Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Bolmynydd Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli > Bolmynydd Camping Park Reviews

Bolmynydd Camping Park
Bolmynydd
Llanbedrog
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 7UP
Tel: 07882 850 820
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 42 Reviews
                9/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: RJEPhoto 9 reviews from this member

We couldn't recommend Bolmynydd more!

The site sits on the headland above Llanbedrog and as such has beautiful views across to the mountains such as Yr Eifl and North West Snowdonia area.

The site itself is very well maintained with flat pitches and mown grass. We were able to have a small raised fire/BBQ too. The facilities are clean and the showers are nice and hot. We stayed during term time, so the site was not full, though I can imagine that it does fill up during the school holidays. There is a play area with football pitch if you have kids.

We were off-grid though hookup is available on all pitches. Fresh water is readily available with numerous points on the site. Recycling is available also, which impressed us. There is a freezer for cool blocks in the dish washing room, which was great as we used a coolbox.

Ten minutes walk away is the village of Llanbedrog with a lovely pub on the main road, as well as a large Spar shop and garage just a little further down the road. The beach is 5mins walk from the village centre with toilets and a beach bar. The beach itself is gorgeous with sandy afternoons spent here enjoying the sun and crystal clear sea as well as the views over the bay to Snowdonia. (take some binoculars and try to spot Criccieth/Harlech castles!). Nestled by the large headland, we really felt that we had a great spot in the world on the beach.

The owners are friendly and helpful, even lending us an OSmap so that we could go for a walk. As a base to explore the area it is about 15-20mins drive to Phwelli, 15-20 to Abersoch, 10mins to a lovely 9hole golf course, so we found it ideal for exploring.

We found the site on UKCampsite and are so glad that we did, we will definitely be returning.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Ditsy79 7 reviews from this member

We were really impressed with this site, which is very well-maintained by the owners. The campsite is divided into smaller fields, which makes it feel really safe (especially with young children).

The pitches are a great size, separated from each other by small hedges which means that tents aren't pitched too closely together.

The facilities clean and adequate for the size of campsite; there are plans for a new toilet/shower block in 2020 which will make the campsite even better.

The site is in a fantastic location, with 2 beaches within walking distance. It's also not far from Abersoch with its bars, restaurants, harbour and wonderful beaches.

We will definitely be back!
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Limb 1 review from this member

The site location is excellent with distant mountain views, the one drawback being the long and narrow single-track access with few passing places. You just have to hope you don't meet a vehicle coming the other way! But the site itself is on elevated land, fairly level and (on our visit) mud-free.

Individual areas for each tent are extremely spacious and separated from each other by neat hedges affording a degree of privacy as well as protection against the wind. All is immaculately maintained.

We found the central facilities satisfactory for our purposes but not outstanding: in the ladies' toilet there was a lack of private washbasins, and additional ledges and hooks would have been welcomed. We did wonder whether the central facilities would be adequate to service the campsite if it was fully occupied. However, the campsite owners tell us that they are in fact building a new amenity block that will be ready for next season.

There is no campsite shop. The wind was gusting for the first part of our stay, and one of our fibreglass tentpoles broke. The campsite owner went out of his way to help and was able to lend us a satisfactory replacement.

From the campsite it is only a short walk up to the headland where the Wales Coast Path goes round Mynydd Tir-y-Cwmwd giving magnificent views over nearby coastal scenery.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Catarinabod 44 reviews from this member

Just enjoyed 2 nights at this fab site - risked the frosty nights to benefit from sunny days in a fantastic location. Access roads are single track so nothing wider than a campervan can pass. We were the only residents as the site was closing for the winter. Very well maintained site with small hedges to divide tent pitches. Fantastic views of sea and mountains.

Walkers' paradise - multiple signed footpaths from the site. The free art gallery in a gothic building with cafe are 10 mins walk, a couple of pubs and a mini supermarket also easy walking distance. Walked the coastal path to Abersoch (steep path down from headland) and walk along the long sandy beach leading in to Abersoch itself - took us about an hour each way. Also path to iron man sculpture worth doing, and great views from trig point.

All in all a great site in a fantastic location. Free wifi was a bonus.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 90 reviews from this member

Wales, in the sun, temperature mid 20's, blue sky, the whole week - unbelievable. The ground was like concrete making getting the plastic pegs hammered home interesting. Not a lot of shade. The showers are a fixed temperature and too hot for the weather! The access roads are narrow, very narrow. Who cares, Wales in the sunshine is fantastic.

The campsite is immaculately kept, the pitches spacious and mostly flat, the views are superb and the facilities excellent. 2 people without electric 25 per night. At this price I think a freezer could have been available.

Beautiful walks from the campsite, nearby shop and pub. An ideal location for day trips to most of North Wales.

We went to the Tremfan restaurant (in Llanbedrog approx. 1 mile) for an amazing meal with great service too.

The site is worth the money and if the sun shines you're laughing. You soon get used to the lanes too!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Singingintherain 4 reviews from this member

This site was lovely, clean, neat and well thought out. The owner couldn't have been nicer. Most of the campers we met were return customers and you could see why. The views are breathtaking! The facilities block is of a good standard and the little hedges between pitches are a nice touch. There is not a shop on site but there is a convenience store in Llanbedrog.

This site is perfect for hikers, with numerous walks you can take from the camp site. The beach is not far away either, although there is a steep hill involved in the walk. The only downside for us was that the small field people were using for ball games was the same one where people were exercising their dogs! Having said that, I would highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Neil camper piper 21 reviews from this member

Just come back from a lovely weekend away at Bolmynydd camping Park.

The road to the site is extremely narrow with high hedges on either side. My little car was not fond of this. When we crested the hill and turned into the site we were greeted by the amazing views that this site has to offer. From the mountain ranges facing you at the entrance to the coast off in the distance to the right of you. Truly stunning.

The site is extremely well kept. The grass was like a well manicured lawn. No litter in sight and the hedges well trimmed. The site is separated into five areas in which you can camp. The pitches are also separated by small hedges (The green fences on the websites pictures are now the hedges) and are of a great size and would be a great space for any size of tent. Wooden benches are also dotted about for you to move to your pitch. Some pitches are on a gentle slope. All the pitches do come with electric hookups. You can tell a lot of time and money has been spent on this site.

There is only one large toilet block on site. It also houses the washing up area which has an ice pack fridge and microwave. There is a small office and reception room which has information on what is available to see and do in the area. The toilets themselves were immaculate, Hot water seemed never ending and the showers were awesome. Lots of space to get changed in and even a seat.

Its location is fantastic. You are ten minutes walk to the beach, a family pub and the local Londis shop. Or you can hop in your car and drive to the nearby seaside village of Abersoch, or in the other direction Pwllheli. You really are spoilt for choice

The site has a very friendly atmosphere, everyone was very welcoming, There are about 20 seasonal pitches dotted around the out skirts of the site, You can tell people have had their caravans there for many years. Mind you if I'd taken a caravan up the road to the site and got there in one piece I wouldn't want to leave either!

Your allowed BBQ's off the ground and the owner was happy with us having a small fire, although this is not advertised as something the site promotes. I didn't see a play area but with so much to offer in the area I really don't think it needs one.

I'd recommend this site to anyone, couples, families alike. For first timers this site is a great place to start.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phil+friends 18 reviews from this member

Just got back from the Easter bank holiday at Bolmynydd and what a great site this is, really quiet, fantastic views towards Pehwelli and the Snowdonian mountain range.

There's a pub, beach and Londis mini market within easy walking distance down a very narrow road ( only wide enough for one car).

Good facilities nice and clean and big pitches but be aware it can get very windy here but when the sun comes out the site is stunning, coastal walks also from the campsite to Pehwelli or Abersoch.

My only fault is the road up to the site but still I think it's worth a stay.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Linloo 1 review from this member

I would just like to say what a wonderful family site this place is.

We have been coming here for 15 years now & love the fact it is a 5* family site that's not to big. There's nothing better then seeing children of all ages enjoying their holidays together, running about having fun with one another.

I would just like to say about the last review of unruly children running about,

This is children having fun & enjoying their holidays. Its not often you get to see children running about outside and enjoying the freedom this site offers. Maybe the last reviewer needs to go to a adult only site and stay in the confines of the pitch they have paid for.

This is what i hate most about british people, god for bid children are having fun.

But like the site says its a family site, if you don't like to see children enjoying themselves then don't go to a family site.

In all the times we have stayed at this site there's never been a problem with children or parents not keeping a check on them ???

I would like to add that the owner of the site, his 4 children do play about a lot around the site also.

What you see a lot is tents and cars blocking the walk way, so nobody can get past. Protecting there own little space, i think these people would be more suited to a b&b or a youth hostel not a social campsite.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adasb2 2 reviews from this member

I think this site is one of the loveliest campsites we have ever camped on, from every aspect. Finding it was a little challenging as we kept missing the turning off the main road, and then it was up a dauntingly steep, very narrow, winding little lane - note: no caravans! But on arrival the quality of the site overall took our breath away.

And the views over the Snowdonian hills were 'awesome'. As the site can be a bit windy at times, the owners have thoughtfully planted high hedges across the upper (main) camping area, and lower hedges to divide the pitches into a criss-cross design - hard to describe, but very effective.

The hedges have really pretty hydrangeas, wild roses and other flowering shrubs planted amongst them to enhance the effect. We hadn't booked, just taking a chance as it was in school term time and on a Sunday afternoon, and were lucky that the site was quiet and we were able to choose our own pitch.

The facilities were excellent, and spotlessly clean. I am running out of superlatives here! There was even central heating in the shower block, a nice touch on chilly evenings and early mornings. We stayed an extra night, to our planned 3 nights, but had to contact the owner using the free phone in the always-open reception area, to get him to come and collect our money, as he isn't actually living on site at the present moment.

I would recommend this site to anyone who wants a really quality site, and quiet, with superb views and close to all the places you might want to visit on the Lleyn peninsula. (We found the other side of the way up to the site, which was easier to drive up and down because it is shorter!).

The site didn't have a children's playground which suited us as an older couple, but there was plenty of room in the lower field for children play. If we are ever down on the Lleyn again, this site will be our first choice.

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Pwllheli      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5427 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019