Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Castel Le Chateau De Chanteloup

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Sille Le Philippe > Castel Le Chateau De Chanteloup Reviews

Castel Le Chateau De Chanteloup
Chanteloup
Sille Le Philippe
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
72460
Tel: 0033 02 43 27 51 07
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 148
Open: 01/06 To 01/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 53 Reviews
                9/10 from 53 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ronsar 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a week's stay at Chateau de Chanteloup and will definitely be returning for two weeks next year.

Well this was our first trip abroad with our caravan so we didn't really know where to start. After searching Trip Advisor and reading reviews we really liked the look of Chateau de Chanteloup, and boy were we not disappointed.

We had a few problems on the booking site so decided to ring them. Dominique (the owner) sorted the reservation and all the reviews about his customer service are spot on, he really cares about the people that stay with him. We expected to pay prior to the holiday but no at the end was fine.

When we arrived we were immediately welcomed by Dominique, who stopped his work to welcome us and show us where reception was. One of his Dream Team were immediately on hand to show us to the pitch that was big enough to fit three caravans on! There was a choice of in front or behind the chateu with a full sunny aspect, in the woods, or we had our own hedged plot with part sun part shade.

There was a hog roast reception on the night that we arrived but unfortunately all of the tickets had gone, it looked scrumptious though. The team work hard with their entertainment and this seems to be about three times a week.

We found the facilities on site first class. The showers are the best I have seen and happened to be better than mine at home! They were immaculate, plenty of so three was never a queue, and also a separate family shower which contained two showers and a toilet, a built in baby bath, and baby changing, which is great for young families.

There is an adequate swimming pool, the main section heated, a further section colder (refreshing on a hot day) and a paddling section. This was never over full and my children would have spent the whole holiday in there if they could. The pool was surrounded by a hedge and then a pretty garden area with sun loungers and tables etc. This was a great place to relax and unwind whilst the kids splashed around.

Next to the pool was a small children's play area with bouncy castle, swings and beautiful kids wooden houses at the edge of the wooded area.

There is a on site shop and the baker brings fresh bread every morning. An on site restaurant for people who don't want to cook serving what looked like really good quality food. A games room, bar and lovely terrace complete things.

My kids loved the kids club with Sophie who catered very well for children who spoke different languages. There was also entertainment in the afternoon if you wanted to join in. I watched a great Zumba session (didn't do as I was still wet from swimming!), in which Dominique was dancing with everyone else.

We loved this site and all of the extra touches that Dominique and his team put in place to ensure that your stay is 5*. Nothing is ever too much trouble.

The kids had a great time and we felt okay about giving them a bit of freedom, they were able to ride there bikes, play plenty of ping pong and make some new friends.

I would highly recommend this site and so much so that we have now decided that we will be going back next year and not travel further south as we had originally planned to do

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vwontour 3 reviews from this member

We have visited this lovely site in summer 2011 and 2013 and found it really clean and welcoming each time, a real treat! Based near Le Mans, its a good stopover (although this can easily turn into several days!) if you're visiting the west coast or to/from Calais/Paris etc. And the perfect relaxing antidote if you have had to endure Disney! The facilities, showers etc. Are always spotless and tidy, and pitches are well laid out with loads of space. We ate at the restaurant (usual good French campsite menu) burgers, steak and a local dish, and all was of good quality and reasonably priced. The shop had local produce, and bread/croissants/pain au chocolat etc. Are delivered by the local baker in the mornings. A relaxed ambience where you can pitch in the woods (our favourite) and enjoy the surrounding nature. A clean pool of average size, with loungers on surrounding grass, where you can happily while away the time with a drink and book, whilst the kids swim and play. Pool activities (water polo etc. ) are scheduled for an hour or so a day, so try and avoid these times if you want to swim, as there is only one pool. We really enjoyed the impromptu BBQs etc. Too (with free wine and cheese tasting!), as they resemble family 'get togethers' rather than 'organised entertainment' (which we usually avoid), a nice touch. The owner Dominic and his family and staff are extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful, and make you feel like you are part of the family. We have met many regulars on the site that stay for weeks because it is like a 'home from home' and we have always extended our stay, as we have enjoyed it so much. We generally don't like large sites, preferring peace and tranquillity. But as there are only 90 pitches, all very well spaced out, you never feel crowed and because of this the site still has the intimacy of a smaller set up. We have found the site always peaceful, as you can easily get away from any sounds from the Château (although this is minimal) by choosing a quieter pitch slightly away from the main area. Unusually for France English seems to be spoken as a matter of course, as most guests are British with some Dutch and German visitors also. So if you want to practice your French, just tell the staff and they will happily accommodate! Yes it is on the expensive side compared to some other French sites. But we feel it is well worth the cost for the experience of staying at a lovely Château with a relaxed intimate atmosphere and great facilities, where the staff truly make you feel like family. Highly recommend we will return!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Zersty 2 reviews from this member

Very nice and open campsite with quite a unique layout for pitches in the open fields, caravans/tents/motorhomes/etc. Are placed in a circle around a grass area, allows for a lot of space for your pitch and for those with children, a place for them to play whilst you can also watch them.

Toilets and showers all clean and water is usually a good temperature. However there was pop/rap being played in one of the toilet blocks which was interesting.

Bar had a good selection and was not too expensive. Restaurant was enjoyable and food was quite good although the prices were slightly higher than what I'm used to. Shop on site that sells groceries as well as alcohol and cigarettes.

Lots of communal events such as barbecues and also a hog roast, wine is supplied by the site and you can drink as much as you like. Entertainment on some nights during the week that can sometimes run a bit late and is quite loud. Different activities organised during the week such as karting or canoeing.

Large swimming pool with lots of room around for sun-bathing. Reasonable play area with bouncy castle. Kids club very good and English is spoken.

Most of the staff are friendly and welcoming and speak very good English. The owner of the site is fantastic and definitely makes his guests feel welcome.

Close to Le Mans and plenty to explore nearby.

Campfire at night in the forest for teenagers and young adults, which is something very nice as not many sites have something for older ages.

My only concern with the site is that it is quite expensive in comparison to other places I have stayed, value for money depends in what you are looking for.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dirksdonuts 9 reviews from this member

Stayed here in August 2013 for 6 nights and found the site to be one of the best I have stayed on. The toilet and shower blocks are very clean and brand new with the exception of the mens showers which are due to be replaced this autumn ready for next season.

We did not eat in the bar/café but were told the food was great. The bar area was great but a little pricey. No more than anywhere else though. There were great facilities including the pool which the two children loved.

The area was nicely out of the way some 10-12 miles from Le Mans city and when we cycled out of the camp each day we struggled to find people or cars along the lanes directly from the site. It was heaven.

There were however supermarkets within easy reach for stores and the site has a well stocked shop anyway for basics.

We will return in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Matthewc 4 reviews from this member

Our only mistake was to make this a 'stop off' on the journey - we should have spent our whole holiday here!

As soon as we arrived the owner greeted us warmly and passed us on to his friendly and welcoming staff, who all had a brilliant command of English. We were shown to the wooded area, where we could choose any pitch we wanted.

The pool area was lovely, the heated pool just the right temperature and a cold pool that was refreshing! Plenty of sunbeds and chairs.

The children's playground was well maintained and the little play houses were a favourite with the 4 year old, whilst the bouncy castle entertained the 6 year old.

We ate in the restaurant on the evening; what a fantastic meal - we both had the burger, which was fantastic and reasonably priced.

A lovely site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RNEALE 2 reviews from this member

This is a difficult review to write as we did not actually stay in the end due to my wife not being well when we arrived but we did take the chance to look around and speak to others who were staying. The site was fantastic with a heated pool, a grocery, a bar, games room, fishing lake and a great shower block. Bread can be ordered to be delivered in the morning and the restaurant was lovely. The actual pitches were lovely and flat in amongst the trees or on the meadow but all of them were a good size. The staff were fantastic and really helpful with a great welcome and very sympathetic of the fact that we could not stay. Genuinely sorry we could not stay but will definitely go back. Several people I spoke to were staying longer as so nice.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JULIED444 61 reviews from this member

Extremely warm welcome and very efficient staff giving us all the low down on what the site offers. We stayed here for one night on a stop-over so managed to stay in the wooded field just by the entrance gate without having to unhitch the caravan. They were very specific about where and how to park.

Didn’t have time to use any of the facilities apart from the toilet and shower block. We used the one by the Chateau, which you do have to pass a very busy restaurant with quite a few people sitting outside, which I did find a bit odd.

The usual standards you expect from a Castel site and of course the usual price for August 2013, 2 adults, 1 child under 12 years, caravan and electricity for one night was 39 euros

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pili pala 9 reviews from this member

What a fabulous site.

We have just returned from 10 days at this well run and friendly site. We were given two choices of pitch on arrival one in the woods and the one we chose which was at the back of the chateau facing the lake. This has to be one of the nicest sites we have stayed in.

Our pitch was flat and large. Plenty of room for our bell tent, tarp and car. The site is broken up into a few smaller areas with pitches around the edges giving it a nice feel with a good mixture of tents, caravans and motor homes. The owners lent us a fridge and so we had electricity for the first time ever. Cold beer, wine, meat and cheese! What a treat!

The ladies toilets and showers were spotless. They look as though they have been recently done up. As was the large washing up area with plenty of sinks and again very clean. Bins around the site were also regularly emptied during the day.

We made use of the swimming pools every day, occasionally braving the unheated part. The loungers and deck chairs surrounding the pool on the grass were very nice. The children also had fun rowing on the lake and trying out the fishing rods (they caught loads of fish). There was also table tennis.

Fresh bread and croissants could be bought every morning and the children enjoyed using their French to order!

We didn't use the kids club but there was plenty organised and it looked well run. There were also often events like bbqs organised in the evening at the front of the chateau near the bar, but this didn't bother us at all at the back of the chateau (it might do if you we're staying on the field facing the front, although they tended to finish at 11). The people running the site couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.

If you do go we highly recommend a visit to Le Mans, the old town is a real treat. And I wouldn't miss the night time light show it was fabulous.

All in all to be recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dxflyer 5 reviews from this member

Used the site as a stop over on route to Calais.

Was expecting a lot more from the 5 star rating if I am being honest. I did have a walk around the site and it is very pretty and it has all the facilities as advertised but the part which I was most disappointed with were the actual pitches. The whole site is on gentle slope and the vans have to be arranged in a circle so depending on your position it may be harder to get leveled up in some parts than others.

The short stay caravans were placed close to the gate in a very uneven field. There was almost total tree cover so not much chance of enjoying any of the great sunshine this year. There was electrical hookup and an extension lead was made available for a small deposit as the hookups were a long way from the caravan. There was a football pitch and volleyball courts in this area but they had not seen a lawn mower for a while.

The staff were very friendly and helpful both at check in and for information about the local area.

I can't comment too much on the local area as we didn't stay long.

In summary the site must have ticked all the facility boxes for its 5 star rating but in the years we have been caravanning I don't think I have pitched in worse. Needless to say glad I was only there for a short time.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NellyMacGlasgow 2 reviews from this member

If Carlsberg did campsites.

Part of me wants to say don't go. So I can guarantee myself a pitch for next year. But I can't lie! This is the best campsite we have ever stayed at!

On arrival you will be welcomed by one of the 'Dreamteam' who ensure that you are happy and settled in. Aymerique our greeter even insisted that he give us a tour in the buggy to choose our pitch so that we were happy with our location for our stay. All pitches are of a good size and you can choose either beside the chateau and lake or in the more shaded woods. The pool area is the most beautiful I have ever seen on a campsite - it has the most comfortable loungers and chairs and the flowers and greenery give it a relaxing environment even with children having fun in the pool. The children's club was well organised and entertained children from 3-12 when my son was there. Thank you to Dick - for your hard work. There is also a brilliant bouncy castle and children's play area with little wooden cottages which gave the little ones a place to play away from the sun and which was beautifully kept.

Owners of the chateau are so charming you feel that you are truly guests in their home. During our stay they hosted a fantastic Bastille Day BBQ - with free drinks and coffee and BBQs set up (this created a lovely way for us to meet other campers) and the evening ended with a lantern walk into the village of Sille-le-Phillippe for an amazing fireworks display.

The bar area and outside garden lounge are beautiful for a drink at anytime of day. Although we didn't visit the restaurant - all fellow campers gave it good reviews. Toilet block very modern and clean (if your pitch is nearer the entrance I would advise the walk to the main block is worthwhile). We made friends with people staying in the gite - it was lovely and very spacious!

The surrounding area of the campsite is lovely - woodland walks, where the children's club had a den building competition (I think the adults had as much fun as the little ones) and the lake where I guarantee you will catch a fish!

We are keen cyclists and it is a lovely rural setting with a vast array of quiet roads for you to enjoy!

This small campsite environment makes you feel, as a parent, very relaxed and content that you can allow your child some freedom to explore and enjoy the surroundings! We will definitely be going back!

Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Sille Le Philippe      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5742 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019