Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > Paddock Wood > The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park > Reviews

The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park
Beltring
Paddock Wood
Kent   (Browse area)
TN12 6PY
Tel: 01622 872068
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 300+
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 48 Reviews
                7/10 from 48 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Smarty09 3 reviews from this member

 We booked in here for a quiet last weekend camping.

Good points

Touring field is nice and level with a few trees and hedges dotted about

Toilets although dated are clean and functional with plenty of hot water

The hopfarm itself is great for a family day out with lots of attractions for young ones, a big climbing frame and café plus a laser tag game.

Pub/restaurant next to hopfarm with very friendly staff and decent food

Bad points

On arrival we were booked in by a nice lady but when I asked if we needed a code/tag for the barriers, she explained that due to heightened security the barrier we were about to pass through would be bolted and gated off and the other barrier was broken! OK!

Shop was closed and no facility on site to buy the essentials

When I asked a second time the following Morning how we were meant to exit and re-enter the site another nice lady advised that the barrier was broken. However up until 5pm when they were manning the desk they would keep an eye on the camera viewing the barrier and let people in when they noticed them (great system) So after 5pm we were locked out!

The staff didn't seem to be interested in the camping side at all

On the whole if this place was managed effectively it would be great unfortunately I wont be back any time soon 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Monstro 6 reviews from this member

 I'll never go back here, could be an amazing site but they seriously need to upgrade their facilities.

Toilet facilities: Only the lino stopped my feet from going through holes in floor. Brown stain up the cubicle wall (trying to convince myself it was mud) Toilet roll stuck to light fixture and ceiling.
Showers dirty and stained. Lino lifting everywhere. This isn't helped by the fact they have one toilet block for 300 pitches, in the gents only three cubicles and three showers.

Dish washing: If it rains you're going to get wet especially whilst queuing as only 5 sinks for a 300 pitch site and whilst I was there at least one of the sinks was always blocked. Never got anything other than cold water either.

Noise, noise and more noise: You'd think a child friendly site would patrol to ensure that their rules are being upheld but forget it, loud music and drunken behaviour kept me awake till 2am. Screaming kids running all around the tents, often encouraged by the parents, amazed me as there's a massive field 8' from my tent that they could use. My pitch was feet from the site road, little did I know just how much use that road gets, constant traffic till 11/12 at night and add to that site tractors every ten mins it drove me nuts. Boot fairs or whatever each day just added to the traffic and the noise. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debs398 38 reviews from this member

 This was the second year we have stayed at this site on a busy bank holiday weekend.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, the pitch was a little tight but we do have a massive tent, and we were told we were pitched with our friends in a square but the map and the site didn't quite match and whilst we were together instead of there being grass between us there was a gravel road!

Toilets and showers were plentiful, not spotless but I certainly never went in there and thought they were filthy, they were adequately cleaned and there was always toilet roll when I visited. Shower wasn't the hottest but it wasn't cold.

The site is huge and its lovely to have all that area to walk in, we launched canoes from the river too and that is a great facility.

Our only downer on the site really is the fact that campers have to share their entrance with the carbooters. We did feel that with all those people visiting the carboot, any of them could have wandered over to the camp and wondered how safe our camping equipment was. Also we got stuck in a horrendous queue to get back into the camp, we had to queue with all the car booters and all we wanted to do was get back to our tent, very frustrating. I do think campers should have their own entrance, they have paid to camp there so should be able to access their tents!

Having said this we will probably be back as we do like the camp and the fact that we can canoe from camp.

The wardens are extremely helpful and friendly too 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheTwoNomads 3 reviews from this member

 We were given a very warm welcome and were most impressed by the facilities for children at the adjacent Hop Farm. The site itself is very spacious and picturesque but was let down by the fact that, for the duration of our stay the showers were uncomfortably cool.

Also, for the three huge tent fields, water can be obtained only from the shower/toilet block. Anyone at the far end of the most distant field would have quite a long walk. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pete108 9 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a great time away.

The campsite itself is attached to the hop farm so access is easy from main roads with good motorway link to m25 and m20.

I would recommend this site. It is well run and everyone is very friendly and helpful. Any negatives below are minor points that could improve the site even further.

The site is large and well kept we stayed on the grass electric pitches and were part of a group and the freedom in how we pitched so we were in a group was an unexpected pleasant surprise as most sites wouldn't allow it. This did cause a problem as it was so busy and the site map could be clearer as could the way the pitches are marked.

There is a tap on every electric post so refilling water is easy but no low level grey water so you either try and pout down the small grate under the tap or lift to the elsan disposal point.

The toilets are adequate and were clean most of the time and the one time they weren't and we reported it to the site they were cleaned within half an hour. Considering the weather for most of the weekend and the number on site this is a great achievement in itself.

There is a small shop on site and a choice of larger co-op two minutes down the road and choice of supermarkets in either Paddock wood or Tunbridge Wells.

The hop farm could prove expensive. You get 10 free tokens which equals £10 but that doesn't take long with the rides being the price they are.

Apart from the abundance of space for them to run around in there is nothing on site for the children when the hop farm is closed. A small park on site would be a great improvement.

Overall a good site and will most probably return in the future. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BCML 4 reviews from this member

 Frustrating review this one as I really want to wholeheartedly praise the site - it has loads going for it - but some basics were so poor it balances out to an 'average' site.

The location is excellent and the site is very well connected for exploring the wider area. It's also very large with many remote fields with lovely settings, and plenty of isolated / quiet riverside spots. EHU fields are sizeable and well laid out although there is some road noise in these areas. The site has a policy of not cramming units in so the pitch behind ours was deliberately kept free - a nice touch.

Within the site is the Hop Farm itself which is a family attraction with rides and shows etc. It's half price entry for those staying on site although you do have to pay each time you go in. The rides etc are token based; each token is £1 and rides are typically 1 or 2 tokens each. It's apparent that the cost could quickly escalate if you have a family. Those staying on site are given 10 free tokens though which you can also use in the cafe if you don't have children and / or fancy the rides.

Away from the paid attractions, the wider site is very spacious and there are huge areas for kids to explore and discover - all for free of course! ;)

On the downside the showers were terrible and the cleanliness of the shower / toilet block very poor. We were there for 4 nights over a busy BH weekend and from what we could tell only twice did they receive a cursory clean up. Certainly litter and other grime (eg a sink in which it looked like someone had cleaned their muddy boots in) was still there from the day we arrived to the day we left. Only once did we see any toilet paper too, so go prepared!

There are two combined shower / toilet blocks, one wooden and older, the other newer and brick built. Unfortunately on arrival we were told they had boiler problems and so the brick building was being designated men only and the wooden building for females. No one in our party was female so we only have experience of the brick building. The water temperature cannot be adjusted and the showers veered from being scalding hot (to the extent of being dangerous) to freezing cold. We were told the boiler was the cause but it did make showers an unwanted gamble. The overall design too is rubbish: the cubicles are tiny (a floor area of less than 30'x30'), there is nowhere to hang your towel or clothes without them being soaked by the shower (unless you leave them in the changing area) the temp or shower head cannot be adjusted and the changing area itself is only a small bench for 2, whereas there are 10 cubicles. They are however free to use.

The wardens were lovely; very chatty & helpful. We got the impression they were doing the best of what they had to work with.

The on site shop is small with only the bare essentials. However there is a Co-op convenience store at the petrol station a 2 minute drive away so that was no hardship.

Vehicle entry is supposedly barrier controlled and it's a £20 deposit for the entry fob. However, around the other side of the park is a secondary exit only barrier which remained open all weekend and even all the car boot traders are waived through the main barrier in their cars & vans. As there was a boot sale on 3 of the 4 days we were there we did not feel the camp site (and by extension all of our stuff) was at all secure.

So, as I said at the beginning, this site has a lot going for it but some of the basics are sadly letting it down badly.

It wasn't an unpleasant stay but would we return? Very unlikely. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Becksbee 5 reviews from this member

 Good friendly site, lots of washing/showering facilities, althgough they did get a little smelly on Sunday. We stayed during a torrential rain storm, but the facilities at the Hop Farm (itself) whilst a little pricy, but you got free tokens with the booking, kept the children happy. Also a reasonably priced Brewers Fayre on site (nice breakfast!). Caution, lots of wasps make sure you take something to ward them off, or lots of sting relief! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suzy Warren-Harris 2 reviews from this member

 We recently stayed at Hop Farm, there was a small group of us, all staying in varying sized tents, from a 2 man to a large 6 man. We stayed for four nights, and truly loved the site. We booked hardstanding pitches, and they were fabulous. Very large, and flat, with space for our cars to boot! We pitched four tents, and a day tent. We took two small children, and our pup too! The site is very large, and even over the weekend. Never really seemed busy. I agree with other reviewers - this site has massive potential.

There is lots to do, not only the farm (which the children loved), but there are some lovely walks, and the river is beautiful also. The ground was very hard, I would recommend using some heavy duty/rock pegs (and of course a decent extractor). The showers were fine - we didn't have the same issue as a previous reviewer, so maybe the issue has been resolved. They shower and toilet facilities are not particularly modern, but they function well, and are kept clean and tidy, even when busy. The washing up area is behind the shower block, and doesn't seem to be on the map, but a quick ask of a fellow camper and we found it straight away!

The site Managers were beyond accommodating! Extremely welcoming, and helpful throughout our stay. I cannot speak highly enough for them, and just wish all campsites had such fab management!

There is a small £20 deposit to pay on arrival for a key fob, enabling you to enter the site at your will. The car boot sale had no effect at all on the campsite, which was a pleasant relief too. The children had plenty of freedom to explore the site, cycle, play games etc - which was truly stupendous. We loved the site so much, we didn't want to come home! I would definitely recommend this site, and will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jcamper 4 reviews from this member

 Love this site. Facilities are good. Owners really friendly and helpful. Such a huge site that you can camp anywhere, with no marked pitches, and be away from any neighbours. We camped on a far field right next to the river. Fab as we had our canoes with us. You can fish here too. Picturesque, quiet. Lots for kids at the Hop Farm and space on site to run around. Great boot sale on side field on the Sunday, with non-tacky vintage items aplenty. Didnt try the farm shop on site. One small area of 'rubbish' but its tucked away. Good value for money here. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Memyp 7 reviews from this member

 A huge site with loads of potential. We camped in an outer field and would definitely recommend this approach. On one of the busiest weekends of the year with loads of sun this site basically seemed empty. We had a vast field (almost) to ourselves and a lovely view. It was quiet too!

The showers were awful however! There were two blocks to choose from (next to each other). The showers in one were freezing, and in the other scalding hot. Really painfully hot (and I like hot showers!)

However this is such a lovely spacious site that we will definitely go again. Fantastic place for young children, loads of room to run about and all the Hop Farm attractions too. 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Paddock Wood      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3822 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement