Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Site Reviews

The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park
Beltring
Paddock Wood
Kent   (Browse area)
TN12 6PY
Tel: 01622 872068
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 300+
Open: March - October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 42 Reviews
                7/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (14) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sumps53 37 reviews from this member

Let's start with the positives, very friendly welcome, flexible over our request for a late departure. Kudos to that team. Near the river - although you can't really see it. We enjoyed the drive-in movie. There was a water tap on every power post. It's a good location for exploring Tunbridge Wells and the Medway towns.

And now the negatives. Lack of signage for access to site. The space - looked OK when we first arrived but boy do they cram them in. We would not come again for that reason alone. The ladies toilets/showers were out of action. The black waste disposal points were not signposted and were disgusting on Monday morning. There was waste everywhere - to be fair to the team, they do remove it (but it was overflowing) and the sewage removers came around 10 am Monday but it had reached critical mass by that point. But they were fighting a losing battle with that number of people around. No signs as to where to dispose of grey waste. I had paid £15 to bring a boat but there were no facilities(pontoon/jetty/) whatsoever and the river wasn't signed. Not sure what that money was actually for in retrospect.

The site could be so much better - it has good people - but it does need some money spent on it. If you are going to pack that number of people in, you need to have the infrastructure to cope with it. We will not return.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Grandad essex 7 reviews from this member

Pulled up to book in and the lady behind the counter said she had 900 people turning up for this bank holiday weekend, I feared the worst. To my surprise the site is very large and this was not a problem. Toilets were ok and cleaned often, showers could do with an upgrade. They work ok but are dated There is a big attraction on site with free entry if camping, shop about a mile away, river side walks. Some pitches on our field were quit uneven, pitches are a good size. Access road to site pot holey to start with, gets better as you go in. Return in the future ???? Yes Recommend ??? Yes

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jobenjosh 1 review from this member

This campsite has the potential to be so much more. I've only stayed here due to attending an event otherwise I would find another campsite.

After 3 years the washing up sinks are still not covered and extremely low meaning back breaking washing up. The shower block has blowers but not heated. And because of all the cut grass around the site they are full of grass. Something that could be easily remedied by having a squeegy mop in the showers to wipe down after. Pitches are a fair size and electric was ok. However for the price I would expect so much more.

Why not put a play area in for the children ( yes I know you have the hop farm facilities but that adds up for family's)

Why now even put a pontoon in to properly launch canoes into the Medway or lets go mad and put in some camping pods and hard standing pitches to bring more trade in all year round.

Booking was also a problem once we had the correct phone number it still seemed to be hard work to book in my group. Even on camp day there was confusion with our booking.

Come on Hop farm pull your socks up you could potentially have an award winning site in a glorious part of Kent

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kate78t 1 review from this member

We love coming here as a family. All my children of all ages from 2 to 17 enjoy the woodland walks, the facilities that are in the hop farm site the adventure playground is there favourite and the jumping pillows. Facilities are very good and clean. Been here many times and will be going back. Great area lots to do pitch sizes are just right.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smarty09 3 reviews from this member

We booked in here for a quiet last weekend camping.

Good points

Touring field is nice and level with a few trees and hedges dotted about

Toilets although dated are clean and functional with plenty of hot water

The hopfarm itself is great for a family day out with lots of attractions for young ones, a big climbing frame and café plus a laser tag game.

Pub/restaurant next to hopfarm with very friendly staff and decent food

Bad points

On arrival we were booked in by a nice lady but when I asked if we needed a code/tag for the barriers, she explained that due to heightened security the barrier we were about to pass through would be bolted and gated off and the other barrier was broken! OK!

Shop was closed and no facility on site to buy the essentials

When I asked a second time the following Morning how we were meant to exit and re-enter the site another nice lady advised that the barrier was broken. However up until 5pm when they were manning the desk they would keep an eye on the camera viewing the barrier and let people in when they noticed them (great system) So after 5pm we were locked out!

The staff didn't seem to be interested in the camping side at all

On the whole if this place was managed effectively it would be great unfortunately I wont be back any time soon

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Monstro 5 reviews from this member

I'll never go back here, could be an amazing site but they seriously need to upgrade their facilities.

Toilet facilities: Only the lino stopped my feet from going through holes in floor. Brown stain up the cubicle wall (trying to convince myself it was mud) Toilet roll stuck to light fixture and ceiling.
Showers dirty and stained. Lino lifting everywhere. This isn't helped by the fact they have one toilet block for 300 pitches, in the gents only three cubicles and three showers.

Dish washing: If it rains you're going to get wet especially whilst queuing as only 5 sinks for a 300 pitch site and whilst I was there at least one of the sinks was always blocked. Never got anything other than cold water either.

Noise, noise and more noise: You'd think a child friendly site would patrol to ensure that their rules are being upheld but forget it, loud music and drunken behaviour kept me awake till 2am. Screaming kids running all around the tents, often encouraged by the parents, amazed me as there's a massive field 8' from my tent that they could use. My pitch was feet from the site road, little did I know just how much use that road gets, constant traffic till 11/12 at night and add to that site tractors every ten mins it drove me nuts. Boot fairs or whatever each day just added to the traffic and the noise.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Debs398 32 reviews from this member

This was the second year we have stayed at this site on a busy bank holiday weekend.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, the pitch was a little tight but we do have a massive tent, and we were told we were pitched with our friends in a square but the map and the site didn't quite match and whilst we were together instead of there being grass between us there was a gravel road!

Toilets and showers were plentiful, not spotless but I certainly never went in there and thought they were filthy, they were adequately cleaned and there was always toilet roll when I visited. Shower wasn't the hottest but it wasn't cold.

The site is huge and its lovely to have all that area to walk in, we launched canoes from the river too and that is a great facility.

Our only downer on the site really is the fact that campers have to share their entrance with the carbooters. We did feel that with all those people visiting the carboot, any of them could have wandered over to the camp and wondered how safe our camping equipment was. Also we got stuck in a horrendous queue to get back into the camp, we had to queue with all the car booters and all we wanted to do was get back to our tent, very frustrating. I do think campers should have their own entrance, they have paid to camp there so should be able to access their tents!

Having said this we will probably be back as we do like the camp and the fact that we can canoe from camp.

The wardens are extremely helpful and friendly too

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheTwoNomads 3 reviews from this member

We were given a very warm welcome and were most impressed by the facilities for children at the adjacent Hop Farm. The site itself is very spacious and picturesque but was let down by the fact that, for the duration of our stay the showers were uncomfortably cool.

Also, for the three huge tent fields, water can be obtained only from the shower/toilet block. Anyone at the far end of the most distant field would have quite a long walk.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pete108 9 reviews from this member

Just got back from a great time away.

The campsite itself is attached to the hop farm so access is easy from main roads with good motorway link to m25 and m20.

I would recommend this site. It is well run and everyone is very friendly and helpful. Any negatives below are minor points that could improve the site even further.

The site is large and well kept we stayed on the grass electric pitches and were part of a group and the freedom in how we pitched so we were in a group was an unexpected pleasant surprise as most sites wouldn't allow it. This did cause a problem as it was so busy and the site map could be clearer as could the way the pitches are marked.

There is a tap on every electric post so refilling water is easy but no low level grey water so you either try and pout down the small grate under the tap or lift to the elsan disposal point.

The toilets are adequate and were clean most of the time and the one time they weren't and we reported it to the site they were cleaned within half an hour. Considering the weather for most of the weekend and the number on site this is a great achievement in itself.

There is a small shop on site and a choice of larger co-op two minutes down the road and choice of supermarkets in either Paddock wood or Tunbridge Wells.

The hop farm could prove expensive. You get 10 free tokens which equals £10 but that doesn't take long with the rides being the price they are.

Apart from the abundance of space for them to run around in there is nothing on site for the children when the hop farm is closed. A small park on site would be a great improvement.

Overall a good site and will most probably return in the future.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BCML 4 reviews from this member

Frustrating review this one as I really want to wholeheartedly praise the site - it has loads going for it - but some basics were so poor it balances out to an 'average' site.

The location is excellent and the site is very well connected for exploring the wider area. It's also very large with many remote fields with lovely settings, and plenty of isolated / quiet riverside spots. EHU fields are sizeable and well laid out although there is some road noise in these areas. The site has a policy of not cramming units in so the pitch behind ours was deliberately kept free - a nice touch.

Within the site is the Hop Farm itself which is a family attraction with rides and shows etc. It's half price entry for those staying on site although you do have to pay each time you go in. The rides etc are token based; each token is £1 and rides are typically 1 or 2 tokens each. It's apparent that the cost could quickly escalate if you have a family. Those staying on site are given 10 free tokens though which you can also use in the cafe if you don't have children and / or fancy the rides.

Away from the paid attractions, the wider site is very spacious and there are huge areas for kids to explore and discover - all for free of course! ;)

On the downside the showers were terrible and the cleanliness of the shower / toilet block very poor. We were there for 4 nights over a busy BH weekend and from what we could tell only twice did they receive a cursory clean up. Certainly litter and other grime (eg a sink in which it looked like someone had cleaned their muddy boots in) was still there from the day we arrived to the day we left. Only once did we see any toilet paper too, so go prepared!

There are two combined shower / toilet blocks, one wooden and older, the other newer and brick built. Unfortunately on arrival we were told they had boiler problems and so the brick building was being designated men only and the wooden building for females. No one in our party was female so we only have experience of the brick building. The water temperature cannot be adjusted and the showers veered from being scalding hot (to the extent of being dangerous) to freezing cold. We were told the boiler was the cause but it did make showers an unwanted gamble. The overall design too is rubbish: the cubicles are tiny (a floor area of less than 30'x30'), there is nowhere to hang your towel or clothes without them being soaked by the shower (unless you leave them in the changing area) the temp or shower head cannot be adjusted and the changing area itself is only a small bench for 2, whereas there are 10 cubicles. They are however free to use.

The wardens were lovely; very chatty & helpful. We got the impression they were doing the best of what they had to work with.

The on site shop is small with only the bare essentials. However there is a Co-op convenience store at the petrol station a 2 minute drive away so that was no hardship.

Vehicle entry is supposedly barrier controlled and it's a £20 deposit for the entry fob. However, around the other side of the park is a secondary exit only barrier which remained open all weekend and even all the car boot traders are waived through the main barrier in their cars & vans. As there was a boot sale on 3 of the 4 days we were there we did not feel the camp site (and by extension all of our stuff) was at all secure.

So, as I said at the beginning, this site has a lot going for it but some of the basics are sadly letting it down badly.

It wasn't an unpleasant stay but would we return? Very unlikely.

Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Kent   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3340 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019