Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > Paddock Wood > The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park > Reviews

The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park
Beltring
Paddock Wood
Kent   (Browse area)
TN12 6PY
Tel: 01622 872068
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 300+
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 48 Reviews
                7/10 from 48 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campersmg 6 reviews from this member

 We spent 5 nights here which was very enjoyable. The manager was incredibly friendly and helpful and is a real asset to the place. He was very flexible, even allowing us to check out late on our last day as the sun was shining!

The campsite itself is huge with large fields and plenty of space for the many children in our party to play. I would recommend your children take their bicycles! Campfires are also allowed which made for some heat on those cold evenings after the sun goes down!

The toilet/shower blocks are large (2 for ladies, 2 for gents) and are cleaned daily. There was a bit of an issue with the water being a little too hot and no way of adjusting the temperature, but none of our party had any cold showers!

We didn't visit the Hop Farm Park but we did go to the Brewers Pub next to it which was nice and the food was good and reasonably priced, with a children's play area. The campsite reception area has a small shop but there is a Somerfield shop a short drive away attached to a petrol garage, or a large Sainsburys in Tonbridge. There are some lovely walks from the campsite, and just 5 minutes walk away is the medway river and a lock which was very pretty.

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay here and would go back! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Snappedpole 9 reviews from this member

 We spent 4 nights on this site, with the current deal of 4 nights for the price 3 plus with half price access to the hop farm adventure park I thought this was fantastic value for money.

The campsite itself to us was a perfect balance of how camping should be, although no play area there was literally acres of space for the kids to play in (it is seemingly getting more and more rare to find sites with free space), the atmosphere on the site is relaxed and you are not bombarded with rules. For facility's there are 2 toilet and shower blocks, both were kept clean, as a previous reviewer has said there is no temperature control and the showers either seem to be too hot or too cold, we could not shower the kids because of this for risk of them being scalded.

It seems the site is being tidied up. I saw no sign of shabby chalets and all was quite clean and tidy when we arrived, despite a festival ending just a few weeks before 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cas99 1 review from this member

 We spent 3 nights here at the end of May and have mixed views about it. The lady at reception was very friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble.

The issues regarding hot water in the showers (see previous reviews) have not been resolved, despite the wardens comments of a complete overhaul. On our first morning there was no hot water after about 8 o'clock in the morning. I tried to have a shower later in the day, but the toilet block with 3 showers had a large queue and the adjoining shower block had a sign saying there was no hot water to the block.

The next morning I got up early for a shower and the water was scalding hot. Luckily I had not taken my five year old daughter in with me, as she would have been burned. The showers are push button ones with no way of adjusting the temperature.

The site is very large and has some lovely areas, but is slightly spoilt by a number of shabby sheds and trailers, especially round the shower block. We had a pitch near the entrance in Camping A, right next to some bins and looking out on to a couple of run down fixed units. However, there were a lot nicer areas further in to the site. If the site was tidied up a bit and the issues with the water were resolved it would be a lovely place to stay.

The adjoining hop farm is good fun for younger children, and the half price entry for campers makes it better value. However, there is not a great deal there to keep older children amused for very long.

We had a lovely meal at the Chequers pub in Laddingford, which is about 3 miles away, and a nice cup of tea at nearby Teapot Island on the river Medway.

On departure day no-one was taking over our pitch and they staff were more than happy to let us remain on the site long past the departure time. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DJeffery 4 reviews from this member

 We visited with friends, three caravans in total, and had adjoining pitches on field C. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Due to a problem with one of the boilers, ladies needed to use a temporary shower block, which were clean, however there was no bench for clothes.

The mens showers were very clean, but of the freeze/boil variety.

Toilets were clean and plentiful.

No children's play area at all, but plenty of fields for own games.

Half price admission to the adjoining 'Hop Farm' theme park was good, and the local pub, within 5 minutes walk across a field was very nice, and reasonably priced.

Access to and from the site was difficult from Saturday to Monday (Bank Holiday) due to traffic for car boot sales at the site, which used the camping entrance. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angiebob 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned home after a brilliant 3 night camping trip on this site.

We were met by a lovely lady who showed us which area to pitch our tent, where in that area was entirely our choice. As it was quite windy we chose to go down by the trees as it would help as a wind break.

It wasn't really until the following morning when I relised what a beautiful area we had chosen to wake upto the birds singing in the trees was lovely.

The toilets and showers were spotless when ever we used them, be it 5am or 11pm or anytime in between cannot complain at all.

We had several walks though the woods to the river and saw boats going through the lock, only about 10mins away.

We went to Tonbridge castle one morning which was only 8 miles away but spent most of our time on the site which we don't normally do.

We will definitely be going back here. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MandyG68 4 reviews from this member

 On arrival greeted by a lovely lady who told us that we were camping in Camping A as there was an MX5 car rally this weekend and camping B was reserved for them, she said we could pitch there if we wanted to. We went to A which was not what we were expecting at all, grass overgrown, electricity meters fallen over generally unkempt. The showers were clean but the water pressure and warmth were less than desirable. We paid 41.50 for the two nights for 3 of us and have paid less for much better sites. On saying that it didn't spoil our weekend our little boy loved the hop farm and you do get 50% off entry fee which helps. A little bit of a spruce up and it could be lovely, more aimed at campers for when the farm holds special events rather than tourers who fancy a weekend away. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Topgear1 1 review from this member

 Just come back from a weekend at the Hop Farm, there were two families with us, we have camped here before but not sure if we will go back again. The staff who run the campsite are very nice and always on hand when needed.

The site itself is very big and spacious and great for dogs and children to run about, but there is nothing there apart from open space, some sort of play area would be great for the kids.

The toilets we have read were being done up, to our surprise they were exactly the same, the lower block are warm but you have nowhere to put your stuff and no where to dry when you have had your shower. The toilets got dirty as well, and they are only cleaned once a day. The top showers are nicer but the water doesn't seem to stay as hot in there.

As the hop farm has nothing at all for the kids on site I think they should review their prices, the site was extremely quiet in fact just our family and one other family. I think if they added more or lowered the prices this might help ! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Finch68 1 review from this member

 ** Owners Feedback **

I'm the park warden for the hop farm and I have read your comments with interest. All your queries and worries are taken very seriously by us here at the hop farm and action will be taken to make your next stay with us more pleasant.

The showers are in for a major overhaul this winter and all the pitches will be more clearly defined, starting with proper numbers on the EHU's. Lots of work is being done to make us the place you will want to stay in Kent. Keep the comments coming, its how we can make things better. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sallyscof 18 reviews from this member

 This campsite was excellent value for money, paid 20 per night for tent didn't matter how many were in it but because we wanted to take 2 tents we were allowed to book the 2nd for just 10 per night, also took a gazebo and 2 cars.

Because it was the bank holiday weekend (and no you don't have to book for a minimum of 3 nights, thank goodness) I expected the site to be full but not at all, plenty of flat open space left for kids to play in.

It is a very large site with one central toilet block, we camped some way a way from this, but that was our choice so cant complain about the trek to showers, toilets and wash up area. Plenty of loos and showers so no queuing, I found the water to be pleasantly warm but not hot, except in the wash up area which was always cold, we learned to take a kettle of hot water with us. The young lady who greeted us was lovely and helpful.

A short walk through the woods, (which was also used as a paintball area) brought you out to the river Medway where quite a few campers were fishing. Beware kids and unspent paintball cartridges do not mix, ours thought it a good idea to collect them and of course got covered in paint.

Attached to the campsite is the Hop Farm Family park, which being in walking distance was an ideal place to spend the day. A great time was had by all, the kids loved the extreme zone and climbed, jumped swung from trapezes did some hair raising stunts for ages.

I found the site to be quiet and peaceful, it did rain but the ground had good drainage so not a problem, although there were some muddy puddles in places. Some campers lit fires but I don't think they are really allowed.

The country side is fabulous, I know why Kent is known as the Garden of England now. It may not be one of the poshest sites but neither is it expensive so you get what you pay for. I loved it and would go again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kebeyoki 2 reviews from this member

 2 tents, 4 adults, 4 children (aged between 1&10)

---

Arrived, friendly greeting, directed to pitching area, easy to find!

---

Tried pitching tent. Note to self, next time take a jack hammer! there appears to be about 2 inches of topsoil through which the pegs go easily, and then. Concrete? titanium? or just an unknown solid substance? a tent that should have taken 20 minutes to erect took over an hour just because nearly all of the tent pegs bent in the hard sub-ground. I'd recommend a set of heavy duty pegs if you erecting a tent! the man erecting the tent on the next pitch was struggling to get his pegs in with a normal diy hammer!

---

Electric hook up and water on tap right next to the pitch though cannot be argued with! no carrying a kettle and a nice cold fridge (yes we took one for our butter and milk!)

---

Kids loved the large open expanse of the playing field, very open and flat, could observe them from the comfort of the camping chair!

---

The toilets, not as dirty as I'd expected having read other reviews, however, was mainly dry so not a lot of muddy footprints!

ADVICE - for toilet use - use the toilets with the decking surround for access -much cleaner, however, as another reviewer has stated, if damp/wet beware the ramp, it's like an ice rink, walk around the side and use the steps!

ADVICE - for shower use - use the lower block of showers (without the decking access) as these are lovely and warm, infact perhaps a little too warm! (and there's me complaining!) this lower block could do with some 'modernisation' however, as the upper showers (in with the better toilets) are freezing at best, you cannot bemoan some warmth! it's a bind, showering in 1, and walking out then back in somewhere else for the loo, but it's worth it for your own comfort.

---

Didn't use the shop, so cannot comment, did pop to the local somerfield though (can't have camp breakfast without bacon can you??!) and that was adequate for the few bits required.

---

Would've been nice to have had a little kiddie play area, but you cannot have everything can you?

---

Overall, was really quite quiet there, not close to a main road, everyone appeared to respect each other, and other than the man in the tent next door whose snores matched a jet breaking the sound-barrier at rythmic intervals! (and who'd have control over that!) there were no noise issues.

---

I think that overall it is a very nice, big and open place to stay, beware the showers (i hope my instructions above will be noted!) and take industrial strength tent pegs and a club hammer! great for kids to roam aimlessly behind a football or each other safely. 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Paddock Wood      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3580 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement