Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Kent > Paddock Wood > The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park > Reviews

The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park
Beltring
Paddock Wood
Kent   (Browse area)
TN12 6PY
Tel: 01622 872068
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 300+
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 48 Reviews
                7/10 from 48 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 41 to 48                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daisy2772 3 reviews from this member

 This is our second August Bank Holiday at The Hop Farm but it will definitely be our last. We chose the site because of the closeness to our relatives in Paddock Wood but when visiting again we will steer clear of here.

Its a massive site, different fields, some with electric hook up but there is no order in the way people pitch, some being so close they could perhaps share airbeds. The roads to and from and around the site are full of potholes and this year it looked as if the grass hadn't been cut for weeks. Last year the weather had been good so the ground was so hard we couldn't get any pegs in, this year the exact opposite as everywhere was water logged.

The toilets and showers are worse than disgusting at times. You feel cleaner before getting in the shower than when you get out. On both visits the water has run out in the showers and I saw 3 ladies coming out of the showers in the wooden hut still covered in shampoo etc and running round to the other block.

The floors are so muddy (although strangely enough they were muddier last year when the ground was dry) that you're feet and trousers are black when you come out. I commented last year that if only they left some sort of mop then I am quite sure everyone would mop up after their shower as everyone was complaining but they haven't done anything. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sueanddan 2 reviews from this member

 I went to Hop Farm with 6 adults, 6 children and a very boisterous puppy! There was loads of space for children to run around in and lovely walks into woods, across a river and through huge open fields. It was perfect for both dog and children to let off steam and tire themselves out.

We camped just next to the stream (hidden from view so we had no idea it was there until we had set up camp!) but it wasn't a problem at all and the children just kept well away. It was nice and quiet as there weren't many people there even though it was bank holiday. We could pitch where we wanted and we weren't bothered at all by other campers.

We would recommend this site however there were a few downsides: I used the more private shower facilities one morning, at about 10am and the water was freezing in all 3 showers, as all the women were complaining. It was a cold, damp morning and the last thing I expected was to stand in a piercing stream of cold water. Apparently the other block was lovely and hot so I think it was just that newer block that had run out of hot water. The block with the more open changing area was fine the whole time.

The showers also became filthy after a short time and only appeared to be cleaned once a day - so with lots of muddy footprints (people also seemed to take their dogs with them into the sink area!) and no dry floor the whole shower block became really horrible to use. I have been to other sites where they provided buckets and mops to clean up after yourselves and I think this would have been really helpful in keeping the whole place a lot more pleasant.

There were lots of washing up areas and we never had to queue.

The site was really dog friendly but there were clear signs that told people not to let their dogs off the lead. However lots of people ignored this and our dog was often bothered by other roaming dogs coming near our site. One of the people we camped with isn't very keen on dogs and she was pestered by another dog chasing around the middle of the camping field. They didn't come near our camp but when we went walking around there were some dogs running around ignoring their owners!

The main attraction for my group was the space for the children - you really don't need any kind of play area for them. If you feel it is completely necessary then you can pay to use the attractions at Hop Farm - you get in half price if you are camping.

We used the local Somerfield to get a few bits a bobs - it's bigger than a Tesco Express but not as big as any normal superstore. We managed to find everything we needed and it was really handy to have it so close. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Topgun14 1 review from this member

 We visited this site recently for the first time and find actually trying to locate the camping area a little awkward as there was a lack of signs. Once your there it's difficult to locate your pitch as they are just marked with a marker pen number on the electric hook up - if you have one.

It's a nice enough site to use if you want to visit the Hop Farm as we did or attend an event, only problem is the quality of some of the other guests on site. The site does not seem to be monitored at all and it was quite noisy with kids and peoples music, which is a shame as the Hop Farm itself has so much to offer.

The facilities are again fine, the showers and toilets are sufficient - yes they do get dirty but they do try and keep them clean. Would summarise that ok for a night or 2 - but be warned plenty of noise at times. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sparkle001 9 reviews from this member

 This park is ideally located if you are attending an event at the Hop Farm.

The pitches are not clearly marked and the one we were given had no electric but we hooked into another unit after complaining to the staff.

The toilets and showers were dirty and after using once decided to use our own facilities.

There is a sign at the office stating that the Park has a local agreement with the taxi service but we were charged the full rate as the cab driver said the park hadn't let him know.

I thought the pitches overpriced for the facilities offered.

I would not recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Capnjack 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights over Easter weekend. The campsite is superbly located for the Hop Farm (literally on site!) Maistone and Tonbridge Wells. The site is a mix between hard standing and grass pitches with the later making up most of the site. The main two fields are literally pitch where you want which makes it much easier for parties with multiple tents. We had booked a grass pitch with no electric but were given a pitch with electric at no extra cost (shame we haven't yet bought an EHU)

The fields were fine with minimal surface water which was superb given the amount of rain recently! The lady who books you in was lovely and gave you everything you needed to know.

I have 3 minor gripes about the site though. 1) The pitches are not marked very clearly at all, the number is written on the electric point, often on the side, and can't be seen from the road. 2) The lack of child activities and the river which is almost hidden totally by banks of grass (the lady next door's son fell in twice, much to my amusement). 3) The facilities were very dirty which really is unacceptable when there are only 15-20 pitches used throughout.

Overall we had a very enjoyable experience here and would visit again without hesitation. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Riley Family 2 reviews from this member

 Our first ever camping trip and couldn't really find anything to complain about really.

This is a very quiet, relaxed camp site, you could pitch your tent where you wanted in the huge field and leave when you wanted the next day. There is a very small shop, but no other facilities except for the toilet/shower/dish wash area.

The toilet/shower block is adequate, a bit muddy after the morning rush as you'd expect, but otherwise clean. The shower cubicles could do with proper doors rather than shower curtains, and also somewhere to hang your towel.

We made use of the half-price entry into the Hop Farm on the Sunday, but were a bit disappointed -there is very little there to justify the entry price, although our 3 year old did enjoy it.

As we live local I'm sure we'll be back again for another night soon, but won't bother with the farm again! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julie feist 4 reviews from this member

 We arrived at the camp site for 4 nights as the War and Peace show had been there the weekend before. We took advantage of the 4 nights for the price of 3 deal and this campsite is well priced compared to others in Kent we have used. When tried to book initially were told couldn't go until 31st July which was too late for us as only had that week off but then managed to secure the 29th. Was expecting it to be really busy as been told the war and peace people would still be there, but wasn't busy at all. When arrived was really surprised to see that there was only us and one other tent and a couple of caravans in the first field and looking beyond to the other much larger fields there were just a couple of caravans in one and one tent in the other. A few War and peace campers were left in the show area.

Warm welcome awaited us and were told to pitch where we wanted that I took advantage of the quietness and pitched myself near an electric hook up where each of these also has a water tap so saved having to go and get water when had it just outside. Took advantage of the hop farm half price pass and spent half a day in there. We live locally and had been before but have to say that now there is far more there than before and was pleased with the half price offer as normally wouldn't pay the full price to go.

We had a wet couple of days and a dry couple but the ground there drains really well in the field we were in wasn't water logged or flooded at all. Where the War and Peace show had been over the previous wet weekend the shower and loo area was quite muddy and they were still moving tanks etc off site- but we were told when we booked and my son thought it was great all those tanks next door!

Around the site- between the fields there are a number of dykes which are only marked by the high grass along their banks and not fenced nor are there warning signs. Later in my stay when more families were arriving on the friday I had to usher a few small toddlers away from them where parents had just let them play and roam while putting their tents up and no one was watching them.If have kids there you do need to show them and make them aware of the dangers of these.

Loads of space here cant imagine it ever being full or ever not being able to have privacy at your pitch. Great if a group of you as could easily find space away from everyone else if wanted to. Lots of space for dog walking and the kids found a wooded area between 2 fields to play in and just loads of room to run about and have a few ball games. There is scope for them to add more facilities wise here and that may be their plan for the future but at moment no kids area or playgrounds, pools or anything just simple camping which is all most people want.

Staff on site are very helpful and friendly, cant do enough for you. The small shop has everything you need including bags of ice to chill the wine and beer! so important. They will also re-freeze your cool box packs if needed.
ASDA at Kings Hill is the nearest big supermarket with Somerfied at the petrol station on the next roundabout up. Paddock Wood has local food shopping too and a large Sainsbury's in Tunbridge Wells with some lovely shops and going the other way you have Maidstone, Kents county town where you can get everything. If you want somewhere nice to eat out at night there's a couple of pubs in East Peckham that do food and the village also has a fish and chip shop and chinese take away. West Malling- going back out towards the M20- has a good selection of local shops as well as a number of good restaurants and pubs.

On site there are ample washing up facilities I counted 8 I think stainless steel units and drainers. The toilets and showers are plenty, there are 2 blocks of each, although one of the ladies blocks was kept locked for 3 of our 4 days. The main blocks showers are not very private at all. You just have a curtain with a hook for your towel outside and communal area for getting dressed and leaving your belongings which personally I don't like. If your lucky enough to get into the other block, which I did one day when the main was being cleaned then these are better as they have 3 cubicle type showers which can go in and get undressed and leave belongings- then the shower is further on, can then come out and get dressed and dried in private and know your belongings are safe.
There is a large disabled loo at the front of the building with lots of room and on the flat. Cant comment on the mens loos and showers as didn't go in there as on own with my 6 year old son but he didn't make and adverse comments.In the 5 days/4 nights was there only saw any cleaning or evidence of cleaning once and the ladies did at one point smell like a gents (sorry guys) but felt personally the loos and showers could be cleaned more often to keep them cleaner and smelling sweet. Some of the walls were dirty and the doors and some loos had broken locks.
Theres a decking ramp around one of the loo blocks which was covered in mud and really slippery when we got there, it was all cleaned off when the guy came to do the cleaning but before that had to be really careful not to slip. Showers and loos are free don't need any money as some campsites you do. Showers were hot and powerful.Plenty of loo rolls and soap available.

Couldn't fault the site at all as value for money and space etc- we did have a problem with Wasps in the main site A field while there and got through 2 cans of spray in 4 nights- may pay to take some with you and some sting eaze just in case. Saying that we didn't get stung nor did any one else we met but they were just a pain every time you opened food or drink.Thought the dykes may attract insects but that wasn't a problem and didn't appear to be wasps in any of the other fields when we were walking around just our area.

I would return to this site again without hesitation, good value fo money loads of space and ample facilities. Friendly staff was a lovely bonus and excellent service.

Lots to see and do in area- apart from the Hop Farm you have the Spa Valley railway in Tunbridge Wells, Kent and East Sussex in Tenterden, Rochester and Upnor Castles, river boat rides in Maidstone, the vineyards in Lamberhurst and Biddenden that are free, Millenium Park in Maidstone which is free and the shopping all around is excellent. Before you come go on the internet and google Things to do in Kent Free, you will get all the places come up in the area where you can go for nothing and save some money on days out or get discount vouchers etc.We all like a bargain.

Hope to return later in the year for a weekend and will be back next summer holidays as well. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mandi.martin 6 reviews from this member

 We thought we'd try this new campsite for our first trip with our new van. We chose Easter weekend expecting it to very busy, but what surprise, not even half full! I think this was because its not well known, because the site is beautiful with acres of land & several camping fields.

The good bits: very friendly & very helpful site wardens nothing was too much trouble for them. Excellent dog walking, you can opt to have entry to the hop farm included in your price (i wouldn't have more than 1 day as there really isn't that much that would take longer & dogs aren't allowed in this was pointed out when booking)good if there is a show of some sort though.

Bad bits: not any really bad, but showers only have a shower curtain & no where to put anything except towel on hook out side dressing/drying area communal, not really problem as not busy, but everywhere very clean. We didn't find a wash up area that had hot water so did it in the van. There is no children's play area, but you really don't need one there is so much space for them & children seem to attract other children & end up playing together anyway. Word of warning there are various small streams around the various fields so pitch in the middle or watch little ones carefully!

Locally you have the hop farm, a very big asda at kings hill or a small sommerfield garage a couple of mins away.

Access excellent & only 15-20mins from M20.

We will definitely be going back & highly recommend this site, just don't all go when we want to! 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 48     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is The Hop Farm Touring And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Paddock Wood      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3367 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement