Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holebeck Touring Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Co Durham > Frosterley > Holebeck Touring Caravan Site > Reviews

Holebeck Touring Caravan Site
Holebeck House Farm
Wolsingham
Frosterley
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL13 3BG
Tel: 01388 527384  or  07918 614796
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
                8/10 from 46 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amanda460andBaba 1 review from this member

 We only made a last minute booking here for one night (due to work commitments) to try out the new tent. So 2adults and 1dog. We were welcomed after a brief phone call by the ??the site owners son, very pleasant & helpful. We pitched the tent before going off walking for the day, on return I tried out the shower. Mmm found it very strange that the coin box was external to the shower, no separate cubicle to strip off, no where to put shampoo etc as no shelf and the hook to hang clothes touched the shower curtain. They were immaculate but just a slightly larger cubicle with a change area would have been fab! There was loo roll for us unlike previous reviews. Found the 1. 5hour closure of toilets a little excessive, we were bursting by time they opened. Other facilities were fab!

The site quietened down ok but we were next to a caravan whereby the couple locked their 3 dogs in for the night, they barked until midnight! Overall we enjoyed our stay, lots of midgies but the site cant control that can they. We would return x 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrsdjacks 3 reviews from this member

 Owner is developing the site with plenty of shrubs surrounding it. The pitches are grass but reasonably level and well drained. There's a one way system around the site. The owner and site helper patrol the site regularly and are always available should you need help or assistance. Both were friendly and approachable and acted quickly to queries or concerns

Access to the site is over a very quiet railway line, it was fine if taken with great care, however was rough.

Our electric did trip out so not sure if it's 16 amp.

There are plenty of water points but it's supplied by natural spring water so can and did run dry.

There is a shower block - after reading other reviews I can add that showers do have doors and toilet roll is available.

There is a Barrier in use for safety and security over night but you can get a fob for access.

There are vending machines for snacks and soft drinks. On site bank holiday weekend was a burger van.

There's a small children's play area and plenty of open space to explore and play.

A small irritation was from a group pitched in tents behind us, their kids were up and loud from 7 am through to 12 pm playing football and other games behind our caravan. We had to ask them to move away as they were hitting our caravan. They were not tidy leaving loads of rubbish, was such a shame as it did spoil a good site. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lindasewerrat 9 reviews from this member

 We were very disappointed with this site. 25 per night albeit with ehu but still at the higher end of the site scale. Everyone was crammed in with little regard for the 6 meter rule. There was an extra charge for the showers and these were very strange - no lock on the door and no room to get undressed. 2 hooks on door to hang clothes but these touched shower curtain so clothes got wet. A first for us was that no toilet paper was supplied! We won't be making a return visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julie 78 1 review from this member

 When we arrived here we were greeted by the owner she guided us to put our tent up, we were travelling with kids of all ages, we put our tents up without any problems, carol came to check everything was ok, there is washers and dryers on site which are not to expensive, showers are lovely and clean as we'll as hot, small park for kids to play on and go karts, short walk to the stream, our kids had plenty to keep them entertained, we will all be returning to this campsite shortly and we have told our friends about it and they are now joining us, thanks carol for a lovely weekend. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cakewife 1 review from this member

 Just returned from 2wks away and 4sites, this being the last site we visited.

We arrived 2dqys early (due to previous site being not being great). We where met by owner and she was so welcoming and no problem us coming early. We picked where we wanted to go, and was happy to park next to children's play area. The site is well kept, the showers and toilets where clean and well maintained. The showers do have a 20p charge and no loo roll but to be honest we just knew to take loo roll with us, not a huge issue.

We really enjoyed our stay and there are 3 generations in our van. Would recommend the site and lots of walks in the nearby area. The park in the village is great as well.

Would happily return to this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chissy5568 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived at the site and was greeted by both the site owner and her worker. First impressions of the site were very good. The site was well kept and everyone seemed very friendly.

Toilets were very clean and most people cleaned them after use. Showers are good, not too hot not too cold. Facilities around the site were very good, plenty of electric and water points.

Pitches were a good size and the ground is solid. Even after the heavy rain we had the ground wasn't boggy or water logged like many other sites we have been too.

The park beside the reception is monitored by both the staff and parents, the children loved playing in the park and I hardly saw them whilst we were here. All of the people on the site were friendly and would give you a hand if you needed it.

Both members of staff go to great efforts to ensure the site runs well and they are doing a very good job. The ice-cream van that came on the site was an added bonus.

Security is very good, the entrance to the site is through the barrier which is under CCTV and is shut over the night. There is CCTV around the site which is re-assuring when we left the caravan there for the week.

The surrounding villages are very good and have a variety of shops, location of this site is very good and there is some fabulous views up the valley. There is nice walks in all directions from the site.

This is the first time visiting the site, wont be the last. Site owners are doing a very good job, should be proud of yourselves. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 23happycamper 4 reviews from this member

 Hi been back to this site again 3rd time in 5 weeks what a friendly site. The owner and her helper are very helpful and welcome us on our arrival. The grounds are kept well kept and litter free. The toilet block was clean and tidy. There is a nice play area beside the reception with a sweet and drinks machine. The lad that put us on was very helpful. I will be returning soon love this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Philwil32 3 reviews from this member

 Avoid! First got here to start pitching a brand new tent (voyager 6) to find under grass is complete concrete n destroyed all pegs! Toilets average, showers abysmal! First it's 20p for 4 mins n the first one I went in was that hot I couldn't put my toes in! Like boiling water coming out of shower head n no way of turning heat down. The other was freezing cold! No toilet roll so got to take your own (which for 25 a night I think is disgusting! My opinion). They was a family playing music so loud we may as well been at a festival! Which I don't mind but it was terrible music too! This was on all day and night up until 1am! Yes 1am! We had kids with us and that was the courtesy you get at this site (or that we got) It's not very well kept either. And to top off this fantastic Weekend (I say that VERY lightly) we were eaten alive day and night by midges (flies). Would not be paid to return to this site. Worst I've ever came across. Enter at your own risk.

By the way tried to find site owner about these problems when they arose but could not find her, tried phoning site to receive no answer either! Typical! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Dawnngeorge 1 review from this member

 I went to this site at the weekend just to see if I could put up my trailer tent. When we arrived we were greeted by the owner. The site was clean and tidy. The kids could play without any problems. The toilets and showers were clean. And the owner and the staff were there to help. My kids enjoyed there time there and everyone on the site was friendly

Couldn't have asked for such a great place. On a Friday there is a chip van which comes on site and is well worth the money the food tastes good. There's also a ice cream van which comes on site too. Considering I only wanted a cheap site to try my trailer out I am definitely going to go back. Great time highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sukeg 2 reviews from this member

 Just came back from this site. When we arrived the staff could not have been more helpful. The lady who showed us where to put our van helped us set up the van to the correct position being on grass all around the van. As we are new to the folding caravan game (only third time out) a regular came and helped us put the caravan up and all the regulars were really friendly. Fish and chip van on a Friday and ice cream van every day and bingo on a sat night, if you want to play. Cant wait to go back

Toilets were spotless as were showers 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Holebeck Touring Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holebeck Touring Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Holebeck Touring Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Frosterley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2769 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement