Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Shardlow > Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park > Reviews

Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park
London Road
Shardlow
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE72 2GL
Tel: 01332 792832
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/01/2023
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 48 Reviews
                7/10 from 48 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bessy525 54 reviews from this member

 As with the latest review I have to say the shower facilities are terrible, my wife confirms the door to the shower is still missing and the other one out of order, the gents were ok but the floor was always soaking wet. With a number of static tourers and space for 30+ tourers the site needs to increase the number of showers/toilets available. Their is a small toilet facility on the touring field but with only 2 toilets in the gents one of which had no toilet seat.

The site could be so much better if they were to invest in the washroom facilities. Pitches are grass and somewhat compact with average reception for freeview some pitches would have problems for sat reception because of trees. Staff were great, clubhouse in a great location food looked good, chinese and indian restaurants within walking distance and at least 4 pubs in village 3 offering food in the village. Long Eaton 5 minute drive with both Tesco and Asda superstores virtually next door to each other. Please do something about the shower block and we will be back, rating based on the site and unfortunately not the facilities. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Angela Jewell 1 review from this member

 The toilet block had two showers one door was hanging off, there was no heating and low standard of cleaning. The block was in urgent need of refurbishment. The on site restaurant was very good but dogs were not allowed which is fine, the on site shop was very well stocked but not very well sign posted making it difficult to find.

The location was super, excellent pubs with very good menus, lovely walks along the canal banks.

Bus stops outside the marina. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hemlin 3 reviews from this member

 We have been here before and managed to get a hard standing. You pay a 10 deposit for a key which gets you into the toilet block. Its a nice site. My only grumble is every body is supposed to have an electric hook up point which is adjacent to most vans but ours, pitch 16, for some reason was too far for me to reach with my cable, the lady at the booking office was puzzled why it would not reach so she sold me another cable for 20 which was the same length as mine so with both coupled together I just had enough cable to reach, but she must have had this problem before yet that's the answer buy more cable. The Marina bar is nearby with entertainment some nights and excellent food, kids are ok till 9pm in the bar too and the place is near to lots of places of interest. You will love it here 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Happy -Campers 24 reviews from this member

 We stayed for one night while we visited friends.

We paid a deposit for the barrier card.

We stayed on a non-electric pitch.

The toilets were key entry and showers were using tokens provided free of charge

It was good to look around the boats at the marina

There is also a rally field which was going to be in use at the following weekend.

There is a club house on site.  


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Matthewjb 6 reviews from this member

 This is a cracking site and value for money. The toilets were spotless and the entertainment at the bar was fantastic! Local to all the pubs and a lovely walk along the canal. Will be coming back here again. Staff are friendly the only slight issue was the small pitches but that was the only issue. Site was clean and pitches level with mowed lawn. This site is a little gem and the staff replied to emails very quickly 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Weavinsonthemove 4 reviews from this member

 Not sure why other reviewers were unhappy at signage on site. If you were to turn right after the bridge into the park I would suspect there would be sufficient room to turn around!

However, site basic but facilities always clean (but no heating) - site was quiet which may have made a difference. Price is reflective at 15. 00 per night. Site is well positioned to be able to walk to several pubs/restaurants in village. However, we had two excellent meals at the Old Marina Bar and Restaurant (on site)- one of the best Sunday carveries my husband and I have ever tasted!

There is noise from local A50 road, but got used to it and did not keep us awake at night. Some excellent walks/bike rides - roads nice and flat and fairly traffic free, also lots of canal paths. A must is a visit to Elvaston Castle Country Park - lovely cafe there. All in all nice place for a weekend break. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Saskia1911 10 reviews from this member

 A very pleasant peaceful place to camp.

We made a call to this camp site on the morning we made the reservation about 9 am the lady on reception was very helpful and was able to fit us in straight away.

Toilet shower blocks good. A 50p token can be purchased from reception the time on the shower is plenty to have a full shower wash hair at a leisurely pace.

There is a bar and restaurant on site which although we did not sample looked and sounded good with outdoor seating. We did not hear any noise from this.

A great location for Elvaston park, surrounding pubs food venues.

Dog friendly. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Menyou 8 reviews from this member

 So many good points but so many bad too. I think this place must be two sites in one?. As you approach from the main road there is no sign telling you where to turn off the A6 so watch out. As you enter the drive you see vans and a toilet block on your left. This must be the original site but it is no longer used for tourers, it is full but the pitches must be either seasonal? As you continue over the bridge you hit a cross-roads. As the previous reviewer points out, there is a sign saying turn right for reception but whatever you do don't follow this with your rig!. You need to turn left and attempt to park in a very busy car park while you walk to reception and sort out your booking. The touring park is on the right hand side of the Marina bar but a fair walk then back to the original toilet block.

Having got through all that, the on site pub and the surrounding village pubs are superb and all easily walkable from your pitch. Do not take an awning as you only have space for your van and your car, the pitches are very close together as others have reported.

All the site really needs though is some basic organisation in terms of much better signs and a place to park whilst you sort out your booking. It really is a great spot, right by the Marina and everything you need in walking distance. The boat owners are all a real friendly bunch too. Shardlow itself is lovely with loads of canal walks and pubs.

Watch out when you leave though especially if you stay till 3 on the Sunday!. If it's nice on the Sunday the Marina bar car park gets rammed and people had even parked on the narrow bridge exit so I had to drag my van up onto the kerb to get out. It is chaos as vans queue to get deposits back and you all only get an hour to do this in.

What a shame it is so badly organised because its a great site once you are in and prices are very good value for money overall too - will definitely return now I know what to do! 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Palmerd100 6 reviews from this member

 The most frustrating camp site ever visited.

The location is superb with brilliant Marina bar and local pubs. Onsite Marina bar does great food, couple of local ales (one brewed 500 yards away)and live music Friday and Saturday nights. The toilets and showers are clean but miles away from the pitches. The pitches have hook ups but are very small. There are no facilities for kids bar a large field to one side of the site for football etc.

Now the frustrating part. There are no signs when you arrive so at the end of the road go left and not right to the marina where the site office is based - there is no turning and a long reverse with van attached!

There is a barrier which requires a card so when you pay for the site then you pay a deposit for the card and toilet key. However that must be in cash and not by card so you pay your money in two ways. Depending on who you get the staff can range from really friendly to quite miserable. Finally leaving time is 3pm but the shop is shut between 1-2 so there is a queue of people waiting until shop opens so they can get their deposit back.

Its an OK place for a weekend but could be so much better 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Remoh2003 1 review from this member

 We will be returning for long weekends in the future. This was a very last minute booking so we never had the chance to read the reviews, however having come home and read them I'm glad we never as we probably wouldn't have booked.

The marina is kept tidy and the touring field was clean of rubbish and the grass was short. The pitches are marked out with a slab with your allocated pitch number so put your jockey wheel on it and you cannot go wrong.

The pub on the site was lovely with good value meals and nice seating outside. There were a couple of small football goals in front of the pub allowing the children to play whilst parents and guardians enjoyed the views over the marina.

The only minor negative was the toilet block location, however they were always clean when we used them but it was a chore having to walk to the hard standing touring / statics area. Obviously the key does stop all and sundry using the facilities but a toilet block located on the touring field would really improve this campsite.

We ended up having a supply of empty plastic bottles for our son to use otherwise we would of been doing toilet relays. The use of tokens costing 50p was a minor inconvenience but with only 2 shower cubicles in both the womens and the gents toilets it did ensure that fellow campers didn't abuse their time in there. The time on one token was about 20 minutes so enough time to shower 2 people.

We found the women in the reception/shop were very helpful, in fact on arrival we found that our electric hook-up cable wasn't working, so on reporting this to the site office we were given the use of there personal tools to make the repair. Very grateful.

For those fisherman reading this, you can fish the marina between the hours of 8am and 5pm. There aren't many accessible spots, however there are plenty of fish to be had, most of which spent the weekend cruising in the hot sun. 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shardlow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3010 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement