Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Castel Le Chateau De Chanteloup

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Sille Le Philippe > Castel Le Chateau De Chanteloup Reviews

Castel Le Chateau De Chanteloup
Chanteloup
Sille Le Philippe
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
72460
Tel: 0033 02 43 27 51 07
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 148
Open: 01/06 To 01/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 53 Reviews
                9/10 from 53 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Fleecygirl1 13 reviews from this member

We returned to this site again this year as we wanted somewhere convenient with good facilities. We had a very relaxing 5 days, it's a magical spot with just enough to do to prevent boredom. The kids enjoyed wandering through the woods and round the lake, interspersed with ice creams, table football and some playground time. The staff were friendly in our experience (the English barman mentioned earlier was the exception not the rule). The staff were kids at heart, they loved taking all the kids on the campsite off in the golf cart and making them scream, we thought this was a good thing personally! The welcome was excellent, our pitch had been allocated with a view to our comfort and needs, and it was HUGE. The Dutch family next to us who stayed a week had a marquee and table lent to and erected for them by the staff, how's that for customer service? The pool was a bit cold for our kids, but we swam when it was warm enough. The table tennis tables were excellent, the games room was great, the bar area is lovely and the restaurant was fine. The shop was rather hit and miss, they bake a fixed amount of bread and croissants and when they're sold they're all gone, so get in early if it's busy! However, there's a supermarket a few minutes away and we found a market in Le Mans, which we enjoyed exploring. Free wifi was appreciated and much used by many.

If you're after somewhere efficient and formal, like many campsites I've been to, this isn't for you. If you want to go somewhere very relaxing in a beautiful setting, laid back staff and peaceful even in August (when British sites are heaving), then I'd recommend it. We'll return.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The Boardmans 8 reviews from this member

A lovely site, no grumbles at all. Situated in a really peaceful rural area.

We used this site as a stop over to and from our trip to the Atlantic Coast and it's definitely worth a few more days there. Really clean facilities, good pool and spacious pitches. Whilst the pitches are unmarked there's so much space, there's no need to worry.

Spent one night close to the entrance where stop overs tend to be sited, which was perfectly fine, just a little walk to the facilities. On our return trip, as the site was quiet then, we were offered a site in the main area, which was a real bonus.

Would recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Angie68 17 reviews from this member

Dreadful experience I'm afraid to say, we arrived at this beautifully picturesque campsite tired after a long drive from the Dordogne. As it was our wedding anniversary we planned to enjoy a meal in the restaurant.

Young girl on reception was helpful and polite and we were shown to a grassy open pitch on the main site close to all the facilities (which we were grateful for as they normally put one nighters in the entrance field miles away to avoid other campers being woken early which is more than fair enough)We were charge 40 euros including booking fee.

Then here's where it all went wrong - opting for a quick drink at the bar we were greeted by an English barman who quite frankly looked like he was on the tail end of a week long bender! Still totally hammered, unable to focus properly, unwashed and ignorant he continued to drink his pint, share a coctail with a mate whilst attempting to serve us.

Sorry but warm welcome it was not - all the young staff were flying about doing wheel spins on the campsites golf cart, smoking and drinking and swearing on the terrace. Not preparing to risk our evening we cancelled our restaurant reservation (they did not even enquire why - couldn't have cared less!)so we retired early and cooked a bowl of pasta instead :-(

Pool was small but well kept, showers etc were in old converted stables and were clean and efficient. Shop was inadequate, laughable really (young staff member was on the mobile outside, eventually came in to serve us but did not bother to end her call)

Would we go back - no (shame because the house, parkland and setting is fabulous)

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pip38 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here 8 nights and loved every minute.
We loved the area, Le Mans(for car mad hubby and daughter)also I think Thursday night until Sunday night in Le Mans, the city walls are lit up and are spectacular.

The site had arranged a G0-carting afternoon, which my hubby enjoyed and also a footie game.

The facilities were cleaned constantly, the pool was great, we ate at the little bistro one night and it was lovely. We spoke to lots of people who have stayed there year after year and I can see why.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Fleecygirl1 13 reviews from this member

Family owners who went out of their way to tell us about the local area and the facilities. Good restaurant with friendly service, nice little bar selling expensive but yummy beer. Fantastic facilities, the pool was superb and indoor ping pong tables, you can't ask for more than that! We only stopped for a night but next time will go for longer, it was our favourite of the 4 campsites we went to on our French road trip last summer.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Theraven 3 reviews from this member

A very nice site with a pool area that is good enough for a hotel - although it definitely wasn't heated when I went in. Bar area is basic and as is usual in France a large beer is fairly expensive (4.70 euros) other drinks such as wine are much cheaper.

Toilet block was clean and modern - the shower blocks were a little more outdated and the sinks had very annoying automatic taps that detected movement of your hands to switch on (hitty missy) and the sinks had no plugs so wet shaving was a complete pain.

There is a restaurant on site which we didn't use but some friends of ours did and they seemed very happy with the food. The restaurant was busy every night and needs to be booked in advance. They do a very limited take away service (chicken and chips).

The staff were all English speaking to the point that they wanted to speak in English rather than let you try and improve your French (opposite of most places we have been in France). The elecric points were all the older two pin style so a converter is still needed. Also the pitches can be a long way from the electric points - I had a 25m cable and still needed to borrow a 40m cable from the site (50 euro returnable deposit for the extension - 35 euros for a two pin converter)

The Sarthe area is very quiet so if you have kids and are looking for fun parks etc I don't think you will find what you want here. Le Mans is 15 minutes drive from the site and has a nice mix of old and new. The station is very easy to find and we booked tickets in advance for the TGV for a day trip to Paris. The return tickets were about 40 euros per person booked from the UK - not bad for travelling at 180mph for two hours. Parking at the small multi storey car park next to the station was 7.50 euros for 24 hours - but be warned like a lot of car parks in France height restriction of 2.1m applies so no roof boxes on your 4x4.

We were pitched quite close to the lake (no bullfrogs evident in August). The shop on site is only open a couple of hours each day in the evening which caused some people a few problems when after stuff in a hurry for breakfast. The nearest supermarket (Shopi) is about 5 minutes in the car.

One of the bar staff while we were there was from Sunderland and he was telling us that when the 24 hour race is on there is hardly a blade of grass visible its so popular - so avoid like the plague if you want peace or book well in advance if you want cars.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jeanm 27 reviews from this member

Excellent site. Ideal for stop over going to Bordeaux etc. But you will be tempted to stop longer! No entertainment just a typically french site in the grounds of a lovely chateau. Nice small pool, restaurant, bar etc Quiet and clean. Friendy staff- what more could you want?! No shop though-a Casino supermarket is about 5 miles away.Nice walks in the area and it is very rural.No concrete pitches which is lovely. No static caravans etc just real camping. Excellent.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bertndoris 14 reviews from this member

Nice site, but a little on the expensive side at 20 euros a night on their first week of opening. Good showers, loos etc, and their emplacements are on the lawns on umarked areas which gives a great feeling of space. You will need a French converter for the hook ups as they are old. Nice woodland walks.
The bar is nice when you can sit on the terrace and its a nice touch that your order for bread and croissants is taken each night. A word of warning though, as one other reviewer has mentioned, if you do camp next to the pond the noise the bullfrogs make is quite amazing!

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TravellinPam 7 reviews from this member

We booked in here for 2 nights and ended up staying 6! The site is family owned and the owners are lovely: their teenagers tour the site each evening in a golf cart to take orders for the most delicious fresh bread / croissants etc which are baked to order in the village the following morning. Warning: don't order more than one croissant per person as they are huge.
Although early in the season we used the pool which was quiet and beautiful. The campsite is very open - no delineated pitches - you are just given an approximation of where to pitch but I reckon this would be handy for larger outfits.
The grounds are beautiful - lots of lovely walks which will take you the whole day if you wish. The showers are in the old stable block, clean and hot - with no timers! Beware the tumble dryers though; you put in cold wet clothes and an hour later retrieve hot wet clothes.
Also beware of pitching beside the pond while the bullfrogs are breeding! We wondered why we had this lovely spot to ourselves until we tried to sleep, however after 2 nights of not sleeping we eventually got used to the noise and it seemed to just add to the charm.
This is the site we will remember most of all that we stayed in during our 4 week tour. Also it is very dog friendly with lots of places our guys could run off the leads. We all give it a big thumbs up

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JTQU 6 reviews from this member

This site offers free WiFi on the terrace near reception. They also have made a computer available for guests free use, it's just inside reception. Available during reception openning times. However note this has a French keyboard which makes access to the

Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Sille Le Philippe      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3753 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019