Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Traigh Na Beirigh ( Cnip Grazing )

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Hebrides > Isle Of Lewis > Traigh Na Beirigh ( Cnip Grazing ) Reviews

Traigh Na Beirigh ( Cnip Grazing )
Cnip
Maibhaig
Uig
Isle Of Lewis
Hebrides   (Browse area)
HS2 9HS
Tel: 01851 672332  or  07951 188712
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/05 To 30/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 34 Reviews
                8/10 from 34 Reviews

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant <10 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed until 01/04/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 01/04/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 101 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to Bhaltos. If the weather is good it has to be one of the best locations going. The 2 miles of beautiful white sandy beach is right in front of the site.

You're facing NW and there isn't a lot of protection if the wind gets up! If the weather is kind, a pitch at the front, overlooking the beach, is a winner.

There are some more sheltered pitches further back, you won't get the view but may survive the wind. Finn charged us £5 pppn and the showers take £1 too.

Fantastic area. Visit the scallop shack and the museum at Uig.

The Uig restaurant was good and there is a shop and fuel at Uig about 15 minutes drive.

Still a favourite. 


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Livewires 11 reviews from this member

 Huge site with plenty of room in a fabulous location but the electric hook up area is very cramped.

A large number of seasonal pitches means that it is very busy at weekends and school holidays- those who enjoy a quieter experience may wish to avoid these times.

We did not find many restaurants in the area apart from Uig Sands which has a very limited menu. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jmcd4729574wbr 1 review from this member

 Stunning location, lovely site, chicks needed as uneven, but what a view, has EHU pitches but you donít get the view so did without.

Lovely site and a view to die for 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Astral weeks 10 reviews from this member

 We arrived during a gale. You go through a gate and choose your own pitch. We decided on a flat site between 2 permanently moored caravans since they offered a little bit of shelter. We eventually managed to get the tent up and cook some dinner. Finn came round and relieved us of £20 for 2 nights and gave us the full story of the site and the caravans and many other things. The wind dropped and we walked the beautiful white sands which were 20 yards away over the machair.

The next day the sun was nearly out and the wind had dropped. We went to the see the standing stones, had a scallop burger at the Scallop Shack and sat on the Uig sands having a picnic hoping to find a chessman. Back at the site the wind was rising again and the rain restarted which was quire good as it stopped the midges feasting on me.

By 2. 00am it had reached gale force and that's when the tent ripped in half. I slept through since we were in our separate pod and in the morning after breakfast we managed our quickest dismantling from a site ever. We just tipped the remains of the tent into the nearest bin. Luckily there is an Argos in Stornoway so got a new tent.

Despite all of this we both thought what a great site this was. The facilities all worked, plenty of hot water, showers, loos, £10 a night. I have paid a lot more and got a lot less. It is on the common grazing land and all the money raised goes to the local community so good luck to them and I hope it pays for a few good nights over the long winter.

Finn tells me early summer is the best time to go, less wind and no midges. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dlgb 10 reviews from this member

 This is a local community run site. Location is amazing on edge of beach in quiet backwater. However only 4 - 6 EHU close to facilities. Close together and really for overnight stop overs and really only space for 4.

Views minimal from EHU area. Various interesting features locally (archaeological, food outlets, especially Uig community cafe and museum) and nearby - cycle or drive.

Facilities poor used by lot people on (and off site despite notice not to). Showers electric and £1 but only small cubical with curtain, basically had to change in open toilet area.

Chemical disposal point but no grey water facility.

Local site manager visited twice daily but not on site (contactable by phone). Prebooked and pitch marked but other inconsiderate caravan had re-orientated and made access very difficult)

Priced at £20 per night poor value. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: MrBongo 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in June 2018. Not many touring spaces as most is taken up with seasonal caravans. Facilities are fine, the location is amazing. Would visit again without hesitation.

Just drive into site and find a space. Fin will visit later in the day to collect money. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robert2510 5 reviews from this member

 Staying in paradise comes at a cost! Fabulous location, however facilities were very dirty, rarely cleaned and smelt of urine.

Campsite attendant was elusive, spent most of his time socialising in camper vans rather van cleaning. Shame as the location is epic. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: GillOK 8 reviews from this member

 4th campsite out of 11, 4 adults and a car, no dog or children, touring Skye and the Outer Hebrides. Had booked for at least one night. Undulating dunes, so levellers definitely needed.

Pitches difficult to define, but Finn appeared after we'd settled in. He had kindly reserved a spot for us overlooking the beach, however, due to the size of our van and the dampness, we decided to stay where we were. Amazing views of the beach, also meant that you'd be very exposed to the elements.

Great place for any watersport, surfing and the like. This is very remote, but the scenery and beautiful beach make up for that. Toilets and showers were very clean. Definitely worth a visit. I'm glad we stayed there. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mrswootoo 1 review from this member

 Found this lovely site by chance while touring the Outer Hebrides last September. We'd been heading for Uig Sands but weren't overly impressed and decided to keep driving. Had a look at our map and saw this site so off we trotted.

Yes it's a basic site. It might not have all the thrills and spills of other sites but the views are to die for. Take your pick of pitches 21-50, yes you are lucky if you get a cliff top pitch and you do have to do some manoeuvring to get level, the facilities are adequate, washing up facilities, places to charge phones etc, loos, showers at £1 a time with plenty of hot water.

All proceeds from the site go back into the local community so benefits all round. This area could be closed off and no camping allowed at all but no, a lovely little site has been provided.

We loved it so much we went back for another night, watching the sunrise and the sea changes was beautiful. Going back in June 2017 for longer this time. No EHU but with solar panels on the roof can manage 2-3 nights at least on this beautiful, secluded site. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Doggies On Tour 28 reviews from this member

 £10 a night and right on the beach. Perfect! Bear in mind, that although there are toilets/showers/water/CDP there is no EHU! The facilities are OK, to be honest we used our own as there were quite busy.

The site was packed every night and people were turning up desperately looking for somewhere to pitch, so my advice is to get there as early as you can! You are unlikely to get one of the pitches over looking the beach unless you are lucky!

The beach is beautiful and even though the site is busy, the beach never seemed that busy as it is quite large. I think the price for this site was about right and your fee is collected every evening by Finn. Lovely remote site with a nearby shop and about an hours drive from Stornoway.

We will be back, but maybe next time outside of school holiday season so it should be a bit quieter! 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Traigh Na Beirigh ( Cnip Grazing ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Traigh Na Beirigh ( Cnip Grazing )?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Traigh Na Beirigh ( Cnip Grazing ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Lewis      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hebrides

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5265 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement