Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Clays Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Wrexham > Wrexham > Clays Touring Park > Reviews

Clays Touring Park
Bryn Estyn Road
Wrexham
Wrexham   (Browse area)
LL13 9UB
Tel: 01978 661852
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 50 Reviews
                9/10 from 50 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chris Hume 17 reviews from this member

 Only spent 1 night at this site. Don't rely on your sat nav to get you there as a new road has been built and sent us in the wrong direction. After going to the tourist information for directions (who were not very helpful) had to phone site who gave us good directions. Friendly staff, good shower/toilet block. Laundry room. Weather was not the best. This site would look even better than it did if the sun was shining. We would return if we were in the area. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravane 3 reviews from this member

 Facilities clean and well maintained. Do seem to close for a while in order to achieve this though! It was clean and well maintained grass pitch. Even when it did rain for a whole day.

Not much near by in walking distance which can also be considered a bonus! Rosset is nice and we had a nice meal there in Golden Lion.

Warden friendly and helpful from booking to arrival and throughout.

I do not feel this site is suitable for children. More of an adult site. No ball games, bikes etc. Would I go back? Probably not. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gonks 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back to sunny Cornwall and thought I would read the other reviews on here. Thanks everyone for finalising a fantastic weekend at this site with such a giggle. This site is advertised as a quiet site, so why complain that it does not have a playground? Having previously worked with large scale water filtration, I can expertly say that lake water does have a nasty habit of changing colour from time to time, but that should not be any reason to put off going to this site. Don't get me started on dogs' paws getting dirty whilst camping, my word, what a shock!

The owners and the warden are lovely and very accommodating, thanks for the jump start.

They have big plans for the site and I am sure that it will grow and grow. Just watch that old shed, as I think it has plans?

The showers/toilets are excellent. Now I am not all that large, but those showers are cavernous! I could have sworn I heard an echo in there, which is about all you'll hear at Clays. This site is really quiet, with only the sound of birds.

There are huge amounts to do locally and my wife really enjoyed her trip on the heritage railway at Llangollen, which according to my car was 17 miles (maybe it's still on Cornish miles).

All in all, if you want a quiet site with sod all to do but relax and enjoy the world and a few adorable squirrels go past, without screaming kids or soccer balls hitting your tent every five minutes then Clays is for you.

As Arnie says 'I'll be back' 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Melissa Shovelton 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this site at the end of June/ beginning of July and had a brilliant weekend. A small site with a separate pitch for tents and caravans.

Really clean toilet/shower block and laundry room with a washer, dryer and iron/ironing board. Staff were really friendly and would go out of their way to help.

A peaceful site, so non of your Butlins holiday camp entertainment or arcades ect, but plenty to do in the surrounding areas. We made our own entertainment, out all day and at night sat around with a nice beer and good conversation. What more do you need.

I couldn't fault the site at all. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Happywonderer 2 reviews from this member

 The warden and owners could not be more obliging and helpful at all times. The facilities are excellent, clean and well thought out. If on occasions there is a problem with these it usually due to people leaving a mess and is quickly resolved by the warden or owners. The old shed is left up for a genuine reason and further development of facilities to the site which will be for the enjoyment of all people to this wonderful peaceful site.

We have two dogs and find nothing to complain about regarding the dog walk or any thing else. There is virtually no noise from the industrial, well screened site in the distant, and only when the wind blows strongly from the south-east. Birds can be heard from early morning and pleasant as the site is in the country. As for a walk to the local pub, it is normal to have quiet unlit lanes to reach some places. The web site and brochure are accurate and it is up to people to read these before booking or go and visit the site first. Further useful information is also given on arrival.

We visit this site regularly and have not been disappointed. Much is planned for this relatively new site. Constructive criticism is good,but check what you want from a site before you go. Eg Noise, lots of entertainment for the kids etc then go to somewhere else as there is plenty of choice around. Leave the rest of us to enjoy nature, walks, good company, friendly helpful staff and good all round facilities with much to do in the surrounding area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynne Brown 3 reviews from this member

 Just spent a few days on this lovely site again, was here last year and it's good to see the plants and trees all flowering now. The new lake is not open yet but is looking good too! As usual a very warm welcome from the owners and the new warden. This is such a relaxing peaceful site with lots of walks [ideal for dog owners] I was however, rather surprised to read some of the reviews on here who seem to complain about just about everything from having to push a button to get water in the shower block to the so-called 'noise' from the industrial estate [at worst a dim hum when the wind blows in this direction] also some 'complaints' about the shop only stocking cold drinks and cans of food? During busy times the shop stocks bread, milk, butter,bacon various cold drinks, sweets, chocolates and some essentials like sugar, coffee, washing up liquid etc. Maybe these campers were expecting a supermarket??

They rightly point out there is no play area but then it clearly states that on the website. The tent field is separate from the caravan field as it is on most sites, and as for the comment about having to walk down an 'unlit lane' to get to/from the pub what on earth do people expect in the country??? I think comments such as 'there is nothing to do on site' are pretty silly when [again] the website clearly states this is a peaceful relaxing site with golfing & fishing so if someone has children who need to be 'entertained' I would suggest they look for a more appropriate site as opposed to complain about what is clearly not available!

As for the tent pitches being too small that I would imagine may have something to do with the size of some tents [which are way bigger than my caravan!] My husband was also VERY surprised to hear some golf balls had landed in the tent field as the golf course is designed to avoid that happening.

The shower block is cleaned at least 3 times a day during busy periods and checked every hour or so so I can't quite believe they were 'in desperate need of cleaning' at any time [the warden also asks guests to let her know if they need cleaning in between checks] and you really couldn't ask for better facilities. Someone has even complained about their dog getting dirty on the hardcore pitch and the lake being 'murky' maybe these have something to do with the fact the weather had been very dry and hot for weeks and the ground has been dry and dusty?

This site has a 4 star rating by the 'Visit Wales' national site so maybe guests should check out the Clays website BEFORE booking to make sure that this site will suit them, if it doesn't then they can look for somewhere that does and not complain about such a lovely site! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Aar61 2 reviews from this member

 Spent 2 nights bank holiday weekend here at a cost of 24 per night inc electric hook up. Expensive considering there is nothing on site, not even a playground, but I believe one is planned in the middle of the caravans.

I did request a fairly level pitch on booking, but got a slope, having said that it was a good size. I can never understand why tents are put on slopes and caravans on flat pitches,as you can level a caravan on slopes, There were plenty of pitches that were level and had electric but tents were not allowed to use them.

The pub, 10 min stroll down an unlit lane (torch and companion needed) is expensive 15.80 for cod and chips, I had crisps, Half a pint of fosters and double malibu and coke 6.85

We were told by the site owner that we could use the golf house bar, great! but she didn't tell me it would be closed at 8.30pm,

The site is well manicured and the shower block is top quality. Some reviewers state you cannot hear the industrial estate, well we could, and is rather irritating, maybe it was the wind carrying the noise towards the site.

The shop was a fridge with some drinks and a few tins of food in the window sill in reception.

Do not let my review put you off, the site is great for caravanners and is clean and the owners were lovely people, but this is my review of my stay. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amaryllis 10 reviews from this member

 Just spent three nights at this site over the Easter bank holiday. Over all it is a very nice site with a lot going for it. First impressions are of a clean, nicely kept site.

Closer inspection however finds that facilities for tents is not as good as that provided for caravans. Some of the tent pitches are far too small, resulting in g ropes having less than 1.5m between them, no where near the recommended 3m minimum and the cars being in front of the pitches to achieve this. There are plenty other much larger Pitches on the site so my advice would be to be very clear about what you need when booking.

Electricity is not available on all the pitches designated for tents and some of these pitches do have a bit of a slope. They are also right next to a golf course and during our stay two stray golf balls came our way!

We phoned and booked on the thursday for the weekend and requested a pit h with electric hook up, we were told there were none left but on arrival it transpired that this actually meant that there were no electric hook up left on the tent field - we spent the weekend sorely missing our fan heater and fridge whilst pitches on the caravan side complete with available electric hook up remain vacant for the entire weekend.

Much as it is up to the owner to decided who goes where on there site it is v annoying to sit struggling on a tiny pitch with no electricity when large pitches with hook up are sitting vacant. On the upside the tent field is better sheltered than the rest of the park and therefore was definitely the better place to be during the less than gorgeous weather we endured on the sat night!

A deposit of 5 per key was requested on arrival for keys to the male and female toilet/ shower block, so have your tenner ready on arrival and don't forget to hand back the keys on departing. The toilets ran out of loo roll each morning over the bank holiday and were in desperate need of a clean by the time the staff got in to them, about 11am but for the rest of the day They were spotless.

The showers are not large but have space to hang clothes and keep them dry and hot water is plentiful and free. Unfortunately they operate on a push button which only lasts for about 15 seconds, same for the hand basins, pretty hard to wash your hands when you need to press the tap three times during it!

Wash up facilities were clean, decent and hot water was plentiful with proper taps instead of push button ones!

Locally there is plenty to do, Chester is v close wi many shops, restaurants, bars and sights. Llangollen is worth a trip and is only approximate 5 miles by car. Wrexham itself has a couple of markets, some nice boutique shops, al the normal chain shops as well as national trust properties such as Erddig to visit. There is a pub within walking distance which offers food and a car boot on a sunday.

Rules state no noise after 11pm and the owners were vocal about this. They did book large groups over the weekend, so may be aware of this for the more popular weekends.

All in all, a nice site. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skott80 2 reviews from this member

 I have just returned from two nights stay. This is our second camp site that we have visited in two weeks. Sadly it came second to the first one we visited. The only reason for this is there is very little do do on site & there is a desperate need for a park to keep the kids entertained. Personally we kept our child busy playing on the grass area but she did as for a park quite a few times.

If your into golf and fishing this is the place to be.

Overall the site is good, it's clean friendly and easy to find. The staff are very nice and willing to help.

The shower blocks are super but the water is to hot at times but that's just my personal liking. The location of the site is excellent easy to find & very close to Wrexham town centre.

This was my main reason for staying here as my rugby team was playing at Wrexham over the weekend. If I was asked would I go again the answer would be yes but only if Wigan are playing in Wrexham, but I would definitely recommend this site is worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SamMac1978 6 reviews from this member

 Set-back from the main road along a narrow lane, this site is ideal for short family breaks.

The facilities are clean and there is a basic shop on site. The staff were very helpful and gave some excellent suggestions for local days out.

We drove to Chester one day, which was about 20 minute drive whilst on another day we visited a local village called Llangollen which was beautiful for walks with the dog and sitting alongside the river.

The site itself offers generous sized pitches, although a little uneven in some places. There is a fishing lake and dog walking area set aside and also plenty of places for the children to play (although no park as such).

Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay and would definitely return. 


Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Clays Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Clays Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Clays Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wrexham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wrexham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5324 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement