Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Clays Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Wrexham > Wrexham > Clays Touring Park > Reviews

Clays Touring Park
Bryn Estyn Road
Wrexham
Wrexham   (Browse area)
LL13 9UB
Tel: 01978 661852
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 50 Reviews
                9/10 from 50 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Motorcamper 5 reviews from this member

 Could do with better signs, had a job finding it. Ideal site if you are a fisherman, some ponds down the bottom end of the site. Lots of long timers there had the best pitches.

Stayed on grass 22 a night if you want hard standing 24, that's with electric hookup. A bit difficult to get on and off the pitch because the road is a bit narrow, ok if you have a mover. The toilets are good except the showers only had warm water.

Wrexham is good for shopping Tesco and asda easy to get to just head straight in to town, Sainsbury and Morrisons on the far side by the Football ground. Chirk Castle and Erddig well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Duckies 47 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a week at Easter. Lovely friendly helpful staff. Toilets clean and tidy. We were on a hardstanding pitch that drained well. Husband enjoyed the fishing on site.

Wifi available which was good to have. Lovely quiet site. Will return to this site again in the future. If you like golf there is a course just down the lane. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suelancaster 4 reviews from this member

 Visited this lovely site over the bank holiday weekend. Definitely recommend! Had a very comfortable, relaxing visit.

Upon arrival we went to the reception, paid the fee upfront plus a 15 deposit for toilet keys (which you do get back at the end of the holiday) and received a warm welcome. We got a welcome pack with the very reasonable rules of the campsite (campfires allowed with any type of wood, no loud music etc) and lots of suggestions of things to do! Local dog friendly pubs, tourist attractions and activities.

There are lots of pubs within a 10 minute drive! You could walk into Wrexham within 30 minutes also. In the laundry room the owners have posted lots of information leaflets on the wall and the menus from all the local pubs (very useful).

The toilets and showers were very clean, the only criticism I have is that the showers could be a bit hotter to make them more enjoyable.

The field where we pitched our tent was quite big and slightly sloped and could hold about 15 tents. It was surrounded by trees which kept all the wind out and was nice and sheltered.

Definitely a place to stay! Helpful staff, great facilities, dog friendly, great atmosphere! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Valhalla1066 2 reviews from this member

 I took my son and nephew here last weekend for a fishing trip and I was very impressed. The site is spotless.

The toilet block should win a award for its cleanliness. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

I liked the key fob that opens the barrier and the whole site is locked up at night. There is 2 average sized fishing lakes which is ideal for lads n dads. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mei and Owen 1 review from this member

 We chose to book Clay's as it was advertised as a peaceful site, perfect for relaxing. Upon our arrive we were greeted warmly by the warden, and given the site information and details of the surrounding area.

Having pitched the tent in a great spot, we BBQ'd up something for dinner and took a walk around the site. The scenery is lovely, and the fishing lakes are very tranquil, perfect for an evening stroll.

Over the weekend, we used the site as a base to venture further into Wales, and went as far as Pistyll Rhaeadr falls and Chirk Castle. We found Clay's Touring and Leisure Park to be perfect, as it is close to major traffic routes without all the noise.

The Park's facilities were clean and well maintained. The staff were warm and friendly, and the Park itself was beautiful. For a calm, relaxed campsite in great surrounding, look no further. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Redsue1 2 reviews from this member

 Found this little site by chance and booked in for 3 nights in June. What a lovely site! So pretty and peaceful, lovely flat, fully serviced pitch for our motor home. My husband spent the three days fishing happily on the lakes and was very impressed to find that there is no charge for fishing if you book a pitch with electric! The golf club is a five min walk down the quiet lane from the site and you even get a discount on food and drink with the discount card supplied by the caravan park and discounts on golf as well I believe.

Lovely lakes to walk around and a nice touch to have picnic tables with parasols dotted around the lakes. Guests are given a welcome pack on arrival which gives you everything from direction to the nearest shops to local taxi numbers plus lots of local tourist info so plenty to do in the area!

The warden and site owners do everything they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, nothing is too much trouble for them. The warden even managed to find us a local dog sitter! I would recommend this site to anyone wanting a quite, relaxing break in lovely surrounding. We are looking forward to booking a full week there in September. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Margaretandpaul 1 review from this member

 This is our 3rd year now at the lovely camp site at clays on an all service seasonal pitch

The site is a credit to the owners toilets spotless there is an inside washing up area plus washing machine & dryer and freezer plus fridge for campers use

There are two fishing lakes with picnic tables to enjoy the tranquil atmosphere

The whole site is landscaped with an abundance of flowers

We feel very safe here as there is new CCTV in place and barrier

Nothing is to much trouble for the owners and the warden

You can also walk to the golf club for a drink or a meal

The golf course surrounds the site 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Caz1101 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 2 nights in the last weekend in September so we were a bit spoilt and had the tent field to ourselves. This was only our 2nd camping trip and I chose the site carefully as our first trip at a different site had not gone well due to other noisy campers. We had intentionally gone for a quiet site and this is definitely what we got.

There are no children's play areas but as I had teenagers, that was not an issue and it has fishing and Golf which kept most of our party occupied. On the weekend we stayed mine where the only young people on site, but again to us that was not an issue.

At night you could here a pin drop and on one of our evening strolls we noticed that TVs were kept low so as not to disturb others and music is not allowed on the site at any time. The facilities are excellent and always clean.

They do have a thorough cleaning once a day but also throughout the day everyone using them also made the effort to keep everything tidy. All in all if you are looking for some rest and relaxation with plenty of quiet time this is the site to visit.

That was just what we wanted and will definitely be returning. 
Management response: Thank you for a lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will come and stay again.

Just to let you know we do allow music to be played on site as long as it is not loud enough to disturb other guests. As you rightly said we are a very peaceful site and strive to ensure everyone gets to chill out and relax here.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sue Harries, Warden


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Millie-06 8 reviews from this member

 Just spent a really nice weekend here chilling out and relaxing in lovely surroundings. Everything went well, from the telephone booking, checking in and even the tent went up without any cross words and raised voices, always a bonus! The site is beautifully maintained, its a bit worrying when approaching you see signs for an industrial site but don't let this mislead you as the site is down a country lane. Staff were lovely and friendly, as were the other people staying on site. Sue, the warden, was really helpful in finding a garage where we could exchange an empty gas bottle, not easy on a Sunday morning, and she had a lot of leaflets and posters in reception of tourist attractions that we found useful.

All the facilities are housed together in one building, the showers are the push the button every few minutes type but once you have used these you become aware of when to press the button. The shower/toilets were always clean and there is a mop to tidy up after yourself. There is a laundry room and a pot washing room indoors which also house a fridge and freezer for campers to use. There is a book exchange and lots of magazines, would come in useful on a rainy day, also more information about the surrounding area, sample menus and posters of what is going on.

The tents are located in their own field which was so peaceful, and there was plenty of space on each pitch, the field is well screened with trees and even though it got quite windy it didn't pose a problem. Located just a few miles outside Wrexham, so easy to get to shops. Would think this is more of an adult site, although the children who were camping were making their own entertainment which was nice to see but all in all can highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sidkent 4 reviews from this member

 Very quiet, peaceful site. The toilets and showers were immaculate and the staff friendly. The on-site fishing was good. Disappointed with the on-site dog walk, as it was very small and quite unsuitable for large dogs. Tried the nearby cycle path for dog walking but this wasn't great, as it was too short. Some nice places to visit nearby. Went to Erdigg and had a beautiful walk by the river. Would possibly return just for a peaceful weekend. 
Management response: The 'off lead' dog run covers a reasonable size area to the right of the first lake, it is a good size and we have not had any previous complaints about it. Guests are also able to walk their dogs on a lead around the vicinity of both lakes [a total of 6 acres]

In relation to the cycle route which is situated at the end of the lane this route is a public footpath and has nothing to do with our site. There are also a number of alternative routes accessible from our site for those wishing to take longer walks. A copy of these routes/walks are available from reception upon request. If guests have very large dogs which require longer walks please let reception know on arrival and we will provide information on a number of local country parks etc.


Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Clays Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Clays Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Clays Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wrexham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wrexham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3123 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement