Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castel Camping Le Chateau De Chanteloup

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Sille Le Philippe > Castel Camping Le Chateau De Chanteloup > Reviews

Castel Camping Le Chateau De Chanteloup
Chanteloup
Sille Le Philippe
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
72460
Tel: +33 02 43 27 51 07
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 148
Open: 01/06/2024 to 01/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Pepihu 1 review from this member

 Absolutely beautiful campsite set in the grounds of a stunning chateaux.

We only stayed for 2 nights as were passing through on our way from Calais to the West Coast but I could have stayed a lot longer.

All of the staff were very friendly and professional and we felt such a warm welcome- the Dream Team indeed.

Facilities were clean and there were plenty of them.

It's the most expensive campsite we've ever stayed at but worth it to experience the gorgeous setting. 


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Mikecollier 22 reviews from this member

 Booked through CAMC for overnight stay on way south and back north again.

Overall a nice site, there are many different areas, some in the wooded area, others around the lake.

On our first stop (2 nights) were were put on a pitch at the edge of the woods, really difficult to get our 8m unit on/off, but plenty of space and level (hedge between pitches)

On the way back we were due to go in same area, but I asked for something more open due to size. They were amenable and put us on lake pitch (open pitch, easy access). The manager said with an 8m unit we shouldn't have been on the original pitch anyway.

We didn't use bar or restaurant, so can't address previous reviewers concerns. Toilets and showers in old buildings, but new facilities. Cleaned regularly, but sandy site means floor gets dirty fast.

Pool is good, couldn't get kids out of it also play area for smaller ones.

Staff friendly and helpful, we will definitely use again for overnight stops. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cah 62 4 reviews from this member

 Always said we would go here if we were in the Loire. What a disappointment ground full of pot holes some filled in with sand.

Our pitch was on side of circle of grass lot of flies about as wood behind us. Water tap under tree was difficult as flag was wobbly so hard work filling up aqua roll.

We weíre going to have a meal but saw the woman who was the cook she had a very dirty apron on and kitchen looked like it needed revamp. Tent where we would have had a meal didnít look very inviting.

The only nice bit of this camp sites was the bar. Was in the CC as a 5star more like 3 star. Donít know when it was reviewed by the CC but not a 5 star 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Eaglesfans 5 reviews from this member

 Really nice castels sites. Great booking procedure with rapid response and check in excellent.

Our pitch by the lake was excellent and more than big enough for car and large caravan. As units place around edge of field huge amount of space for sitting out and games for kids if appropriate. Website states lake side pitches all have water and electric, ours only had electric.

Plenty of fish to catch in lake but beware baby cat fish with very sharp spines. Not sure fishing here is suitable for children.

Chateau has very attractive lounge/games area. Has a bar we did not use. Have refrained from commenting on Restaurant but have responded to owners privately. Our neighbor on pitch who was in restaurant shred our views but said in the many prior years they visited it was excellent.

A very pleasant place to stay to chill particularly on way south or north or if wanting to visit Le Mans.

Big supermarket 15 to 20 mins away with fuel. Local village has baker and small shop, we did not have time to try nor to visit the small bar /restaurant as it shuts on Mondays but as would use this as rest stop site again will be sure to give restaurant a try 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ironned 57 reviews from this member

 We'd consider this to be one of our favourite places on earth, and always try to find an excuse to stop for a few nights; we're even talking about using it as a base to explore the area (which is lovely, with hills, woodlands, lakes and chateaux within an hour's drive) and staying longer next year.

It's normally closed in September, which is when we travelled this year, but I'd heard they were extending the opening due to the delayed Le Mans classic, which then was cancelled.

However, we enquired about their PCR test service for our return, which was replied to in the usual efficient friendly manner and we were booked!

It was almost empty when we arrived and we soon found out that it had actually changed hands at the start of 2020, unfortunate timing! No matter, the new 'dream team' were characteristically helpful, allowing us to swap pitches to have our favourite view of the chateau.

It really is a lovely place, and despite looking a bit 'end of season' and unkempt, the grounds never disappoint. A wander round showed that they have built four very smart new log cabins in deep in the woods, but the majority of the site is still dedicated to touring with some very large pitches in woods, around the gardens and on the chateau lawns.

The sanitaires are housed in old farm buildings and you may be accompanied by the odd spider but they are beautifully decorated and very clean.

The restaurant that we have enjoyed on previous visits was closed, but other campers praised the takeaway - hopefully they will find a workable solution for the restaurant in future, having apparently used large marquees this year.

You can enjoy drinks in the salon or games room, on the beautiful covered terrace or on the lawns, with a large 'sail' offering shelter or shade. I didn't use the pool this time but it is picturesque and simple with lovely lawns to relax around; a large play area is adjacent.

Elsewhere on the site there's a volleyball court where teens can hang out, and you can fish on the lake, hire bikes or take organised excursions and walks in peak season.

There's a small shop on site, small supermarket about 10 mins away, and a retail park just as you go into Le Mans. After what must have been a very tough time for the new owners we wish them the very best but hope they don't change this wonderful place too much. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Braesi 1 review from this member

 Fabulous setting a real 5 star experience.

Would recommend highly felt very special and the staff very friendly.

In these testing times it felt wonderful.

Many thanks 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dee+Phil 6 reviews from this member

 A wonderful site in a very convenient location. We used the site for a stopover on our way south and found the layout and facilities were great.

There is a large toilet and shower block which are both kept very clean indeed.

The staff are always on hand to help and are very friendly.

There is a small shop that is open in the afternoon and a nice restaurant with a takeaway facility.

We will definitely be staying here again and would highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dlittle 7 reviews from this member

 An excellent stay at this site. The facilities were very good and always clean and accessible, plenty of hot water, showers had good water pressure etc.

Staff friendly, formal and very helpful. Piches, large and well maintained. No camp shop but fresh bread available everyday.

Bar, restaurant and an excellent take away service. We would certainly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Martin1010 15 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a weekend in the way back from the south.

Lovely and well laid out site. Essentially 4 different fields with visitors tending to be grouped for those just staying overnight and those longer. Beautiful and well maintained facilities. The pool area particularly with chairs and umbrellas of an exceptional standard I haven't seen before. It reminded me why I loved Castel sites so much.

The restaurant was excellent and we had a really enjoyable and beautifully cooked meal. Was busy so booking essential in school holidays.

Had a visit into Le Mans. Well worth it. We had lunch overlooking the main square where the civil registry office was where clearly everyone has to be married prior to the civil ceremony. A conveyor belt every 15 mins but fab to watch with some really colourful dresses and cars.

What was brilliant and doesn't matter to many is that there was a good percentage of British visitors which having teenage kids was great. This was after 2 1/2 weeks further south on a lovely site but hardly any British kids for ours to befriend and have fun with. Within hours our kids had disappeared and were having fun as were we with our very friendly neighbours.

I would most definitely return for longer 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Julian Dearson 58 reviews from this member

 I am starting to realise I am a creature of habit as this is now the third review of Chantaloup and I am visiting again in July.

This trip was one 'with the boys' as we were attending the Le Mans 24 hour in early June. Whilst I only spent a couple of nights (due to the RV breaking down on the way there and also we spent Friday and Saturday in the RV at the track) at the site, my friends spent 5 nights in the accommodation; which from what I saw was excellent.

The weather had been absolutely awful leading up to the race and indeed Thursday night the heavens opened. Still on site, the drainage at the top of the Verge field worked well and it was pretty firm. Fortunately we did not knacker Dominique's beautifully manicured gardens when arriving or leaving.

Chantaloup is a wonderful site and I am looking forward to returning with my family at the end of July. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Castel Camping Le Chateau De Chanteloup child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Castel Camping Le Chateau De Chanteloup have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castel Camping Le Chateau De Chanteloup?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castel Camping Le Chateau De Chanteloup dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sille Le Philippe      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


47876 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement