Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castel Le Chateau De Chanteloup

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Sille Le Philippe > Castel Le Chateau De Chanteloup Reviews

Castel Le Chateau De Chanteloup
Chanteloup
Sille Le Philippe
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
72460
Tel: 0033 02 43 27 51 07
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 148
Open: 01/06 To 01/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 53 Reviews
                9/10 from 53 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Skiers 18 reviews from this member

A Great Site - July 16th 2013

This is a wonderful site and one of my favourites. A lovely family run site which really shows.

This year we only stayed for one night breaking our route to the Vendee. As soon as I got here I wondered why I had only booked one night. The quiet and relaxing atmosphere with the birds singing and glass of wine in hand really warrants at least a three night break to get into the holiday spirit.

The lovely friendly welcome which always greets you on your arrival after hours on the road, is always very nice. Henri took us to our pitch, we suggested another sunny one which he changed for us with no problem.

They have updated the toilet and shower facilities over the winter, ladies and gents toilets are now separate. The shower blocks have also had a revamp, lovely hot showers, all very clean and very nice. All the grass pitches were short grass and everything was very clean and tidy.

We will be back for longer next time.

Thanks to the family keep it up.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ajhut 7 reviews from this member

We stopped here for 1 night on our way to La Garangeoire in the Vendee. The drive from Calais was about 5 hours towing our caravan. We were given a very friendly welcome and shown to our pitch which was thankfully close to the trees in the shade around a large open field. Although pitches were not clearly defined there was loads of space. Water was very close but it was difficult to find were to empty the waste.

We headed straight for the pools, which although small, was in a lovely garden type area with plenty of sun beds.

The only fault with the site is that the toilets and showers were a long walk from our caravan, but they were clean. The women’s showers had been refurbished and were very good in terms of temperature control and water pressure. The toilets were unisex but this seems to be the norm in a lot of places in France and there were plenty of them.

We ate in the restaurant and had a very good meal although I wouldn’t recommend the Pizza’s.

We would definitely stop at this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Briary 14 reviews from this member

On our way up through France to get the ferry from ijmeudin, Amsterdam over to Newcastle as we live in Scotland. Originally booked in for two nights but stayed for three nights here and would have stayed for more if time had permitted. From the moment we arrived everyone was so nice. The toilet and shower blocks were first class. Two hours free wifi given on check in. The price for a days wifi was 5euros or ten euros unlimited. The castel chain should be very proud of this site being in their brochure as it fully deserves it. First class. Large pitches and beautiful walks. Extremely peaceful in the evening. Loved it.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jules- 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 14 night from 28th July and what a gem we found.

This is our third year in France with our tent and it just gets better.

The chateau itself has been in the owner's family since 1960 and the campsite opened in 1974. The site itself is only open for three months per year, and they have many regular visitors - some have been going for 30 years, and it's not difficult to see why.

The chateau owner, Dominique, is very friendly and can be found on site every day, often from early morning to late at night. His team, the 'Dream Team' are a great bunch and are always on hand to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable.

The Team organise daily activities, some on-site, and some not - like karting at the Alain Prost circuit in Le Mans, or paintballing. A hilarious time was had by all at this years Chanteloup Olympics, which was followed by free drinks for all provided by Dominique.

This is the first site I have been to where the owner seems to have the interest of his guests above making money! Dominique put on a BBQ while we were there which was free - take our own food, and drink and he provided tables, chairs, BBQs, per dinner drinks and tea and coffee afterwards. What a fantastic night.

This is the type of site you can go to and just relax, you don't need to go off site every day. The pool is lovely, there are loads of sun loungers. There is a fishing lake, which is well stocked with carp and catfish. Kids club each day for an hour at 11am (unless Dick sleeps in!). And above all a good laugh, with very nice people.

Amenities are well kept, the main block has been refitted for 2012.

Pitches are very spacious. We were within the walled garden where the pitches were around the perimeter leaving loads of open space so that you had loads of privacy, in my opinion the best pitches on the site - open, sunny and peaceful.

We will definitely be returning to this site, this is definitely the best site we have ever stayed on. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Travel time from Eurotunnel 4. 5 hours on excellent roads.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Zinzan74 13 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 1 night en route further south and wish we could have stayed longer.

They have an area set aside for 1 nighters, and it was perfect for our needs.

The site is spacious, clean showers, water near your pitch, decent swimming pool, our kids loved the free bouncy castle. You need a 2 pin plug for electric, but the site had plenty of these you could borrow for a small deposit.

Staff were friendly and helpful; no doubt we will be back, but next time will see something of Le Mans itself.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Skiers 18 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for a one night stop over last year on our way to Vendee, we liked it that much we returned this year, for four nights before we travelled to the coast.

It has a lovely friendly feel with exceptionally good helpful staff.

On entry of the gates, you pass the small orchard, this is for the one night stays who are travelling on a early the next day. A small toilet/shower/pot wash block.

As you see the lovely Chateau, this is where the reception is located. We had a good check in with friendly staff and we were told which pitch was ours and was taken down to the area, we over looked the lake, very nice. Water near by and hookups, if you need a long extension lead depending were you pitch reception some spare leads ( a 50 euro deposit which you get back when you leave).

The site has three large separate grass areas, the pitches are on the perimeter of the area a bit like a wagon train circle and with a small paddock, and more pitches in the woods this is very dark because of the trees and not a lot of sun light, some people may like this, when its hot but not for me! Nearly all pitches need levelling blocks.

A bit of a walk to the toilet facilities depending were you pitch, lots of toilets unisex, ladies showers and wash rooms updated this year and men's showers and wash rooms still awaiting a make over.

Plenty of hot water and very clean.

Pot wash and laundry facilities. Always clean.

Two swimming pools and children's pool, the middle one warmer water. Plenty of sun beds and chairs on a grassed area, a child friendly gate entry. A free bouncy castle for the children near the pool.

A well stocked fishing lake, free to use. We were watching a man fishing for two days he didn't seem to catch much, a small boy caught about 40 small fish, then a boy 8 years a cheap rod with bread as bait caught a Carp about 15 kilo in weight, his brother had to go for his father to help him land it, he, the father, was nervous of the size of the fish and my husband unhooked the line.

Inside bar with a joining outside area, also easy chairs under a large gazebo for coffee and drinks, a lovely relaxing area watching the world go by, Wi Fi in this area, 30 mins free then buy more time. Seemed open all day and into the evening.

A small food shop on site and restaurant, we didn't use but heard good reports. Bread van every morning from the local village 8. 30am for baguettes.

Supermarkets near by, food about 30% higher than the UK. Diesel £1. 10 a litre (2012) at supermarkets.

Le Mans well worth a visit a lovely old city.

We will return again.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ammdkids 22 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights in July on our way down to the Vendee and like others could have stayed longer. The toilets were clean. The sink cubicles were deluxe and plenty of showers.

The pool was lovely and warm. There was a lot of space and it felt safe for the kids. There was a quiz on one of the nights which was great fun. A bottle of wine, sweets for the kids and nibbles were provided for each table free of charge and there was a great atmosphere.

The following night was the opening ceremony for the Olympic games which was shown on a large TV set and again a good atmosphere.

The weather was roasting until our 3rd day when I was very impressed with the owner driving around in his buggy warning us all of an orange alert for storms so we all put a few extra pegs in etc.

The owners of the caravan next to us had gone out leaving everything out and windows open etc and quite a few people mucked in and did what we could to ensure their caravan was okay.

My kids attended kids club twice and although only on for an hour they enjoyed it.

I would definitely return on my way further south.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Justin1971 2 reviews from this member

Great relaxed site. Stayed here for 2 nights on way to the vendee, with wife & children (2 girls 9, and boy 5)

Very large grasses pitches, set in beautiful grounds of chateaux. Kids had plenty of room to run around, and venture in woods and around lake. Pleasant swimming pool and free bouncy castle.

There was a herb garden where you pick your own to go with your food for the barbie. Nice touch.

Nice little restaurant and bar. All staff friendly and helpful.

We enjoyed a pleasant day out in Le Mans, a lot nicer than expected, with some fabulous medieval architecture. Think York without the crowds and hype.

Could have enjoyed a few more days here.

Toilets and showers were good

Also excellent fresh bread and croissant delivered daily from local bakery.

We would definitely recommend a stay here, either as a stop off or a longer break

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Savvy sue 1 review from this member

We visited at the beginning of July- fabulous welcome. Tranquil site with amazing mature trees. A do nothing enjoy nature site. Great restaurant too. Bee f flank was delicious. Very small shop- but local baker visits every morning. Loo block clean with plenty of hot water. Freezer available for freezing own ice packs.

Large pitches round edge of field facing on to the chateau. Highly recommended for peace quiet and do nothing relaxing. Or pitches further out with just as much space.

Walks in grounds of chateau if you feel a spot of activity coming on.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sammyjk 5 reviews from this member

Wonderful camp site, situated in the pretty well kept grounds of the Château.

We visited with our children (age 4 and 7) for 4 nights on our way down to the Dordogne at the beginning of June. The camp site was very quiet (we were told that they would be full the following week for the Le Mans 24hr). The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and always gave a friendly greeting.

Kids loved the pool, the main one was pleasantly warm. The table tennis was also a hit, as was feeding the fish in the lake.

Toilet and Shower facilities were clean and the family shower room was a real bonus.

Loved the fact the local baker delivered fresh bread and croissants each morning, and the children loved the fact that they could ask for it!

Didn't see that much of the local area as we couldn't drag the kids out of the pool!

All in all a very relaxing few days, hope to go back next year and stay for longer!

Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Sille Le Philippe      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6114 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019