Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Egremont > Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm) Reviews

Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm)
Nethertown
Egremont
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA22 2UH
Tel: 07803 419930
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 52 Reviews
                9/10 from 52 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Msherb 1 review from this member

 Loved the location. Very quiet, peaceful and remote. Surrounded by horses and rolling fields.

Dish washing area is inadequate as sink was permanently blocked and only had cold water and insufficient lighting.

However, washed dishes at tent by boiling kettles and pans so no great problem.

Shower cost £1 to use but this provided plenty of hot water (Enough for two) 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Doodle 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely, peaceful site with flat camping and great views of the hills. It's a 10 minute walk to the beach, 5 minutes to Egremont (has a Co-op and takeaways etc) and 15 minutes to Whitehaven (Morrisons, Tesco, shopping area and restaurants; plus a great harbour).

The site has one hot shower, two toilets and washing up facilities but this was not a problem as the site is so small that we were never waitinG to use them.

The site is very laid back and everyone we met staying there were lovely. If you after something all singining and dancing then don't come here but if you want to just quetly camp (carvan/motorhome) with lovely friendly people in a quiet, unassuming location then book this.

Its a great site for those who just want to chill, can be self-sufficient and enjoy the outdoors. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bigjc7 1 review from this member

 We just love this wee site. Davie who runs it is very nice to talk too.

Going back next month for another week we hope if no Covid19 in area.

This site is very basic, but the peacefulness far outweighs anything the my missus and require.

The price per night is astonishing compared to other sites in Cumbria area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Swift600fb 3 reviews from this member

 Booked 2 nights for 2 Motorhomes it was so nice and peaceful

Absolutely amazing views and good for walking the dogs

For such a small simple site it was perfect

We didnít manage to meet Dave the owner to tell him that it was just right, he even text to say just put the money owed in the honesty box

Will definitely go back if we are visiting the area 10/10. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Rhona4 1 review from this member

 Lovely location and beautiful views from our pitch.

Excellent facilities, cleaned regularly.

Very peaceful and the owners were really helpful.

We will stay here again next time we visit our family in Egremont. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jmport 1 review from this member

 Lovely small, quiet, campsite with well kept and clean basic facilities (2 toilets, £1 coin operated hot shower, and covered dish washing sink. Plenty of hand gel available and Covid guidelines being adhered to).

Site in raised situation with wide views across Lakeland fells. Only sounds we could hear were birds and the sea.

Nearest shops / pubs in Egremont approx 2 miles away.

No staff based on site, owner easily contactable by phone and visits site frequently. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robertdawson75 1 review from this member

 The site is as described and suited our requirements perfectly.

The facilities were clean and the owner friendly and efficient.

I like peace and quiet and this is what you get. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Elena8 1 review from this member

 Had everything we needed, nice and simple and great value for money.

We are running the coast to coast route and wanted something cheap and cheerful with a good shower.

It was a nice flat field too with easy access so perfect for the camper.

Thank you for having us! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Drog 1 review from this member

 Booked by email as I had no reply from phone. We turned up an chose our own pitch where we could look out towards the scafell range. We were surrounded by fields and 1/2mile from Nethertown beach. A brilliant chill site close to Market town Egremont 2. 5 miles. About 7 miles from the Georgian port of Whitehaven.

Facilities are simple. 2 toilets, one with cold water sink. A shower room with £1 charge. Covered washup area and chemical toilet drop. Centre area was left uncut to allow wildlife to thrive. The adjoining fields had horses grazing. Dogs are allowed on leads. Children are not allowed but to be fair there are no play areas for them. We were charged £10 + £5 for electricity. The owners were pleasant and helpful but not on site and called at varying times.

There is a railway station 1/2 mile from the site with trains to Carlisle and Barrow. This is a hail and ride station and not all trains stop. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marramc48 15 reviews from this member

 What a superb setting, situated on a slight slope overlooking the Western Lakeland fells, perfectly placed to capture the spectacular sunrises when the conditions are right. The toilet/shower block was immaculate and the site was very well kept. The owner apologised for not being able to cut the grass due to the wet weather although I preferred the grass slightly long instead of carrying wet cut grass into my van.

Plenty of dog walks adjacent to the site with the beach and railway station a fifteen minute walk away. The triangular walk around the village brought back happy memories of a mis-spent youth visiting the Tow Bar Inn at weekends, now replaced by a residential home park.

Egremont two miles away provides all of ones needs including Doctors, Pharmacy, Vet, Post Office, local butcher. Supermarket, freezer centre and of course Hartleys ice cream factory.

The town of Whitehaven, where I spent most of the first fifty years of my life, is approximately eight miles away and provides more shops and tourist attractions.

I will certainly be returning in the future and wish the proprietors the success they deserve with their venture. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm) child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm)?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Egremont      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5133 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement