Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Bolmynydd Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli > Bolmynydd Camping Park Reviews

Bolmynydd Camping Park
Bolmynydd
Llanbedrog
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 7UP
Tel: 07882 850 820
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 42 Reviews
                9/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alisonme 4 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site, great location and fantastic views.

All the pitches are marked out, it looked like the majority have access to electricity, and they are all a good size. The bottom field is more spacious than the top, and there were often children playing in the centre in the early evening.

The facilities are clean and well maintained, although the showers aren't the best I've come across. They are a bit low on pressure, and are the push button type, with no temperature control or height adjustment. That said they are hot, clean, and free.

The dishwashing area is indoors, with three sinks and very hot water. There is a hairdryer in the ladies (20p for 3 minutes I believe), and apparently a socket in the laundry room where you can use your straighteners. We didn't use the laundry facilities. There doesn't seem to be a regular time for cleaning, which caught us out a couple of times.

The shop, beach, pub and bistro are all about 10 minutes walk, although it is uphill on the way back! The pub has a good adventure playground, but we preferred the food at the Bistro. The beach is lovely, and the shop (Londis) is well stocked. It is well worth walking up to the headland, its lovely and the view is superb.

My only real issue with this site is the access road. It is very narrow, and we did have a couple of reversing issues during our weeks stay, though thankfully not with the trailer attached!

All in all though a great site, and well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dfawatts 2 reviews from this member

This is an excellent campsite which seems to cater for all users. When we initially arrived, we were a little dismayed to see all the caravans and large family tents closely pitched to each other and thought that we might have to join in the order. However, the excellent owner spotted the look on our faces and said 'I think you might prefer the field beyond the hedge with the view' and he was spot on.

If you want hook-up, neatly arranged pitches then this site caters for you. If you want something more random with space to kick a ball, fly a kite or throw a Frisbee then this site is also perfect.

The facilities are probably the cleanest and smartest I have ever seen. The beach is only a 10 minute walk or 3 minute cycle with a bit of a climb back up the hill. There are also some lovely walks straight from the campsite. There's also an excellent restaurant called Bistro on the Beach which is worth visiting.

One odd thing - there are a lot of women walking around in pyjamas on this site, never seen that before.

Would we go back? Yes.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Woowoo06 1 review from this member

Had another great week been for the last 4 years and will be back next year. Very clean toilet block with good showers and hot water.

Owner very friendly and helpful.

Nice walk to local pub with a great kids play area, good food and beer!

Llanbedrog beach is a gem, fantastic views and very safe for kids, a tough walk back to the site though as it is up hill all the way!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Etherdwickgirl 4 reviews from this member

This is the 8th year we have been to this site and what a fantastic site it is.

The shower block and toilets are always very clean, always hot water, free showers. The washing up area is kept clean and tidy. Excellent washing machine and dryer. Freezers for ice packs.

The site is based in 3 fields, you can get a choice, we go for the bottom field. The owner is always around, very helpful and friendly.

This site if family friendly, no same sex groups, families only.

Beach 5 mins walk, big hill back but well worth it. Excellent site

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gobezza 1 review from this member

Just got back from our 1st ever camping trip and have to say it was a success. We went to Bolmynydd on the recommendation of this site and are very glad we did.

A really nice looking site with some tourers and tents mixed in. The approach is a little narrow with passing places but during our 4 night stay only caused a couple of reversing issues.

The price, I believe, was fair. Me, my wife, daughter & dog with EHU for tent, 100.

The site was laid out over a couple of fields and everything was nicely spaced out.

The facilities were as described, one building contained everything.

Site office with array of leaflets and American style washer, 3.00 per wash, and American style dryer, 2.00 per load. In the wash area was even a baby bath.

Female showers (didn't go in there, although our dog did at one point). Male showers, several sinks, couple of loos and 3 showers. Very clean, very good showers with plenty of hot water (was never cold when I went in).

Dishwashing area, 3 sinks with again loads of hot water. You need to time this right though as there can be a queue, also people did seem reluctant to clean the sink after themselves and just pull the plug out and walk away, I don't like the thought of washing my plates in another man's bubbles. There was also a Microwave & a Freezer in here for Ice Packs only, (full to bursting with 'em, 4 of mine are still there!)

Free Wi-fi which was a must for us, a little slow but to be expected really.

Two fantastic beaches in walking distance, one is busier than the other as it has a Bistro on it (Posh Cafe really!).

Would I recommend Bolmynydd? absolutely. Going back in August with the In-Laws!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anste 3 reviews from this member

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bolmynydd. Owner very helpful and friendly. At first glance the facility block looks a bit small but everything is there, plenty of showers and loos, very clean. Washing up area great with free microwave and free freezer facility for your ice packs (something I find lacking of late in many places.

Not much on the site for kids but my lad had his peddle along tractor with him that kept him happy.

Local area is great too, couple of nice gastro pubs in the area and the beach is lovely with beach huts for hire from the National Trust which weren't expensive but ideal base if you have a family.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rochdalemark 1 review from this member

Just come back from an Easter break at the site.

The site is fairly small but very clean and tidy. Showers / toilets were always clean even though the site was a bit muddy due to the weather.

It can be a bit exposed as we found out on a very windy Sunday night when all the pegs of our tent were pulled free and we weren't the only campers to have an eventful night.

The write up for the site says they have a well stocked tourist information point, but apart from a handful of different leaflets still in boxes, there wasn't anything on display.

The owner was very pleasant and helpful.

Nothing to do for the children and found a big bunch of them always playing football or archery in our field.

The site was very deserted due to the snow we had a couple of days before the Easter weekend, so the owner said we could pitch where we wanted. Fair weather campers eh. Their loss, as it turned out to be great weather apart from that one windy night, and a few showers on the Friday.

If your going by satnav, then don't follow its recommended route up the narrow twisting lane. Turn left at the Londis and Glen-y-weda Pub, and then turn the right by the Chapel. Follow the road up till you get to the camp-site on the right. Its a much shorter route with more passing points.

The pub 10 mins down the lane, gets Very busy with families (has a childs play area at the rear). If you want to eat without the queues and noise, go after 7 when most families have left, they serve food until 9pm

Overall its a very nice site, if a little expensive for what it offers. Great for walks round the headland mind.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Salubrious 1 review from this member

Had a wet and windy August bank holiday here. The booking was made very late and it was a pleasant surprise to be able to get in at such late notice, especially a clean and tidy site such as this one.

The male toilet block was clean and odour free. The free showers (three) where always warm and the cubicles are roomy, plenty of space to keep clothes dry while you shower. The male block could do with at least one more water closet but that's my only critiscm.

There is an area dedicated for washing up, which housed two sinks. There is also a separate laundry room, with all you need to get clothes cleaned, dried and ironed.

There isn't anything on site to purchase so you need to rely on the local Londis store which is about a 5 minute walk away. A bit more literature of the local attractons would have been nice too, especially with information on places to eat.

The camping area was fine, there are EHU but we didn't go for that. We picked a nice spot (yes we had a choice, and there was plenty of room) near some trees and hedgerow. It gave us some good cover from the wind, but was kinda noisy when the wind really got going. You can't win sometimes :)

I didn't see a dog area, and there was a dog continually off a lead while we were there, so not exactly sure what the policy is. There is also nothing for kids, so expect a bouncing ball to be heading in your direction during some point of your stay.

The roads up to the site are tight, it's strictly single lane with the odd spot for allowing others by.

One final note: We didn't notice any single sex groups, which was refreshing to see, and is a huge plus.

Overall it's a great site - We would go again.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joanne181170 11 reviews from this member

Just returned from spending a week at Bolmynydd, Llanbedrog, Nr Abersoch.

All in all we had a great week here. The site, once we found it, had stunning views. The approach up the very narrow lane is a little 'off putting', however once you've done it a couple of times, it does get easier!

The facilities overall are very good. Toilets always warm and clean. Only 3 showers which I thought we'd have to queue for given the size of the site, but I didn't have to wait for more than a couple of minutes. Plenty of hot water for showers and enough room to hang up your clothes without getting them wet.

There is a laundry room with a dryer and washer. I used the dryer a couple of times to dry towels/beach towels etc as it rained some part of most days and I just couldn't get them dry (2 per 30minutes)this was a great help.

There is a good clean pot washing area with 3 sinks, the freezer for your freezer blocks is also in here - can get a little full at times. I'm sure that I'd read that there was a shop of some kind on site - but I didn't see any sign of one?

Within walking distance you have 2 good beaches (only 10 minute walk - we did it in 15/20 minutes with 2 small children). There is also a Londis shop and a garage with a shop within 15 minute walk and the pub is a 10/15 minute walk, which serves good pub grub, although it can get busy at tea time due to the children being well catered for - there is a play area to keep them entertained.

Overall this is a good family site and we will return again - next time we'll book good weather too!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wilekit 4 reviews from this member

Stayed at bolmynydd in july, very nice site. Not too crowded, toilets and showers fairly clean, lots of washing up sinks - we did have some heavy rain and high winds the 2nd night, so it all got a bit muddy, but that's only to be expected. Rhodri, the owner, was a lovely fella, very helpful and seemed to be everywhere at once! the number plate fell off our car and he helped put it back on for us. Very child friendly site, the kids all played around the tents quite happily, not especially noisy at night. Local pub serves food, of the 'beefeater' type, ok, but not really our thing and we thought the food was overpriced. VERY steep walk to the beach, although going down was much quicker than coming back :-) variety of sites, the bottom ones being more level. Overall a nice site and we'd recommend it.

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Pwllheli      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1391 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019