Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Egremont > Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm) Reviews

Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm)
Nethertown
Egremont
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA22 2UH
Tel: 07803 419930
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
                9/10 from 49 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Bielo 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 6 nights in the caravan on site, the owners Mark & Steve are helpful and friendly.

The toilets and shower were immaculate, the views were fantastic and the site is located in easy reach of Whitehaven, Maryport etc.

The field was well kept and the grass cut regularly. We left at August bank holiday and the site was getting busier so it was the 1st time all week we had to queue for the 1 shower, but it is the owners intentions to have more showers installed.

I would certainly visit this very nice site again 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: G4jnw 4 reviews from this member

 Just back from Rosegarth and would recommend this site to anyone, the site is well kept and clean, the toilets are immaculate and the owner is friendly and helpful, lovely views too and not far from the sea if you are a sea fisherman like myself.

The site is quiet and dog friendly.

Note this is an adult only site which suited us.

There is a nice garden centre across the road and prices are good plus it has a cafe.

Don't let the nearness to sellafield put you off, although you can see the plant at a distance it does not detract from the lovely views.

There is a decent shower there although it will cost a £1 but you get a long shower for that. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Luiizg 5 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a fantastic week at Rosegarth Farm. We couldn't have been more pleased with the site and it facilities. There were no more than 5 other tents and caravans on site during the time we were there and it was just bliss.

Fantastic views across the fields with grazing horses and just a short drive to the beach, some lovely pubs and great walks and sights.

The owners could not of been nicer and made time to chat and give advice if needed.

The toilets and showers are currently unisex however being adult only and a small site this isn't an issue and they were immaculately clean and didn't have to wait the whole week.

Is on our to go again list! 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wooleyb 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Rosegarth in March this year - we were going to the Whitehaven Beer Festival.

An adult only site, we arrived on the opening weekend of the camping season so there was only us camping which was good and was lovely and peaceful too.

Campsite is really lovely, very flat with good drainage. Toilet block, with two toilets, is very clean and the shower block (one shower) is also clean and has a good supply of hot water. Shower costs £1 and lasts forever. In fact I defy anyone to use a £1's worth!

Owners Steve and Mark were just fantastic - they were even good enough to drive us into Whitehaven for the beer festival on Saturday morning.

On our first night we went across the road to the restaurant at the garden centre - the food was excellent and the owner took time out to chat to us and tell us about the local area.

All in all the weekend was really lovely and would definitely go back there in the future - its a great site with great people running it. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mazian 2 reviews from this member

 We chose to stay on this site for one night in April because it was only a couple of hours drive from home and we wanted to road test our new tent. Rosegarth Farm is a little off the beaten track, but it allows you to be right in the heart of the countryside.

On arrival we were warmly greeted by Mark and Steve, the owners and as we were the only people on the site, we were told to pitch wherever we liked. We were even told to lift one of the picnic

Table and bench sets and put it at the side of the tent.

This adult only site, is very beautiful with well manicured tent pitches, lovely views and is surrounded on three sides by paddocks with horses in them. There are hard standings for caravans and motor homes and there are some electric hookups available (6amp) for caravans, motor homes and tents.

There is a small toilet block containing two toilets and a shower, but while we were there, Mark and Steve were separating the toilets into a ladies and a gents, which will be a much better arrangement. As we didn't use the shower, we cannot really comment on it, however we did take a look at it and it looked spotlessly clean, as were the toilets.

There is a small outside sink area (cold water only) to wash and rise dishes and cooking utensils. There is also an outside tap stand for water.

Directly across from the entrance gate there is a garden center which also has a restaurant. Very handy!

This tranquil site is a little gem, which has an extremely reasonable tariff, enhanced by owners who care. So if you're looking for a basic but very well maintained site in this area, then this is for you. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pork Chop 3 reviews from this member

 Me and my boyfriend stayed at this site for two nights at the very beginning of September.

We thought this site was terrific, just what we were looking for.

Its small, when we went there were only two other couple there which was great. And no children! whipee

There are two toilets and one shower, and this is fine for the size of the camp. We never had to wait for anybody.

The location is lovely, in a little field surrounded by paddocks with the owners horses in. At first, driving to this site, it may feel like its in the middle of nowhere. But believe me, it is a very short drive to whitehaven and other towns, so that waas great.

The owner was great too, they don't pester you and we didn't actually even see him for the first whole day and night, on the second evening he came to chat to us, and he even brought us a barbecue stand to put ours on!

Tariff was good. £20 for two nights

Overall very good and would definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coopy 3 reviews from this member

 A fab campsite for a welcome rest. The owners Mark and Steve are possibly the friendliest campsite owners we have ever met. We were made to feel very welcome during our week long stay (they even offered to drive us to the local pub!).

The site is level and exceptionally clean but it is windy all of the time (even more so at night!)The site was quiet, even at its busiest.

There are only two toilets and one shower, Although there was never a queue to use it. One criticism however is that there was no hot water in the sinks. Both the one in the toilets and the one with the shower only have cold water running to them. This is probably the only improvement we felt that needed to be made.

A peaceful and tranquil place to stay while exploring the lake district. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tci872 14 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from our second visit this year and once again the site impresses. Steve and Mark cant do enough to make you feel welcome and at home.

The toilet / shower block is immaculate as ever. There is now an area for hanging towels etc to dry. The site has been extended since our last visit and extra hook ups added but Steve and Mark are limiting the number of pitches used so as not to overcrowd the place.And toilet block.

The cafe / restaurant over the road does excellent breakfasts.As well as reasonably priced evening meals.

Another excellent and relaxing weekend.Thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sixchannel 6 reviews from this member

 The site is really excellent.

It is located just to the west of Egremont and the roads to it are wide and good apart from the final mile which is single track with passing places but the traffic volume is so low that it was never a problem. Caution – swing into the site entrance (on the left) from the right hand side of the road to avoid getting stuck. The owners, Mark and Steve will be fixing this in the 2010/11 winter close by re-aligning the boundary wall to create an angled run-in and that will make it a doddle, even for the larger units.

The pitching area is predominantly level short mown grass, and is open to wonderful views into the far distance.10 electric points around the perimeter of the field – 16 amps. Pegging is easy. Even in wet weather the field drains well – no soggy patches anywhere.

Lots of room for everyone. It could probably take 20 units without anyone feeling cramped.

Now to the “facilities”! There is a shared toilet 'block' for men and women comprising just loos and they are as clean as those you would wish for in your own home. Wonderful! Same for the shower. Although there is only one, it is of the very best quality and as spotless and as good as anything in your own bathroom. Charge was £1, although it must be said that you cannot use what you have paid for and as a consequence an amount built up in the meter for 'anyone' to use. On top of the meter, there was an “Honesty £1” in case anyone was stuck for change and needed to use the shower. It's that kind of place!

The NEW washup facilities for 2010 will be under cover for 2011. The chemical emptying point will also have a dedicated tap and hose (for rinsing) in 2011.

The fresh water tap in the field has solar lights all round it so it can easily be seen at night as the site, being out in the countryside, has no other lighting.

Horses inhabit the adjacent fields and so dogs MUST be on leads at all times. No noise and no smell from the animals – Mark loves his horses and has magnificent stabling for them.

Rosegarth is only about ½ mile from the sea, and although the beach at Nethertown is not that inspiring there are plenty of beaches within a few minutes. Nethertown possesses neither a pub nor a shop (go to Egremont for both) and so the area is peaceful and relaxing.

Directly acros from Rosegarth is Singletons Nursery and Garden Centre which must sell the cheapest shrubs and plants in the country and has a very nice little restaurant that is not at all pricey.

One of the best rural sites we have been on. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnanddot 8 reviews from this member

 Went for festival at Whitehaven which was brilliant. Steve and Mark cannot be more friendly. Will give you any info you require on the area and local transport etc. Lovely walks to beach (10mins) and further to nearby villages.

Bike ride or walk to St.Bees on nice day. Can walk along beach but with care. Site has views to die for. Only spotless toilet block on site but that would note deter us from returning in the near future. Cant wait.  


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm) child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm)?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ellergill Raise Campsite (formerly Rosegarth Farm) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Egremont      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4763 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement