Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Egremont > Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm) Reviews

Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm)
Nethertown
Egremont
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA22 2UH
Tel: 07803 419930  or  01946 694842
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 36 Reviews
                9/10 from 36 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robertdawson75 1 review from this member

 The site is as described and suited our requirements perfectly.

The facilities were clean and the owner friendly and efficient.

I like peace and quiet and this is what you get. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Elena81354wnt 1 review from this member

 Had everything we needed, nice and simple and great value for money.

We are running the coast to coast route and wanted something cheap and cheerful with a good shower.

It was a nice flat field too with easy access so perfect for the camper.

Thank you for having us! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Drog 1 review from this member

 Booked by email as I had no reply from phone. We turned up an chose our own pitch where we could look out towards the scafell range. We were surrounded by fields and 1/2mile from Nethertown beach. A brilliant chill site close to Market town Egremont 2. 5 miles. About 7 miles from the Georgian port of Whitehaven.

Facilities are simple. 2 toilets, one with cold water sink. A shower room with 1 charge. Covered washup area and chemical toilet drop. Centre area was left uncut to allow wildlife to thrive. The adjoining fields had horses grazing. Dogs are allowed on leads. Children are not allowed but to be fair there are no play areas for them. We were charged 10 + 5 for electricity. The owners were pleasant and helpful but not on site and called at varying times.

There is a railway station 1/2 mile from the site with trains to Carlisle and Barrow. This is a hail and ride station and not all trains stop. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marramc48 15 reviews from this member

 What a superb setting, situated on a slight slope overlooking the Western Lakeland fells, perfectly placed to capture the spectacular sunrises when the conditions are right. The toilet/shower block was immaculate and the site was very well kept. The owner apologised for not being able to cut the grass due to the wet weather although I preferred the grass slightly long instead of carrying wet cut grass into my van.

Plenty of dog walks adjacent to the site with the beach and railway station a fifteen minute walk away. The triangular walk around the village brought back happy memories of a mis-spent youth visiting the Tow Bar Inn at weekends, now replaced by a residential home park.

Egremont two miles away provides all of ones needs including Doctors, Pharmacy, Vet, Post Office, local butcher. Supermarket, freezer centre and of course Hartleys ice cream factory.

The town of Whitehaven, where I spent most of the first fifty years of my life, is approximately eight miles away and provides more shops and tourist attractions.

I will certainly be returning in the future and wish the proprietors the success they deserve with their venture. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jimlol 1 review from this member

 Absolutely perfect till people with yappy dogs came to stay(5 of them) and ruined the peace and quiet. Not the site owners fault of course! They run a lovely little site and are a pair of caring, pleasant owners. Well kept grass field. A small but very clean toilets (2) and shower(1) block. Washing up sink, rubbish and recycle bins, waste water and chem disposal all clean and tidy like the rest of the site. No trouble at all with hookup. We had a great 3 day break and visited Egremont castle, Whitehaven and went all the way to Silloth where we saw porpoises from the promenade car park. Superb fish and chips from Frasers in Egremont. The site is just across the road from Singletons Nursery which is worth a visit if you are a gardener. Definitely will return 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: January 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Freyasmum 36 reviews from this member

 Really liked this site. Flat, dog friendly, quiet, lovely views. The owners were helpful and friendly. Clean and tidy toilets and dish wash areas. However, for a winter stay, facilities (in my opinion) need to be heated to gain full 5 star status. Would happily stay again especially in summer.

On quiet road very close to great Sustrans cycle routes. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davekarenbarnes 1 review from this member

 Very clean shower and toilets.

Friendly site owners.

Level site with beautiful views.

Electric supply mixture of 16 and 6 amps. We used 16 and had no problems.

Very close to St Bees and the Lakes.

Beautiful area, very quiet get away site, ideal for mature adults.

No shop locally nearest shop or pub about 3 miles. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Iforce 2 reviews from this member

 On arrival at this site it was unattended by the owners, but we were told that if they were not on site then just choose anwhere on the site for our caravan. We met the owner about 4 days later and a very pleasant gentleman. The site is in a very secluded and quite location, and just the way we like it.

There is only 1 Shower (unisex), and while it is very clean and spacous, it is also I think quite expensive at 1 minimum per use. My main gripe is the power supply. I don't know what the amperage is but it was constantly tripping, fortuatly you are able to reset the trip yourself.

It is quite close to Egremont village with a large selection of Pubs and takaways. Whitehaven is also only ashort drive, there are many country and seaftont walks in the area.

I would visit this site again only if the Electric were better as it was quite a cheap site in comparison to most other sites. Goos overall value. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: BarnsleyFc 2 reviews from this member

 A absolute gem of a site, if you want peace and quiet then this is the place for you. Lovely location, spotless site and facilities, fantastic hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them, the local area is breathtaking. We will be back for sure, it is a must for any camper/caravanners, fantastic value for money!

Just a word of advice for those travelling from the south, use the directions given on Rosegarth Farm`s own web site from the M6, we followed them going and had no bother, but was 20 miles further than the sat nav route. So decided to follow sat nav when we left. Big mistake with a tourer, we were up and down dale, on roads not much wider than a track, very hairy if you meet something the other way. We managed, but won`t make that mistake again! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jodyd 2 reviews from this member

 A fantastic site which we have used on 3 occasions. Owners are lovely, nothing is too much trouble for them, they don't live on site but visit every morning/evening to check you are ok. Facilities are basic but clean and the surrounding area is beautiful. Nearest shop (Co-op) is in Egremont, a 10 minute drive. We visit in a tent so a weekend is the longest we can stay as there are no facilities for refreezing ice blocks or doing laundry etc, something the owners are hoping to add in the future hopefully if planning permission is granted. It would certainly be a welcome addition to an already lovely site. 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm) child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm)?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Egremont      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7087 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements