Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Traigh Na Beirigh ( Cnip Grazing )

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Lewis > Traigh Na Beirigh ( Cnip Grazing ) Reviews

Traigh Na Beirigh ( Cnip Grazing )
Cnip
Maibhaig
Uig
Isle Of Lewis
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS2 9HS
Tel: 01851 672332  or  07951 188712
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/05 To 30/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 34 Reviews
                8/10 from 34 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant <10 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed until 01/04/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 01/04/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Spaniels 3 reviews from this member

 Even the long scenic drive to this remote site will not prepare you for what you see when you come over the hill. The white beach crystal clear water framed by the sand dunes is amazing and as you drive down the hill you realise this is the site.

We hadn't pre booked so called when we arrived. Clear instructions on where to go are on the gate and a friendly chap came about 6 and collected the 10. Good value I feel, the location is stunning and the basic but clean and warm facilities block are all you need. This is as near to wild camping as you will get

There are a number of caravans there which are seasonal ones. There were a few tents when we were there but you still felt like you were there on your own.

Great walks everywhere and had great sundowners sat on the dunes

Only there for two nights but would have loved to have stayed longer 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vanterrier 29 reviews from this member

 Great news. All the old caravans that occupied the best pitches on this site are GONE!

Everything else is as it was and of course the location is stunning.

I was also amazed to have a strong TV signal in such a remote place, but I noticed what looked like a tv mast on the northern horizon and bingo it gave a strong signal.

The toilet block seemed tidier than at our last visit. The showers worked fine for a pound coin which lasted ages. I finished my leisurely shower long before the money ran out.

We had to call the 'wardens' and take our fee for the night to their house (number 15 Kneep) a tenner which goes to the grazing trust.

So if you were put off by reports of manky old vans occupying the best pitches, or have previously visited Kneep then you need to take another look. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lissasviews 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 1 night at the start of our holiday and then came back for an extra 2 at the end. This site is simply stunning. The pure white sand and the clear sea which changes colour from hour to hour, the small dunes, the diving gannets. Oh it is lovely! The site is very uneven so you have to select a spot carefully. We have a 7 metre van and it coped fine getting around the bumpy grass. The site has a strict rule of 6 metres between vans so even if you cant get right on the beach front, you can still have a sea view. A lot of the front is already taken by long term leasers which is a shame for us tourists! The toilet block is basic and clean with a pot wash sink and elsan disposal. There are 2 showers which cost 1 for 4 minutes and are hit and miss on temperature control. There is no electric hook up so we went to a site with electric inbetween visits to charge up phones and cameras.

It is quite a windy and narrow road to get to Cnip and probably not for a nervy driver, but still our big van coped well. Once there, just stroll along the beach, have a swim etc. We bought huge hand dived scallops from a nearby loch and had them on a bbq looking at the Atlantic Ocean, just lovely! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lisa81 9 reviews from this member

 Fantastic wild camping site on an amazing beach which was nearly deserted on a beautiful day. Couldn't get close to beach due to seasonal pitches but still got a great camping area. Not parked too close together.

Good hot showers 1 for 8 minutes and has water/waste area. Also has washing up area and electric plugs to use if needed. Kids had a fab time in the dunes.

Highly recommend! Fantastic scenic area. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vanterrier 29 reviews from this member

 I would like to echo some of the previous reviews but add that there is a fairly large co-op shop and fuel station just a couple of miles south of the turn off for this site.

The facilities were good with hot showers for a pound for eight minutes. CDP at the rear of the toilet block and fresh water available.

The site is right on the most fantastic white beach with aqua-marine water. Just magical.

It is worth going to this site to experience the 'wardens' real characters who collect the fees from a van each night on behalf of the Grazing Trust. They are (with much respect) miles past normal retirement age and are as dour as you will find anywhere. Real Island characters.

Find a level pitch if you can. 10 per night and no EHU's great. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BobOn 17 reviews from this member

 Spent three nights here and whilst most of the country was besieged by rain I got sunstroke the second night here!

Glorious beach, white sands, blue sea it really could be in the tropics. We were blessed by the weather and guess it could be a different proposition in winter.

Like another reviewer has said there are too many tourers left vacant there on the best pitches overlooking the beach. Leaves new arrivals searching for a spot that's not sloping.

We had a van, tent and two dogs for 8 per night, excellent value. Facilities are adequate, shower temperature could fluctuate but the surroundings are amazing. On the beach at 11pm and still light as it was just after midsummer.

Not aware of any hookups. We didn't know of any shops nearby and went all the way to Stornoway to find hardly anything is open on Sundays, perhaps how it should be? Mind you we'd run out of bread. Then found out the next day that there's a shop on Bernera which is closer.

The site is out of the way and quite a drive from Tarbert a good hour to hour and half depending what you're driving. Would definitely go again, if only the tourers were stored at the road side of the site. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Nash130 4 reviews from this member

 Spent a week on this site with our 2kids and dog. All I can say is wow!

If you can do basic you will love it.

Showers: we figured if you put the money in, turned the shower OFF then switched it back on it was easier to regulate. Toilets: cleaned twice a day, plug available to recharge phones etc

Our kids (aged5 & 10) loved the freedom they had, playing in the dunes til midnight because it was still light, (we went a week before longest day)

We were very lucky with the weather, no rain, no wind just wall to wall sunshine for the entire holiday. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Speedy1050 6 reviews from this member

 Exceptional location with fabulous views, good value at 6 a tent, 10 for vans although couldn't see any EHU, you have a choice of a view but you are exposed to the weather or a more sheltered position without one.

There is a well stocked shop with petrol station, unleaded was 1. 49/litre, a few miles away which is well signposted.

The downsides to the site, in my humble opinion !, are there are too many permanent touring caravans in the best positions taking up too much room in the best positions and weren't occupied in the 2 nights I was there,

The toilet block is very clean but don't use the shower (1) when someone else is using hot water as the pressure drops to a trickle and there is only one washing up basin. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Armchaircamper 22 reviews from this member

 I can only give a brief impression of this site as we just stopped and looked around without actually staying.

The site is in a lovely, unspoiled location with a beautiful beach. We had intended to camp here but when we arrived it was full of caravans with nowhere that I could see to pitch a tent. The caravans on the top of the dunes would have had a lovely view but the rest of the site is mainly in a very undulating hollow behind the dunes with nowhere level enough for a large tent.

I had a look in the toilet facilities which were clean: two showers in the ladies' and a hand dryer which could potentially double as a hair dryer.

There is no booking facility for this site. A sign asked us to ring the warden before pitching but there was no reply. Apparently they were out somewhere with the sheep. We eventually went further down the road to the more basic site at Uig. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rbrtdc 3 reviews from this member

 The beach is very beautiful and could be in the Caribean, if you ignore the temperature and the wind.

It is a long and winding road to the site and not particularly well sign posted. The last bit is extremely narrow so just hope you don't meet another outfit coming the other way.

The site itself is a bit haphazard. No pitches, just pitch wherever takes your fancy and hope it is reasonably level.

If you are looking for all mod cons, forget it, it is basic, but if you are into beautiful sandy beaches and the simple life this could be the place for you. 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Traigh Na Beirigh ( Cnip Grazing ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Traigh Na Beirigh ( Cnip Grazing )?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Traigh Na Beirigh ( Cnip Grazing ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Lewis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6793 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement