared for the weekend 'live entertainment' to destroy any sense of peace and quiet. There were also a number of dogs being allowed to run loose on the site, despite notices around saying dogs should be kept on leads, no-one from the marina seemed to bother. Pitches felt a little tight, fortunately we and no-one around us had a awning so room for vehicles, but I think it would have been difficult if awnings were being used. Reception could have been friendlier, no conversation apart from information required, even when returning gate card and toilet keys (you have to pay a deposit for these).

Initial impression was of tidy clean pleasant location but I left feeling the staff did the bare minimum and nothing else. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JillandPaulE 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed at Shardlow Marina for first time. Pitch was good location good and on site bar handy. Plenty of bars nearby with short walk. Showers however, need major refurb.

Men's had only 1 of the 2 showers working and same for ladies after day 1. Water pressure is poor and they ware cold and not heated.

It was 86 for 3 nights so would expect better facilities.

Would put me off returning. Shame as location good. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sluggyavondale 2 reviews from this member

 We have been here several times before. The location is beautiful with stunning canal walks, lots of friendly pubs and places of interest nearby. I would class the facilities as basic. The toilets are a portocabin with 3 toilets for each sex for the whole site. I have always found them to be clean and well stocked but I think the showers are another matter. You have to walk up the road to the static site for access. They are token operated, only available from the site office which has limited opening times. They are in need of some decoration, the water pressure is nil and the water is nearly cold. As the site fees per night were so low, the facilities didn't bother us but the price is quickly rising and soon will be the same as other sites that for the same money provide power showers and underfloor heating. If this does not bother you, you will love it here. Pubs are cheap, friendly and very quaint. I recommend the New Inn here on a summers day you can sit outside and gaze across the road as the boats, ducks and swans sail by. Bliss, children are limited to 2 per site as there is a high risk with all the water around. I have 4 so I would have to have sold 2 :) 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paulwarning 5 reviews from this member

 Just had our second visit to the site, the booking in procedure is very poor, don't follow the signs for reception with your caravan on, as the site is in the opposite direction, turning round is very difficult as I found out on my first visit, you have to park up, where you can near the bar, usually be blocking other vehicles in, then walk 200 yards to the site office/shop, and because they charge a 20 deposit for the barrier swipe card and keys to the toilets you have to do exactly the same thing when you leave.

The site was full on our second visit and the portacabin type toilets were out of use for 2 of the 3 days so it was a bit of a walk to the only brick built block, which was clean enough but a little bit basic.

Our pitch was near a corner which was ok, we were only commenting that we were glad nobody was in the corner next to us as there wasn't an awful lot of room when a party containing 2 caravans and a campervan turned up and crammed onto the corner pitch designed for one unit, apparently the mangement had messed up the advanced booking and it was the only space left on the site!

On the plus side of things, there are some nice pubs close by as well as the site bar which had live music on Friday and Saturday which carried on till midnight, we didn't mind, in fact we enjoyed it, but be warned if you like an early peaceful night.

I would go again as it is close to where I live but I wouldn't go at busy times, they cram to many units on the site for the space and facilities available. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tomtom1958 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for 2 nights as part of a 10 day touring holiday.

The site it's self is grass pitchs on the main site with a few hard standing, the pitch I was on was a grass pitch that was level and of a decent size.

The amenities them self need a lot of updating it seems all the time and money is spent on the mobile site. A bit of advice update the amenities. 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shardlow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3274 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement