Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Clays Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Wrexham > Wrexham > Clays Touring Park > Reviews

Clays Touring Park
Bryn Estyn Road
Wrexham
Wrexham   (Browse area)
LL13 9UB
Tel: 01978 661852
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 50 Reviews
                9/10 from 50 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (21)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Derek James18 2 reviews from this member

 The site was easy to find. The lady who greeted us was very friendly and helpful. The site does not have a lot to offer, the 2 lakes water looked murky, not the same as the photographs on the internet site. The road way around the lakes is laid of hardcore and there's a big old shed spoiling the area. Grass was poor quality (it was March though). There are no walks on site. The worse bit is the actual road that runs around within the site, its laid with hardcore, you walk it in to the awning and the caravan and we have a dog, her legs and paws were filthy even if she walked out for a few minutes and that was without any rain.

Showers and toilets were excellent. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kparkes 5 reviews from this member

 Visited early September for 8 nights, had a nice relaxing time, great location, great service, and the facilities are second to none.

Toilet block and washing facilities were brand new and were 1st class, washing machine and dryer were also new and 1.00 each.

Fishing lake just at the end of the site, and golf course about 600 yds away, reduced green fee`s, My wife and I had a go on the driving range,and then had a meal 4.95 and pint about 2.90, in the clubhouse, no dress code, casual.

Wrexham 2 miles away, but shops about 1 mile away for groceries and drink, pub on the main road leading to the site, 10 minute walk.

We had a very pleasant time, and the owners, Kay and John were very helpful, nothing was to much trouble. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynne Brown 3 reviews from this member

 I have to say I was impressed by the site. The owners Kay and Spencer are lovely and very welcoming. The site is quiet and peaceful and the sunsets were stunning. The lake is a lovely place to sit on a warm evening and listen to the birds sing.

There will be a second lake there this year and I can't wait to go back and see it. Well behaved dogs are very welcome which made it the perfect site for me. If you're looking for a quiet site then this is the place for you and with golf and fishing on hand there's plenty for the men to do too.

The shower block is immaculate and so is the laundry room.

There is a 'no noise' policy after 11 pm which is ideal for those wanting to chill out and relax. Surprisingly all the hard standings have their own tap at no extra charge!

There are shops, pubs and restaurants within a mile or two and the Clays golf club is a 5 minute walk where they serve good food. Considering this site has only been open for two seasons it has gained a good reputation already.

All in all the perfect site for exploring North Wales as Wrexham is pretty central for so many places. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JulesT-001 6 reviews from this member

 I telephoned on Saturday, just to make sure that the online availability calendar was right - after all, it was Bank Holiday weekend (it was right!). The very friendly reception team said that they could fit us in for 2 nights. This helpful approach aided our last minute booking.

When we arrived at the site, it was easy to find (the directions on their website was good) and we were welcomed with a big smile and helpful booking in. The tent field had the choice of electricity hook up too if wanted.

The tent field was spotless, no litter and with slightly longer grass that made the camping comfortable.

The washing up area positively gleamed and there was a washing machine and dryer too if needed.

The shower and toilet block was very clean too - with lovely hot showers included in the camping fees.

Wrexham is a lovely little market town to explore, with easy access to the North Wales coast line, Chester and Snowdonia. As a base for exploring it was very useful. The site was only 10 minutes drive from 2 large supermarkets and a huge retail and leisure park, yet we felt that we were out in the countryside while we were there!

What a wonderful site, very friendly and peaceful. Thank you for making our stay a really pleasurable time.  


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Moriartyw 15 reviews from this member

 A samll clean slightly sloping site. Mainly tourers but a second small field for tents. Owners/managers extremely helpful and obliging, toilet block (new) brick built and very very clean. Only down point was the showers stayed on for five seconds at a time so lots of button pressing. However, unusually from what we have normally seen, more hooks to hang your clothes on than I have ever seen anywhere! The site caters for around fifty vans, fifty-fifty hard standing/grass and all appeared to be electric hook up. Hard standings were 'super pitches' with mains electrics, water and waste. Nothing but an old small pool to fish in the way of amusement but next door is a golf club if that's your game!

However, this is not what the site for us was about. It was used as a base to explore, Chester, Llandudno, Wrexham and feasibly a quick blast to Blackpool and the lakes if it so took you!

After many many years camping and caravanning its not the best site we have been on but not far off!

Worth giving them a call as it was a 'pleasant' site.

Finally, shopping was easy, Tesco and Asda five minutes away by car, the toilets used a key system.Irksome but seemingly necessary after the story we heard of vandalism and yes.We would go back! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carolbar_10@ntlworl 3 reviews from this member

 Owners of the site are polite, friendly, and helpful, they even leave a phone number to contact them when they are not on site.Lovely campsite, very well looked after, toilets and showers are new and spotless. There is a small fishing pond next to the site, the pond seamed to be well stocked. I could not find fault with this site.

The centre of Wrexham is about a 15 minute drive away, were there are lots of shops, pubs, etc.

On the way back from Wrexham We went to a pub called 'The Flash' it is a lovely old pub with lots of original features, the views from the conservatory are gorgeous, better still if the weather is good sit outside on the wooden benches.We had our tea there it isnt cheap 11.75 for fish and chips but the quality of the food was excellent.

The Aqueduct is also worth a visit, and the boat rides are very poular. You can also hire a barge for the day. Nice dog walks around the aqueduct. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woodsfamily 1 review from this member

 First time in our new tent, first visit to a site and first visit to Pageant of Power show, for which all this was for. The owner was fantastic and very helpful, our electric hook up lead was not long enough and so she kindly found one we could borrow, free of charge.

The children loved the freedom and washed up every time it was required in the spotlessly clean area. The showers and wash facilities were kept clean all day and were very hot. Will be using here again, without a doubt! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Green Eyes 15 reviews from this member

 Found the site quite easily, and had a very warm and friendly greeting from the owner. Booked in at reception and were given keys for the gents and ladies ablutions. We were directed to the tent field, and chose a level pitch at the top of the field (the bottom half is on a gentle slope).

EHU was close by and the water stanchion was at the entrance to the field.

The facilities were spotlessly clean. The showers had piping hot water, racks for toiletries and hooks for clothing.The ladies also had electric points for hairdryers etc. There is a laundry room which houses the washing up sinks. Ample rubbish bins are at the back of the building.

24hr Tesco and Asda stores are about three miles away in Wrecsam, and a Co-op, chip shop and newsagents a short drive away in Borras. The camp reception also stocks a few basics.

We visited the Pant Yr Ochain (about three miles away, follow sign posts for 'The Flash') for a meal. The food was excellent, as was the service, and the setting is very pleasant.

This site is well worth a visit, being well placed for visits to Llangollen, Wrecsam, Chester and surrounding picturesque villages such as Overton, Farndon and Bangor-on-Dee.

Clays is a very peaceful site, ideal for total relaxation and getting away from it all. We shall certainly return. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 1KathMac2 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite has achieved so much in the short time that it has been open. The facilities are outstanding and are worth sharing some details. There is a great selection of spacious pitches ranging from super pitches to basic camping making it ideal for all budgets.

The park has been been beautifully landscaped and maintained which makes sitting out on a warm evening with a glass of vino even more enjoyable! The showers and toilets are first class and clearly well thought out for campers with ample hooks, shower trays and shower curtain to protect clothes.

The site is well positioned for sightseeing in North Wales and Cheshire. Wrexham town centre is just a couple of miles away with plenty of shops and two markets. We walked to a local pub and enjoyed a great meal with lovely views over towards Beeston Castle.

I have read comments about the lack of children's facilities however I know that the owners have lots of plans for further developments, including a children's play area. The owners, Kay and Spencer, are very friendly and helpful making our stay a firm favourite. We would definitely recommend a visit to this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wayne_55 1 review from this member

 Just come back from our second visit to this lovely site, the first one being in May 2010, the owners, Spencer and Kay are really welcoming and accommodating.

The site is well laid out and the pitches are level, the shower/toilet block is A1. The fishing lake is a good size and is stocked with a good variety of fish, there is a problem with weed in the lake at the moment but the owners are in the process of clearing it.

The site does not cater for children as there is no play area. For anyone that wants to play golf, the site is within walking distance of a 9 and 18 hole golf course.

As we only live 15 miles away we know the Wrexham / Chester area well, there is a Tesco, Asda and Sainsbury's at Wrexham which is approx 2 miles away. Anyone looking for a serious shopping trip though has got to go to Chester or Cheshire Oaks at Ellesmere Port.

We can't comment on the pubs or restaurants in the area as we don't use them. We can recommend the car boot sale that takes place every Sunday morning at Chirk which is about a 10 minute drive away, and if the weather is nice a walk along the Canal and the Aqueduct at Ty Mawr Park is a must.

All in all it is a lovely site that we will be returning to on a regular basis. 


Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Clays Touring Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Clays Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Clays Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wrexham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wrexham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4468 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement