Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Bolmynydd Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli > Bolmynydd Camping Park Reviews

Bolmynydd Camping Park
Bolmynydd
Llanbedrog
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 7UP
Tel: 07882 850 820
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 42 Reviews
                9/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nins1982 3 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for 4 nights over the Easter Bank Holiday weekend. The site was easy to find with swift arrival process. Having arrived early evening on Thursday we were fortunate enough to be allowed to take our pick of the many pitches available at that time (these were soon filled by the end of play Friday!).

The site houses a mixture of seasonal caravans and tents (no ad-hoc tourers permitted). The campsite itself was superb - sympathetically set out within natural spacious green borders providing ample space and privacy with superb views of the sea as well as the Snowdon mountain range. All in all making the location visibly picturesque. Another bonus for us as a couple was that the site was located slap bang beside the Wales Coastal Path (left towards Pwllheli / right towards Abersoch) - ideal for us as avid walkers.

The sites amenities were also excellent incorporating very clean modern toilets & shower block, laundry facilities and dish washing facilities. Another perk for us was the provision of the free Wi-Fi - much enjoyed by my partner who was trying to keep up with the football scores! Beach, pub and well stocked grocery store all located within a short 10 minute down hill walk to the village.

The only negative aspect of our stay was down to some of the children that were also staying at the site. Whilst kids being kids played - 3 or 4 at a time would sporadically run across our (and others) pitch site, often circling our tent and car. I take offence to this as I expect due regard from others towards the section of pitch we had pay for to enjoy ourselves. Clearly the parents weren't bothered where their children were as long as they where out of their own hair and blowing off steam elsewhere. This is not a criticism against the site but I lay the blame at the parents who did not consider the effect of their children's behaviour on other campers who may like us expect privacy within the confines of the individual pitches.

All in all a great all round site, will definitely be visiting again in the future!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jeremytotton 4 reviews from this member

Visited this year, early in the summer hols and what a great site, full of friendly families and a nice helpful laid back owner. Great for nearby llanbedrog beach, the warren and easy to get further afield to abersoch, hells mouth and porth ceriadh. The pitches were a good size, some bigger than others. Great, clean facilities, showers push button, lots of hot water, fixed to the wall.

The last night / day disturbed by neighbours playing music til 1am, but on the whole a fantastic campsite that I have since recommended to friends, who have really enjoyed it too.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alisonme 4 reviews from this member

This is our second visit, and we still love it.

The pitches are large and clearly marked out, with the bottom field being more spacious than the top. Wifi is available and free, but we didn't find it worked very well.

The facilities are excellent, clean and well maintained. The site was full when we visited and I did wonder if that would mean queues for the three ladies showers, but it didn't. I still don't like the push button showers though, on one of the days the shower was far too hot for me but there is no facility to adjust the temperature. The very hot water is a bonus when using the dish washing facilities though! There is a hair dryer in the ladies which takes 20p pieces, and a socket for straighteners in the laundry area.

The area is beautiful, with a beach, pub, restaurant and shop within walking distance. There are good beaches at Abersoch and Hells Mouth, and shops can be found in nearby Pwllheli. There is plenty to do in this part of Wales, and there are tourist information leaflets available at the site.

The access road is a bit nerve wracking, especially towing a trailer tent, but it's worth it for such a good site.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Baloonav 2 reviews from this member

Simply put: a gem of a site. Smallish overall with only two camping fields, but with very generous and flat pitches, probably the largest pitches Iíve seen. The site only filled completely on the last few days of our stay, but there was plenty of space and campers were not crammed in and still plenty of open space that the kids really enjoyed.

Many water points and site well maintained with some lovely views. No playing equipment but with so much space and fields for kids to play in itís not needed. Access is via narrow lanes once off main road, but itís not far and very little traffic.

Facilities were kept wonderfully clean with plenty of hot water. Wash-room facilities were small with only 3 showers in each but coped well even when full - a few more hooks for towels/wash-bags would not go amiss though.

Washing up block with 3 sinks and freezer for cooler blocks and a microwave; laundry room with machine and Ďinfo centre' with fliers and details of whatís on in the area. Small shop in the village but supermarkets in Pwhelli only a short drive away. The owner is very relaxed, we had to chase him down halfway through the stay to pay.

We had some very wet weather for several days but the drainage was good and no quagmire. As other have noted, itís a short walk to one beach at Llanbedrog and a longer walk to another at The Warren, the walks back are all uphill and may be a bit much for little ones tired out after a day at the beach from the Warren.

N Wales and the Llyn has much to offer in the way of beaches, views, walks, water sports, boat trips and days out Ė Snowdonia only a short drive away and plenty of castles in the area that the kids love.

The kids begged us to return next year and every year. Not sure about every year but certainly will be back. This now tops my list of favourite sites.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stu8d 3 reviews from this member

A Small site with excellent facilities in an ideal position between 2 great beaches and Abersoch town for Evening entertainment.

A most enjoyable holiday that I have recommended on many occasions and one day will return too

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Drewr 9 reviews from this member

We enjoyed staying at this site so much that we have just booked to go back.

Site is always clean & tidy, not too large. The facilities were well kept Showers, toilets & washing up area always clean.

The pitches are a good size - we have been on a lot of sites that crammed you in like sardines, this site although 'compact' you still have plenty of room.

Close by good pub that serves food (can be very busy)

You can walk to the beach (bit of a hike with young children) close to Abersoch just over a mile away.

The village has a small supermarket.

Looking forward to returning

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lbob 1 review from this member

We stayed here the third week of August 2011. The campsite, toilets and shower blocks (HOT) are very clean and well cared for.

There is a laundry room, a room for washing your pots (with a microwave) and a freezer for your ice blocks.

There are lights along the paths in the dark, and each different camping area has drinking water taps so you don't need to go up to the main block.

There is a dog exercise field. All in all fantastic and clean facilities.

You can walk to the beach, which is a sandy, walk to the headland, or up to the pub (which is very busy but nice).

There is a lot to do in the area. There are other beaches and lovely walks and mountain climbing.

We will definitely go back.

Everyone was friendly, and the children loved it!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trenchfoot2010 9 reviews from this member

Trenchfoot by name. Bolmynydd survived some pretty wet stuff last night. The concrete and slate paths making it still navigable rather than Glasto like. I'm writing this review using the free site WiFi - a nice touch, most sites charge up to a couple of quid a day.

Facilities - Site's full but they are coping well. 4 WC and three showers for each gender. Three sinks in the wash-up very! hot water. Views tremendous across to Pwllheli and the Snowdonia range.

Access - tricky but there isn't much traffic up the lanes to the site other than site traffic so you are unlucky to meet someone coming the opposite way - then it's a battle of wills as to who will reverse to the passing place.

Shops - Londis at the end of the road, nearest supermarkets in Pwllheli - Coop and ASDA. The owners have done a good job of landscaping the site. We have a slightly terraced pitch for our tent, flat as a pancake. They have also planted plenty of hedges to act as windbreaks and provide some privacy.

There is a large field for the kids to play in and a dog run too.

But. We found the site a bit cramped. Whilst the pitches are large and at about the going rate of £30 a night for 4 with EHU in high season we felt that everyone was little on top of each other.

A lovely site, very well kept and we might use it again at quieter times of year when we could perhaps get one of the paddocks almost to ourselves.

What to do in the area? If you've come to this neck of the woods you must be after outdoor pursuits, typically wet ones. Sailing at Abersoch and Surfing at Hells mouth are favourites. If you want something a bit different try the art gallery in Llanbedrog - free and interesting.

The bistro on the beach is lovely. Most of the food in Abersoch is average quality and overpriced (for the Manchester-on-Sea weekend crew). Try some of the Pwllheli restaurants if you want good value.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Raggaroo 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here at the end of April - we had lovely weather, if a tad windy!

This is a first class campsite - beautiful location, with great facilities and helpful owner. There is even free wifi throughout the site!

There were plenty of showers, with abundant hot water, a freezer to keep your ice blocks in, laundry, good wash-up, payphone and the site was well lit at night without being too bright. Very family friendly and good sized pitches.

We will definitely go back - one of my favourite places to camp!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gabriels gran 7 reviews from this member

My husband and I took two friends with us to this site, they have never camped before and were a little concerned as to what facilities would be available for them to use. They were both gobsmacked, as we were too, never having used this site before, we will certainly be wanting to use it again. The toilet and shower block were exceptional.

It was a pity that the site was so quiet, not many other users whilst we were there.

Rhoddri made us feel very welcome when we arrived and told us we could pitch our tent where ever we liked, in view of the high winds, recommending certain parts of the site to us.

The only concern we had was the extremely narrow lane to reach the site, bit 'tight' if you are pulling a caravan, but as there were plenty of tourers on the site obviously there for the full season and longer it would appear in some cases, experienced caravanners would not find the track too difficult.

We would certainly have no hesitation in recommending this site to anyone, there was also Wifi if required, and the washing machine and dryer were very large and well maintained.

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Pwllheli      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Love Touring Expo, Scotland 25/10 to 27/10, Aberdeen
Scotlandís newest caravan and motorhome show! The very latest caravans, motorhomes and campervans from all major brands, including the new models for 2020 ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2521 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019