Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Shardlow > Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park > Reviews

Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park
London Road
Shardlow
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE72 2GL
Tel: 01332 792832
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/01/2023
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 48 Reviews
                7/10 from 48 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 41 to 48                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RIMMER 199 reviews from this member

 As others have said great location but let down by the toilets, don't know who else uses them but saw them cleaned, then next morning a pig sty, also no plugs in sinks so bring your own.

As we went mid-week it was very quiet and relaxing but also noticed the small pitch sizes so prepare to possibly be packed in peak times.

Excellent site for visiting Derby with a half hourly bus service at the campsite approach road and they run through the night.

Found the on site club quite friendly, did food and real ales. There was a function on one evening but didn't find the noise too obtrusive. A little noise at night though from the airport and motorway but didn't bother me.

Of the other pubs in the village thought the Old Crown (turn left over the bridge) the best olde worlde pub with good selection of real ales, the Clock Warehouse the best for taking the better half to and the Navigation the best for watching the 'footy' however all the pubs do value food and real ales.

Area looks good for cycling being flat and designated cycle lanes on road. Paid £14/night for two with ehu and had to leave £20 deposit for toilet and barrier keys. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Postiesfriend 2 reviews from this member

 We have used this site a few times now, despite the fact that the pitches are on the small side. The toilet block can be a bit far from the grass pitches and not really that good, although I have seen far worst.

Saying that we love the location and the choice of places to eat & drink are unbelievable for a small village.

The Restaurant\Club house on site serves excellent food and later on in the night has live music on fridays & saturdays the staff are also friendly.

The other pub's, and there are a few all seem to serve food and are all busy at the weekend. There is also 'Tandori Nights' which serves excellent indian food just up the road near the 4x4 sales centre.

There is also on the outskirts of the village a Chinese Restaurant which is also a pub but we have never tried this.

There is a post office / shop in the village.

All you need for a great weekend. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: N0 1 fisherman 1 review from this member

 My wife and I have stayed on this site for the last 3 years,it is a nice relaxing site with a nice view of the marina.
There are about 5 pubs as you leave the site,1 if turn left,and the others if you turn right(these are the better ones for food).
There is a club on the site which is very nice,which also sells food at certain times.The shop sells very few food items and does not sell newspapers,(shop,turn right off site about 1 mile).You can get your shower tokens from the shop,50p per token.
The toilets & showers are not the cleanest & best I have ever used,the shower just about lasted for me but my wife had to use 2 tokens.The club also supply's shower tokens when the shop is closed.In my opinion the shower & toilet block let this site down and need upgrading which I would gladly pay more to stay on this site.
There are plenty of electric hook ups but you may need a long lead to some pitches.I could only find 2 water taps (1 each end of the field). 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DianeP42 4 reviews from this member

 The site was jam packed and you were very cosy with your neighbours. The view from any of the pitches was your own vehicle or parked cars along the road. We were hoping to see the boats and marina as shown on Google. The toilet block is a good distance from the touring vans and I have seen better public park toilets than this. They are ancient and there is no soap at the sinks, no doors on the sink cubicles, no stools in the shower cubicles or hooks to hang your clothes on hence they get wet. More importantly however is the lack of hot water which is not always available despite having paid 50p for the privilege. In the pot wash area the 2 sinks share a draining board and the water never reaches a sufficient temperature to clean your pots. Rubbish was also left to pile up over the weekend. There was a bar/restaurant between the residential and camping sites and they have live bands/ singers every weekend which finishes very late in the evening. The village has some lovely old buildings and great walks along the canal but we will not be returning to this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bennett290 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from this site (2 night stay)

Firstly the good points

A lovely site with a very nice pub and resturant onsite.

Really nice setting alongside the Marina.

Hot water hot etc.

Not a bad price.

Bad Points

When we arrived the lady in the site office didn't appear to have us booked in, even though we had spoken to her on the telephone twice.

There was all sorts of problems with pitch sizes etc that I don't have nearly enough room to go into detail on.

Overall this is a very nice clean well located site, which I feel is let down by the staff in the site office, who I felt treated us as if we were just another nuisance in there busy day.

Probably won't visit again! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nikki16 1 review from this member

 This was a last minute booking during the summer festival season. The staff were very kind and understanding of our plight with plenty of free pitches available for our tents. We came in 3 groups and we were all allowed to pitch where we liked, out with the motor home area.

In our hurry of packing camping supplies we forgot the essentials, towels! The staff at Shardlow couldn't have been nicer, a lady who lived on a barge on the site gave us fresh towels every morning for the duration of our 3 day stay. The site facilities are basic but clean and provide a very lengthy shower for only 50p unlike some other campsites where I have stayed, you can barely get the shampoo out in time, iTs tokens only and you can't buy the tokens except from a shop which doesn't open till noon!

There is a pub on the site that does great food and has a pool table. There are a few pubs on the main road off the site too and there is a local bus service at the entrance into town and towards the airport.

I will definitely be returning for another first class camping experience this summer - with my towels! 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hilary07 4 reviews from this member

 Went for the weekend with friends who had a tent. We arrived and was told the two pitch numbers, but one we could have not got the motorhome on. The pitches are so close together, not sure whether there is the recommended space between each unit. The toilets and showers are very basic, and don't know how they dare charge 50p. For a shower.

We would have liked to have stopped until about 5.00 pm on the Sunday as there was a craft fair at the local village hall. When we asked at Reception if we could pay a nominal fee to stay later, as by this time the site was virtually empty and according to the notice board one unit was expected in, we were told very bluntly that we would have to be gone by 3.00 pm or pay £12.50 for an extra night.

The site is in a lovely location with plenty of walks and local pubs, but nothing else much going for it. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jarkspeak 2 reviews from this member

 This is a small but very beautiful site adjacent to a marina and a static park.† It even has its own pub/restaurant.† It is in a†village with 3 really good pubs within very easy walking distance, and also a top notch Indian restaurant.† Not too keen on the†50p charge for the showers (there are only 2 male, 2 female) and the fact that I got locked into one of them as the door was so damp it had swollen and turned all soggy!† My only proper complaint however was the fact that the people who run the site (from the marina shop) are not particularly friendly.† This would've been an almost-perfect stay if a smile and some conversation had been forthcoming.† For that reason, we probably won't visit again but that's a shame as the site itself is lovely and ideally situated. 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 48     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shardlow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1996 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement