Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castel Le Chateau De Chanteloup

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Sille Le Philippe > Castel Le Chateau De Chanteloup Reviews

Castel Le Chateau De Chanteloup
Chanteloup
Sille Le Philippe
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
72460
Tel: 0033 02 43 27 51 07
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 148
Open: 01/06 To 01/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 53 Reviews
                9/10 from 53 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Odyssean 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 days on way north from Cantal region. As mentioned on other reviews it is a lovely location and we got a great pitch with plenty of space.

However we had 2 key issues with this site compared to the many others we have stayed at and in particular compared to other Castels sites. The toilets were far from the cleanest we have experienced elsewhere, not filthy but not particularly clean either.

Our biggest issue was with the noise at night. On the second night of our stay a small group were making good use of the piano in the bar. This started off being quite pleasant background music however it went on and on and on. There are clear signs that noise should stop around the site at 11pm, however this continued until 2am!

The drunk barman and few mates then proceeded to roam around until about 2. 30am shouting and swearing leading to a nearby camper getting up to have 'words' with them as they had scared his children.

Very loud and bad enough to have a number of guests on other pitches complain the following morning.

We raised this next morning but the owner refused to acknowledge any issue and certain wasn't interested in doing anything. Lady at reception was great and embarrassed about the problem, but if owner doesn't care then unlikely to be addressed.

Given earlier reviews we may just have been unlucky with timing, however it was bad enough for us to not risk going back.

If you are looking for clean and quiet, be aware that you are taking a chance on this one.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Davegatland 6 reviews from this member

What a gem. Situated in the spacious grounds of a beautiful and well maintained chateau, the site provides an idyllic setting for a quiet and relaxing break. The Sarthe area is beautiful but relatively unexploited commercially and under appreciated by tourists. The Chateau de Chanteloup is best suited to those seeking country pleasures and tranquillity. Those looking for entertainment for young children would probably do better to look for a more commercially orientated site with organised activities laid on. If however, you're looking for peace and quiet and prefer to make your own entertainment you'll need to go a long way to match this site.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Julie s 11 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for 2 nights to break up our journey home from further south. It is a lovely well run site and I really wished that could have stayed longer.

On arrival we were given a very friendly welcome and was shown to our pitch by one of the enthusiastic team who help run the site.

The campsite is in the grounds of a lovely chateau. The reception and bar are in the chateau whilst the old outbuildings in the courtyard have been turned into a restaurant, a small shop and toilet/shower blocks. The showers are good although slightly dated but somehow seem to fit with in the lovely flower covered old buildings that they are in. There are 3 big fields each with pitches situated all around the edge whilst leaving the middle free giving a nice feeling of space. There are also woodland pitches for those who prefer shade. As this site also seems to be used for stopovers there are two nice big areas by the campsite gates for people staying just one night with an early start the next morning.

Every morning the baker from a nearby village comes to the site to sell bread.

For those wishing to take part there is organised entertainment. A children's club, afternoon activities on and off site and occasional evening entertainment(there was a BBQ evening on one evening during our stay).

The pool is very nice and there is a lovely lawned area around it with plenty of chairs and sunloungers.

There is a pretty little fishing lake with ducks on it and small boats left out for those who wish to use them. There is a small children's playarea. My children also enjoyed exploring the campsite woods.

On our arrival we were advised by reception that although we have young children we should really try to make it into Le Mans for the free nightime light show (La Nuit des Chimeres, - Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday nights in July and August). We did make it and it was fantastic, definitely one of the highlights of our holiday in France this year.

Many people that we spoke to said they return to the site year after year and it is easy to see why. We really liked this site and would definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robin55 4 reviews from this member

This is a superb campsite in the grounds of a beautiful chateau! The owner greets with a handshake and has a team of lively youngsters who are very happy to help and chat. We were there for 14th July and we were led by Monsieur to the village in procession with paper lanterns to join in the celebrations and fireworks. We didn't like the pitch we were given because it was deep in the woods, so it was no problem for the staff to help us choose a spot we liked and help us move there! The pool is not heated but it is surrounded by lawns and tables and chairs and sunbeds and is a lovely spot. The shower blocks are old, but wonderfully clean and the showers were the best we had in France. The restaurant is fine and not too expensive. It also does take away chicken and chips. The bar is expensive but lively and you can either sit on the terrace or under a huge beautiful tree. The staff were always organising football matches and games with the children and there are paths in the woods and a small lake with boats.

You are very near Le Mans racetrack and can visit the Museum etc. Le Mans is a very interesting place with its links to Richard the Lionheart and our Plantagenet Kings. The medieval part is full of shops and restaurants. We had a very good meal there very reasonable price. The tourist information is good and there is a lot to see.

The campsite is used as an overnight stop, but also people stay. The ambience is great. I would certainly go again.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dvdjohnston 5 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site as an overnight stop on our way to the Vendee.

It it a beautiful site with pitches placed around a lovely lake and some placed more within a lightly wooded area. We were pitched in the latter.

It was a very picturesque site and I really liked the fact that pitches were not uniform. There was a lovely ambience on site when we arrived and we would loved to have spent slightly more time on the campsite.

In terms of facilities for the kids there is a small swimming pool and small playpark. However, I don't think that the facilities were sufficient enough to have kept the attention of young kids for a two week holiday. Rather, I feel that it would have been more suited to older families/couples seeking a relaxing setting with a good book(s) and a glass of fine wine (my own personal opinion)!

My comment above is not intended to be in anyway critical. Indeed, when my own kids are a bit older, I reckon we could easily lose ourselves in the peace and tranquillity of this site (and my Cadac would be certain to get a good outing here).

We didn't use the restaurant or the bar, mainly as we were only overnighting and seeking an early departure next morning.

Whilst I personally wouldn't plan to stay for a two week holiday (due to the age of my kids - who look for/expect slightly more facilities), I would most definitely recommend for an overnight stop (or a slightly longer break)!

The tranquillity and ambience was alluring, had it not been for my 7, 5 and 4 year olds who, unfortunately, don't always share daddy's perspective.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lottydog 19 reviews from this member

A very good site with a choice of open and shaded pitches. Only problem we had was with the electrics - a long extension lead was needed which you could hire but our first socket did not work - It took a while for this to be sorted but the staff were very helpful.

There is a small lake on the site which has some decent size fish in it if you fancy a go at fishing. Restaurant was of a good standard with a well stocked bar. Didnt use the swimming pool (weather not to good) but it did look nice. We will certainly be using this site again on our way South.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suruj 2 reviews from this member

We stopped here for 3 nights at the start of our first camping holiday in France and had a fabulous start to camping and the holiday.

If you are looking for a quiet, picturesque pitch with still enough activities to keep the children entertained then this is a great place to come to.

We were greeted by a friendly girl who gave us an offer of 3 pitches to choose from and recommended the one that we went with close by the Lake. It was a great location for a pitch, looking out over a vast grass area which was great for the kids - aged 6, 5 and 2 - to run around safely.

We were lucky with the weather and spent every day by the outside pools. These were a tad cold for our youngest so wet suits might be an idea for future visits.

Supermarket was close by and local village baker brought fresh bread and croissants every morning - 1 euro each. We did not use the kids club or the restaurant but the latter seemed to have lovely atmosphere in the evening.

Cleanliness of the toilets were acceptable and the shower areas were spacious and clean, with enough hooks.

We also made use of the family shower area - nice and clean and enough space to control a 2 year old refusing to have a shower!

We did intend to go to the light show in Le Mans but kids could not last that long :-(. Walked through the old streets but the kids got bored quickly!

We will definitely be returning here again and would recommend this site to friends and family.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kate w 51 reviews from this member

We stayed over here for one night on our way further south. Whilst it's a nice quiet site with a lovely pool area and nicely laid out pitches it's a heck of a walk to the shower and toilet blocks, which were a bit dingy and though the food in the restaurant was good and reasonably priced you got the feeling none of it was home made and the drinks were very expensive.

For the pitch price I had expected something a bit more. We also had to borrow an extension cable for our EHU as our standard cable was about 10m too short! This wasn't really a problem but beware you need a 50 euro refundable deposit! Would I go again? Probably not.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 21Happycamper21 2 reviews from this member

This site is a beauty! If you like a small quiet site but with all amenities this is the one! Pitch fairly flat and all surrounded by a lovely woodland. No statics or holiday homes, just tourers and tents, most passing through but definitely worth staying more than a couple of nights.
Beautiful pools (very cold though!) Clean, good showers and toilets. Great fishing lake with loads of carp that like being fed, you can practically catch them with a hook and no bait!
Lovely site for children, no park though there is table tennis, pool table etc. Little shop opens for croissants, bread etc every morning and a nice restaurant.
This site is just a 10 minute drive to Le Mans where we watched a superb light show which apparently happens every year. Large supermarkets also a stones throw away.
Can't believe such a great rural site is so close to a fantastic French city. Will definitely try and return.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mzzy 10 reviews from this member

Used this site for 2 nights to break up our journey from the Dordogne, I think this is what it is mostly used for, as people seem to be arriving and leaving non stop.

Saying that we really liked it, and probably will return for a longer stay. We really liked the way pitches are all round the outside of a big field leaving the middle free, it ment our 4 yr old could run round and play ball with out annoying anyone and we could see him at all times.

Pool is smallish but nice, with no slides. Showers bar and resturant all fine, shop was not up to much but then only used it for few bits, as you do on any site. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Husband liked the fishing lake, caught quite a few fish, it was well maintained as were all the grounds, its a lovely setting.

Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Sille Le Philippe      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4918 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019