Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Shardlow > Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park > Reviews

Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park
London Road
Shardlow
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE72 2GL
Tel: 01332 792832
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/01/2023
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 48 Reviews
                7/10 from 48 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Firehunter 1 review from this member

 Nice flat site, two toilet blocks, one being quite far away from the touring site. Facilities are ok, nothing special. There are numerous walks in the area which is very flat. The site is surrounded by canals and river, a very special place. There is an on-site pub/restaurant and 5 or 6 more within easy walking distance. The on-site pub is good for food - if you can get served! The bar staff don't seem to be able to make a mental note of who needs serving next and tend to serve whoever is in front of them when they've finished serving the last customer. We walked out without spending any money on numerous occasions. You'll find The Navigation pub at the entrance to the site a lot better. We ordered our food and it came to us in less time than I'd been standing at the bar in the on-site pub (Smithys) and it was delicious! All in all a nice break once I'd got over being ignored in Smithys bar :-) 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Das545701 11 reviews from this member

 We love this place, this is our third visit with 5 units, its not sparkling but does the job.

Pub good and so is the food, love to walk around the marina and talk to the long stayers in there narrow boats,

Bit awkward to find reception but always feel welcome,

The owners would love to upgrade the facilities but problem with council so cant, pity.

Will we be back, Yes,

Some nice good food pubs not far away. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dazzle58 5 reviews from this member

 Both the Caravan Club and the Caravan and Camping club recommend a minimum space of 6m between outfits for safety and fire prevention. There are Standards within the Caravan Sites and Development of Control Act 1960. These Standards aren't statutory but they mirror the CC and the C&CC's recommendations in relation to fire safety.

This site clearly takes no notice of any recommended fire or safety standards whatsoever. We have just stayed here for 3 nights in our touring caravan and awning. We were with a party of 3 caravans. This site's 'rules' say you must be 'parked beside your unit, not in front, this is a safety requirement in case of emergency. ' This is truly laughable. It's impossible to park between some of the pitches - they're far too tightly wedged in! The site 'rules' say no open fires are permitted but the caravan behind us had an awning and a wind-break which was 2 metres from our caravan, behind which they had a fire. Nobody was around to speak to them about the breach of their rules. One of our friends asked, then demanded to be moved because their awning would have been pitched over the tarmac road on the pitch they'd been allocated. The staff in the office just shrugged and said they were fully booked! The Office Manager was called and an alternative pitch was juggled for our friends. They were moved across the road where they could park next to their caravan/awning, but the poor people who arrived later were allocated the smaller pitch and had their chairs and table right next to the tarmac and had to park their car at the front of their caravan.

The portakabin toilet facilities are clean, but they don't smell too good. There are 3 - and according to UKCampsites there are 60 pitches. The ratios aren't quite what you'd like them to be!

The site's location on the marina is so pretty, and there are some great pubs/restaurants locally. It could therefore be a gem of a place to stay - but I would not return to this site until they change their attitude to safety. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dorne 2 reviews from this member

 We visited here twice in the last week as it was half way to our holiday destination and sadly we will find an alternative park next time. On arrival it took a long time to find the reception(I use the term loosely) as it is not sign posted. Once sited we went off to explore the toilet blocks which were a porta-cabin type thing with only 2 toilets for a large site you also needed a key to use them. The shower block was some distance from our site and again wasn't signposted, when we did find them we needed tokens which we didn't know how to get or from where as the 'reception' closed at 5 as did the launderette an absolute joke consider the size of the place. Luckily we have a shower in our van so didn't need to use the grim looking shower block. The pub on site was very dark and had an unfriendly feeling to it so we walked into Shardlow village for a drink which has some lovely pubs and places to eat. The Marina itself was interesting to look at so we did enjoy walking around there. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Getknottd 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely area and site for nature. Showers were dated and used tokens. Washing machine rarely worked first time: a lot of walking too and fro from facilities to reception. Laundrette in long eating though. Campsite needs a keycard to enter. Onsite pub and marina were good value. Ideal for a short break. Castle donnington, elvatson castle, bankholiday carboots, long eaton are very close by. A short drive to Nottingham and Derby town centre. We did return here many many times until we found a friendlier, untokened site around the corner with cleaner, newer facilities. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caroline129 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over weekend. £34 caravan with porch awning, two adults, ehu. You have to leave £20 for toilet key and gate fob. The reception is awkward to find, as only sign is on an open gate that you cannot see becouse gate is open. Also if you pull in toward reception with a van you are stuck have to reverse out. Well looked after grassed area for caravan and camping.

The shower block is a good way from camping area, lots of people were wondering where they were, there is a portaloo type toilet and hand sink area by camping that was always clean. Would not know where to wash dishes, if I was in a tent.

The waste water was awkward as you had to lift your container up off the ground.

There is a pub on the grounds that got very busy, not with campers but with people visiting the groups that were playing, but saying that it was not loud (could be heard), and went quiet around 10. 30

Plenty to do in area, very easy access from A50. 


Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paulette Hancock 10 reviews from this member

 We have been to this site on many occasions and have been very happy with it. On this occasion it was Bonfire weekend and there was a great firework and bonfire display put on (not sure if it was put on by the site or the on site bar called smithys, that is ran by someone else)the location of this site is great as there are many restaurants and bars nearby, but I have to say that Smithys bar is by far best, they have fab food, great bar staff, great for kids and dogs and also have some brilliant live performances.

The on site shop doesn't have a lot, which is a pity cause there is no shop in the immediate area. I haven't used the showers as we use the one in the caravan, but the prefab toilet block is always clean. Overall a good site and It is very hard to score this site as I feel that if it wasn't for Smithys then it wouldn't be as good 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tigermoth10 1 review from this member

 This site has around 68 pitches for touring caravans. It is flat with pitched numbered and allocated on booking. The shower block, which has two showers in the men's, with only one in working order at the time we stayed. No hooks in the cubicles. The cleanliness was of a very poor standard. I would not use them again.

A very busy site at week ends. The site has a pub on it serving good meals. There are many eating houses in the local area.

And other facilities such as Donnington Park. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: I8blades 48 reviews from this member

 Just had a couple of nights midweek, reasonably priced at £31. There were only about 6 units so it wasn't busy at all.

The shop in the reception deals mainly in boats stuff and a few very basic foodstuffs.

The site was all grass pitches where we were and very flat. The toilet block was a portacabin, quite small but ok for the amount of people there but in busy times I would think no where near adequate. If you want the showers you have to go to the block on the other side of the site where there are more seasonal pitches. The showers are activated but a token bought from the shop, but I cant comment on the condition of these as we used our own.

There's a pub on site that does food as well. There was an extensive menu, all though we didn't indulge the food looked very good. The beer was quite expensive at £3. 30/Pint of doom bar. They do have sky sports though.

The pub was good with plenty of people in even though it was midweek, live bands were advertised for the weekend.

Nearby castle donnington is a bustling little town with plenty of traditional and modern shops.

There's a nice walk along the nearby canal with a couple pubs along the way. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PW555 19 reviews from this member

 This was our 1st trip of the year so we chose Shardlow as it was only 20 miles away and close to picking up our Grand Daughter who lives in Castle Donington.

We arrived Friday afternoon and booked in with Reception where we were met with a friendly member of staff, our overall cost was £55. 00 for 3 Nights including EHU and Large Awning which we found to be very reasonable. You have to leave a £20. 00 deposit for an entry card and keys to the toilets.

We were allocated pitch 15 on the grass section which was easy to locate, we manoeuvred easily onto the pitch, however, as it was the 1st decent weekend weather wise of the season the site was quite busy so it was quite tight for some later arrivals, we would certainly recommend getting there early if you struggle a bit getting your van on a pitch.

The pitches are not massive but you most certainly can get your awning out with ease meaning you park your car to the front of the pitch, we had a 2nd car with us, this had to be parked in the adjacent car park, but that was no problem, even better no extra charge.

The Marina itself is nice with lots of resident boat owners milling around and just getting on with their daily lives, there’s plenty to look at and indeed lots of places to have a stroll to.

There are lots and lots of Pubs etc. Within easy walking distance and most do food, The New Inn, a 10 minute walk away was recommended by a relative and indeed it turned out to be a lovely place with a varied menu and great value for money, we also visited the Dog and Duck which was a “2 for 1” establishment, this was good too.

We visited the on site Marina Bar Saturday Night which was superb, loads of friendly people and a live band, a really, really good night where we met lots of new faces and we will most certainly meet up with them again. There are tables and chairs outside for fair weather and a big field with goals each end which kids were most certainly using for its intended purpose, there was not much else for the kids to be honest, so if keeping the little ones occupied is a priority then bikes and outdoor toys etc may be a good idea, we took a bike for our Grand Daughter which kept her more than entertained.

The on site sanitary facilities were fine, we only used the toilet block on the grass touring pitches, which although small, were sparkling clean, although I would Imagine if the site was really really busy might not be in such a good condition.

The Elsan at the side of the toilet block was more than adequate, however, the ONLY criticism I can offer is there is not a dedicated Grey Waste disposal point so it has to go in the Elsan too, which is pretty awkward as the Waste Master is heavy for starters and then you have to hold it central over the hole, it’s not a big problem, but a grate at ground level would be so much easier.

We would most certainly recommend this site and we will definitely be visiting again, a Real Gem of a place. 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Shardlow Marina & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Shardlow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2135 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement