Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Traigh Na Beirigh ( Cnip Grazing )

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Lewis > Traigh Na Beirigh ( Cnip Grazing ) Reviews

Traigh Na Beirigh ( Cnip Grazing )
Cnip
Maibhaig
Uig
Isle Of Lewis
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS2 9HS
Tel: 01851 672332  or  07951 188712
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/05 To 30/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 34 Reviews
                8/10 from 34 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant <10 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed until 01/04/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 01/04/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Davismo 4 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site right on a beautiful beach. Do bear in mind though it is fairly remote so you do need to take adequate supplies. The facilities are a bit basic but have loos, hot water, pay showers & dish washing. The showers are £1 for 8 mins which seems expensive but the site is only £10 per night so overall a bit of a bargain. Do bear in mind the site isn't very level and seems to get busy which isn't helped by chaotic pitching. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grumpycat 5 reviews from this member

 Single road access is steep so be aware- approach through Uig village not the road signposted 'not treated in winter'- guess that's the glue to it's terrain! Site is right on beach with some vans pitched for the season. Ground is unlevel but well drained- (sand dunes), Pitch on any empty pitch nos 21-50 and Finn calls at night to collect fee- £10 for caravan and two adults. No hook up, and shower block clean but basic with just two showers for ladies. Has chemical waste but need to use bio-degradable fluids. Shop at Uig village about 10 mins drive well stocked and also has fuel. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 102 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for three nights. You pitch up on the dunes and enjoy spectacular views out across white sands with a turquoise sea beyond. Paradise. Spent hours just watching the gannets diving and strolling along the sands. Even went for a swim in the sea! You are miles from anywhere and that's the attraction.

Fynn turned up most evenings to collect our £10 fee. The facilities are basic but fine. There are additional £1 coin operated showers (plenty of time for two to share!).

The community shop near Uig is well stocked. A good base to explore Uig (beaches, smokery and new distillery), Callanish (stone circles) and Black house museum. There is a hut selling hand dived scallops, 2 miles back along the main road to Stornoway. They are the best you'll ever taste.

The location was fantastic but watch the weather. It's an exposed North facing beach and we discovered that several tents had been flattened later on in the week! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Athole 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic location for site, 2 minute walk to the beach. Choice of pitch could be better, all down to how busy it is when you arrive (some pitches not the flattest).

Facilities were fine, but could probably do with a bit of a refresh.

Nearest shop (community coop)- well stocked, and has laundry facilities - is about a 10 minute drive away, otherwise it would be into Stornoway (c1hr).

Overall, great site on a fantastic location. Would happily return (hopefully will!) 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ernt25 16 reviews from this member

 What a find. We stumbled across this site whilst touring Lewis in June 2014. As previous reviews note the site is set in sand dunes and overlooking a perfect white, sandy beach with crystal clear turquoise sea; a location that can only be described as heavenly and a rare find indeed.

Whilst the site facilities are basic, as noted by other reviews, it’s more than adequate. The toilet/ shower block is basic but clean and there is fresh water. There is no electric hook-up, although we noted a couple of electric sockets in the wash block that folk used to charge phones etc. You will also be limited to find level ground on the site. Likewise, the site really is remote so ensuring you have sufficient supplies for your stay is a must. In our opinion all the above are minor issues for such a beautiful view; we were lucky enough to get a pitch looking straight out on to the beach.

Despite the clear blue skies it was extremely windy when we visited and we really struggled with getting our awning up. We were sadly surprised by our fellow campers’ reaction to just carry on watching us struggle rather than lend a hand. So, when a couple of Belgian guys arrived not long after us and pitched next to us (and who had an even worse time getting their awning to stay on the ground, along with finding they only had one tent peg), we did not hesitate to lend a hand and give them several tent pegs.

The only down side for us was that we only had time to stay for one night. This site will definitely go on our ‘come back and stay soon’ list. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peter scott 3 reviews from this member

 Well

Traveled along way to get to this site.

Not happy.

80% of the site is take by long-term caravans,

We had to squeeze into a tiny spot. Not really suitable for our tent.

The facilities, were very poor.

The toilets were dirty and the showers. I refused to have one.

There were a few sockets in one of the toilet blocks, but these had multiple e cigarettes always on charge.

With exception to the above its a beautiful place.

But if the facilities are not improved and cleaned, we will not return.

Very poor facilities

Fantastic location

Only stayed one night. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BobChris 6 reviews from this member

 We originally booked this site for 7 nights intending to tour Lewis and Harris from here. We didn't realise how remote it was, it is 23 miles to the main road through the islands, so is really not suitable if you want to tour. The position is next to a lovely beach but the site is used mainly by people who store their units for the season, so more a weekend site and we felt quite nervous about leaving our caravan in such a remote spot. The facilities are practically non existent so you really need your own. The road down is not for the faint hearted, if towing. We only stayed 1 night as it was too remote for us to tour round the area. If you just want to chill out for a few days it's ok but not suited to touring. There is absolutely nothing there so make sure you have everything you require before you go, it's a very long way if you run out of milk! 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Auchencrow 4 reviews from this member

 This must be the best setting for a campsite ever, overlooking a perfect white sandy beach with crystal clear turquoise sea.

We stayed for three nights and our two dogs had a great time running up and down the beach and through the machair. Shower and toilet facilities are perfectly good and clean.

Take plenty of food and refreshments with you as there is nothing close by, which adds to the beauty of the place and the sense of being away from it all.

Possibly the best campsite in the world! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Julia@hardmans.net 1 review from this member

 This campsite is just perfect in the dunes right next to the stunning beach. Beautiful location and well worth the drive out to the west coast. No problems driving the motor-home there, but the road is narrow and winding so take it slow. Quite a hike to the local community shop (about 5 miles) so take everything you need with you - remember everything is closed on Sundays - they offer groceries, post office and launderette. This is a small site on the dunes so no hard standings, but they are not necessary as any rain drains immediately. No hookups. Small but nice and clean wash block with fresh water, toilets, showers (£1 for more than long enough), washing up and chemical disposal. Met some lovely people too including the owner who was very friendly and helpful. And the weather was fantastic whilst we were there, so what more could we have wanted. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Curlzy 1 review from this member

 Spent 3 nights here in July, beautiful site right on beach which has white sands and crystal clear sea. Popular with locals on holiday too, hence a few parties but heh we're on holiday ! Toilets and showers fine, everything you need. Rubbish bins very full, maybe due to be lifted. Midges not bad while we were there, nice breeze keeping them under control. Would use again, but it spoils you for other ' beach' sites ! 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Traigh Na Beirigh ( Cnip Grazing ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Traigh Na Beirigh ( Cnip Grazing )?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Traigh Na Beirigh ( Cnip Grazing ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Lewis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6531 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement