Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > Paddock Wood > The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park > Reviews

The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park
Beltring
Paddock Wood
Kent   (Browse area)
TN12 6PY
Tel: 01622 872068
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 300+
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 48 Reviews
                7/10 from 48 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mum2 3 reviews from this member

 Well situated site, easy to get onto even though the directions at the main gate, (for the whole Hop Farm) were a bit hazy, when we found how to enter the campsite we were greeted by a green unkempt portacabin, with huge puddles outside, Vicky the site warden was great, really welcoming, this made up for the dreadful entrance! We were unsure where to pitch so her partner came over really quickly to explain. Loos and showers need improving, not much hot water if any, the site is basic but is reflected in the price. This could be 5 star, please please please owners spend some money on this, easy to get to ideal for a weekend but does need 'tarting up', not keen on the 3 day car boot salers and buyers on the campsite side of the barrier, where they could easily make their way over to our units unchecked! The warden needs to be situated nearer the actual campers! will visit again due to ease of getting there, but please spend some money and get it up to scratch, with proper reception and shop, planting and maintain the gravel roads and a proper path to the toilet block! but well done wardens for what you are dealing with. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Babytanner 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a great bank holiday weekend stay at the hop farm. This was our first camping trip after a 4 yr gap. We wanted a child friendly site with good facilities and the hop farm provided everything we wanted. Free access to the hop farm park. Attractions are token priced and tokens are 1 each some attractions are over priced but the attraction itself is surprisingly good. We were spoilt on our weekend with a big boot fair everyday and a good firework display at the end of the bank hol Monday.

My children had a brilliant time playing and everyone was very relaxed and friendly.

We used electric hook up in field C a short walk to the toilets and showers which were cleaned regularly the water was hot and free. We had one day with cold water but the site was very busy and we showered late so wasn't surprised the water was cold. We will be returning to the hopfarm for some more fun soon. I would like to see a big play area climbing frame type for the kids to play on would make this even better.

If your looking for a good place to eat I would avoid the brewers faye pub and go to the Star pub they had 3 free bouncy castles for the kids and excellent food and drink. The brewers faye was nothing short of rank food. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mister_Tee 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here with lots of friends over the first Bank Holiday weekend, given the amazing weather and time with good friends, there are probably some rose tinted glasses about this review!

The site is huge, if you don't need electricity then you could escape to the far flung corners of the site and probably not see anyone else. Needing electricity concentrated people together, but by no means uncomfortably - we still had loads of space.

The toilet blocks are satisfactory, there was no hot water one morning. However one of our number mentioned it to the warden and it was resolved and then the hot water was plentiful and very hot, perhaps too hot for our small children.

The on-site shop is okay, not loads, but enough, and the warden has produced a really helpful information sheet about local facilities.

The main facility on site is, of course, The Hop Farm. They've recently changed from a 'Pay to enter and everything is free' to a 'Free entry, but pay to play' model. Some things are still free, but other things cost (you pay in tokens). The information above and on their website is out of date, but we were given a voucher for 10 tokens per unit.

The Hop Farm was crowded over the weekend, which will hopefully keep it solvent!

There is also a boot fair on site most weekends. Entry is free for campers, and the kids loved it.

Definitely planning to return. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nick500 3 reviews from this member

 I went years ago to visit the Farm and in particular the Shire horses with my niece. I seem to remember the farm was nothing special and expensive to get in.

Now, 10 years or so later it has been totally transformed. We spent 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend.

Firstly, the Campsite is great. The owner gave my wife clear directions, maps and a fact sheet with useful info (nearest takeaways etc.).

The ground is flat but near the pitches the ground was a bit rutted -you have to watch where you walk in some areas.

The gate to the camping area is operated by a key fob (with no awkward height restrictive barriers). The central toilets and showers are kept clean and seem to be inspected regularly. The site is well maintained, clean and tidy.

There is a large (huge)field for tents and grassed areas for Caravans / Campervans some with hard standing and most, if not all with EHU and water nearby. Our pitch was a bit on the small side this didn't matter as we had nice neighbours and not far away was a large events field we found more than adequate for ball games etc.

Cycling and dogwalking seemed popular and the area is perfect for it.

Waking to the cry of a peacock was a pleasant surprise on this peaceful campsite. The morning after we awoke to a whooosh! and a hot air balloon landed in the next field!

The Hop Farm these days I am pleased to say is free to enter and the animals are free to see. I'm pleased the Shire horses are still there.

There are many attractions for 4-12 year olds of which some you must buy tokens to ride on. 32 worth was enough for our two girls over 3 days.

There is also an unintrusive carboot sale held at the far side of the events field which we visited on all three days.

My wife loved it! My feet didn't!

We'll be booking up again soon! 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lesatre 9 reviews from this member

 We tent camped on a damp evening early in the camping season and were grateful that the site was open. As we were traveling by bicycle, it was important that we find an appropriate site for overnight.

The entry signs were confusing, so we had to stop at the main building for directions. The toilet and shower facilities were adequate, and later we discovered the washing-up point. But the welcome was genuine and we appreciated the simple, straightforward registration and payment. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tourneo 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from a 5 day trip here, and it was quite simply awesome. We were a family group of 17 and had no tangible issues with the site at all.

The welcome at reception was as professional as always, and our choice of where to pitch up was entirely up to us. There is acres of open fields to choose from, along with the river running through the campsite, where a boat can be launched, or fishing is possible.

The showers were adequate, if occasionally unstable regarding temperature, and the toilets were clean. There is a unhurried feel about this place, and the staff do not trouble you at all, and the lack of petty rules unlike a lot of sites make for an enjoyable time.

Due to the sheer size of this site, you are rarely close enough to other campers to trouble them with noise from your activities or kids. We have been here more than once and will be returning again, even later this year.

All in all, if you want a camping venue where you can stretch out, let the kids run free and make their noise, fish for a few hours, watch the boats go by or take a dinghy yourself, then you wont find a better place than the hop farm, in our opinion. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Richard19540 24 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for one night in August and have to say that it is without doubt the worst value that I have experienced in 10 years of motorcaravanning.

21 for one night without electricity. You must be joking. I have stayed on sites for half that with much better facilities.

It states in their advert 'newly refurbished toilet/shower block' When? They were a disgrace. Also only lukewarm water. Shower/toilet block was reached by an extremely rickety bridge which was covered in slippery mud.

Needless to say I will not be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mushycamper 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for four nights around the Jubilee, arrived on site & was met by 2 members of staff who were very friendly & helpful. The reception is also the shop (reasonable priced)which we did use and had all the basics with several souvenirs that the kids could buy which I thought was a nice touch.

Site is huge so loads of space for kids to be kids!

Tesco & great Fish & Chip shop in Paddock Wood about 5mins by car.

There were 2 toilet/shower blocks, brick built block has 10 toilets & about 8 showers were clean & toilet roll was always full but showers very hot! Wooden block was smaller bur still adequate although I could not get shower to work on day I tried it.

There was also a small portable cabin loo which was not wonderful(eg broken toilet seats no loo rolls throughout our stay) but was ideal in middle of night as it was close to us.

We visited the Family park and received half price entrance as we were staying with them, kids enjoyed tractor ride, jumping pillows & driving the cars. We also had a meal at the Brewers fayre pub which is next to family park and is within easy walking distance, this was great food at a great price.

I would recommend visiting London as we did, we caught taxi mini bus as there was 6 of us from site(shop has local number)cost 7. 00 to Paddock Wood train station. From there it cost 32. 50 return for 2 adults & 4 kids to Charring Cross-this was ideal to visit Buckingham Palace & Mall, Trafalgar Square, Horse Guard Parade & much more.

During our stay on the larger field opposite us there was a South African festival which was great, we all went and had look around as they had Marquees with Food stalls etc kids loved it and we were all made to feel really welcome, it added to the atmosphere.

Would stay here again, great base to see sights around. We also had great offer through using UKCampsite.co.uk had 4 nights for the price of 3.  


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Tomoliharri 4 reviews from this member

 We have just stayed for a couple of nights with our 3 children (7, 6, 2) at this site in our new trailer tent and were pleasantly surprised by just how spacious it was, ample room for dog walks and lovely strolls alongside the River Medway waving at the boats passing by.

As soon as we arrived the staff were very friendly and helpful and ensured that our electric hook was in place within minutes.

The toilet and washing up facilities were very clean and tidy - no complaints. The shop on site sold all of the items you would expect to find.

We made use of the half price admission in to the Hop Farm itslef, costing 27 for a family of 2 adults and 3 children. I'm glad this was half price, as I'd have been left with the feeling of being robbed!

Nearby is a Co-Op at the petrol station and Paddock Wood itself where you can find a Waitrose and Tesco Extra.

The only thing that would improve this site is a facility to keep the children entertained. There is so much room for them to play football etc, but this site would benefit so much from having a playground.

All in all a very spacious and well maintained camp site in a good location. We hope to return in the very near future. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rogerk 1 review from this member

 Stayed here over 3 days at easter

Good points

1. Very helpful lady on touring reception

2. Good hardstanding pitch

3. Reduced entrance price to hop farm

Bad points

1. Quoted price doesn't include electric- extra 4. 50 a night

2. New looking shower block in poor condition- no hot water on 1st day- day 2/3 barely tepid

3. No real evidence of cleaning-soap dispensers not filled- clothes hooks with screws missing-wife said no toilet paper in womens

4. Despite having acres of free space for kids to run around in no park/play equipment for them

5. Took our kids to rear field that had harder ground to practise their cycling and brought them straight back when 2 motorcross motorcycles appeared

6. Very poor access/exit road-shared by boot sale users

7. As for hop farm itself been here a few times over past few years but really not enough to do to justify 55 entrance price- nothing for our teenager- the western ride taken away and replaced with a few animals- the go- cart style carts that our 7year old loves - not enough carts to go around- even noticed the floor of the carasouel not painted in patches- all a shame really as they seem to be relying on repeat customers with no investment- we won't be back 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Paddock Wood      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2699 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement