Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Egremont > Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm) Reviews

Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm)
Nethertown
Egremont
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA22 2UH
Tel: 07803 419930
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
                9/10 from 49 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Iforce 2 reviews from this member

 On arrival at this site it was unattended by the owners, but we were told that if they were not on site then just choose anwhere on the site for our caravan. We met the owner about 4 days later and a very pleasant gentleman. The site is in a very secluded and quite location, and just the way we like it.

There is only 1 Shower (unisex), and while it is very clean and spacous, it is also I think quite expensive at £1 minimum per use. My main gripe is the power supply. I don't know what the amperage is but it was constantly tripping, fortuatly you are able to reset the trip yourself.

It is quite close to Egremont village with a large selection of Pubs and takaways. Whitehaven is also only ashort drive, there are many country and seaftont walks in the area.

I would visit this site again only if the Electric were better as it was quite a cheap site in comparison to most other sites. Goos overall value. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: BarnsleyFc 2 reviews from this member

 A absolute gem of a site, if you want peace and quiet then this is the place for you. Lovely location, spotless site and facilities, fantastic hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them, the local area is breathtaking. We will be back for sure, it is a must for any camper/caravanners, fantastic value for money!

Just a word of advice for those travelling from the south, use the directions given on Rosegarth Farm`s own web site from the M6, we followed them going and had no bother, but was 20 miles further than the sat nav route. So decided to follow sat nav when we left. Big mistake with a tourer, we were up and down dale, on roads not much wider than a track, very hairy if you meet something the other way. We managed, but won`t make that mistake again! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jodyd 2 reviews from this member

 A fantastic site which we have used on 3 occasions. Owners are lovely, nothing is too much trouble for them, they don't live on site but visit every morning/evening to check you are ok. Facilities are basic but clean and the surrounding area is beautiful. Nearest shop (Co-op) is in Egremont, a 10 minute drive. We visit in a tent so a weekend is the longest we can stay as there are no facilities for refreezing ice blocks or doing laundry etc, something the owners are hoping to add in the future hopefully if planning permission is granted. It would certainly be a welcome addition to an already lovely site. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Liane1948 11 reviews from this member

 The owners of this site do not live here and when we stayed we were all alone! As we did not know the area we worried about our Motorhome when we went out. It just wasn't what we were used to I supposed.

The positives, this is a very nice site and very good value for money. Lovely views (Sellafield is not a problem its a long way away).

The shower is coin operated but great and kept lovely and clean as were the toilets.

Would visit this site again if others are staying too. 


Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Heather n Neil 1 review from this member

 An easy review for this site -

Location, location, location. The owners are excellent hosts and maintain a high standard throughout every aspect of the site along with exceptional value.

We have stayed here many times without disappointment. To correct a review posted by another visitor 16amp power supply is available in various locations on the site.

I believe that plans to extend the toilet/shower facilities are drawn & awaiting approval.

This is a must visit site for anyone exploring the peace & tranquillity of West Cumbria, the natural beauty of the lakes & fells or the vibrancy of Whitehaven etc 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pscylo 4 reviews from this member

 Great little site, cracking views of the lake district though you may have to mentally block the glow from Sellafield.

Lovely little beach just down the road at St Bees, decent sized Coop at Egremont and all supermarket chains represented at nearby Whitehaven. Well sited just off the A595 so access to the NW of the lakes is easy. We had a week and spent four days in the lakes, and 3 at the beach.

EHU is a little light rated - we tripped it a lot, I think it was 6 amp. It is 'over 18s' but don't be surprised to see the odd kid there, they'll stay out of your hair though.

Showers are a quid and overpriced if I'm honest, would rather they were cheaper so you didn't overpay. We could get three showers out of a pound. That said you'll often find enough credit built up to cover your shower gratis.

All in all though, very quiet enjoyable stay and would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JuliaNeil 3 reviews from this member

 Rosegarth is a very quiet and very well run site. This was our second visit this year and it is now at the top of list. Steve and Mark are fantastic owners and keep the place spotless. The grass is cut regularly and although basic, the facilities are all you need.

The views from the site are tremendous, over fields to the mountains in the distance with fantastic cloud formations to watch especially at dawn and sunset. The beach is just minutes walk away. (You can hear waves instead of traffic noise. )

There are two garden centres close by, one with a restaurant and bar and Egremont (10 minute drive) has a medium sized Co-op, pharmacy, tourist info. Centre, pubs.

A perfect base for exploring the less crowded western lakes of Ennerdale and Wastwater, and Ravenglass gives easy access to Eskdale. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Melh 3 reviews from this member

 We found Rosegarth through an internet search for camp sites without midges, following a previous break that was cut short by a midge plague.

Rosegarth is a small site near the sea in Cumbria. When we arrived there was only one other party pitched and it felt as if we had the whole campsite to ourselves. The owners were very helpful and made us feel welcome.

There is one shower only, which was ok for us due to the site being quiet. The washing up area is under cover, which would be useful in rainy weather.

There is a Cafe across the road, which is handy for a snack or if you don't feel like cooking.

All in all we had a lovely weekend break and Rosegarth and have added the side to our 'definite come back' camp sites. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Johnjory 124 reviews from this member

 Happy to agree with previous reviewers’ positive comments about what a nice site Rosegarth Farm is, and add some additional detail.

We used their permanently sited 1994 Adria Forma twin axle ‘van which comes equipped with everything except your bedding. Considering it is the Lake District and our visit was peak season, we felt it represented excellent value for money.

Overall, a very pleasant experience, however, you might like to note that the on board water heating has been disabled so you rely on boiling the kettle. Also that all water has been turned off and the sink removed in the toilet area, so there is no effective personal washing on board. No real problem as you are very near to the facilities.

The site is very quiet, level and beautifully presented with 4 hard standings and a further grass area. There are 3 horse paddocks adjoining the pitching area which contain Mark & Steve’s horses. , Despite flood warnings covering all Northern England and 6 days of very wet weather, the site showed no signs whatsoever of becoming boggy.

The facilities ‘block’ is a conveniently located small Portable cabin containing 2x wc’s and 1x shower (£1). The interior is very modern, well decorated and maintained. An excellent facility in CS / CL terms.

Vey dog friendly (no charge), but obviously they must not worry the horses. In fact dogs seemed to be accommodated virtually everywhere we went.

Make sure you arrive with provisions as, other than the restaurant in the nearby garden centre, there are no local shops. Nearest are in Egremont, and the major supermarket chains are in Whitehaven.

The Hardnott Pass between Boot and Little Langdale must be the most extreme public road in the UK. It is a great drive, but I strongly recommend not going in anything larger than a car / 4x4; not going during adverse weather; and exercising every caution. I am not exaggerating!

To sum up: Steve & Mark are very helpful people and their permanently sited ‘van saved us a very long haul with our own ‘van. Happy to recommend Rosegarth Farm in every way. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shellles 6 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a lovely 3 nights at this site. The site is small and quiet, the owner was very friendly and helpful, often see him around the site doing various jobs and helping other campers.

Sufficient toilet, shower and waste facilities which are kept spotless. Within walking distance to beach, which our puppy loved. It can be a tight squeeze through the lanes to get to the site, but other drivers very good at reversing when necessary.

The site entrance is very well laid out, not too tight upon entering and the gate is far enough away so you are not blocking the lane whilst it is being opened.

Lots of room on site for manoeuvring the caravan and the owner told us the best position to face as the wind direction on windy days, which was very helpful as it did get very windy on one particular day.

Will definitely be coming back to this site. 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm) child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm)?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Egremont      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4087 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement