Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Clays Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Wrexham > Wrexham > Clays Touring Park > Reviews

Clays Touring Park
Bryn Estyn Road
Wrexham
Wrexham   (Browse area)
LL13 9UB
Tel: 01978 661852
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 50 Reviews
                9/10 from 50 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PoppyPollensa 1 review from this member

 This site provided everything I needed for my 'maiden voyage'. Despite its close proximity to an 'industrial site', it is tucked away with plenty of screening by trees etc, it could have been anywhere. It had easy access, well defined pitches and plenty of room.

The service block was exceptionally clean for a bank holiday weekend. I did not need a key to use the service block and whilst it clearly had been cleaned during my stay I never found it locked for cleaning.

The wardens were friendly enough and I felt that if I had needed any help or advice it would have been cheerfully provided. I did not feel the need to leave the site during my stay, but I understand a couple of miles would have taken me to Wrexham.

I would recommend this site to anyone who wants a pretty low-key and quiet site. I would happily revisit. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Theoldqueen 3 reviews from this member

 Wonderful site, toilets were the best I have been too they were spotless. The tent site was flat and easy distant for water and hook up. The staff so friendly.

Wrexham only 2.5 miles away and lovely town with a brilliant swimming pool well worth a visit. Totally recommend this site, shall visit again in a short while. Well done to the owners of this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: David cocks 1 review from this member

 Absolutely lovely site and a credit to the owners, who were very welcoming and friendly.

The amenities are A 1 and spotlessly clean. Brilliant location for sightseeing, very nice fishing lake, but fish are very wary but once they get going had some lovely fish and good day.

To the owners keep up the good work and we will be visiting again soon and would strongly recommend it to anyone 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Arkangel5 18 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site and it will not be our last. The site is quite new and very well kept, The toilets spotless and the same for the site.

The pitches for the deluxe with water and drainage were level and hard standing for the caravan and awning ( this was 20 a night ) there are standard pitches which are hard standing and grass which were 17 a night.

There is a fishing lake on site and there is a golf course on either side.

It is a bout a 2.5 mile walk into Wrexham.

Overall this is one of the nicest sites when have been on in a while and we will certainly be back again.

There is no play are for young children and there are a couple of seasonal pitches there.

The site is idea for a nice relaxing few days. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Alibescat 34 reviews from this member

 We went for easter in our Dandy fri-mon with friends in a caravan who joined us saturday. We were pitch 33/34 and its on a slope grass with EHU. The rain was bad but unlike other sites Clays was OK and not flooded out.

I was not over impressed at the site or pitch for 27 per night with 2 dogs but it suited our purpose at short notice for a bank holiday for our friends it worked well as there is no minimum 3 night fee so it was not too much for a BH 2 night trip. There's a small reception shop.

Toilets are very nice and clean but this is due to them being closed a lot for cleaning. I say 5* for clean loos but I don't think they should be totally closed so often - I'm sure this was due to the mud and BH busy weekend but I really think they need to look at cleaning half and half and keeping them open. Toilets would get 10/10 if they were open more and didn't like the fact you had to take a key to open them all the time.

Nice pond for fishing and a good area to exercise the dogs. Wardens very chatty on monday morning. There not loads to do in the area but we went to Twy Mawr Park and did the walk to the aquaduct which was scary but impressive and its so nice with the canal barges and the little pub for a pint before the 2 mile walk back.

Sunday we had a walk from the site turn left go to the end of the lane and follow the sign to town centre. The pubs seemed a bit rough the first pub on the way to town was friendlier. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Garageman 4 reviews from this member

 Found this site a few weeks ago, came to have a look and loved it. Booked for a weekend in March, weather was a bit poor as you would expect but the site was fantastic. Toilet block so clean and tidy.

Stayed on pitch 14 which was plenty big enough for my twin axle van, water tap on all the pitches I think but no drain on this one. The owners say they are putting more drains in soon which is great news for us lazy caravanners. Our friends were on pitch 13 which had a slight downside but was still a good size pitch, the problem being a patch of grass between the road and the hardstanding which in the wet made it extremely difficult to reverse the caravan on and indeed remove it when it was time to leave. A minor fault which I'm sure will be rectified in the near future as the owners are excellent people and keen to make this site first class, infact adding more hard standings on our visit.

Electric barriers due to arrive soon which will save getting out of your car to open the big gates when entering or leaving the site. 16 amp electric supply and a lovely pond for us fishing people.

As commented before I don't think it's a fantastic site for the kids, there is not much for them to do apart from play on the field. We will be returning on a few more occasions this year. Give it a try. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BUCKLEY12 1 review from this member

 I have just spent a very enjoyable bank holiday weekend at this site.I arrived Thursday to a very warm welcome from the owners and wardens and was treated like an old friend[never been before].
The site is very well kept and the pitches are the most spacious I have ever been on with a mixture of deluxe / super and grass all well drained with electric if required.
The toilet / showers were immaculate all weekend despite the efforts of certain unruly elements to spoil them well done owners and wardens.
The site does not profess to have a campshop but they had made the effort to stock a few essentials in reception which we all forget to pack or run out of at times.Even newspapers first thing which I believe they went and collected of their own accord.
There is a Somerfield store at Borras one & half miles or Tesco Xtra and Asda about three miles away towards Wrexham town centre a fairly straightforward drive from site.
There are places to eat / drink a short walk from the site namely the Bar / Bistro and Clays golf centre who welcome non golfers alike even a discount loyalty card which includes food / drink.
This is a very well run site considering it only opened at Easter this year.Both the owners and wardens go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant and enjoyable as they can and are on call 24/7 on site should you need assistance. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Waverley 4 reviews from this member

 Just had a two night stay at this site and looking forward to my next visit.

The site only opened at Easter and they have got off to a very good start.The ladies loos and showers are immaculate - even with a busy site they are kept clean and tidy.

Pitches are a mixture of fully serviced hard standing and grass with ELU. I usualy avoid grass pitches in wet weather, but vacancies being hard to come by decided to try it. The site has very good drainage and even after a night of heavy downpours there was no problem moving off in the morning - the ground was as firm as it had been the night before.

Overall it's a lovely place run by lovely people who do their best to make your stay enjoyable. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wilsosd 14 reviews from this member

 A pleasant site definitely one for the golfers or even fishermen (and women) amongst us unfortunately with a few minor drawbacks.

Arrived late (ish 19:00) August bank holiday Friday and was given a warm if somewhat slightly disorganised greeting. Our pitch was on grass, there are several hard standing pitches around the perimeter of the site as well as the central grassed area, all are fairly level, so setting up was straight forward.

The toilet facilities are first rate and impeccably clean, and though there are some supplies in the reception the site lacks the typical camp shop facility, and as far as I saw there appears to be very little for kids by way of a play area etc

The nearest supermarket is Sainsburys approx 4 to 5 miles away in Wrexham. Found a simply superb Bar/ Bistro at the Gredington Arms (10 minute walk from site), menu was varied from Ham Egg and Chips through to Steak Tartare with several good fish dishes on offer too, all in my humble opinion reasonably priced and having eaten there twice over the weekend particularly tasty , would advise booking as this place is very popular.

Now the drawback and unfortunately this was a topic of discussion and consternation amongst several other visitors too, the site is Warden run, and if like my partner and myself you like to be able to unwind and have a bit of a quiet banter with your neighbours over a glass or two, the last thing you need is a Site warden that no matter how respectful or quiet you are you are constantly monitored on one of the many 'patrols' complete with big flash light and informed in our case rather abruptly 'its eleven o clock now is the quiet time'. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shrwsbryg 1 review from this member

 Well the last time I came to Clays this was a field full of cattle and I was fishing on the lake, what a change they have made, it is now a fantastic touring site for both caravans and campers, the site is level and kept in fantastic condition there are excellent pitches with hardstanding for caravans with power and water at the pitch, the grass was nice and mowed but not to short so as you would be camping on soil, in fact when I took down the tent the footprint groundsheet was as clean as when I took it out of the wraper, no mud or other bits to remove. I have been using touring sites for years and must say that the toilet and shower facilities at Clays are second to non, spotless. The welcome at the site was good and offers of help and cups of tea from the staff for everyone.Hookup available for tents. Well done to you all and I can only see this site getting more and more popular as the word spreads. 


Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Clays Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Clays Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Clays Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wrexham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wrexham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4943 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement