Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bolmynydd Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli > Bolmynydd Camping Park > Reviews

Bolmynydd Camping Park
Bolmynydd
Llanbedrog
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 7UP
Tel: 07882 850 820  or  07988277943
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 57 Reviews
                9/10 from 57 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Drewr 9 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed staying at this site so much that we have just booked to go back.

Site is always clean & tidy, not too large. The facilities were well kept Showers, toilets & washing up area always clean.

The pitches are a good size - we have been on a lot of sites that crammed you in like sardines, this site although 'compact' you still have plenty of room.

Close by good pub that serves food (can be very busy)

You can walk to the beach (bit of a hike with young children) close to Abersoch just over a mile away.

The village has a small supermarket.

Looking forward to returning 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lbob 1 review from this member

 We stayed here the third week of August 2011. The campsite, toilets and shower blocks (HOT) are very clean and well cared for.

There is a laundry room, a room for washing your pots (with a microwave) and a freezer for your ice blocks.

There are lights along the paths in the dark, and each different camping area has drinking water taps so you don't need to go up to the main block.

There is a dog exercise field. All in all fantastic and clean facilities.

You can walk to the beach, which is a sandy, walk to the headland, or up to the pub (which is very busy but nice).

There is a lot to do in the area. There are other beaches and lovely walks and mountain climbing.

We will definitely go back.

Everyone was friendly, and the children loved it! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trenchfoot2010 9 reviews from this member

 Trenchfoot by name. Bolmynydd survived some pretty wet stuff last night. The concrete and slate paths making it still navigable rather than Glasto like. I'm writing this review using the free site WiFi - a nice touch, most sites charge up to a couple of quid a day.

Facilities - Site's full but they are coping well. 4 WC and three showers for each gender. Three sinks in the wash-up very! hot water. Views tremendous across to Pwllheli and the Snowdonia range.

Access - tricky but there isn't much traffic up the lanes to the site other than site traffic so you are unlucky to meet someone coming the opposite way - then it's a battle of wills as to who will reverse to the passing place.

Shops - Londis at the end of the road, nearest supermarkets in Pwllheli - Coop and ASDA. The owners have done a good job of landscaping the site. We have a slightly terraced pitch for our tent, flat as a pancake. They have also planted plenty of hedges to act as windbreaks and provide some privacy.

There is a large field for the kids to play in and a dog run too.

But. We found the site a bit cramped. Whilst the pitches are large and at about the going rate of 30 a night for 4 with EHU in high season we felt that everyone was little on top of each other.

A lovely site, very well kept and we might use it again at quieter times of year when we could perhaps get one of the paddocks almost to ourselves.

What to do in the area? If you've come to this neck of the woods you must be after outdoor pursuits, typically wet ones. Sailing at Abersoch and Surfing at Hells mouth are favourites. If you want something a bit different try the art gallery in Llanbedrog - free and interesting.

The bistro on the beach is lovely. Most of the food in Abersoch is average quality and overpriced (for the Manchester-on-Sea weekend crew). Try some of the Pwllheli restaurants if you want good value. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Raggaroo 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here at the end of April - we had lovely weather, if a tad windy!

This is a first class campsite - beautiful location, with great facilities and helpful owner. There is even free wifi throughout the site!

There were plenty of showers, with abundant hot water, a freezer to keep your ice blocks in, laundry, good wash-up, payphone and the site was well lit at night without being too bright. Very family friendly and good sized pitches.

We will definitely go back - one of my favourite places to camp! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gabriels gran 7 reviews from this member

 My husband and I took two friends with us to this site, they have never camped before and were a little concerned as to what facilities would be available for them to use. They were both gobsmacked, as we were too, never having used this site before, we will certainly be wanting to use it again. The toilet and shower block were exceptional.

It was a pity that the site was so quiet, not many other users whilst we were there.

Rhoddri made us feel very welcome when we arrived and told us we could pitch our tent where ever we liked, in view of the high winds, recommending certain parts of the site to us.

The only concern we had was the extremely narrow lane to reach the site, bit 'tight' if you are pulling a caravan, but as there were plenty of tourers on the site obviously there for the full season and longer it would appear in some cases, experienced caravanners would not find the track too difficult.

We would certainly have no hesitation in recommending this site to anyone, there was also Wifi if required, and the washing machine and dryer were very large and well maintained. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Alisonme 4 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site, great location and fantastic views.

All the pitches are marked out, it looked like the majority have access to electricity, and they are all a good size. The bottom field is more spacious than the top, and there were often children playing in the centre in the early evening.

The facilities are clean and well maintained, although the showers aren't the best I've come across. They are a bit low on pressure, and are the push button type, with no temperature control or height adjustment. That said they are hot, clean, and free.

The dishwashing area is indoors, with three sinks and very hot water. There is a hairdryer in the ladies (20p for 3 minutes I believe), and apparently a socket in the laundry room where you can use your straighteners. We didn't use the laundry facilities. There doesn't seem to be a regular time for cleaning, which caught us out a couple of times.

The shop, beach, pub and bistro are all about 10 minutes walk, although it is uphill on the way back! The pub has a good adventure playground, but we preferred the food at the Bistro. The beach is lovely, and the shop (Londis) is well stocked. It is well worth walking up to the headland, its lovely and the view is superb.

My only real issue with this site is the access road. It is very narrow, and we did have a couple of reversing issues during our weeks stay, though thankfully not with the trailer attached!

All in all though a great site, and well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dfawatts 2 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent campsite which seems to cater for all users. When we initially arrived, we were a little dismayed to see all the caravans and large family tents closely pitched to each other and thought that we might have to join in the order. However, the excellent owner spotted the look on our faces and said 'I think you might prefer the field beyond the hedge with the view' and he was spot on.

If you want hook-up, neatly arranged pitches then this site caters for you. If you want something more random with space to kick a ball, fly a kite or throw a Frisbee then this site is also perfect.

The facilities are probably the cleanest and smartest I have ever seen. The beach is only a 10 minute walk or 3 minute cycle with a bit of a climb back up the hill. There are also some lovely walks straight from the campsite. There's also an excellent restaurant called Bistro on the Beach which is worth visiting.

One odd thing - there are a lot of women walking around in pyjamas on this site, never seen that before.

Would we go back? Yes. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woowoo06 1 review from this member

 Had another great week been for the last 4 years and will be back next year. Very clean toilet block with good showers and hot water.

Owner very friendly and helpful.

Nice walk to local pub with a great kids play area, good food and beer!

Llanbedrog beach is a gem, fantastic views and very safe for kids, a tough walk back to the site though as it is up hill all the way! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Etherdwickgirl 4 reviews from this member

 This is the 8th year we have been to this site and what a fantastic site it is.

The shower block and toilets are always very clean, always hot water, free showers. The washing up area is kept clean and tidy. Excellent washing machine and dryer. Freezers for ice packs.

The site is based in 3 fields, you can get a choice, we go for the bottom field. The owner is always around, very helpful and friendly.

This site if family friendly, no same sex groups, families only.

Beach 5 mins walk, big hill back but well worth it. Excellent site 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gobezza 1 review from this member

 Just got back from our 1st ever camping trip and have to say it was a success. We went to Bolmynydd on the recommendation of this site and are very glad we did.

A really nice looking site with some tourers and tents mixed in. The approach is a little narrow with passing places but during our 4 night stay only caused a couple of reversing issues.

The price, I believe, was fair. Me, my wife, daughter & dog with EHU for tent, 100.

The site was laid out over a couple of fields and everything was nicely spaced out.

The facilities were as described, one building contained everything.

Site office with array of leaflets and American style washer, 3.00 per wash, and American style dryer, 2.00 per load. In the wash area was even a baby bath.

Female showers (didn't go in there, although our dog did at one point). Male showers, several sinks, couple of loos and 3 showers. Very clean, very good showers with plenty of hot water (was never cold when I went in).

Dishwashing area, 3 sinks with again loads of hot water. You need to time this right though as there can be a queue, also people did seem reluctant to clean the sink after themselves and just pull the plug out and walk away, I don't like the thought of washing my plates in another man's bubbles. There was also a Microwave & a Freezer in here for Ice Packs only, (full to bursting with 'em, 4 of mine are still there!)

Free Wi-fi which was a must for us, a little slow but to be expected really.

Two fantastic beaches in walking distance, one is busier than the other as it has a Bistro on it (Posh Cafe really!).

Would I recommend Bolmynydd? absolutely. Going back in August with the In-Laws! 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Bolmynydd Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bolmynydd Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bolmynydd Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pwllheli      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3634 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement