Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bolmynydd Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli > Bolmynydd Camping Park > Reviews

Bolmynydd Camping Park
Bolmynydd
Llanbedrog
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 7UP
Tel: 07882 850 820  or  07988277943
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 57 Reviews
                9/10 from 57 Reviews

Photos (8)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anste 3 reviews from this member

 Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bolmynydd. Owner very helpful and friendly. At first glance the facility block looks a bit small but everything is there, plenty of showers and loos, very clean. Washing up area great with free microwave and free freezer facility for your ice packs (something I find lacking of late in many places.

Not much on the site for kids but my lad had his peddle along tractor with him that kept him happy.

Local area is great too, couple of nice gastro pubs in the area and the beach is lovely with beach huts for hire from the National Trust which weren't expensive but ideal base if you have a family. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rochdalemark 1 review from this member

 Just come back from an Easter break at the site.

The site is fairly small but very clean and tidy. Showers / toilets were always clean even though the site was a bit muddy due to the weather.

It can be a bit exposed as we found out on a very windy Sunday night when all the pegs of our tent were pulled free and we weren't the only campers to have an eventful night.

The write up for the site says they have a well stocked tourist information point, but apart from a handful of different leaflets still in boxes, there wasn't anything on display.

The owner was very pleasant and helpful.

Nothing to do for the children and found a big bunch of them always playing football or archery in our field.

The site was very deserted due to the snow we had a couple of days before the Easter weekend, so the owner said we could pitch where we wanted. Fair weather campers eh. Their loss, as it turned out to be great weather apart from that one windy night, and a few showers on the Friday.

If your going by satnav, then don't follow its recommended route up the narrow twisting lane. Turn left at the Londis and Glen-y-weda Pub, and then turn the right by the Chapel. Follow the road up till you get to the camp-site on the right. Its a much shorter route with more passing points.

The pub 10 mins down the lane, gets Very busy with families (has a childs play area at the rear). If you want to eat without the queues and noise, go after 7 when most families have left, they serve food until 9pm

Overall its a very nice site, if a little expensive for what it offers. Great for walks round the headland mind. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Salubrious 1 review from this member

 Had a wet and windy August bank holiday here. The booking was made very late and it was a pleasant surprise to be able to get in at such late notice, especially a clean and tidy site such as this one.

The male toilet block was clean and odour free. The free showers (three) where always warm and the cubicles are roomy, plenty of space to keep clothes dry while you shower. The male block could do with at least one more water closet but that's my only critiscm.

There is an area dedicated for washing up, which housed two sinks. There is also a separate laundry room, with all you need to get clothes cleaned, dried and ironed.

There isn't anything on site to purchase so you need to rely on the local Londis store which is about a 5 minute walk away. A bit more literature of the local attractons would have been nice too, especially with information on places to eat.

The camping area was fine, there are EHU but we didn't go for that. We picked a nice spot (yes we had a choice, and there was plenty of room) near some trees and hedgerow. It gave us some good cover from the wind, but was kinda noisy when the wind really got going. You can't win sometimes :)

I didn't see a dog area, and there was a dog continually off a lead while we were there, so not exactly sure what the policy is. There is also nothing for kids, so expect a bouncing ball to be heading in your direction during some point of your stay.

The roads up to the site are tight, it's strictly single lane with the odd spot for allowing others by.

One final note: We didn't notice any single sex groups, which was refreshing to see, and is a huge plus.

Overall it's a great site - We would go again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joanne181170 11 reviews from this member

 Just returned from spending a week at Bolmynydd, Llanbedrog, Nr Abersoch.

All in all we had a great week here. The site, once we found it, had stunning views. The approach up the very narrow lane is a little 'off putting', however once you've done it a couple of times, it does get easier!

The facilities overall are very good. Toilets always warm and clean. Only 3 showers which I thought we'd have to queue for given the size of the site, but I didn't have to wait for more than a couple of minutes. Plenty of hot water for showers and enough room to hang up your clothes without getting them wet.

There is a laundry room with a dryer and washer. I used the dryer a couple of times to dry towels/beach towels etc as it rained some part of most days and I just couldn't get them dry (2 per 30minutes)this was a great help.

There is a good clean pot washing area with 3 sinks, the freezer for your freezer blocks is also in here - can get a little full at times. I'm sure that I'd read that there was a shop of some kind on site - but I didn't see any sign of one?

Within walking distance you have 2 good beaches (only 10 minute walk - we did it in 15/20 minutes with 2 small children). There is also a Londis shop and a garage with a shop within 15 minute walk and the pub is a 10/15 minute walk, which serves good pub grub, although it can get busy at tea time due to the children being well catered for - there is a play area to keep them entertained.

Overall this is a good family site and we will return again - next time we'll book good weather too! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wilekit 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed at bolmynydd in july, very nice site. Not too crowded, toilets and showers fairly clean, lots of washing up sinks - we did have some heavy rain and high winds the 2nd night, so it all got a bit muddy, but that's only to be expected. Rhodri, the owner, was a lovely fella, very helpful and seemed to be everywhere at once! the number plate fell off our car and he helped put it back on for us. Very child friendly site, the kids all played around the tents quite happily, not especially noisy at night. Local pub serves food, of the 'beefeater' type, ok, but not really our thing and we thought the food was overpriced. VERY steep walk to the beach, although going down was much quicker than coming back :-) variety of sites, the bottom ones being more level. Overall a nice site and we'd recommend it. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camping Cromptons 2 reviews from this member

 As virtual camping virgins, we really did not know what to expect. This was our second time camping in as many months, but the first time was a wet and rainy nightmare in a borrowed tent with no fitted groundsheet! 'Never again' we said, but despite our earlier vows, we were off on another adventure less than a month later, but this time in our own brand new tent!

The site was chosen with friends who came wih us for the area (the Lleyn Peninsula is beautiful) as well as the facilities the site offered.

We couldn't have chosen more wisely - the site was very well laid out, with very clean showers and toilets, separate pot washing area, freezers, washing machines, dryers, electric hook up. Some reviewers had commented on the very narrow road up to the site, but this was part of the fun of our time there - if drivers who met in the middle were both strong willed, you can watch some fine Mexican Stand-Offs!

The weather was mixed, but with good beer and good company, you can't help but have a great time! Would certainly recommend the site to others. One main advantage of the site was that Rhodri the owner, was one of the few site owners in the area who allowed us in the middle of high season to book nightly rather than weekly. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ceejay Flyer 2 reviews from this member

 The site is excellent, with fantastic views in all directions. The facilities were kept spotlessly clean, and the hot water never ran out!

On the down side, access is narrow, and I would recommend the route up from the village rather than that from the other direction. It's shorter and there are more passing places. In places the lane is so narrow you have to wait for pedestrians to move into a passing place. Having said that, the lane is not very busy. We were here 10 days, and I only met a vehicle coming the opposite way on one occasion.

Also, remember the campsite is high on the hill side, so it does get quite breezy, even if it's almost calm at sea level.

Despite this, we would definitely return. The atmosphere is relaxed and very friendly, with plenty of space for children play in. The beach (great bistro/cafe), pub and village stores are all a short walk away. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Susieq01 1 review from this member

 Just returned from 4 days here. Campsite owner friendly and works hard to give people good sized pitches. Ours, with EHU, was sloping somewhat but was otherwise fine.

Toilet & washing facilities clean and with constant hot water - when the site is full, they could do with another toilet block. In the ladies, there were 3 showers & 3 loos. This was fine at night but often a queue in the morning.

This site (like many in the Abersoch area) is on the headland and very exposed - we suffered from very strong winds during our stay. It has a 10 min walk to beach and shop. There are 2 approach roads - both of which are very tight. This was never a problem for us but I wouldn't fancy taking a caravan up there!

If you want a basic, clean campsite in this area this is a good one. However, if I was returning to the area, I personally would look for something with more facilities for the kids 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alisquires 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site again as our family were in the area for the same week.

This time round we'd upgraded to a caravan, previously we had a trailer tent. Unfortunately we got it stuck on the lane, I know you'd have thought we'd have known better having been before but Rhodri's Dad was to the rescue, he took the van down to the road and brought it back up for us and pitched it for us! On the way home the fuel pump went on the car so the AA couldn't get the caravan off the site due to the lane, so Rhodri to the rescue AGAIN! He took our caravan, us and our dog down to the Londis - thanks very much!

We've been to this site three times now and compared to the other 4-5 sites we've visited in between they don't even start to compare.

The facilities are always clean and tidy, the recycling facilities are always tidy and there's plenty of space for your rubbish.

Brilliant site, will definitely be back but we'll use the other access route! In fact we enquired about seasonal pitches this time round. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pathway7 2 reviews from this member

 We had a campervan and tent with our party and electric hook up. The site owner was friendly and helpful Our pitch was a bit slopey but very well maintained. The toilet and shower block was clean and warm with nice hot showers and room to hang your clothes and toiletries. Washing up room was roomy and lots of hot water. Had a freezer for ice packs and a very handy microwave. There was also a room with washing machine dryer and ironing facilities, a must with young children. Great views with shop pub and beach all in walking distance. Lots of places to explore by car. Nice family friendly campsite 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Bolmynydd Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bolmynydd Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bolmynydd Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pwllheli      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5595 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement