Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Shardlow > Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park Reviews

Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park
London Road
Shardlow
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE72 2GL
Tel: 01332 792832
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/01/2023
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 47 Reviews
                7/10 from 47 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: BA69ALL 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic place, lovely walks around the village and own pub on site with live music.

The marina is spotless and deserves a look.

Ace . A very well maintained pitch to suit all touring vehicles ehu and lovely play area for the you g ones. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Peter Boitoult 7 reviews from this member

 The site served its purpose for being in the area we wanted to be but we were a bit disappointed mainly with the charges. 22 a night for 2 people in a small MH + 2 for a small dog! Why?

Pitch was on the access road because the grass pitches were closed for the Winter and note would be very cosy if site busy in Summer.

1 for a shower token on top although that was for an excessive 15 mins of water but no mention of this on website or even booking form or welcome greet. Showers are new but badly designed, water runs into drying area and temp regulator is behind the spray.

On-site pub, separate business iss very entertaining and extremely dog friendly 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Weirgzl 11 reviews from this member

 Greeted by the warden at the gate on arrival and were given a gate fob and directions to our pitch. This was our first visit to this campsite and we would have hoped for at least a map (like most sites) showing the facilities whereabouts.

We soon enough found the facilities but could see no signs of the reception although we didn't see this as a problem. On Saturday before going out to dinner my wife and I decided to go for a shower. We then found out that we would need tokens for the hot water.

We asked a fellow camper and he directed us to the reception where we could purchase them. When we found it, it was closed for the day so we both had to have cold showers.

I have sent an email expressing my disappointment about the lack of information but have received no reply.

This is a nice site by the marina with great pubs a short walk away but the lack of information given to its customers really lets it down. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Freckles63 70 reviews from this member

 Had a 4 night stay Tues-Sat after the late May BH, was quiet up till the Friday afternoon then rammed. 22per night and 8 for awning. We had pitch 72 which was the furthest from Smithys bar & facilities but ok as use our own.

Loved the location as near canal and river for running/bikes. Site is marked by a huge sign for Smithys bar on the road and directly next to the Navigation pub, if you take the road beside the Navigation pub and walk to end you come to the canal and 2 pubs, we ate in The New Inn and can thoroughly reccommend the food for quality and quantity.

We enjoyed our stay and would return if in the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Cahir 3 reviews from this member

 A picturesque site in a pleasant rural area.

Our first night, a Friday was fine but come Saturday morning and good weather the caravans never stopped arriving until the site was packed like sardines with vans to the front, the rear, the sides, everywhere.

Not a good experience. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: The Drings 14 reviews from this member

 We arrived at this site quite late in the evening. On our arrival we were greeted by a very friendly warden. He told us all we needed to know and was really friendly.

When we woke the next day we had a great view of the marina. The toilets and the toilets and shower block were very clean and we did not have to queue at all for showers even though the site was almost full.

We had a good sized pitch. The shop had basic foods and camping items. We found this site to be very dog friendly, even in Smithys bar the dogs were welcomed with open arms.

Smithys bar had really nice home cooked food at very reasonable prices. They also had live music on which was great.

We had a walk around the marina which was full with lots of interesting barges.

We enjoyed our stay here.

The only niggle we had was that we had paid for 2 days of wi-if but we could not get it to work for us. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: S64miller 40 reviews from this member

 With this site only being an hour from home its an ideal site for a short break. We had a pitch under a tree looking onto the Marina which was lovely. There are 8 pubs within walking distance of the site, most are dog friendly and the ones we tried had a good selection of cask ale. We didn't eat in any but the ones we visited the meals looked good. You are in a good area for dog walking with the river and canal close by. If you fancy a trip into Derby or Leicester there is the skybus that picks up near the site entrance and runs 24 hours a day. We tried 4 of the 8 pubs so we will be returning for the others. Loved our two nights here. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Eycaravanner 29 reviews from this member

 When we arrived at Shardlow I thought omg what is this? It is a huge place and there were a LOT of people around. The girl in reception was eating and wasnt very helpful, in fact, we found out later how UNhelpful she had been. You have to pay 20 deposit for the 2 keys, one is a fob for the access gate and main amenities block, the other is for a portacabin toilet. We later had to return to reception to buy a WiFi code (2. 50 for 2 days) it was hopeless, no wonder with maybe 200+ people using it, we ended up using our own data.

Settled in we went for a walk with our two dogs, its a brilliant place for dogs, plenty of places to walk to, right next to the river Trent and close to a canal, its ideal, the pubs in surrounding area all seem to be dog friendly and welcoming too.

On site there is a bar which serves food with outside seating area, its opposite the play park, there was live music on the weekend we were there which seemed to quieten at 11 only one disturbance after that from people walking past noisily.

We went out to eat in the evening, the on site bar looked very busy so went to check the local pubs, very close by. We walked to New Inn on the Wharf which was not far, ten minute walk if that, Cosy, country pub, warm welcome, food amazing and generous portions.

Next morning I went to the toilet block at 08:15 and expected there to be an activator for the fob on the door, there wasnt, its by the side of the mens door, luckily a lady showed me, its a clean, modern amenities block, I went in a shower only to find you need a token (50 p each) which they sell at reception but it doesnt open until 9 am! Absolutely fuming that we were not told that when we checked in, if wed just been asked do you need any shower tokens? Do you want WiFi? It would have been so helpful. When we finally got some tokens from the reception/shop the shower was good, it said on the token box that it would last 10 minutes but I didnt need it for that long anyway.

Again on the subject of dogs, if you carry on on the path by the water, you come to the no electric field and rally fields, in the far corner is a large gate and through there you can let your dog off for a good run which is a bonus.

We dont normally use large sites and this was heaving, as youd probably expect on a weekend in August, last time I let my husband choose a site! 


Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 60 reviews from this member

 Great location on a large marina complex in small but interesting village which has a choice of 5 pubs and easy access to Derby and the surrounding area.

The entrance road was a bit confusing and signage could have been a bit more helpful. After passing what we thought was the touring site (which was full!), but turned out to be the year round pitches, we parked up in the on site pub carpark. From there you have to go round to the side of the Marina buildings to book in. A bit of a walk and not ideal in cold wet sleet! The Office has a small shop and chandlers selling basic foodstuffs, including some excellent proper pork scratchings, and odds and sods of camping stuff

Once that was sorted we were given a good, flat hardstanding pitch with electric and a view of the Marina.

There's an entrance barrier to get onto the touring pitches and a toilet (only) block in portacabins just next to it which is bit of a trek from some of the pitches. This was clean and well looked after. The showers, grey waste dump and chemical toilet disposal point are all on the year round part of the site, an even further walk.

As the site site is shared use with the Marina and quite open all the facilities are locked an you need a key (20 deposit) to open them. You need to go to the Marina office to return the keys and get your deposit back before leaving. A point to note is that you need a key to get into the chemical toilet emptying point so do this before returning the keys!

Although this sounds a bit of a faff once on site and settled we thoroughly enjoyed it and believe it's all a lot easier in the summer when there are more staff about.

We tried 3 of the pubs in the village and they were all ok. We ate in the on site pub and the food was good. There was live music in the evening and a really good atmosphere.

A great site for a weekend and we'll certainly return. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lordbill 1 review from this member

 We stayed at the Shardlow Marina the first week in July and the weather was great the site was very clean and tidy and the site wardens very nice.

We didn't use the shower facilities it was easier to use our Caravan shower these were a little bit away from the main site, but a portacabin toilet block was useful and spotless daily.

We did notice a new building taking shape this was the new shower block.

The bar on site was very good and reasonably priced as were the other bars in the area.

The only things we could find fault with was a lack of space (what we call rack em and stack em)at busy times and the other thing was that it was very noisy until the early hours on the weekend.

But saying all that we would go back again as the rest of the week was great 


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shardlow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4320 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement