Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Bolmynydd Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli > Bolmynydd Camping Park Reviews

Bolmynydd Camping Park
Bolmynydd
Llanbedrog
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 7UP
Tel: 07882 850 820
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 42 Reviews
                9/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camping Cromptons 2 reviews from this member

As virtual camping virgins, we really did not know what to expect. This was our second time camping in as many months, but the first time was a wet and rainy nightmare in a borrowed tent with no fitted groundsheet! 'Never again' we said, but despite our earlier vows, we were off on another adventure less than a month later, but this time in our own brand new tent!

The site was chosen with friends who came wih us for the area (the Lleyn Peninsula is beautiful) as well as the facilities the site offered.

We couldn't have chosen more wisely - the site was very well laid out, with very clean showers and toilets, separate pot washing area, freezers, washing machines, dryers, electric hook up. Some reviewers had commented on the very narrow road up to the site, but this was part of the fun of our time there - if drivers who met in the middle were both strong willed, you can watch some fine Mexican Stand-Offs!

The weather was mixed, but with good beer and good company, you can't help but have a great time! Would certainly recommend the site to others. One main advantage of the site was that Rhodri the owner, was one of the few site owners in the area who allowed us in the middle of high season to book nightly rather than weekly.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ceejay Flyer 2 reviews from this member

The site is excellent, with fantastic views in all directions. The facilities were kept spotlessly clean, and the hot water never ran out!

On the down side, access is narrow, and I would recommend the route up from the village rather than that from the other direction. It's shorter and there are more passing places. In places the lane is so narrow you have to wait for pedestrians to move into a passing place. Having said that, the lane is not very busy. We were here 10 days, and I only met a vehicle coming the opposite way on one occasion.

Also, remember the campsite is high on the hill side, so it does get quite breezy, even if it's almost calm at sea level.

Despite this, we would definitely return. The atmosphere is relaxed and very friendly, with plenty of space for children play in. The beach (great bistro/cafe), pub and village stores are all a short walk away.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Susieq01 1 review from this member

Just returned from 4 days here. Campsite owner friendly and works hard to give people good sized pitches. Ours, with EHU, was sloping somewhat but was otherwise fine.

Toilet & washing facilities clean and with constant hot water - when the site is full, they could do with another toilet block. In the ladies, there were 3 showers & 3 loos. This was fine at night but often a queue in the morning.

This site (like many in the Abersoch area) is on the headland and very exposed - we suffered from very strong winds during our stay. It has a 10 min walk to beach and shop. There are 2 approach roads - both of which are very tight. This was never a problem for us but I wouldn't fancy taking a caravan up there!

If you want a basic, clean campsite in this area this is a good one. However, if I was returning to the area, I personally would look for something with more facilities for the kids

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alisquires 8 reviews from this member

Stayed on this site again as our family were in the area for the same week.

This time round we'd upgraded to a caravan, previously we had a trailer tent. Unfortunately we got it stuck on the lane, I know you'd have thought we'd have known better having been before but Rhodri's Dad was to the rescue, he took the van down to the road and brought it back up for us and pitched it for us! On the way home the fuel pump went on the car so the AA couldn't get the caravan off the site due to the lane, so Rhodri to the rescue AGAIN! He took our caravan, us and our dog down to the Londis - thanks very much!

We've been to this site three times now and compared to the other 4-5 sites we've visited in between they don't even start to compare.

The facilities are always clean and tidy, the recycling facilities are always tidy and there's plenty of space for your rubbish.

Brilliant site, will definitely be back but we'll use the other access route! In fact we enquired about seasonal pitches this time round.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pathway7 2 reviews from this member

We had a campervan and tent with our party and electric hook up. The site owner was friendly and helpful Our pitch was a bit slopey but very well maintained. The toilet and shower block was clean and warm with nice hot showers and room to hang your clothes and toiletries. Washing up room was roomy and lots of hot water. Had a freezer for ice packs and a very handy microwave. There was also a room with washing machine dryer and ironing facilities, a must with young children. Great views with shop pub and beach all in walking distance. Lots of places to explore by car. Nice family friendly campsite

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Magpie09 3 reviews from this member

Just got back from a four night stay here. The loos were clean at all times, and odour free! Plenty of hot water for showers which are free, and loads of hanging pegs for your stuff inside the cubicles.

The dishwashing area again has plenty of hot water and three good sized sinks. It also has a chest freezer for Ice packs which was a little full when we stayed, as it was busy and very hot.

The pitches are generous and the site isn't cramped at all, with mixed hedges planted which not only aid privacy but add interest also. Plenty of pitches have electric and ours had a 32 amp breaker in it.

The owner is polite and accommodating on arrival and then leaves you alone to enjoy your stay.

The approach roads are narrow, one more so than the other but we didn't have a problem with that.

There is a pub within 10 mins walk and another about 15 mins further on. Both serve decent food and a good pint and we found the staff and locals friendly, and game for a laugh.

The nearest beach is a 10 min walk, or you can drive and park on a National trust carpark for 4 per day. There are many beaches in the area all of which area clean. Llanbedrog suffers the least from watersports noise if you want peace and the main Abersoch beach 2 miles away is the best if you want to make some noise!

Several restaurants and pubs in Abersoch village 2.5 miles away and your taxi back will cost you about 7.

Great site, great area and you can see why many people spend most of their summer weekends there.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pinkkipper 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for our first ever family camping trip(lots of trips by individuals but never as a family)

Site manager was helpful when booking - its in a popular location and over the bank holiday weekend we saw a number of people being turned away.

Our pitch was in the top field, which is on a bit of a slope but we had loads of space, its also a bit exposed on the right side and it can get a windy being on the headland.

Toilets were clean and well maintained, lights are on motion detectors as are the fans.

Dishwashing area has 3 sinks so only a little bit of waiting for one to come free.

A number of pitches have Power.

No playground and I could not find a dog area

(but didnt see any dogs).

Lots of good walks, beach is easy to reach and the local pub is popular doing a good sunday lunch. Views are really good.

As a lot of people have said the lane down to the vilage is very tight - we has to wait 20 mins while one car backed up, at the end there were about 20 people (on foot) waiting to get past the car.

Yes we'd go back but a bit later in the year as I looks a great location in Summer.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alisquires 8 reviews from this member

Stayed here in May 2008 bank holiday. Really enjoyed it, was close enough to the shops and local pub and a nice walk with the dog down to the beach.

The lane may put people off but it's not a problem as people are really accommodating and will back up, especially if you come up from the beach rather than further on towards Abersoch as there are passing places.

Tried to go back at the end of May but the site was full, so trying for the end of June/July.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sulliepjy 4 reviews from this member

Have been visiting this site for 2 years with a tent, it is probably the best site we have been to, so much so that we have now purchased a caravan and are hoping to site it here permanently. Rhodri (the owner) is always on hand to help and advise. Everyone on the site is friendly. Showers/loos are always kept clean, tidy and warm.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: VickyT 3 reviews from this member

We visited this site at the end of August and had a great stay. On the plus side the location is good, beach, shop, family pub, etc all in walking distance, great views, plenty of space and in a good spot for exploring this part of Wales. On the negative side however and this was a big negative for us is the access - a very narrow road, up a steep hillside,a hairpin bend and no passing places- thank god my husband isn't of a weak disposition. Seriously if you've got a tent then its a great, quiet site - but if you have a caravan.Well you have been warned!

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Pwllheli      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2718 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019